necessary to change camber

romen
post Dec 12 2007, 12:35 AM

1,278 posts

lolz since this is turning into a camber + alignment discussion, i'd like to ask a question to cheeann, soulfly, sleepwalker and the other pros biggrin.gif

my previous setup was -2 degree camber on the front tyres, with 0 toe out / in. i was using stock (very soft) absorbers then

when i changed to stiffer short stroke absorbers, the shop recommended me to set -1.5 degree camber, and 1.5 toe out.

Previously during hard cornering, when the front starts to lose grip, i'd get loud screeching noises and loads of understeer laugh.gif
now, when the front starts to lose grip, it's pretty silent. I only hear "frupp frupp frupp" sounds, and the car slides more neutrally instead of understeering all the way.
Both were on the same route, and same dry mornings. Tyres were on the same PSI, 34 for the front o.O

Would a camber and toe out adjustment reduce the screeching noises, or issit just the stiffer shocks at work? Btw, i drive a clumsy myvi biggrin.gif

Thanks for reading and sorry for the length smile.gif
romen
post Dec 13 2007, 02:30 PM

1,278 posts

wah dun la ><"
noobs like us love experimenting
then our wallets oso sakit after that, hahaha
hurm, i think i remember a friend of mine had them at -3, but within 2 weeks he could see the immense wear.. cepat cepat set back to -1.5 laugh.gif

unfortunately i dont go for track.. but just enjoy some sunday morning drive up hilly areas biggrin.gif

romen
post Dec 16 2007, 06:38 PM

1,278 posts

yeah he did
even without bending down, you could see how tilted his front tyres were laugh.gif

0.0128sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:06 PM