Is it worth to buy used camry hybrid?

TShungrygodzilla
post Sep 28 2020, 08:47 PM, updated 6y ago

456 posts

As per title, saw 2015-2017 ish camry hybrid selling for about 80k range, is it worth to buy?

Considerations:
- I need to drive up and down KL -> JB once every week, assuming mileage 1k km per week
- Best to have a stable and comfy ride on the highway
- Should be reliable, toyota should be reliable? just not sure about hybrid car in general
- Most importantly, if possible to save on petrol, since mileage is quite high

Will appreciate if in your reply you can let me know if you have first hand exp, aka, owner of camry hybrid, or you just hear say from friends.

What other car will be a good choice for 70-100k budget?
SUSifourtos
post Sep 28 2020, 08:56 PM

2,256 posts

in that range, Sonata 2016 is much better value.

Camry hybrid look very UNCLE.

Sonata 2016 below 60K.
for kimchi RV Curse.

Avoid Used Toyota at all cost.
toyota being sell at Higher RV just because People think It should be...
and high demand....

Most modern car ( Jap/Korean ) Are quite reliable.

Thus, Sonata is about 25% cheaper, with better aging Look.

if die die want toyota, just go Altis 2020 with Ezbeli, RM943/month
SleeplessEyes
post Sep 28 2020, 10:08 PM

2,429 posts

Come on , hungrygodzilla,
Its a Toyota.

But as usual, be careful with used car dealers . Most of their cars have the odometer adjusted.

Camry hybrid is popular with businessman.
My friend has one, 160k and several times I sat in his car still comfortable and steady. Hybrid still functioning (yeah).
My friend is a businessman btw. Travels outstation frequently.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Sep 28 2020, 10:09 PM
cloudwin
post Sep 29 2020, 08:17 AM

110 posts

In term of reliability, Toyota will never disappointed you and Camry is a great car to own. But do note hybrid only work under low speed, while you cruising in highway with high speed will use only petrol.

Cheeky
post Sep 29 2020, 08:21 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Sep 28 2020, 08:56 PM)

Sonata 2016 below 60K.
for kimchi RV Curse.

and high demand....

I agree. Sonata one tank can drive about 900km for long distance cruise. City driving about 350-400km per tank

Camry hybrid useful for start stop traffic to help save fuel. I don't feel that it is useful in long distance as main power supply is from engine.
mystvearn
post Sep 29 2020, 08:25 AM

6,639 posts

stay away from used hybrids. Don't need to deal with battery issues.
littlefire
post Sep 29 2020, 08:55 AM

2,734 posts

Do you know a lot of hybrid owners when got people or 2nd shop want to trade in their cars they are got damn happy to let go.. I already got few friends driving hybrid from Toyota & Honda, most of them are damn happy when let go as no need to worry about the electronics replacement & A/C parts failing after warranty.. All these parts cost a bomb to replace and they told me the money you save in fuel over the years will just throw back to replace these parts when warranty is off..

This post has been edited by littlefire: Sep 29 2020, 08:57 AM
SleeplessEyes
post Sep 29 2020, 09:08 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Sep 29 2020, 08:55 AM)
Do you know a lot of hybrid owners when got people or 2nd shop want to trade in their cars they are got damn happy to let go.. I already got few friends driving hybrid from Toyota & Honda, most of them are damn happy when let go as no need to worry about the electronics replacement & A/C parts failing after warranty.. All these parts cost a bomb to replace and they told me the money you save in fuel over the years will just throw back to replace these parts when warranty is off..
Then I can only LMAO to these ungrateful hybrid owners. laugh.gif laugh.gif
They should be only driving Axia. whistling.gif rclxms.gif
Mau gaya tapi tak mau maintain

Toyota Hybrid system aint a new thing.
Its used in Prius all over the world.
Even taxis such as SG taxis also used them daily.
Proven for its robustness.

The worst case scenario is a partially failed battery after like 300K .
Even that also is not common.
SUSifourtos
post Sep 29 2020, 09:14 AM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Sep 29 2020, 08:25 AM)
we need more ppl like u
who dont understand hybrid car and battery

to keep used hybrid price as attractive as possible.
Jay Chua CC
post Sep 29 2020, 09:25 AM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

get a 2017 hyundai ioniq. Now around rm50k+ only. Newer and better tech compared to camry hybrid.
kevinlim001
post Sep 29 2020, 09:25 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Sep 28 2020, 08:47 PM)
As per title, saw 2015-2017 ish camry hybrid selling for about 80k range, is it worth to buy?

Considerations:
- I need to drive up and down KL -> JB once every week, assuming mileage 1k km per week
- Best to have a stable and comfy ride on the highway
- Should be reliable, toyota should be reliable? just not sure about hybrid car in general
- Most importantly, if possible to save on petrol, since mileage is quite high

Will appreciate if in your reply you can let me know if you have first hand exp, aka, owner of camry hybrid, or you just hear say from friends.

What other car will be a good choice for 70-100k budget?
not much at the budget when it comes to comfort and good FC. some of forumers here pointed out... you need to understand how hybrid works.. the hybrid system install in most japanese family car is meant for city saving not highway.. on highway engine will work like normal car for both movement and charging.. on heavy acceleration - motor will kick in to bring you extra power.. the engine will turn off only on low speed in city drive.

Pure battery drive may goes up to 80kmh or 100kmh (to be clarified this).. unlike BMW PHEV it can goes up to 140kmh on pure battery.

of cos you will still get saving over same class model like accord or mazda 6. the unit my friends own easily hit 20km/l over mix driving

lastly if you can afford get a new car. the second hand car you never know why it was sold by the previous owner, it could be battery failure. Even it gets cheaper over time but the replacement cost easily goes beyond RM10k.. better if you can get a good mechanic to help you check the car you are about to buy icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by kevinlim001: Sep 29 2020, 09:31 AM
littlefire
post Sep 29 2020, 09:42 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Sep 29 2020, 10:08 AM)
Then I can only LMAO to these ungrateful hybrid owners.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
They should be only driving Axia.   whistling.gif  rclxms.gif
Mau gaya tapi tak mau maintain

Toyota Hybrid system aint a new thing.
Its used in Prius all over the world.
Even taxis such as SG taxis also used them daily.
Proven for its robustness.

The worst case scenario is a partially failed battery after like 300K .
Even that also is not common.
LOL.. If you think battery is just 1 thing, is more than that.. Electric A/C compressor, transformers, electric steering rack etc.. all these got life span..
A lot of my friends which drive hybrid at first is not concern about environment but the cost they can save from previous tax savings incentive and fuel (calculative person) when new... doh.gif Now Malaysia fuel is still cheap and not expensive compare to oversea, due to their calculative nature their feedback is not worth to keep or maintain a hybrid especially after warranty.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Sep 29 2020, 09:43 AM
TShungrygodzilla
post Sep 29 2020, 03:37 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Sep 28 2020, 08:56 PM)

Sonata 2016 below 60K.
for kimchi RV Curse.

and high demand....

Ok, will check out Sonata, just that I didn't know that his car still exist.

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Sep 28 2020, 10:08 PM)
Come on , hungrygodzilla,
Its a Toyota.

But as usual, be careful with used car dealers . Most of their cars have the odometer adjusted.

Camry hybrid is popular with businessman.
My friend has one, 160k and several times I sat in his car still comfortable and steady. Hybrid still functioning (yeah).
My friend is a businessman btw. Travels outstation frequently.
The fact that's it's toyota that's why I dare to even ask about a used hybrid.

QUOTE(cloudwin @ Sep 29 2020, 08:17 AM)
In term of reliability, Toyota will never disappointed you and Camry is a great car to own. But do note hybrid only work under low speed, while you cruising in highway with high speed will use only petrol.
I realized most reply mentioned this, if hybrid is not as useful on highway then I will just consider normal petrol options.

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Sep 29 2020, 08:25 AM)
Is it still the case now? Since hybrid is considered a old and matured tech in every where else other than Malaysia.

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Sep 29 2020, 09:25 AM)
get a 2017 hyundai ioniq. Now around rm50k+ only. Newer and better tech compared to camry hybrid.
Will visit the showroom when I can, thanks for mentioning.

TShungrygodzilla
post Sep 29 2020, 03:38 PM

456 posts

If I were to go for a used petrol car, what would be a good option for budget ranging 70-100k?
kevinlim001
post Sep 29 2020, 03:43 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Sep 29 2020, 03:38 PM)
If I were to go for a used petrol car, what would be a good option for budget ranging 70-100k?
why not camry 2.0 or Altis? accord /civic also can be an option.. civic 1.5 tebu cheapest on roadtax if u r not foot heavy this 1 might work for you

This post has been edited by kevinlim001: Sep 29 2020, 03:44 PM
TShungrygodzilla
post Sep 29 2020, 03:46 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Sep 29 2020, 03:43 PM)
why not camry 2.0 or Altis? accord /civic also can be an option.. civic 1.5 tebu cheapest on roadtax if u r not foot heavy this 1 might work for you
Im considering Civic, exterior not bad, but have to say, Jap car have the most unimaginative interior, lose to china and korean interior.
metalfire
post Sep 29 2020, 04:06 PM

1,306 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Sep 29 2020, 03:38 PM)
Camry 2.4V also can
Camry 2.5V non hybrid also can
Altis 2.0V also steady

Toyota cars - just do regular service maintenance and it will continue to run.

Kia Optima K5
Kia Cerato K3 2.0 also good handling

If you like Honda..Civi 1.5 turbo top spec lo, the power of dreams ma.

But if you want to save fuel, try BMW 320 diesel also can...1 full tank can do KL -> JB ++ some groceries/errand running.
SleeplessEyes
post Sep 29 2020, 04:13 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Sep 29 2020, 03:37 PM)
The fact that's it's toyota that's why I dare to even ask about a used hybrid.
I realized most reply mentioned this, if hybrid is not as useful on highway then I will just consider normal petrol options. 
Depends on your right foot.
Your right foot will determine whether the ecu should run in Engine mode, EV mode or both.
It will automatically alternate in between all 3 modes.

This is where the power meter comes handy to control your right foot.
I would think on highway speeds both the engine and motor may run at the same time giving both balance of power and good fuel consumption. So its also a win win situation .

Well if it were me in your shoes, I would opt for 2nd choice: Diesel. Low revs, high torque, and good fuel economy. And also robust for high mileage.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Sep 29 2020, 04:16 PM
mystvearn
post Sep 29 2020, 04:16 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Sep 29 2020, 03:37 PM)
Is it still the case now? Since hybrid is considered a old and matured tech in every where else other than Malaysia.
Battery, new tech or not, will degrade over time. At the end of the day, it is a battery. To make matters worse, Malaysia is hot and humid, not ideal for battery.

Now buying a used car. How long will the current battery last? Car batteries are bespoke items. Different models, different kind of batteries. How much will it cost? If you are planning to keep for a long time, are you certain that the battery will still be on sale? If on sale, does the original replacement battery have the same capacity as like new? How deep integration of the battery is with the car system. If battery fails, does the entire car fail or not? If car does not fail when battery fail, means you are driving around with dead weight. You will need to service it at the SC. No other option.
TShungrygodzilla
post Sep 29 2020, 04:17 PM

456 posts

Light foot. I actually hate the feeling of sudden acceleration or stopping, yes it's fun once in a while, but most of the time i will try to ensure min movement/adjustment to the panel when i drive.

0.0216sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:16 PM