Megaman StarForce, Dragon, Pegasus, Leo

TSreveur
post Aug 10 2007, 10:21 AM, updated 19y ago

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Well the latest incarnation of Megaman Starforce is out. It looks not half bad. And the gameplay is slightly a bit more refreshing. I have always loved the first 2 series of the Megaman Network but everything fell apart after that. for the Star Force series, they released 3 different version ala Pokemon style. I am not sure if that is a prudent choice but upon checking out their forum, I found out that this Starforce series rely heavily on WIFI and Brotherband. I have not much idea what this is but it sure as heck intrigued me.

Anyone else that are interested in this?

Megaman StarFoce is available in
Dragon
Leo
Pegasus

ashchia
post Aug 10 2007, 10:41 AM

105 posts

well, i am getting pegasus, but i can tell you my opinion about it, as i finish the japanese version of leo. it's actually quite fun, and is easier to play now, since you can move left right only, and the AI had improve a bit since last megaman battle network series
TSreveur
post Aug 10 2007, 10:47 AM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Whats the difference between pegasus, leo and er dragon ar? I also like pegasus. Lol
hamtarox
post Aug 10 2007, 11:05 AM

281 posts

just the battlechip is different..same like exe series...
firstknight
post Aug 10 2007, 12:23 PM

2,681 posts

I tried playing the pegasus one.

So far it is quite cool. Here is what I think for the first hour of the game.

It started with a dissappearence of a spaceship. You are to play a boy on earth whose father was gone with the spaceship. You were given special glasses and its your father by a friend of your dad. During your stargazing you were struck by some EM wave. Suddenly you are able to see EM waves which are not see-able with you naked eyes but with those glasses. Some FM-ians (wierd names they come out with) from Planet FM hit you and you were somehow force to join and merge thus becomeing megaman. Pegasus, Dragon and Leo are actually satellites that connects a device called transers which is kinda your lil computer around your arm that shares your profiles, your FM friend and Buddy-s. You are to destroy viruses that came to planet earth and run around in the EM wave dimension on earth. You will have to get into some of those computerized stuff in cars, train, statue???, signboard and stuff like that. Some you have to go and activate it which mean you have to find it. Sometimes you need that instinct on where to find it or just get stuck like me. I wonder will I get stuck again in the rest of game because some of those entrance is hard to find. They called it the worm hole or somethin like that. (prob is just me lar)

Real cool graphic. I like animation style and its lil looking pokemon top of the head graphic. Tho I dun really like the character movement - diagonal. Stress on my thumb. The control buttons are well designed. Good use of the touch screen in the menu and gameplay. I like the mechanics of the card system. It makes the game more enjoyable as you would want to get more cards. The countering system and the mega attack - cool.

They have the Brotherband thingy. Get friends and add them in. If not mistaken even if you are leo you can add as well. Not sure. Not able to test it out. It mentioned tho that if you have brothers the game will be much cooler. still wondering. No idea where to get that friend code thingy tho.

"EM Wave change (Your Name) On the Air!!!" (what crap)
penman
post Aug 10 2007, 02:12 PM

142 posts

does that mean, it doesn't matter u get a leo, pegasus or dragon... rite? just like the megaman battle network?

if u get leo, then u started off w leo, then pick up pegasus and dragon later. vice versa... is that correct?

is that what hammy meant oso?
TSreveur
post Aug 10 2007, 02:23 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

I donno man.. But i read that you can use leo or pegasus power if u pick up dragon by linking with others playing this game via WIFI. This of course open up bigger possibility. Frankly speaking. It has been quite some time since i found an unexpected game to be good.
bidfordun
post Aug 10 2007, 04:09 PM

2,234 posts

huhu, i can predict that this game will hit bargain bin sooner or later at play asia.
ashchia
post Aug 10 2007, 05:21 PM

105 posts

nope, pegasus can get pegasus transformation only, same goes with leo and dragon. but if you have leo and dragon brother, you can change to those form as well, and each game different is only one boss and one giga chip if not mistaken.

to bid, if hit bargain sale you help me buy ya, i give you cash to buy
penman
post Aug 10 2007, 05:48 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(ashchia @ Aug 10 2007, 05:21 PM)
nope, pegasus can get pegasus transformation only, same goes with leo and dragon. but if you have leo and dragon brother, you can change to those form as well, and each game different is only one boss and one giga chip if not mistaken.

to bid, if hit bargain sale you help me buy ya, i give you cash to buy
ic~ so meaning, there's a choice to choose~lah? which one u like.

anyway, what's the difference in terms of power of pegasus? leo? and dragon?

smashpOp
post Aug 10 2007, 06:58 PM

smashing pOpstar
2,116 posts

leo sounds like nice name.. i choose leo! haha
ashchia
post Aug 10 2007, 07:22 PM

105 posts

well, here is the different of each version

Giga Chip
LeoKingdom
1. LeoKingdomGX - LeoKingdom uses LeoBlazer (multi hit) 40 Dam.
2. GeminiThunder - GeminiSpark fires a spark with the range of a TankCannon. It also paralyzes and goes pierces invis. 400 Dam.
3. DreamAura - The exact same DreamAura from the EXE series. (why was this made into a giga chip?)
4. DempaHole - automatically kills viruses with less than 250 HP and navis with 500 HP. It doesn't do any damage if higher.
5. Fire+50 - name says it all

DragonSky
1. DragonSkyGX - DragonSky uses DragonCyclone on last three rows. The attack removes barriers and auras.(multi hit) 50 Dam.
2. Gorgon'sEye - Opichuous (sp?)Queen uses her Gorgon'sEye attack straight ahead. It pierces invis. 550 dam.
3. DestoryMissile - Fires 12 of missiles ahead and percies invis too. 50 Dam.
4. PoisonPharoah - Just like the PA from the EXE series
5. Wood+50 - I don't need to explain this.

PegususMagic
1. PegususMagicGX - PegasusMagic uses Pegusus Freeze on the last three rows. This attack freezes opponents for a short period of time. 450 Dam.
2. OxTackle - OxFire charges in a straight line. He can break through objects. (this is the weakest of all the 3 navi giga chips) 420 Dam.
3. TimeBomb+ - just like the PA from EXE but with Fire damage. 600 dam.
4. DarkSword - just like the actual dark chip (and the DreamSword PA) but weaker. 360 dam.
5. Aqua+50 - I don't need to explain this.

Transformation Differences
Leo(fire) - Atk+1 , Flamethrower charge attack, SuperArmor. BigBang: AtomicBlazer (weaker version of LeoKingdom's signature attack, LeoBlazer)
Dragon(Wood) - StatusGuard, Wood(something) charge attack, Speed+1: BigBang: WoodTornado (weaker version of DragonSky's signature attack, DragonCyclone) (also moves across the whole field)
Pegasus(Aqua) - Guage+1, IceSlasher charge attack (freezes), FloatShoes BigBang: MagiciansFreeze (weaker version of PegasusMagic's PegasusFreeze)

firstknight
post Aug 10 2007, 07:47 PM

2,681 posts

oh yea.... one more thing to add.... please come to school.......
ashchia
post Aug 10 2007, 09:45 PM

105 posts

oh yea.... one more thing to add.... please come to school.......

lol, nice one there, firstknight
firstknight
post Aug 10 2007, 10:15 PM

2,681 posts

Well the character states the same thought as I have. But its totally lame to me....

anyone know how do i get the friend code?
SWATwolf
post Aug 11 2007, 03:09 AM

431 posts

OF COZ DRAGON FOR ME LA~!! XD
zorocaster
post Aug 11 2007, 07:54 AM

50 posts

Dragon and Leo going for USD 9.90 each. But in Japanese...
smashpOp
post Aug 12 2007, 01:25 AM

smashing pOpstar
2,116 posts

i like leo.. but dono why.. i am a dragon now.
ddevil
post Aug 12 2007, 01:39 AM

62 posts

huhu, still remember that i spent more than 99 hours in megaman battle network blue.
D.Sync
post Aug 12 2007, 11:34 AM

777 posts

I just tried out this game yesterday and the storyline is totally differ compared to the previous Megaman Battle Network series (1-6). That's probably the main reason why the title itself implies (STARFORCE). Battle between galaxy meh...

I agree with firstknight which he quote ""EM Wave change (Your Name) On the Air!!!" (what crap)" This phrase just simply didn't match the game style. I prefer the oldies "Plug-In Megaman, Execute!" Guess Capcom was unable to do it as the main character already changed.

At first play, I even though the mother of Geo Steller is Lan's monster lol! I haven't read any review about this game before until yesterday.

The battle mechanic is very fresh as it offers a 3-D perspective view. I'm not quick impressed with the slow pace ememy reaction though. It tooks >1 sec for the cannon to flash...

TSreveur
post Aug 12 2007, 01:13 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Well, there is a moment inside where the name Megaman actually pops out. It gives me goosebump when it happened.

Thsoe that play the game will encounter it after the first boss. Those that did not.. Meh..

and the graphic is not 3D ( I think )
Look carefully, its cel-shaded graphic.
ashchia
post Aug 12 2007, 02:18 PM

105 posts

well, in japanese is nice, but they dub it and it become sucks. and i still like japanese name more, hoshikawa subaru is way better then geo stellar. and war rock is wayyy better then omega-xis
TSreveur
post Aug 12 2007, 05:58 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Meh geo stellar.. What kind of name is that..

I accidently name my character as
Radic Crysis. LOL!
Don't ask me how it got there.

Anyone wanna brotherband with me?
BlueBerry~
post Aug 12 2007, 08:20 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

Playing this right now, but on my R4. There is only 2 game shops from where i am, and they suck at game suppling. So i'm stuck on R4 1st, going to order it when Zelda comes out. Saves me some money. Hehe.

Anyway, its a great game, different from the Battle Network series. But great nontheless, i'm getting pretty good with the battle system. Hehe. I'm up to the part where he finally goes to school, after beating Gemini.
firstknight
post Aug 12 2007, 11:24 PM

2,681 posts

hey reveur... i dun mind brotherband...hehe.. but how do i find the friend code?
TSreveur
post Aug 13 2007, 09:33 AM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Itu ar.. I also donno.. Brotherband ar, lai lai we do it tonight.
firstknight
post Aug 13 2007, 01:15 PM

2,681 posts

i msg you... but you no reply in msn... well we see tonight how to do lar... hehe....
TSreveur
post Aug 13 2007, 01:52 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Sorry boss, sleeping mar.. late dee
TSreveur
post Aug 14 2007, 11:33 AM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Aug 10 2007, 04:09 PM)
huhu, i can predict that this game will hit bargain bin sooner or later at play asia.
U know, I just saw at Play-Asia for Megaman Starforce japanese version and this is the price listed there

Ryuusei No Rockman : Pegasus for ~171.51 MYR
Ryuusei No Rockman: Dragon for ~34.72 MYR
Ryuusei No Rockman: Leo for ~34.72 MYR

So i guess the wont go to bargain bin anytime too soon. Not to mention, they had 5 star rating on Play-Asia.. Surprising..
ashchia
post Aug 14 2007, 05:55 PM

105 posts

malaysia got the original game already? i just phone and the shop said still haven't get...
hamtarox
post Aug 15 2007, 11:18 AM

281 posts

another dub issue...suxx...but i think megaman battlenet work follow japanese name??hmm...all the translation is like cacat on the card la....
ashchia
post Aug 15 2007, 12:43 PM

105 posts

nope, is not follow the japanese one as well, the name is different

lan(english) ---> netto(japanese)
rockman ---> megaman(this one is ok, but war rock to omega-xis is just too weird)

0.0215sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:19 AM