Must always Auto-focus 1st before taking picture?

TSuhlaw
post Aug 9 2007, 01:45 AM, updated 19y ago

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

Hi guys!

As stated above, must we always do like that? I currently using Sony DSC-T10. most of my pictures taken are blur blur de, not so clear. I always take pictures based on the vibrate warning. Once got vibrant warning, i try adjust some setting, such as turn on flash and so on. i feel i really cant take good pictures... sad.gif
avenger
post Aug 9 2007, 01:47 AM

What is there to put here?
1,467 posts

ur camera no manual focus like dslr, of course need to auto focus.
ataris
post Aug 9 2007, 01:55 AM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

just press the snap button a little bit and let it focus before u snap it.
SUSN's
post Aug 9 2007, 02:08 AM

1,091 posts

no need auto focus also can take, only that is not clear.
yaliqiu
post Aug 9 2007, 02:23 AM

15 posts

try to increase ur ISO.. may b it will help..
wlcling
post Aug 9 2007, 03:53 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

i use the t-100 and i believe the blur u are mentioning is because of hand-shake especially when taking shots at night? I guess when you use flash, your pictures get sharper?

If you prefer ambient lighting rather than using flash, then you might need to steady your hands more. Or if you don't mind the picture quality, you can manually select a higher ISO speed, maybe at "800".

A tip, you don't have to press down hard on the shutter to take a picture, just a light tap will do.

What mode are you in anyway? "Automatic"?
goldfries
post Aug 9 2007, 04:22 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(avenger @ Aug 9 2007, 01:47 AM)
ur camera no manual focus like dslr, of course need to auto focus.
even with DSLR, you WILL use auto-focus. smile.gif

focusing is an integral part of photography. you can't expect your subject to clear without focusing unless you use distance, even then it's also focusing - just that you're using legs to move the focal distance.
orenzai
post Aug 9 2007, 06:15 AM

3,114 posts

i experienced that with one of cyber shots cam also..coz the whole cam too light...i take 8/10 pics all got the anti shake warning...and the wholecam no feeling de...so my hand shaky...haha... autofocus is a must to get good photos... just press the snap button halfway...and it will focus then press it further down to snap the photo...
xandman
post Aug 9 2007, 06:27 AM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

yup true...cybershot cams are easily shaken...especially when u have used dslr...the slim pns feels like feather...try extending ur arm in order to support to reduce blur...and of coz...u need to autofocus...juz like goldfries said...if not the pics will not be sharp...
simmytan
post Aug 9 2007, 09:33 AM

115 posts

LOL..if your cam has a MF function ofcourse you can manual focus..if not you must auto focus, if not how to take clear pic leh?
g88
post Aug 9 2007, 09:54 AM

1,631 posts

that why ur camera have optical zoom. Like your spectical la..put on liao your eye retina also need to focus..just yourself dunno only while ur eyes are focusing..hehehe..

Mavik
post Aug 9 2007, 10:40 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 9 2007, 04:22 AM)
even with DSLR, you WILL use auto-focus. smile.gif

focusing is an integral part of photography. you can't expect your subject to clear without focusing unless you use distance, even then it's also focusing - just that you're using legs to move the focal distance.
Not with a D40 and a 50mm prime lens. Have to use MANUAL focus cry.gif
monosyllabic
post Aug 9 2007, 10:41 AM

203 posts

Most point and shoots, you have to use autofocus. I think your pictures are blurry cause of handshake and not necessarily out of focus. If you have some sample pics, put them up here and we can tell if it was handshake or a focus problem.

If it's shaky pix, try using a tripod or resting your elbows on a stationary object, like a chair.

Here's a tip - press the shutter button halfway first. This will make the autofocus kick in. Then steady your hand and press is all the way in. DO NOT STAB THE BUTTON. This is common - people mash the shutter button like it needs a lot of force to get it going. It's not. The harder/faster you press it, the more likely your camera shakes at the vital moment.

If you have photoshop, you can clean up a picture that has camera shake or is out-of-focus by using the Unsharp Mask filter. It makes the pic look cleaner, but how much it can be improved depends on the level of shake, of course.

Hope this helps!
aichiban
post Aug 9 2007, 10:58 AM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,994 posts

even when im using low end compact, can rarely get blur pictures.
point, shoot , point shoot.
process of less than 2 sec. thats y i feel so free about using a compact

most of ur blur shots are in extreme conditions?
goldfries
post Aug 9 2007, 11:27 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Aug 9 2007, 10:40 AM)
Not with a D40 and a 50mm prime lens. Have to use MANUAL focus  cry.gif
50mm price for Nikon don't have AF-S / AF-I models ah? smile.gif

well like i said, like it or not they still have to focus. no autofocus also still have to manual, whether using finger or using legs. smile.gif
TSuhlaw
post Aug 9 2007, 11:58 AM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Aug 9 2007, 03:53 AM)
i use the t-100 and i believe the blur u are mentioning is because of hand-shake especially when taking shots at night? I guess when you use flash, your pictures get sharper?

If you prefer ambient lighting rather than using flash, then you might need to steady your hands more. Or if you don't mind the picture quality, you can manually select a higher ISO speed, maybe at "800".

A tip, you don't have to press down hard on the shutter to take a picture, just a light tap will do.

What mode are you in anyway? "Automatic"?
ya, when i use automatic mode, there will be "flash or no flash" problem. If i turn off the flash, most likely vibrate warning will keep appearing. That really irritating me.. If i ignore the warning and go ahead with picture taking, the picture guarantee to be so blur. Sometimes using flash is also not a good way as the pictures will be so shape. Last time i took picture of my gf with flash on and automatic mode, she look so pale and white in the picture! as if i just met a ghost! oh my god... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by uhlaw: Aug 9 2007, 12:57 PM
wlcling
post Aug 9 2007, 12:46 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(uhlaw @ Aug 9 2007, 11:58 AM)
ya, when i use automatic mode, there will be "flash or no flash" problem. If i turn the the flash, most likely vibrate warning will keep appearing. That really irritating me.. If i ignore the warning and go ahead with picture taking, the picture guarantee to be so blur. Sometimes using flash is also not a good way as the pictures will be so shape. Last time i took picture of my gf with flash on and automatic mode, she look so pale and white in the picture! as if i just met a ghost! oh my god... sweat.gif
when you say vibrate warning, do you mean the hand icon that appears?

if flash is activated, the vibrate warning shouldn't be coming up. what flash mode are you using? Normal flash or Slow-sync mode?
exkay
post Aug 9 2007, 12:52 PM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Aug 9 2007, 06:27 AM)
yup true...cybershot cams are easily shaken...especially when u have used dslr...the slim pns feels like feather...try extending ur arm in order to support to reduce blur...and of coz...u need to autofocus...juz like goldfries said...if not the pics will not be sharp...
This is freaking misleading.

You shouldn't extend your arm to reduce blur, that would only create more blur.

infact the correct thing to do is to TUCK IN YOUR ELBOW TO YOUR BODY. and of course, auto focus first, then holding your breath when you press the shutter release button does help too.

This post has been edited by exkay: Aug 9 2007, 12:53 PM
goldfries
post Aug 9 2007, 01:26 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(exkay @ Aug 9 2007, 12:52 PM)
This is freaking misleading.

You shouldn't extend your arm to reduce blur, that would only create more blur.

infact the correct thing to do is to TUCK IN YOUR ELBOW TO YOUR BODY. and of course, auto focus first, then holding your breath when you press the shutter release button does help too.
yes. what he said!

extending arm completely isn't going to make things better, in fact it's more easily to blur.

tuck elbow to body, learn that. then your arms are all resting on your body, your focus would be on something else instead of keeping arms up.

QUOTE(uhlaw @ Aug 9 2007, 11:58 AM)
ya, when i use automatic mode, there will be "flash or no flash" problem. If i turn off the flash, most likely vibrate warning will keep appearing. That really irritating me.. If i ignore the warning and go ahead with picture taking, the picture guarantee to be so blur. Sometimes using flash is also not a good way as the pictures will be so shape. Last time i took picture of my gf with flash on and automatic mode, she look so pale and white in the picture! as if i just met a ghost! oh my god... sweat.gif
you must play with the settings in the camera to reduce the effects from the flash.

ask yourself - you want blur shot or over-exposed? over-expose you can play with stuff like exposure compensation to deal with it. blur shots - hopeless case, will be deleted.
m|ng
post Aug 9 2007, 02:16 PM

U want a piece of me?!
1,863 posts

on a P&S. its good to train ur finger to be more gentle tongue.gif
Else you will shake the whole camera if you press it too hard..

One general question guys,
On an SLR, you can set the focus to infinity.
But how do you do that (focus to infinity) to a digicam? Do you press the shutter from ready->snap in a single motion?
as in skip step to AF?

0.0195sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:10 PM