AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Black Edition

X.E.D
post Aug 13 2007, 09:37 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Aug 13 2007, 08:55 PM)
I dont they need pity when they are almost dominating the market with their price for performance chips lor. I think Intel has to be the one to buck up lor coz not many can afford what intel has to give, compared to what amd can offer lor.

Btw, the X2 6400+ looks cool and mysterious thumbup.gif But dunno about performance lar... maybe some forummer like Shawty or Ianho can buy and test icon_rolleyes.gif  and tell us whats the verdict of this 90nm proc nod.gif
Trust me, this is a bad deal.

New Phenom X2s (Kuma) will wipe the floor of the Athlon X2s, being clock to clock as competitive as C2D (and even more), launching at 2.6ghz and plenty of room to OC (3.0 air is definitely easy, 3.4 normal, above that might need voltmods for B3 stepping)
X.E.D
post Aug 14 2007, 05:01 PM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Aug 14 2007, 11:42 AM)
Like what I have mentioned earlier, probably AMD is just clearing up their inventories (silicon, etc.). Phenom is coming out soon, but it doesn't really matter. It's better to clear out old stocks than to throw it away when it's already expired, right?

6400+ is not really a new processor, it's just the same F3 which AMD already have, just binned higher.
Yeah, 3.2Gig on 90nm is considered- wait, I don't know even where to start considering laugh.gif
It's pretty crazy considering the other 90nm chip to reportedly sell at a clock this high was Prescott-based, and that had a gazillion stages in its pipeline. For a 12-stager this is madness.

And hopefully brings hope for Phenoms to clock over 3.5Ghz stock in 65. If they can get the process mature quicker this time Penryn might actually have tougher competition lol. I have a feeling that they're staying at 65nm for some time (I do doubt Shanghai coming out so soon after Barcelona- wish they'd get high-k stuff into 45 or even 65 (if that is indeed possible with SOI))
X.E.D
post Aug 15 2007, 06:33 PM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Aug 15 2007, 12:08 PM)
woot, that's what I expected, 3.5Ghz tongue.gif could OC it to 4.0Ghz laugh.gif Joking.

The black box is darn tempting, but better wait, and consider for Phenoms (will it be 65??)

Any idea how much will it cost when Phenoms come?? I'm are die-hard fans of AMD lol laugh.gif
My best guess is near RM1000 for the Phenom X4 2.4 ("normal"), under RM2500 for the Phenom FX X4 2.8.

Opterons will be slightly cheaper than their Xeon counterparts- they could be a little more expensive too- but at the end, the unsightly costs of FB-DIMMS and of switching a platform is still giving AMD lots of orders for Barcelona.

As for Phenoms, AFAIK they no longer have the platform price advantage (unless you want to use a Geforce 6100 mobo tongue.gif) so AMD would price it a little more aggressive. On the other hand the TDP of the 65nm Stars CPUs are still quite impressive, considering what Intel's managing with 45.

EDIT: So I saw Penryn Xeon QCs weren't that cheap as expected lol.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Aug 15 2007, 09:38 PM
X.E.D
post Aug 16 2007, 09:12 PM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Aug 16 2007, 12:21 AM)
Do u mean if Phenom is develop on 90nm technology process the frequency could be higher? unsure.gif
Diminishing return.

You'd rather mature the 65nm process, which shouldn't be far far away. Q4's Barcelona chips (compared to Q3 ones) already can ramp higher, almost to the rate of 90nm Windsors- Brisbane never (officially) went there.

Get another stepping for Q1/Q2 08, and things could get interesting.

0.0172sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:42 PM