[2020]iPhone 12 Pro/Pro Max Discussion Thread | V1, It’s a leap year.
attw
Oct 14 2020, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(Dentarg @ Oct 14 2020, 05:35 PM) I can’t imagine anyone would want to buy an iPhone 12 when there is no 5G in Malaysia. I remember last time when iPhone 5 was released in Malaysia, there was no 4G. It's not just for the 5G, plenty of folks already forked out top dollar for 5G Android phones. At least with the iPhone 12, you are assured of getting software updates till 2025 - so hopefully 5G is good by then!
attw
Oct 14 2020, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(ryanice8888 @ Oct 14 2020, 07:12 PM) Well I guess if its a technological hurdle then yeah it make sense. They could have adopt an option to switch on 120hz (on/off) though, leaving 60hz by default since the panel supports it. Frankly speaking, I would spend getting a Max if more battery required to run at high refresh rate. I guess its just apple being apple, important to get things right at the first go, at the expense for a slow adoption.Thats the trade-off making me dilemma in getting the pro or mini. :'( I think you hit the nail right on the head with that. They do tend to overthink it sometimes. Not only do they have to get it right but they’ll pressure the app developers to do so as well and by the time everything comes together, they’ve missed yet another upgrade cycle and will have to wait for the next one...  The missing 90hz/120hz refresh rate display doesn’t bother me. The retention of the Lightning port in favour of a USB C port doesn’t bother me. In fact, the missing charging brick and earphones don’t trouble me too, but I really did wish they incorporated Touch ID into the power button like they did for the latest iPad Air. In the times of COVID and compulsory face coverings, that would have been very useful!
attw
Oct 15 2020, 07:41 AM
QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 14 2020, 11:48 PM) rm300 keep as spare phone or pass to kids or elderly to use also better... Ya, I'm eyeing to retire my mum's 5S. QUOTE(kamikraze @ Oct 15 2020, 12:05 AM) Come, come, join the party bro! QUOTE(vez @ Oct 15 2020, 07:36 AM) https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=98528110 rumours, but seems legit... have to wait the phone tear down to confirm I have a feeling it will be true, haha. It's absolutely Apple's modus operandi to give a smaller battery and tout the efficiency of their new chipset.
attw
Oct 15 2020, 08:35 AM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 15 2020, 08:19 AM) Apple sees $81 billion in market value erased as it unveils its first 5G iPhonesApple stock slid as much as 4% on Tuesday as the tech giant revealed its first slate of 5G-capable iPhones. The dive erased $81 billion from Apple's market capitalization at intraday lows before shares pared some losses. https://markets.businessinsider.com/news/st...-10-1029676081#That says a lot of the market sentiment over the new iphone 12 line up. I hope that tanslates to poor sales so we'll have enough stocks here for me to buy, hahaha...
attw
Oct 15 2020, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 15 2020, 08:40 AM) Hahaha...Malaysia being on the first tier launch says a lot about ready stocks no? Anyway as a true blue ifag, it is your call of duty to help Apple stay afloat. You have to buy not one but a few units bro.... to help Apple keep up its market share and profits.  The target is two units bro. A Pro Max for the Mrs and a Mini for me
attw
Oct 15 2020, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(mr08nobody @ Oct 15 2020, 08:02 AM) interesting, not sure to upgrade or not from current pro max If you have an 11 Pro Max, I would say not necessary to upgrade, since the only upgrades are the camera and chipset - 5G shouldn't be a consideration at all right now
attw
Oct 15 2020, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 15 2020, 09:27 AM) If you are used the the max then Pro Max it is. You wouldn't want to go back to small screens. I'm still on the fence. Not sure of upgrading my XS Max too unless attw buys me a set in support of Apple's falling sales.  Hahaha, buy your own  Actually, there seems to be a desire for smaller, flat screen flagships these days, considering the S10e was quite popular last year. Maybe Apple will have a winner in the 12 Mini. QUOTE(andrewtho @ Oct 15 2020, 09:43 AM) I’m upgrading my 11 Pro Max after 1 year, unnecessary upgrade but always a sucker for new tech. The idea of MagSafe is just too tempting - especially the magnetic wallet pouch  I upgrade every year unnecessarily too so no judgement there This post has been edited by attw: Oct 15 2020, 09:58 AM
attw
Oct 15 2020, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(willi_chs @ Oct 15 2020, 10:09 AM) Mmmm I've checked the dimensions of 12 Pro Max, it's a tad millimeter diff from XS Max, so yay can consider... Another thing is, is d camera upgrade of 12 Pro Max do justice as compared to 12 Pro? I'd say only if you're a photography enthusiast or semi professional or higher  For casual point and shoot, I think the 12 Pro will be more than adequate.
attw
Oct 15 2020, 02:04 PM
Public Service AnnouncementGuys, if you get pushback from your Android friends (like I do, hahaha) about the missing charger and earphones for the iPhone 12, please feel free to quote me  For perspective: - S10+ 128GB @ RM3699, S20 Ultra 5G 128GB @ RM4999. Increase % = 35.1% Note 10+ 256GB @ RM4199, Note 20 Ultra 5G 256GB @ RM5199. Increase % = 23.8% OnePlus 7 Pro 128GB @ RM2999, OnePlus 8 Pro 5G 128GB @ RM3699. Increase % = 23.3% iPhone 11 Pro Max 64GB @ RM5299, iPhone 12 Pro Max 128GB 5G @ RM5299. Increase % = 0. iPhone 11 Pro Max 256GB @ RM5999, iPhone 12 Pro Max 256GB 5G @ RM5799. Increase % = -3.3%
attw
Oct 15 2020, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(ahlin @ Oct 15 2020, 02:06 PM) Hahaha, no bro, I just own a charger and a pair of AirPods Pro
attw
Oct 15 2020, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Oct 15 2020, 02:11 PM) Not being a jerk here. But you must also cost in the standard boxed-in accessories like the charging brick and earphones. With that said, there would be increases in prices albeit not huge relatively. Yes, point taken, bro. The original charging brick and earphones from Apple cost RM99 each (RRP) so it's about another RM200, which still makes the quantum of price increase for the iPhone the lowest this year. https://www.soyacincau.com/2020/10/14/apple...official-price/Oh, and there are no jerks here, bro. All free to have an opinion, hahaha
attw
Oct 15 2020, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 15 2020, 02:36 PM) attwBro... too bad its still lockdown for MY and SG. It would be really memorable to pickup your Iphone 12 Pro Max from this store the first ever floating Apple store in the world, especially during Christmas. Maybe we can arrange a TT here with the rest of the guys next year.  Oh wow! This is nice! Ya, I spent every Christmas in Singapore for the last 10 years or so, guess this year won't be the same  Already been to their new Store in Jewel as well. Can't believe they have three Apple Stores there and here habuk pun takde!  QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Oct 15 2020, 03:19 PM) Would you be buying the magsafe charger?I’m thinking of getting one myself. No, don't plan to. Just plan to use my existing third party charger and cable. This post has been edited by attw: Oct 15 2020, 03:47 PM
attw
Oct 15 2020, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(shazmiey @ Oct 15 2020, 05:10 PM) planning to upgrade from 6s to 12 pro. about the cable though, will we receive the new braided lightning cable as being rumoured or the old one? There's no braided cable yet, just the normal USB C to Lightning cable. This post has been edited by attw: Oct 15 2020, 05:13 PM
attw
Oct 15 2020, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 15 2020, 07:05 PM) I already have a 65w ravpower USB-C/A Charger, 96w MBP USB-C charger and an incoming Zendure 100W USB-C/A charger. Plus a 60w ravpower USB-C/A power bank and an incoming 100w Zendure USB-C power bank. I'm one of the few who are glad Apple didn't include a charger this time. Already too many chargers lol  I'm also part of the few who share your view
attw
Oct 15 2020, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 15 2020, 07:44 PM) Well if they provide the charger with no price change then sure I don't mind though  I'm curious to see which phone maker will be the next to follow suit
attw
Oct 15 2020, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(JustAskingOnly @ Oct 15 2020, 09:35 PM) I saw apple malaysia no longer advertise the iPhone 11pro/max. Wonder what happen to the old existing stock Resellers like machines, Switch, Senheng, etc. still have stocks. Can look out for some good deals beyond the RM500 discounts being offered now.
attw
Oct 16 2020, 06:36 AM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 15 2020, 09:52 PM) Huh? Where to get the 11 Pro Max at Rm3XXX to have savings of Rm2k over the 12 Pro Max? Used set you mean? If really can get new at Rm3XXX, then worth it over the minor updates you will be getting from the 12 Pro Max. I’m probably being hypocritical about this considering I sold my iPhone 11 Pro Max for 4k, but I’d have reservations about buying a used set for that amount of money especially if the warranty has expired.
attw
Oct 16 2020, 07:58 AM
attw
Oct 16 2020, 08:30 AM
QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Oct 16 2020, 08:24 AM) Maxis brand new is selling with cobtract for about rm3.6k+. And of course there are advance payment of RM1400 to be rebated monthly which looks fine to me. 3.6k for the 256GB 11 Pro Max?
attw
Oct 16 2020, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(andrewtho @ Oct 16 2020, 09:15 AM) Belkin always mahal one Waiting for Nomad to come out with another all-in-one charging base - the current Base Station Pro abit out of budget. Or wait for folks like Ugreen and Baseus to produce the same at a fraction of that price