Seagate 250GB ST3250824SV
32C - 38C

WD 320GB WDC WD3200AAKS-00SBA0
31C - 38C

WD 500GB WDC WD5000AAKS-00TMA0
39C - 46C

Seagate 160GB [ Constant Torrenting] ST3160811AS
37C - 46C

All this temperature are in air cond Room temperature and the max is air con and fan off room

Question is why does my 500GB and 160GB hdd so hot even in air cond room
its at 39 in air cond room
my 500GB hdd is empty and its not running or what so ever..
but my 160GB is 24/7 Torrenting.

Can anyone clarify for me?

Thank You Very Much

And can anyone tell me is it normal to get those temperatures?
or i would say what is the normal temperature for HDD

Besides that why is my 500GB empty hdd hotted than the 160gb which is running non stop

This post has been edited by Kyogezsho: Aug 14 2007, 12:35 AM
sweetcorn
post Aug 14 2007, 01:12 AM

25 posts

my harddisk runs at around 40C averagely...
styloe
post Aug 14 2007, 01:45 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

not to worry as long as it below 60c its ok.IMO the bigger the hdd the more heat it generates even in idle.plz correct me if im wrong here.

i use high cfm fan to blow the hdd so the temp will be <40c...

Just nice....
HaHaNoCluE
post Aug 14 2007, 02:01 AM

628 posts

maybe because the 500gb hdd has more platter so it more torque to spin???

This post has been edited by HaHaNoCluE: Aug 14 2007, 02:05 AM
styloe
post Aug 14 2007, 02:58 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Aug 14 2007, 02:01 AM)
maybe because the 500gb hdd has more platter so it more torque to spin???
or the hdd is placed at a very bad area less air circulating @ airflow.just try adding a fan close to it and see whether there's changes in the hdd temp hmm.gif
pong85
post Aug 14 2007, 12:45 PM

270 posts

mine 1 250GB got 1 'chiplak' 80mm fan blowing...around 38-40
but when no fan....up til 45....Zzzzzz

lohwenli
post Aug 14 2007, 02:21 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

HDD temp depends on,
-circuit power efficiency
-spin rate (faster is hotter, 5400rpm and below rarely overheat as long as they're not kept in an insulated environment)
-platter count (more platters means more power to keep it spinning constantly. Also means more heads to move when seeking for data)

My guess is that the 500GB HDD has more platters than any other disk in your system, as only hard disks 750GB and above use perpendicular recording (which squeezes more data into a smaller area, allowing fewer platters to be used). Whereas your torrent disk is frequenltly seeking, so understandable that it would be hotter.

Hard disks should not be operated above 55C (high chance of premature failure, usually within a year or 2), best if keep within 35-45C. Too low a temp is also not good, though why exactly is not clear to me (read this in an report given by Google concerning their datacentres). Below 20C is will not do your hard disk any good, perhaps even some harm.
RokXIII
post Aug 14 2007, 04:39 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

Actually SATA hdd will be hotter or PATA hdd will be hotter? (assume if both are 7200 rpm)
TSKyogezsho
post Aug 15 2007, 12:56 AM

195 posts

Thank You so much guys .. btw i do realize my first 3 hdds has a fan blowing it but the 500gb and the 160gb [torrenting] dont have any fan blowing it

but the max temperature it reaches is around 45C so i guess mine is working normal

btw anymore guys wanan share or compare thier hdd temperature as i search in google there is no post like this
styloe
post Aug 15 2007, 01:49 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(Kyogezsho @ Aug 15 2007, 12:56 AM)
Thank You so much guys .. btw i do realize my first 3 hdds has a fan blowing it but the 500gb and the 160gb [torrenting] dont have any fan blowing it

but the max temperature it reaches is around 45C so i guess mine is working normal

btw anymore guys wanan share or compare thier hdd temperature as i search in google there is no post like this
both of my hdd running below 50ish C...since my WD is bloody HOT compared to my SEAGATE...

SEAGATE 36-38c WD 40-42c sweat.gif have a 92mm high CFM blowing fresh air to them whistling.gif
slash
post Aug 15 2007, 06:51 PM

Warcraft 3 Champion - Lan Party 2003
1,081 posts

i got 2 hd in the cage, with fan blowing at them (35 & 39 degrees). 1 hd on top of the dvdwriter, with fan blowing at it too (43 degrees). By right the single hd should have the lowest temp among the 3, but its the highest. sleep.gif'

Last time in aircon room, all the hd had average temps of 30. Wondering why yours cannot go below 30.
styloe
post Aug 16 2007, 01:40 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(slash @ Aug 15 2007, 06:51 PM)
i got 2 hd in the cage, with fan blowing at them (35 & 39 degrees). 1 hd on top of the dvdwriter, with fan blowing at it too (43 degrees). By right the single hd should have the lowest temp among the 3, but its the highest. sleep.gif'

Last time in aircon room, all the hd had average temps of 30. Wondering why yours cannot go below 30.
well easy ambiance temp fren...its impossible to hdd temp same as ur room temp.it'll be slightly higer@ few C's more la.BTW if ur hdd temp is too low also not that good for its health.Basicly it needs around 30+C-40+C but <50C..
IMO
ahsiah
post Aug 16 2007, 05:27 AM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

My WD 250GB around 50c. I put a Vizo HDD Fan and it is around 46c when idle.
lohwenli
post Aug 16 2007, 02:37 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Aug 14 2007, 04:39 PM)
Actually SATA hdd will be hotter or PATA hdd will be hotter? (assume if both are 7200 rpm)
Yes, SATA is a little hotter than IDE/PATA. Partly because the hard disk is able to handle more I/O requests (no need to take turns with another HDD sharing the same cable). Partly also because SATA uses a much much higher signaling frequency, so no surprise that the circuit takes more power. But when I say more power, its like only 1-3W more, so unlikely you can tell the difference in temp.

I still can't find that report done by Google on their datacentre HDDs. Think I read it in the newspaper. Basically it says that if temp is too high OR too low, HDD failure rate increases. The ideal range is 30-40C. Below 20C and above 50C is highly unadvisable.
gengstapo
post Aug 16 2007, 02:51 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

w0ot.. hdd temp discussion eh??

got question here.. does the software monitoring hdd temp accurate?

can rely on em'?

This post has been edited by gengstapo: Aug 16 2007, 02:54 PM
lohwenli
post Aug 16 2007, 03:04 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Aug 16 2007, 02:51 PM)
w0ot.. hdd temp discussion eh??

got question here.. does the software monitoring hdd temp accurate?

can rely on em'?
Its probably not that accurate, but it can't be more than 5C off. Which is good enough already..come on, you don't overclock hard disks now...

PS: It was possible to 'overclock' hard disks long ago by inreasing the spindle rate, but current 7200rpm are already running at their limit..any faster and they fail rapidly..
a1098113
post Aug 18 2007, 01:07 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

My harddisk is about 41 degrees when i have it blown by the intake fan at room temp of 22 degrees

The same time i used a HDD cooler and the temperature shot up to about 47 degrees... what a disappointment lol...

Btw the harddisk i am using is on my sig...
mfcm
post Aug 18 2007, 01:29 AM

2,765 posts

hehe all my hdd jus check 35C..all blow with SS stock fan..no air con room sweat.gif

mine :

150gb raptor 10k rpm
250gb 7200rpm
320gb 7200rpm
40gb 5400rpm

dunno if the readin not accurate..using everest to read it smile.gif
styloe
post Aug 18 2007, 03:16 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(mfcm @ Aug 18 2007, 01:29 AM)
hehe all my hdd jus check 35C..all blow with SS stock fan..no air con room sweat.gif

mine :

150gb raptor 10k rpm
250gb 7200rpm
320gb 7200rpm
40gb 5400rpm

dunno if the readin not accurate..using everest to read it smile.gif
nice temperature there.no wonder look at ur case doh.gif laugh.gif

good airflow case is very important nod.gif
irangan
post Aug 18 2007, 06:57 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Aug 18 2007, 01:07 AM)
My harddisk is about 41 degrees when i have it blown by the intake fan at room temp of 22 degrees

The same time i used a HDD cooler and the temperature shot up to about 47 degrees... what a disappointment lol...

Btw the harddisk i am using is on my sig...
Your temp is seriously abnormal for a room temp at 22'. Probably you need to increase the air flow in ur case.

My room temp is around 27' (Air Cond). My HDD only at 29'c.

a1098113
post Aug 18 2007, 11:23 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Aug 18 2007, 06:57 AM)
Your temp is seriously abnormal for a room temp at 22'. Probably you need to increase the air flow in ur case.

My room temp is around 27' (Air Cond). My HDD only at 29'c.
I dont know why bro.. well i am putting in from of my intake fan... and seriously, i know about intake and exhaust wind flow dynamics and all else is fine besides my hdd. I am not sure though whether its just the make of the harddisk that gives me 41 degrees. Because as i know, the normal operating temp for western digital hdd is around 0-55 degrees celcius.

By the way, my casing chassis doesnt support fans that hit the 2000rpm mark and above, the vibration caused by the fan... bleh so i am limited with my cooling capabilites... unless u know la:P water cooling brows.gif
post Aug 19 2007, 03:51 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

using mine maxtor 40gb
always keep at 26 degree to 33 degree.
styloe
post Aug 20 2007, 02:29 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Aug 19 2007, 03:51 PM)
using mine maxtor 40gb
always keep at 26 degree to 33 degree.
in air con room i presume? hmm.gif
post Aug 20 2007, 11:43 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Aug 20 2007, 03:29 AM)
in air con room i presume? hmm.gif
NO air cond = 30-33C loh.
In Air cond = 26-30C
styloe
post Aug 21 2007, 02:39 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Aug 20 2007, 11:43 PM)
NO air cond = 30-33C loh.
In Air cond = 26-30C
ermm duhhh 40gb dun emits that much heat i guess like >100gb nod.gif
post Aug 21 2007, 11:19 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Aug 21 2007, 03:39 AM)
ermm duhhh 40gb dun emits that much heat i guess like >100gb  nod.gif
-.-....duno...
Mine HDD left 1.5GB le..sad.gif
-pWs-
post Aug 21 2007, 11:39 AM

8,545 posts

WD 80GB Hardisk [ 34-36 celcius ]
Maxtor 160GB Hardisk [ 36-38 celcius ]

Western Digital seems like very fast to get hot when intensive disk usage, while maxtor not. smile.gif

-pWs-
lohwenli
post Aug 21 2007, 05:36 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Hard to say. Hard disk temp sensors are even more screwed than other sensors. Had a few HDD report 16C in a air con room that was only 20C at the lowest. But anyway, for hard disks temp don't need to be precise, even if its off by 5C a readings of 20-40C should mean that the HDD is within very safe temps. No benefit to having the hard disk at super low temps, in fact, some report that the hard disk may even fail at too low a temp (sub-zero).
styloe
post Aug 21 2007, 07:33 PM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Aug 21 2007, 05:36 PM)
Hard to say. Hard disk temp sensors are even more screwed than other sensors. Had a few HDD report 16C in a air con room that was only 20C at the lowest. But anyway, for hard disks temp don't need to be precise, even if its off by 5C a readings of 20-40C should mean that the HDD is within very safe temps. No benefit to having the hard disk at super low temps, in fact, some report that the hard disk may even fail at too low a temp (sub-zero).
for me as long as Xcross the 50ish C enuff edi.... nod.gif
teck_dq
post Aug 22 2007, 07:04 PM

~`HorriBLe Ador@bLe'~
1,148 posts

so,just wanna ask,what is the ideal temperature for the hdd,to prevent it from damage? icon_question.gif
lohwenli
post Aug 23 2007, 09:54 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(teck_dq @ Aug 22 2007, 07:04 PM)
so,just wanna ask,what is the ideal temperature for the hdd,to prevent it from damage? icon_question.gif
Mentioned already, about 20-40C (if you're checking with software). Hard disk should not feel hotter than your forehead. Too cold le, hard to say. If the hard disk is just aircooled and room temp isn't so cold that you can be naked for a few hours without shivering, then it will never get too cold.
SpikeTwo
post Aug 23 2007, 11:34 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

ambient 29-30°C (no aircon). HDD idle 34°C. Load forgot. tongue.gif
stock CM fan.
a1098113
post Aug 23 2007, 11:48 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(teck_dq @ Aug 22 2007, 07:04 PM)
Well, an hard disk has a stated operating temperature in their specifications for a reason. IMO, as long your hard disk stays within the 30-late 40s should be just fine.. nothing over 48 degrees is advisable.
yahn
post Aug 24 2007, 03:32 PM

70 posts

isn't HDD cooler will really cool down the temp...coz almost all the hdd cooler are just come wiv a fan blow at the bottom side... wink.gif
RokXIII
post Aug 24 2007, 03:38 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(yahn @ Aug 24 2007, 03:32 PM)
isn't HDD cooler will really cool down the temp...coz almost all the hdd cooler are just come wiv a fan blow at the bottom side... wink.gif
i dun recommend to use a HDD cooler, as the vibration from the fan may bring damage to the HDD. Better just install a 12cm/8cm fan at the front of the HDD and blow the cool air to the hdd. smile.gif

lohwenli
post Aug 24 2007, 07:45 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Even a slow-medium speed 80mm fan blowing across is enough to keep up to 2 HDD within safe temps. No need for those HDD coolers which blow from underneath; they have terrible airflow anyway. More than 2 HDD may need slightly more powerful fans, but from my experience a slow 120mm fan can keep more than 4 HDD cool enough, which is really the most amount of HDD most of us might have.
ahbenggay
post May 6 2008, 05:36 PM

Tra la la
1,136 posts

this is the results i get from one of my HDD test(primary). do i need to replace a new HDD ?

http://www.hddstatus.com/hdrepanalysis.php

i have 3 of them and 3 of the HDD are at temperature 48 - 53
what should i do to cool them off cus i 24 hours on the pc xD

need serious advise cus my system already crash few times and each times it crash it cannot detect the primary hdd
tcchuin
post May 6 2008, 07:30 PM

511 posts

my WD 500Gb green power max 37C with a chiplak fan 90mm
GammaBoy
post May 6 2008, 07:41 PM

194 posts

Wow all your temps are way lower than mine.
Mine is about 60+ to 70+.
Just bought a 8cm fan today and should I blow directly at it or pependicular to the hdd?
Now is blowing across the bottom part of my 160gb hdd but still I got 60+ at load.
IcEMoCHa
post May 6 2008, 10:40 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

my 320gb runs at 34c and my other 250gb runs at 32c.. Hdd are quite durable actually.. My old laptop hdd runs at 60c when playing game cuz the heat from the GPU and CPU can't escape.. So u don't have to worry about it much..
CHEEKSEO
post Jul 28 2008, 04:16 PM

105 posts

what is the effect if hard disk run under long hot temp? how high can a hdd support
SUSmarine88
post Jul 17 2009, 01:54 AM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(CHEEKSEO @ Jul 28 2008, 05:16 PM)
what is the effect if hard disk run under long hot temp? how high can a hdd support
yup, i also interested to know about it..... biggrin.gif

IcEMoCHa
post Jul 18 2009, 12:49 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(marine88 @ Jul 17 2009, 01:54 AM)
yup, i also interested to know about it.....  biggrin.gif
Specs taken out from WD Caviar Black...

Temperature (Metric)
Operating -0° C to 60° C
Non-operating -40° C to 70° C

check the specs of ur hdd... max operating temperature is normally around 60C.. smile.gif
ganabathi
post Jul 23 2009, 01:39 AM

Associate of Master Photographers Association UK
981 posts

mine seagate 500gb 40C... no aircond
Serpentarius
post Jul 31 2009, 03:10 PM

482 posts

26°C ~ 60°C

must have atleast 26 deg cel to keep the mechanical + oil functioning
CuteHunter
post Aug 9 2009, 01:46 PM

126 posts

My temp using everest to detect it.. (no air-con)

WD 80GB = 35°C (use to run window)
Seagate 1TB = 39°C (24/7 torrent-ing/backup)

All HDD with fan blowing it... o.O
Maknusia
post Aug 11 2009, 10:55 PM

997 posts

wow, a reply one year too late?! blush.gif

anyways, the airflow within the casing is important to keep the temperature lower.

something between 40-60 C is fine.
dulux78
post Oct 12 2009, 12:42 AM

105 posts

My WD Caviar Blue 320GB with Coolermaster 120MM 90CFM fan - Max. 40 degree celcius, the lowest temp ever recorded - 30 degree celcius. Without fan - Max. 45 degree celcius
bowerchung
post Oct 12 2009, 05:29 PM

562 posts

my seagate barracuda 500GB working at 36c at room tempreture yawn.gif
kInOzAwA
post Oct 20 2009, 06:15 PM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

mine... around 26°C up to 40°C (maximum)... no aircond