buying ipod from overseas, need help

TSGigalixir
post Aug 10 2007, 08:10 PM, updated 19y ago

79 posts

guys, my fren is in hong kong right now and i wanted to ask him to buy me an ipod there which of course sells about 20% cheaper than here...

so, may i ask, how bout the warranty? is it valid here? may i send my ipod for warranty here?

ivango88
post Aug 10 2007, 08:41 PM

104 posts

As far as i know, all apple product are having international warranty. To double confirm, you can always ask your fren to ask the retailer over there... Just to play safe...
xaw5126
post Aug 10 2007, 08:44 PM

3,488 posts

how about, the guy who works at the retailer here, tells you , sure thing, no problem.

for confirmation, call VR Technology, 03 2163 2020
dannytzh
post Aug 11 2007, 12:01 AM

Do no evil.
818 posts

I think for us in Malaysia, we will need to bring our iPod down to Singapore's Apple for warranty claims. I don't think the resellers here will do it for you without u being their customer in the first place.
TSGigalixir
post Aug 11 2007, 08:51 AM

79 posts

guys, thanks for the replies.. my fren only comes back 3 weeks later so got time to think about it

besides that, is the 30gb ipod problematic? if its very much free from problem then i wouldnt have to worry much about warranty

This post has been edited by Gigalixir: Aug 11 2007, 08:57 AM
MacDaNife
post Aug 11 2007, 09:13 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(dannytzh @ Aug 11 2007, 12:01 AM)
I think for us in Malaysia, we will need to bring our iPod down to Singapore's Apple for warranty claims. I don't think the resellers here will do it for you without u being their customer in the first place.
You're incorrect.

They would.

Please identify a Service Provider. VR Tech (as referenced by the post before yours) comes highly recommended.
xaw5126
post Aug 11 2007, 10:05 AM

3,488 posts

@dannytzh.
The resellers here (Apple Authorised Resellers) do not do warranty claims. That's up to the Service Providers. Its not the same thing.

Resellers = *sell* new items and so on.
Service Providers = repair, replacement parts and or warranty claims.

Its amazing how much mis-information is passed around here in LYN. No need to verify anything here? hmm?
tinkerbel
post Aug 11 2007, 11:07 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@dannytzh
Listen to some of the specialists here will ya?! tongue.gif

Also, what I can't understand is Y don't you people just go through and read through the fine prints - i'm 100% sure it's stated in there smile.gif [I've checked it out so don't challenge me on this biggrin.gif ]
TSGigalixir
post Aug 11 2007, 11:37 AM

79 posts

so, end of the story, i'll able to claim warranty from service provider here with the ipod i purchase from hong kong right?
xaw5126
post Aug 11 2007, 07:04 PM

3,488 posts

yes. keep the receipt, make sure its accurate, surely no problems...
ataris
post Aug 11 2007, 07:07 PM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

yeah, maybe they charge u for transportation fees.
dannytzh
post Aug 11 2007, 07:46 PM

Do no evil.
818 posts

@ all who Shoot Kao me...
Thanks sifus.. lol I say I don't THINK mah..... And I really thought I need to bring my iPod down to Singapore for warranty claim loh. Hhahaahaha...

Sorry for misinformation, Gigalixir.
TSGigalixir
post Aug 12 2007, 12:35 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(dannytzh @ Aug 11 2007, 07:46 PM)
@ all who Shoot Kao me...
Thanks sifus.. lol I say I don't THINK mah..... And I really thought I need to bring my iPod down to Singapore for warranty claim loh. Hhahaahaha...

Sorry for misinformation, Gigalixir.
no problem, i didnt believe u also...

no no just joking
cRazYee
post Aug 13 2007, 02:42 AM

2,642 posts

not problem at all
apple main product are all international warrenty

100% sure

Added on August 13, 2007, 2:45 am
QUOTE(dannytzh @ Aug 11 2007, 12:01 AM)
nope
u can bring to service provider in malaysia
as long as the warrently still valid, they will do it for u

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Aug 13 2007, 02:45 AM
i love mac OS
post Aug 17 2007, 10:22 AM

368 posts

thanks for the info..i m just going to buy an ipod in taiwan...cheaper than malaysia at least Rm150
lswang
post Aug 17 2007, 11:18 AM

627 posts

I saw some forumer trying to bulk IPOD for 1185. It seemed to be cheaper than retailed price about 314. So, why would you want to buy it from hong kong? And 1 year warranty from apple is given. Is there any problem with those sales? I just wonder cos I'm too trying to find cheaper Ipod and don't want to get cheated. Share your information or experience.

dawn152
post Aug 17 2007, 12:09 PM

419 posts

err...why not try ebay? for ipod video you can save almost rm400 & rm200 for nano (if u can get past customs, that is)... i've recently bought an ipod nano red 8gb from ebay, received it within 1 week & half...nicely packed & working fine with 1 year apple warranty....bought it for rm815 (inclusive of shipping), which is almost rm200 cheaper, plus i got the PRODUCT red nano which is unavailable in malaysia...

This post has been edited by dawn152: Aug 17 2007, 12:11 PM
MacDaNife
post Aug 17 2007, 12:30 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

Glad to hear your purchase went well, Dawn.
dawn152
post Aug 17 2007, 12:43 PM

419 posts

yes, it did. very much thanks to you, MacDaNife for all your tips....
lswang
post Aug 17 2007, 12:46 PM

627 posts

That's mean it's still risky to buy from ebay as customs might be troublesome?

BTW, is that safe to buy from LYN forumer? I worry it's counterfeit, but the warranty stated there is from Apple. I need some advice.

0.0184sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:56 PM