SOLVED : Apple ID Question, Duplicate accounts?

TSak101ss
post Oct 7 2020, 08:41 PM, updated 6y ago

Tauke Mabuk Guinness Stout
449 posts

Greetings my dear sifus, after abandoning Apple for quite a number of years (Last phone was iP5), I decided to touch up my Apple ID for iP12

So I used my ID, for example, "ak101ss" reset my password, got a recovery email at "ak101ss@mail.com" and changed my password.

After changing my password and logging in again, it says

Then I insert my email as above and attempted it, it says like this pulak;

So I attempted to login with "ak101ss@mail.com" and there's another account pulak, which I had to reset the password to (which came to the same email address again) and it managed to login with all my old details and credentials.

So my question is, is my account duplicated? Or is it two separate accounts (ak101ss and ak101ss@mail.com)? Any chance to merge them?

This post has been edited by ak101ss: Oct 12 2020, 01:14 PM
daisiesdontdoit92
post Oct 11 2020, 09:22 PM

580 posts

My understanding is almost all Apple ID are email addresses now. Since you had a ID that wasnt email address before, Apple made you change the ID to a email address.

Should all be one account now, not duplicate, not separate.

If still not sure, maybe check Apple's support website: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201356
TSak101ss
post Oct 12 2020, 01:14 PM

Tauke Mabuk Guinness Stout
449 posts

QUOTE(daisiesdontdoit92 @ Oct 11 2020, 09:22 PM)
My understanding is almost all Apple ID are email addresses now. Since you had a ID that wasnt email address before, Apple made you change the ID to a email address.

Should all be one account now, not duplicate, not separate.

If still not sure, maybe check Apple's support website: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201356
Understood, thanks for your input. Issue solved. Topic closed.

0.0185sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:42 PM