Home Theatre Onkyo AV Receiver
stevenplc
Jul 30 2008, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(kyap @ Jul 30 2008, 02:36 PM) I just bought TX-SR705 from Harvey Norman Pavilion. Now I'm having problem with my Xbox360 HDMI connection. The HDMI got picture but no sound unless I connect with optical cable. I did the same thing to my PS3 (using the same HDMI cable) but no problem at all. I even changed to other HDMI input, the Xbox360 also got no sound. Weird huh!? And for the calibration part, after i ran the audyssey setup, my sub (JBL Digital 10 very very old sub) feel very weak, meaning not much "bombing" effect compared to my old Yamaha RXV620..... Hope the sifu here can solve my problem. Thanks kyap...how much is ur 705 from HN.....i also checking with HN IKANO...asking for discount...still they havent give me a very good price here...too bad they told me only silver...but i want black..  .urs silver too?? PS3 HDMI is v1.3a......if im not wrong...XBOX is using HDMI v1.2 or lower...erm...i think v1.2 can't carry multichannel signal...some one correct me if im wrong here...thank you.
stevenplc
Aug 1 2008, 11:43 AM

QUOTE(kyap @ Jul 31 2008, 10:00 AM) Maybe Ikano only have silver color. You can try your luck at Pavilion. kyap...i triple confirm already...they told me they checked every branch already...pavilion currently have 0% stock for 705...they even dont have any display unit there... then he help me phone onkyo distributor asking for black colour...they told him long time they didnt distribute black colour 705 already...currently they left 3 units of 705 in stock only...all silver...
stevenplc
Aug 5 2008, 11:51 AM

just finish setting up my 705 with jamo A102...kyap...really no black colour already...nvm...silver looks great under my bedroom's light too...the only silver machine in my HT setup... rx330...for sattelite speakers A102 okok ma...not as paria as u said...  ...my bedroom don't have enough place...i think sattelite best for me
stevenplc
Aug 5 2008, 03:48 PM

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 5 2008, 12:27 PM) not pariah ar? maybe my 605 paria? wat are u connecting ur 705 with? PS3, 37' philips fullHD...y?? A102 HSC5...below rm1700...okok ar??
stevenplc
Aug 6 2008, 09:32 AM

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 5 2008, 09:44 PM) good price, the time i bought abt 530 sgd, early tis year since u using ps3, i assume u ala bluray movie, u try bitstream and linear pcm on HD audio, see can listen different or not, and is the difference amazing or not  sg selling so cheap 1... tried bitstream n linear pcm with STEALTH...  linear pcm is better wor...but i think the difference is not very very amazing...  ...means A102 paria?? This post has been edited by stevenplc: Aug 6 2008, 04:08 PM
stevenplc
Aug 7 2008, 12:44 PM

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 7 2008, 10:24 AM) steven told u so... cos suppose legacy and HD audio has heavne and earth difference... our pariah speaker kenot...... then how la??...ur 605 n my 705 sama sama waste already...  ...got what satellite intro...i don't 1 2 put floorstander in my bedroom la...
stevenplc
Aug 8 2008, 09:36 AM

rx330...yesterday my friend tried with me already...our satellite not paria at all la...with ps3...not test with linear pcm n bitstream wor...we test the difference of normal dolby digital n pcm uncompressed...really can feel what u mean...heaven n earth...  dolby digital is running on 48khz 488kbps...  ...feel normal normal only...then we turn to pcm uncompressed...its running on 48khz 4.6mbps...  the effect totally different!!...superb!! then my friend told me...hd audio is depends on our AVR...only the paria speakers that running 3ohm 4 ohm will kill the hd audio...a10 still okok la...  i don't know my friend got bluff me or not 1...if im wrong pls don't laugh me... is it ok if i use 2 sub??...705 enough power for them ar??...i think a102 have 2.1 package...will buy it for surround back n try 7.2 setup..okok ar??
stevenplc
Aug 14 2008, 02:44 PM

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 14 2008, 11:47 AM) steven... er... same lar, linear and bitstream... i meant it by tyring wtih legacy audio and HD audio i think must be my 605 pariah? or my telinga ala issue? wat disc u test? u try those with dolby true HD and normal dolby for me uncompressed still can hear difference tahn dolby i tried stealth with linear pcm n dolby digital, spyderman 1, 2 with dolby truehd n dolby digital and spyderman 3 with linear pcm n dolby truehd n dolby digital....confirmed!!...heaven n earth.....  ..or maybe because my room small??
stevenplc
Aug 14 2008, 05:50 PM

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Aug 14 2008, 03:16 PM) 4ohms all round or just on the fronts .. as the spec only feature front .. not too sure.  i think all round kuar...cause my 705 also shows the same thing...4ohms or 6 ohms. 606 black colour now HNMD got arround 20 bigi in stock...  cash n carry anytime...so good
stevenplc
Aug 15 2008, 11:09 AM

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Aug 14 2008, 06:50 PM) HN MD? MD is wut? Ikea there? oh yea how much $$ are they C&C? yes ikea there...price tag is rm2999...i didn't ask for anything since i don't have money 2 buy...
stevenplc
Aug 23 2008, 08:00 PM

QUOTE(myqd @ Aug 23 2008, 07:18 PM) htkaki,any comments on Onkyo 606 ? 2.1k new ok kah? how come so cheap 1??...where??
stevenplc
Aug 27 2008, 08:15 PM

QUOTE(kyap @ Aug 27 2008, 01:34 PM) I don't think other inputs will upscale/upconversion except HDMI input for 606. For 606 not sure will do upscaling 720p perfectly or not? For my case 705, when doing upscale to 720p my 705 will forced to 4:3 instead of 16:9. This is well known problem for 705  . I think you need to configure your video input and output in the 606 setup. I didn't try with any DVD players but I did try with Nintendo Wii before. My Wii already set to 480p in the machine itself and output the signal from 705 to my LCD TV and my 705 default is 480p output. The result can't be except. The color was totally wash out I used Multi Channel for my PS3.  ...kyap....I'm facing the same problem like what u said...i upscale my Wii to 720p n can't display with 16:9...only 4:3...  ...then i change back to Auto...my 705 display it at 480p 16:9...
stevenplc
Aug 28 2008, 02:56 PM

myqd....can choose 4:3 or 16:9 in the Wii setting 1 ma...  ...im using lcd...thats y i choose 16:9...Wii can output 480p only...cannot output 720p...then i thought use my 705 to upscale 720p ma...  mana tau upscale already become 4:3 display already...  i choose all setting also cannot display in fullscreen... kyap...direct to tv better ka??  ...today i go home must try try see...then how about audio??...direct to tv also ar??.....then cannot play prologicII lo??
stevenplc
Jan 14 2009, 12:24 PM