7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Trading Card Games [TCG] Magic The Gathering | V2, Shadowmoor Pre-release Mania | April 13

munyip7
post Aug 13 2007, 03:21 PM

33 posts

Top 4:
Wai Mun - RG Goyf
Jude - RG Goyf
Ben - MGA
Allan - Rakdos

Others who's on Top 8:
Kiat - Rakdos
Zul - Dredge from Below
Matt - Omnicord
Peter - MGA

Most correct version. smile.gif
Total 16 Mogg Fanatics in top8

I think at least 32 of them in the field. Hahah
munyip7
post Sep 4 2007, 02:53 PM

33 posts

Usually I just troll around here only. Coz all of you organise draft in KL and such, I can't participate in the talk la.

Actually, final standings, I am 5th = extra 100USD.

I think I am the only one playing with Storm. Not much practise for me, coz I am isolated in Ipoh. Can't find any competitive playtest partner. Only Wearn helps me run thru most of the matchups. Storm looks bad when you goldfish. But usually you don't have to go off turn 4-5. Against aggro, you just have to calculate the damage their spells can do when they end their turn. Gargadons are no problems, coz I will hold back remand against it. In cases, aggro will be more pressured to deal more damge. Against the field of 'control', absence of hard counters make life easier for me. The weekend tech of Warhammers is too slow to cause me any serious trouble. I played against Weng Sheng in round 3. I won game 1. Game 2, I Ignite Memories storm for 11 copies. His hand is 7 cards and only 2 lands. I hit his lands 7 times. Can't do much about that. Biiiiaaattcchhhh!! tongue.gif

My deck list is the standard pre-Japanese version. The Kenji Jap version is soooooo much stronger.

In the top 8, I think my worse matchup is Edwin's Teachings deck. I can 50/50 against dredge and walk thru all other decks in the top8. Swiss constructed is 4-1-1. 1 lost to lucksack Dredge and 1 ID to top8.

Draft portion, I can't complain about it. Pod 2, Pack 1 first pick Sulfurous Blast, 3rd and 5th pick Sudden Shock. Pack 2, first pick Pyrohemia. Pack 3 first pick Sprout Swarm. Other notable cards are 2x Nomads (4/4 vanilla creature), 2x Citanul Woodreaders, 2x +2/-2 red enchantment. I am so bad with names. Heheh

Draft 2 is really bad. Pod 1. Packs really bad. And I mean really bad. Pack 1 have to take Spineret Sliver. Imagine that. At the end, I got a really bad GWr deck that can only win if i can get my double stirker red sliver out. Hahah. I prayed for 1-2 with that deck and that's what I did.

In one tournament, I got the best TPF draft deck I ever drafted and also the worst. Lolz. I showed my deck 2 to various pll and all agreed that it is really horrible. Heheh. But managed to pull out that important win. I know I can 2-0 with Storm coz I have been drawing so strong with it.

Top8 match against Edwin, suddenlly my aura all gone. Haha. I won game 1 on turn 4. Then he won 3 in a row on the back of Expirtates and a timely Beacon of Immortality. I shooting for 35 damage. He beacon to 40 life. That was the max damage I can do with my mana, so I can't do anything about it. I know he got Beacon, but he have no mana to Teaching it and cast it. So I took a gamble. Can't do shit if it's in his top 12 cards. smile.gif

I didn't test with the Storm deck before Nats. I only got the cards on Tuesday and never played with it. Hahah. Same thing happens with the GW Goyf deck that got me to Valencia.

Anyway, it was a fun Nats. The top 8 definately revigored my thirst for the game.

Time now to grind for PT KL and not to test for Valencia. Hahahaha

Will update round-by-round comments when the result out online. I can't remember whose my opponents is.

Round 1 vs Tommy Chew playing BR with Gargadon // G1 turn4 18 damage...he shock himself with a land, G2 turn5 21 damage.....he didn't shock himself but lose out on sulfurous spring coloured mana.

Round 2 vs ........

Round 3 vs Weng Sheng playing Dredge // see above

Draft 1: Open packs strongly. Maybe used too much draft aura, no leftover for Draft 2. Hahah

Round 4 vs ....... UB with Damnation that was passed to him and it didn't show up. G1 easy. I think he is not an 'expert' drafter. His spells no threat to me. I just buffer myself with removal and kill with sprout swarm. G2, I turn 1 Search for Tomorrow and proceed to Search for Next Week too. Hahah, land flood. G3, see G1.

Round 5 vs ....... forgot. Will updated if I can remember after seeing name.

Round 6 vs ....... forgot name. But his deck quite strong. Teferi + Lynessa + bounce spells and foresees. He didn't pressure me, I was able to sprout him to death with the +2/+2 to all vanilla creatures that table back to me in my SS pack. G2, I early pressure him and finish with Pyrohemia after he flashed Teferi to kill my blocker.

Draft 2: I purposely don't wanna remember this bad draft. Hahah. At least I got a good creature curve.

Round 7 vs Soon Leong // His Lynessa (again) control the board while he beat me with Imperialsaur. G2 almost the same.

Round 8 vs Nik Iskandar // I won G1 and saw a glimmer of hope. G2 and G3 I died to his his deck because he has removal and I have none. G2 he boarded to 5x cards. I thought I have even better chance. But I can't handle his fliers and multiple Aven Riftwatchers.

Me: Your deck is thicker than usual la.
Nik: Yeah, my deck is so bad, I have to board in something.
Me: I never played with something so 'thick' before
Nik: Lolz
Me: You are the first man I played against with something so thick.
Nik: Double lolz!!
Me: tongue.gif

Round 9 vs Kok Weng with a solid BR deck with Bloodshot Trainee supported by 3x Embrace (the +2/-2 enchanment) // I won G1 on creature curve. I lost G2 to his combo. G3 I boarded in a single Erratic Mutation and 3x Gifts of Granite. E.Mutation in my hand so I kept. Bloodshoot Trainee combo arrived as expected and I killed it. He didn't draw another Embrace for my Mire Boa that went all the way.

Round 10 vs Sean La Faber // His Lightning Angel deck causes me no problem. I turn 4 kill again G1. G2 he killed me with 3/1 suspend shadow creature + warhammer. G2 I boarded in Matyr of Ashes, killed his shadow creature and combo at my own pace.

Round 11 vs Whey Whey playing OmniChord. // I just have to play around Runesnag. I remanded this signet twice and draw lots with hatching plans. He can't overcome my advantage. G2 I kept 5 lands hand and draw go. I remanded his Endturn Chord. I guess it's B.Elemental. I have enough mana, so he can't lock me up anyway. I calculated that I have 2 rites, swath, grapeshot in hand, so I just need 2 mana to kill him next turn. So his endturn I tap low till 1 land to cast lots of spells. He Chord for Pickles lock, remand my Lotus in my upkeep. I played Vents, can combo. He was quite shocked. Lolz

Round 12 ID

Quarters, read above.

Whew.... Sorry if I can't remember my opponents' names and you happen to read this. I am quite bad with names especially with new faces.

Till next time,
Cheers

PS. To those didn't do so well, never mind. My 1st Nats 2 years ago, I went 4-5 drop, 2nd Nats last year 3-1-3 drop.

QUOTE(kalspawn @ Sep 3 2007, 11:47 PM)
Waa mun yip got number 8??
How come he hasnt post here for quite some time
When am i going to get serious in MTG sigh... no time
This post has been edited by munyip7: Sep 4 2007, 03:43 PM
munyip7
post Sep 4 2007, 03:25 PM

33 posts

updated post with round by round report. Slow day at the office. Heheh
munyip7
post Sep 4 2007, 03:26 PM

33 posts

I need the byes to Bangkok, so don't come Ipoh kacau me ar!! Growwwllll!!!

QUOTE(blade825 @ Sep 4 2007, 03:24 PM)
i still think omnichord would have beaten all the tech decks especialli the BWU deck. But then again i might be wrong. Anywyas sealed this sunday who is playin in KL , Kuching & Ipoh ?
munyip7
post Sep 4 2007, 03:31 PM

33 posts

you are always welcomed to test in Ipoh too.
smile.gif))

QUOTE(blade825 @ Sep 4 2007, 03:16 PM)
heh mun yip then come kl and play test biggrin.gif ur always welcome
This post has been edited by munyip7: Sep 4 2007, 03:33 PM
munyip7
post Sep 4 2007, 03:35 PM

33 posts

You come, I at least let you tarpao Ipoh Hor Fun back to KL
Hahah

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 4 2007, 03:32 PM)
go ipoh also u tapao us better dun go XD
munyip7
post Sep 4 2007, 11:06 PM

33 posts

not seen them so much de. hopefully some will come for GPT this weekend. it's sealed deck so I guess some will come. can you msg them and ask them come? ahahah
practice sure can...... in ipoh if you want me play, i sure obliged one!! come kl practice no point la.... heheh
actually it took me 1 whole year before i win my 1st sanction draft. so no pressure la.....usually only after drafting 1 block, you will do much better in the new one. card evaluation skills goes up any advantage over the field is leveled. so dun give up......
the below quote dun come from me.... heheh.... i very happy when drafting with you guys coz usually i get passed plenty of good stuff. smile.gif

QUOTE(kalspawn @ Sep 4 2007, 08:58 PM)
aaa... really missed playing draft at iypoh
the most common quote while drafting

"What are you guys drafting la!!! ***** dunno what to pick liao. U guys know how to draft o not?"

ya... im a real noob... sure no practice playing with us aa mun yip?? hey tell me 1 thing, do UTP players still go there? I think they slowed down a lot...
This post has been edited by munyip7: Sep 4 2007, 11:54 PM
munyip7
post Sep 5 2007, 02:30 PM

33 posts

could be the same a$$ that con me RM300 worth of cards..... same tactics. never mind. learn from that experience, gain exp, lvl up. smile.gif

i am sure that ppl don't mind you taking commons after drafting. lolz. that should help you start ur collection. how can he con you everything ar? i am sure you keeping ur commons.....ahhahaha

QUOTE(esca_flo @ Sep 5 2007, 02:03 PM)
some guy that i get to know during a pre-release event.  he ask to exchange number for trades and buy/sell cards. so we exchange number.  one day he call me and ask me if i want to sell my cards , at that time i was busy and thinking of slowing down/quit magic , it was mirrodin block time.  so we meet up , he look over my cards ,  he jot down all the card and prices that he is willing to give me.  but then at end of day he say he just hv rm 200 with him,  so i said  if  like that  just take rm 200 worth of stuff from me lar.  he say cannot like that ,  if like that price will change in future for whatever things he didnt take. ( ok here comes my stupidity into play )  so i was ok la if like that i accept ur rm 200 for my entire collection of good cards.  he say will meet up again to settle the rest the following week. but week turn into month - until i started to call him ,  change number la ,  gf  pick up say he not there la , this and that. until i lazy to follow up anymore.  all in about rm 1000 worth of stuff , he calculated the price according market price at that time.
he even show me his driving license and ic for me to look at if later he con me.  well , he con me good alrite hahaha.
munyip7
post Sep 6 2007, 03:05 PM

33 posts

ahaha!! now you wanna con my foil fury charm ar? tongue.gif
if i can find it, you can have it.......

planeswalker indeed behave like legendary creatures.......destroy by state-based effect

"Each planeswalker has a subtype. For example, Garruk Wildspeaker says "Planeswalker -- Garruk" on its type line. These subtypes are also called planeswalker types. These are not creature types; they're an independent list.

* If two or more planeswalkers that share a subtype are in play, they're all put into their owners' graveyards as a state-based effect.
"

i expect some limited purpose cards like Hero's Demise

QUOTE(kalspawn @ Sep 6 2007, 02:27 PM)
really? gimme2 ... could u please forward it to me too??

Hahaha Munyip oso got conned... hey munyip i want con your foil fury charm la... can laaa... gimme gimme

Me oso cant wait for lorwyn... Cant wait to test planeswalker... but then they r not legendary right?? so could play multiple planeswalker with the same name?

N its kinda hard to kill oso... theyre not many cards that say destroy target permanent... broken

Maybe there will be a card... destroy all planeswalker in play... that includes the players hahaha
munyip7
post Sep 7 2007, 04:05 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(somebody19 @ Sep 7 2007, 03:23 PM)
Lol I was wondering if newbies play at Comics Corner in SS15 as well? I mean I'd like if I didnt get my a$$ whooped so fast I can't even figure out what's going on lol.
i only learn to play better after being whooped for a year.....hehehe....

Added on September 7, 2007, 4:10 pm
QUOTE(esca_flo @ Sep 7 2007, 02:40 PM)

btw think i can qualify for ptkl..........  i can dream  can i ? sweat.gif

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgco...ur08-qualifiers
anyone can qualify for a PT. just takes some patience. since it's limited even PTQ, just hope for a good/solid seal deck. then the tricky part comes. top8 draft. the one thing i usually notice when comparing 'noobie' and 'pro' draft is the level of discipline. pls stop taking money rare if you wanna improve. pls be discipline when commiting to a colour or 2. it's no use to change colour when you see a bomb, unless it's still pack 1 or early pack 2. in sanctioned top8 draft, you do not play the person sitting on your left or right until the finals, so the chances you seeing him is quite low. hopefully i provided some insight to things.

This post has been edited by munyip7: Sep 7 2007, 04:10 PM
munyip7
post Sep 7 2007, 11:58 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(esca_flo @ Sep 7 2007, 08:26 PM)
issit ?  i think magic and me cannot separate la how hard i try ......  that is good right ?  now i feel like im talking to a shrink ...

Added on September 7, 2007, 8:32 pm
he is very serious about selling em because he is not into magic anymore at all.  pm me ur offer price ,  he hv the illusion of selling em at rm 50 a piece.... is that even logic?
let me know the condition of the cards, then i will make my offer. i am a serious player and bidder.

munyip7
post Sep 10 2007, 03:01 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 10 2007, 01:06 PM)
well seal deck is like that with deck swap...
good cards ppl will drop...
this is casual player mentallity. and this only happens in Michael Toh's sealdeck events. you CANNOT drop before finishing registering, swap and start round 1. only Michael Toh allow this to happens. I am not critizing Mike's way to run an event, but if he feels this way will get more players in, then I have nothing to say.

In deck registration, you are registering SOME OTHER PLAYER'S deck. Not your deck. this is done to prevent cheating. as long as you remind yourself that this is actually someone's else products you are opening, then it should be fine. if you can't, then please don't enter a tournament. might as well go next door to CC and buy packs. I am really sick of this mentalilty.

sorry if i offended anyone, but this is my 2 cents. you say you cannot improve, but how can you improve if you drop from a tournament? (evo, i am not saying you drop. 'You' means the ppl complaining not improving).

Added on September 10, 2007, 3:07 pm
QUOTE(esca_flo @ Sep 10 2007, 12:22 PM)
how do we go about if we lost our DCI card and forgot the number as well?  on pre-release day ,  i wont hv to make a new DCI number right ?  they can just recover it and give me replacement card?
DCI cards aka the hard plastic type usually mail with player's rewards every 2 years
they can recover your number based on your name, but no replacement card will be issued. just key it into your phone lor.

This post has been edited by munyip7: Sep 10 2007, 03:07 PM
munyip7
post Sep 10 2007, 04:02 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(CHa0sTheory @ Sep 10 2007, 03:55 PM)
I died in Finals vs Vincent Gan.... cry.gif
deep down in my heart i rooting for you........ehehe
munyip7
post Sep 11 2007, 01:20 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(arcbound @ Sep 11 2007, 11:08 AM)
im thinking of starting this game competitively again. but my old team mates are all gone! one of them is no longer back in kl to help me play test bcos he is back in his hometown become a boss. so im a lone ranger  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

i most probably will come back for lorwyn pre release and start back mtg and be competitive as i used to, such as travelling to singapore for GPs and such.

where else can we find good places to play some fnm, drafts, etc?

does anyone here collect foils from mirrodin onwards?
ah. i still remember last time in KL i got teammates. now they are inactive but still qualify for nats on ratings. then i gave them t2 deck for nats and they attend. draft was like prerelease to them. they tarpau!! lolz!! need new teammates!!! ahahaha!!!
munyip7
post Sep 11 2007, 02:12 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(blade825 @ Sep 11 2007, 01:48 PM)
PTQ KUALA LUMPUR @ KUCHING

PTQ KL will be on the 25th Nov 2007 . Transportation will be provided from Airport to the SHOP . So any of u guys going we can plan go 2gather or watever. ABout the transportation u call Joseph up and liaise with him
check airasia. fly to kuching more expensive flying to bangkok!! lolz....
imagine airasia delay the flight.....ahahaha

This post has been edited by munyip7: Sep 11 2007, 02:12 PM
munyip7
post Sep 11 2007, 04:57 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(arcbound @ Sep 11 2007, 04:36 PM)
wah munyip still alive in mtg, and i read you top8 nats wor, grat grat.

last time this munyip damn terror in magic, his team last time pawned all the top teams during a ptq team event. can you imagine, double victory back to back against au yong team and terry team?

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
i think 2 times split with them. that time team event's on get cash. but i still remember once my team beat this singaporean team in the finals of rochester draft PTQ. we offer split, but they thought we noobs. Lolz!! so we played la. i still remember clearly that time rochester team draft, they kick off 1st pack. his pack open got bomb rare in 8 1/2 Tails. I tot shit, so lucky....maybe not our day. See see, the player touch another card. The ruling in Rochester, once you touch that card, there's no takeback. The leader wanted him to take Tails, but too late la......Bwahahahah!! I sapu 8.5 Tails. I tell you their leader face so black, also wanna lay the smack down on his teammate. Hehehe..... I drafted 8.5 Tails yet my oppoenent draft white!! Ahahahah!! So funny. Other details I can't remember, but in the end we won and they left with nothing. That was my 1st team event 4 years ago i think.

Heheh....
munyip7
post Sep 11 2007, 10:15 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 11 2007, 07:56 PM)
hey guys...
wanna sk the difference between prerelease adn release event...
prerelease is event to preview the cards. you can't get boosters and lorywn stuff from the stall. release event is 2 weeks after prerelease. then everything will be sold in store. usually another 2 weeks for the set to be rotated in and out of their respective constructed format. limited events is legal right away.

This post has been edited by munyip7: Sep 12 2007, 10:30 AM
munyip7
post Sep 12 2007, 10:28 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 11 2007, 10:18 PM)
erm if so then how bout the payouts and stuffs?
depends on location and participation. so i can't speculate. normally at Mike's event in KL, based on 4 rounds swiss, prerelease prize determined by number of wins. if you 4-0 you get a t-shirt also. release event prize is even less. the main attraction is the release foil, which is different from pre-release foil.
munyip7
post Sep 12 2007, 03:00 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(kalspawn @ Sep 12 2007, 12:31 PM)
Yesterday's preview was dread right?? man that card is a bomb in limited... 6 mana for 6/6 fear with wicked ability

ability
1) keep your life total high and u can kill other creature which attacks (dont block)
2) it has fear so its kewl to hit the head 6 damage per turn

hard-to-die
1) it so damn hard to die... common removal (damage and instant kill) a few damage could reach up to 6 in one card, and instant kill usually non black non artifact... hey its black!!, even it get pacified, trigger ability is hard to counter
2) it dies?? shuffle into the library... 40 cards library?? youll get it back in no time
Dread
Creature - Elemental Incarnation
Fear
Whenever a creature deals damage to you, destroy it.
When Dread is put into a graveyard from anywhere, shuffle it into it's owner's library.

Wat a lousy card!! if your opponent control more creatures than you, or your oppoent got a evasion creature? It dies next turn. Your opponent control a pinger? It dies immediately. Shuffle it back? Bleh, you normally die before you get to draw it again. If you draw it again immediately, you LUCKSACK.....still you need to pay 6 to cast i again and i still have my evasive creature/pinger. Thank you very much for timewalking yourself. Please.....if anyone draft next to me, take it please!! smile.gif

This post has been edited by munyip7: Sep 12 2007, 03:03 PM
munyip7
post Sep 12 2007, 11:31 PM

33 posts

lolz!! sorry!! my bad!! ahahah

it doesn't seem so bad after all.....pls pass to me in draft. smile.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0467sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:27 PM