Malaysia Shut Down 3G Network By The End of TBA, Long life 2G

TSJLA
post Jun 24 2021, 10:42 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Jun 24 2021, 07:32 AM)
Telcos should be mandated to turn on Volte and Vowifi during this transition period.
yes4g and unifi mobile is auto VoLTE.
If you insert yes4g or unifi sim card no VoLTE then it phone problem.
TSJLA
post Jul 6 2021, 09:00 AM

2,774 posts

More likely 3G will life another year. the reason is 3G have stronger signal than 4G. slower speed is better than no service.

Last time when 3G still new the signal very bad but over time 3G signal become stronger. It the same tower.
TSJLA
post Jul 11 2021, 03:22 PM

2,774 posts

As Malaysia aims to shutdown 3G by the end of this year, the current network migration seems to be going according to plan. The industry has switched off nearly 40,000 3G sites and migrated close to 900,000 users between January to June 2021.

https://soyacincau.com/2021/07/11/jendela-3...and-in-q2-2021/
TSJLA
post Jul 16 2021, 08:44 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(goddesszilla @ Jul 16 2021, 07:01 PM)
Bro nowadays get contract with telco is normal la
Also Celcom already give you free simcard and phone upgrade from 3G to 4G better than nothing la
https://www.celcom.com.my/personal/devices/jendela
it no brain take low end phone with contract cool2.gif

xpax sim card is free but the postage is not

for RM300 better get wiko u10 with pure android 11 than bloatware samsung. RM80 Voucher until 2021.07.18
or yes altitude 4 for RM100 something
TSJLA
post Aug 8 2021, 09:25 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Jul 31 2021, 03:01 PM)
Or perhaps all telco could share one single 2G network for users to fallback. At least this approach is better than allocating a small piece of spectrum for each telco to maintain 2G network.
Nope.
Don't put all your eggs in one basket
Only left Maxis and Celcom Digi Bhd 2G operator.

TSJLA
post Aug 25 2021, 10:16 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Aug 17 2021, 03:26 PM)
So do you say no to the single consortium to manage the 5G network too?
The 5G consortium own by the gov. Let see what the new 5G minister have to say.

Ericsson Spectrum Sharing – A better way to build 5G

Ericsson Spectrum Sharing completely transforms the way 5G is introduced across the world. It brings 5G to everyone, everywhere, much faster. Ericsson Spectrum Sharing introduces a new way of rolling out 5G that re-uses hardware/spectrum/sites, increases coverage of mid/high band, and offer a clear path to 5G stand alone, allowing operators to shift capex investments from new sites to new 5G stand alone use cases.
https://www.ericsson.com/en/ran/spectrum-sharing
TSJLA
post Sep 11 2021, 10:10 AM

2,774 posts

Celcom has done two 3G sunset proof-of-concept between April and June in Semenyih and Klang, Selangor, and it has also completed the first pilot cluster 3G shutdown in Kuala Lumpur last month.

“We are on track with our plan for nationwide 3G shutdown in stages from end-September until Dec 31, 2021," he said.

Mohamad Idham said Celcom is being “very careful” with the shutdown of its 3G network to ensure no implication arises on 4G users.

“We will continue to work to raise the quality of our 4G network coverage and experience, as well as ensuring our customers have a seamless transition from 3G to 4G," he added.

Celcom currently has about 98% of devices on its network already on 4G devices, while less than 3% of its customers are still operating on 3G devices.

https://developingtelecoms.com/telecom-busi...hutters-3g.html

TSJLA
post Sep 22 2021, 10:27 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 19 2021, 10:44 AM)
what is the solution for those celcom mvno like redone? as of today, there is no news about volte from these mvno.

TSJLA
post Sep 23 2021, 08:06 AM

2,774 posts

Jangan tanya soalan susah.
cry.gif
TSJLA
post Oct 10 2021, 02:05 PM

2,774 posts

https://www.facebook.com/JalanBatasBaru
This page is the official page of Maxis Centre Kuala Terengganu and operated by maxis own staff

Seem like terengganu people dont used 3G or very happy with maxis 4G
TSJLA
post Oct 19 2021, 11:13 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Oct 19 2021, 10:05 PM)
Using Tim Team Apple summore... very malu if the cell towers are not configured correctly....also, be sure that we fully charged our devices as the battery will be depleted 50% faster than usual... this is becoz of the modem keeps on searching for the best LTE/EDGE signal all the time.... dual-SIM devices will suffer the worst....
if the cell towers are not configured correctly, it will cause interference to another network and or to another tower.
with one tower have so many antenna that dosent make sense.
tower operator run by radio network professional

TSJLA
post Oct 21 2021, 08:23 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Oct 20 2021, 09:22 PM)
why cannot? even singapore did it: https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/no-more-2g-network-april-1

i find malaysia shutting down 3g first is stranger  biggrin.gif
singapore is small island. big country like thailand u-turn 2G shutdown.
TSJLA
post Oct 24 2021, 06:15 PM

2,774 posts

LTE band 8 coming to tower near your area

TSJLA
post Oct 30 2021, 10:07 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(zoixc @ Oct 30 2021, 02:09 PM)
what will happen to me is that at place using 3G i got no data at all lol
what plan ?
bebas no data because you dont have 3G data bucket
TSJLA
post Nov 10 2021, 11:13 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(kanz1986 @ Nov 9 2021, 04:54 PM)
Hi guys. Is there by any chance other networks are still providing 3G after the sunset, apart from the Big 4 (Celcom/Maxis/Digi/Umobile)? I heard that it may be extended until March 2022 for the complete 3G shutdown?

Some of our industrial IOT devices is still running on 3G and we're trying to buy time as long as we could prior to upgrade the devices. Thank you!
nope.
webe and yes dont have GSM 3G
talk to celcom. report to SKMM.
TSJLA
post Nov 15 2021, 07:43 AM

2,774 posts

any maxis hotlink user from terengganu ?
does maxis really turn off 3G ?
maxis coverage map still show 3G network

https://www.maxis.com.my/en/about-maxis/max...rk/network-map/
TSJLA
post Nov 15 2021, 08:23 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(jasonanthony @ Nov 15 2021, 06:26 AM)
most effected are unifi mobile customers, their tiny
VOLTE supported phone models are a joke
unifi mobile VoLTE have nothing to do with celcom.
phone not on the list dosen't meant not support
phone on the list, no volte well nothing can do.
https://unifi.com.my/mobile/postpaid/phone-compatibility
TSJLA
post Nov 16 2021, 06:25 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Nov 16 2021, 02:03 PM)
I was wondering if we were to report the situation to MCMC, would anything be done? Or these telcos will continue to pretend nothing wrong is happening, and we continue to pay our bills but get mediocre service?
ada liputan yang mencukupi, tak mengenakan bil kepada pelanggan secara salah, dan menangani aduan pelanggan dengan baik. Kegagalan berbuat demikian boleh dianggap kesalahan di bawah Akta dan boleh membuatkan penyedia perkhidmatan didenda sebanyak RM100,000 untuk setiap kesalahan.
https://asklegal.my/p/maxis-digi-telekom-ma...s-tak-memuaskan

"Kita memandang serius mengenai perkara ini memandangkan liputan membabitkan telekomunikasi termasuk jalur lebar menjadi keperluan semua golongan lapisan masyarakat termasuk pelajar, peniaga dan sebagainya.

"Kita tidak mahu perkara ini terlepas pandang dan setakat ini sudah ada syarikat telekomunikasi yang dikenakan denda," kata Menteri Komunikasi dan Multimedia, Tan Sri Annuar Musa.
https://www.bharian.com.my/berita/nasional/...janjikan-annuar
TSJLA
post Nov 28 2021, 10:43 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Nov 28 2021, 10:29 PM)
How to know already turn off 3G? I cannot see the different

use android 8 and below version. google remove G from android 9 up and added private DNS setting
TSJLA
post Dec 9 2021, 09:39 AM

2,774 posts

https://www.celcom.com.my/support/network-checker
celcom status completed but celcom 3G still alive.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0464sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:35 AM