borrow money from in-law?

mini orchard
post Oct 23 2020, 09:14 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Oct 23 2020, 08:53 AM)
I agree with the others that borrowing from your MIL behind your wife's back is a bad idea. The issue will be there permanently and may leak out even after the loan is repaid.

Why do you fear your wife will leave you if you bring up your financial problem to her? It's nothing to do with infidelity, just a trading mistake. Everybody has made mistakes before.

Do talk it over with your wife and discuss possible solutions. If she suggests borrowing from her mother, then fine go ahead.

I hope you get a good outcome.
This is TS problem ....

QUOTE(gangeun @ Oct 22 2020, 06:10 PM)
I can't afford to service any loan bigger than the one I have now. I barely can survive until month end.
Borrowing from anyone or banks are out of his equation. He needs to find ways to earn extra income. His problem is not able to repay his current PL on time hence penalty interest and worried the bank will proceed with legal action.

His initial intention to borrow from mil is to avoid paying interest and to repay her as and when he has extra money....flexible repayment, no pressure and HOPING mil will write-off the loan. After reading the many comments, his senses strike him that it wasnt a good idea.

TS has to find extra work to compliment his PL repayment, no 2 way about it.
TSgangeun
post Oct 23 2020, 09:35 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 23 2020, 09:14 AM)
This is TS problem ....
Borrowing from anyone or banks are out of his equation. He needs to find ways to earn extra income. His problem is not able to repay his current PL on time hence penalty interest and worried the bank will proceed with legal action.
No. I have no issue servicing this loan even with the interest. I just need to somehow get back the money I lost, within 3 months.

This post has been edited by gangeun: Oct 23 2020, 09:36 AM
mini orchard
post Oct 23 2020, 09:37 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(gangeun @ Oct 23 2020, 09:35 AM)
No. I have no issue servicing this loan even with the interest. I just need to somehow get back the money I lost.
Stop chasing after 'bad investment'. Is not your level.
SUSNB01
post Oct 23 2020, 09:39 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(gangeun @ Oct 20 2020, 10:58 AM)
how much? 10%?
no it's not getting into debt, but lost our money in trading due to my own fault.
If no debt, why need to borrow from MIL? Got Ah Long come to chop you?

You lose money in shares, stop loss lah.

How old are you?
David900924
post Oct 23 2020, 09:46 AM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

QUOTE(gangeun @ Oct 22 2020, 07:25 PM)
can explain more about how both works?
lowyat have topic on this, u can read and ask questions there: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3918057

most ppl use this as alternative for cash zero interest.
mini orchard
post Oct 23 2020, 09:51 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(David900924 @ Oct 23 2020, 09:46 AM)
lowyat have topic on this, u can read and ask questions there: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3918057

most ppl use this as alternative for cash zero interest.
He is chasing bad money with good money ... hoping for luck is the word.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 23 2020, 10:34 AM
Ginny88
post Oct 23 2020, 11:16 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(gangeun @ Oct 23 2020, 09:35 AM)
No. I have no issue servicing this loan even with the interest. I just need to somehow get back the money I lost, within 3 months.
So part of the loss is your wife's money and you are trying to hide it from her.

Don't get yourself into more serious problems trying to cover up your 'not-so-serious' problem. Just be honest and tell her about it. Promise to earn back the money and repay her.

What's the worst which can happen? She is not going to leave you because of some lost money is she? Some men don't understand their wives and just assume the worst which is way too imaginative.

TSgangeun
post Oct 23 2020, 11:19 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Oct 23 2020, 11:16 AM)
So part of the loss is your wife's money and you are trying to hide it from her.

Don't get yourself into more serious problems trying to cover up your 'not-so-serious' problem. Just be honest and tell her about it. Promise to earn back the money and repay her.

What's the worst which can happen? She is not going to leave you because of some lost money is she? Some men don't understand their wives and just assume the worst which is way too imaginative.
I prefer to tell her when I'm at least in the process of raising the fund back, even if not fully. If just apology and promise, I don't think she can accept.
bamkai
post Oct 23 2020, 11:26 AM

167 posts

I wont know the whole story but all what i know is money can destroy relationship
mini orchard
post Oct 23 2020, 11:30 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Oct 23 2020, 11:16 AM)

TS should know his wife better than all of us.
real55555
post Oct 23 2020, 11:36 AM

309 posts

Not sure what you want to get from this post but you know the best from your relationship with your MIL whether borrowing money from her is something she can accept or not.

As to doing it behind the wife, not sure what is the reason but you have to hide it for 3 years or more until the loan is repaid. For example whenever have financial issues maybe the wife will bring up say where you spent your money etc? You have to find excuses to lie to her, which doing it for long term will bocor. Plus your MIL might spilled the word accidentally or when some unfavourable incident affected your relationship with your MIL and she might be tempted to reveal this.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0212sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:41 AM