Macbook Big Sur Cycle Number vs Batt Health

TSychwang
post Oct 19 2020, 02:51 AM, updated 6y ago

Little *
4,607 posts

Before Mac OS Big Sur, we always took the Macbook batt cycle number as Battery Health, the lower number the better. Especially when u buy/sell used Macbook.
But since Big Sur there is an option to display current Battery capacity in %. And proven lower cycle number isn't the best Battery performance. For those who 24H plug in their Macbook to power brick, the batt max capacity will still deteriorate.

This is mine with only 60 cycle count but the max capacity only 91%.
How about yours?

Health Information:
Cycle Count: 60
Condition: Normal
Maximum Capacity: 91%

raining again
post Oct 19 2020, 03:43 AM

It's raining again, again ... and again
895 posts

yes I'm curious as well. I used to plug power plug in all the time. initially it looks good and then it just one bulge and plummet to 20% I was shocked.

so currently I use this app FruitJuice. It will prompt me every few weeks to discharge and or fully charge back to maintain the battery health it.

mine is 31 cycle 99%.

wei
post Oct 19 2020, 09:22 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Cycle and mAh alone does not tell the health of the battery. It give you some indication. But never accurate.

This post has been edited by wei: Oct 22 2020, 10:06 AM
OllieMartin P
post Oct 19 2020, 06:38 PM

Probation

The menu bar is now taller and more translucent, allowing your desktop picture to extend from edge to edge. Words lighten or darken based on the colour of your desktop picture. And pull-down menus are larger, with more space between the lines to make everything easier to read.
jackiez
post Oct 22 2020, 08:25 AM

255 posts

the lower number the better.

u may have to get ur fact right
Amyrose9x P
post Oct 22 2020, 12:24 PM

Probation

Yesterday I borrowed my brother's mac and used it. Unfortunately it has this error

0.0162sec    1.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:14 AM