Home Theatre Onkyo AV Receiver

JonC
post Apr 28 2008, 11:45 AM

Forever Silenced But The Truth Will Be Told - JFT96
1,612 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 28 2008, 09:28 AM)
Cant expect AVR to sound as good as Stereo amp (given the same price) as the primary function is for movies.
Good advice mate. HT amps tend to be more dynamic for the extra ummmph while watching movies. Hi-fi amps tend to be more quiet and warm. So when you play music through an HT amp, some might find the sound abit too "noisy" as in too much bass or the highs too loud. Some say "no feel" due to lack of warmth. No such thing as best of both world lor.

Sometimes buying the most exp amps and speakers won't guarantee you the best performance as you'll need to match the equipments correctly so they compliment each other. Tuning the amp and the accoustics of the listening room is very important also as some has mentioned.

JonC
post Apr 28 2008, 12:17 PM

1,612 posts

Pure gold? You ask goldsmith to customise the rca female plug then you mod to the amp lor. wink.gif

Denon and Marantz is abang adik.... from same father. Denon more towards HT hence more dynamic while Marantz is better know for their hi-fi, hence as splee puts it... abit "lembik" lor brows.gif
JonC
post Apr 28 2008, 02:32 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 28 2008, 01:51 PM)
Yes, JonC knew a lot of its history. Denon also does produce some very good hi-fi equipments too. But in movie, Denon is superior than Marantz. Marantz is a bit like a compromise of both world.
Me old skool kaki mar. blush.gif htkaki, really wan to pay your shop a visit next time i pass by seremban. thumbup.gif

Added on April 28, 2008, 2:38 pm
QUOTE(clngu @ Apr 28 2008, 02:30 PM)
if Denon = Sky Dragon

then how about Yamaha, Onkyo, Pioneer ....  laugh.gif
tongue.gif sleeping dragon? Solly ah j/k niah. wink.gif laugh.gif BTW the sky dragon = denon name in chinese lar.

This post has been edited by JonC: Apr 28 2008, 02:39 PM
JonC
post Apr 28 2008, 05:13 PM

1,612 posts

Aiyah elites with bottom less pockets should think of nothing less then the AVC-A1HD lah! wink.gif Sure keng!

Small fry and potato like me using 2005 technology. sad.gif

This post has been edited by JonC: Apr 28 2008, 05:14 PM
JonC
post Apr 28 2008, 05:16 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Apr 28 2008, 05:14 PM)
im not elete smile.gif
we both in same boat lor sweat.gif can see cannot touch, maybe put more poison liau got elite in lyn will buy mar brows.gif
JonC
post May 2 2008, 10:15 AM

1,612 posts

I've been known to walk into Hi-Fi shop in just me shorts and polo-tee. blush.gif No body bothered to layan me so i just walk around undisturb by the salesman. brows.gif At least they dun try to con me with their "this is the best talk." Just for fun, i like asking them technical questions that they dun know how to answer brows.gif

Got to know a few nice shop who basically lets me test what ever i want in the shop. But since i pokai liau, damn long never go test and absorb poison liau. blush.gif

This post has been edited by JonC: May 2 2008, 10:18 AM
JonC
post May 2 2008, 02:07 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ May 2 2008, 11:51 AM)
LMAO.... biggrin.gif

your big poka1 meaning tonite eat at Lafite or eat at Shang Palace

my pokai is tonite eat porridge or eat mamak....
my pokai eat ping pong biskut lar... lagi powderful cry.gif
JonC
post May 9 2008, 08:57 AM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(yed @ May 8 2008, 07:14 PM)
can you explain in lay man term?..this is technical to me smile.gif
some amp manufacturers will "over" stated their rated power output specs (also some will "under" state) hence htkaki says to compensate for the "low" power output you'll need to use speakers with higher sensitivity (the higher the dB, the easier the speaker is to drive)
JonC
post May 9 2008, 10:52 AM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(Audio Nirvana @ May 9 2008, 09:48 AM)
In general, I've found HiFi manufacturers to understate their power output, while AV manufacturers to overstate their power output.
now that you've mentioned it, i do agree with you. nod.gif
JonC
post May 14 2008, 11:17 AM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 14 2008, 10:40 AM)
no ler

i pigi CMY

ppl tot i come in n kacao

look me no up sad.gif
Whoa! Which CMY u go to? shakehead.gif If the Sunway one..... i go taruh the p.i.c. I know that fella quite well and get a most of my hi-fi stuff from him
JonC
post May 14 2008, 02:16 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(Audio Nirvana @ May 14 2008, 11:19 AM)
That's the one that digitalkl had his bad experience with.
Whoa! shocking.gif The next time i go there must say tembak him liau.... how can treat forumn kaki all like dat.
JonC
post May 14 2008, 02:46 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ May 14 2008, 02:33 PM)
the sfx while tranform sound like 'gi gi gu gi gi'(take care yrself)

dont worry JonC damage done
one less customer..... too bad lar , anyway other places can get better deals also wink.gif
JonC
post Jul 9 2008, 09:21 AM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 9 2008, 09:16 AM)
I am not sure of new AVR since I do not have 1  blush.gif  But for older gen, when you set it at 80Hz to cut off to your sub, all freq below this will be sent to sub. However, if you set your sub at 60Hz, anything between 61Hz to 80Hz will be lost since your other speakers are doing the job for >80Hz and your sub only works when it detects <60Hz. Correct me if I am wrong.
nod.gif yes you are right! There will definitely be a gap in the frequency range since u filter the already filtered <80Hz to your sub.
JonC
post Jul 9 2008, 11:27 AM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(splee8868 @ Jul 9 2008, 09:32 AM)
if set 60hz for subwoofer, then u have to set the front n other speaker also if u want to 60hz also to avoid the gapping lo
Apparently the lowest the amp can go is 80 so there no way to do it from the amp.
JonC
post Jul 15 2008, 01:24 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 15 2008, 12:23 PM)
speakers are expensip though... the yammy 663 shud do, can last year at least another 5 years
rx, hard to say lar...... maybe 3-4 years niah before they come out again with some more souped up sound format. sweat.gif
JonC
post Jul 15 2008, 05:23 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 15 2008, 03:02 PM)
ah jon... u see legacy dts and DD so many years liao, even got new one, ppl also doesnt adopt mar
tru also lar... but if have so many elite ppl like in lyn where got no ppl want adopt wan. wink.gif correct or not?
JonC
post Oct 21 2008, 02:08 PM

1,612 posts

I got hold of my unit of 805 about 1 month ago for <3k through a friend with direct link to the Onkyo factory. Was told the factory was clearing stock of 2007 models by offering them cheap to their workers, hence i managed to get him to help me get one unit. Didn't realise the street price was that high. blink.gif sweat.gif

The amount of heat this heavy bugger can generate is scary. Lucky i am using those open kind of av rack...... but the clearance between the top of the amp and the second tier of the rack is just about 1.5" unsure.gif

This post has been edited by JonC: Oct 21 2008, 02:29 PM
JonC
post Oct 21 2008, 04:20 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(augustinesoh @ Oct 21 2008, 02:50 PM)
Thanks, Jon C.

Apart from the heat, what are your impressions of the 805? A worthwhile investment? What spkrs hv you got paired to the 805?

Are there any other alternative places where i can get the Onkyos (805 or 875) other than from HN/official distributor (maybe thats why the price quoted me is higher)?
So far so good thumbup.gif and i paired it with a full set of entry level 7.1 MS Carnival speakers blush.gif Still need a fair bit running in though, been using it for not more than 10 hours. It's definitely better than the Denon 2105 i was previously using in terms of power. Sound wise i find the Denon sounds slightly warmer. The 805 sound a bit "thin" and bright but then again could be still new.

JonC
post Dec 22 2008, 11:46 AM

1,612 posts

Dynamics is the bread and butter of Denon amps. Marantz is warmer and has better musicality ( Marantz and Denon come from the same father - D & M Holdings). I'd say Onkyo is smack in the center, more neutral or some say slightly brighter. I switch from a Denon 2105 to an Onkyo 805, mainly due to the crazy pricing of the new Denon, but have no regrets so far. wink.gif

I'd have to agree, pairing an Onkyo with a detailed / bright sounding speakers is a no go. smile.gif

0.0780sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:45 AM