4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Royal Enfield Continental GT, Test ride & brand impressions

TSlowpro
post Aug 30 2022, 01:44 PM

180 posts

Kinda crazy for valve clearance to be done every 10k km...Japanese bikes don't need such short intervals right?
TSlowpro
post Sep 9 2022, 10:32 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Sep 9 2022, 09:40 AM)
Too bad Didi just can't a price break. Must be a lot of taxes on the CBI unit.

I was hoping a price closer to 20k.

In india the scram 411 is actually cheaper than the Dominar.
At that price here, must as well get the versys 250
I think they're hoping to leverage on the so-called semi-premium brand name in their pricing...
TSlowpro
post Oct 30 2022, 09:58 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Oct 30 2022, 01:13 PM)
if you pay over rm35k and it wobbles...

There was a video that mentioned that it was due to 2 reasons. Unbalanced rims and tyres with poor quality. The chap who did the video on it mentioned that he had 1st did rim balancing and then changed to better tyres...seems to have solved the problem.
TSlowpro
post Mar 10 2023, 10:15 AM

180 posts

New RE Hunter 350 in town from RM22k. Anyone going for test rides this weekend? I do like how the bike looks. Not too retro and a little more modern retro instead with the blacked out parts. It is starting to look (aesthetics) almost as good as Triumphs. Especially the Speed Twin.

https://www.bikesrepublic.com/featured/offi...a-from-rm22000/
TSlowpro
post Mar 12 2023, 05:11 PM

180 posts

I managed to take the bike for a short test ride around Gasket. Here is my review:

I rode a bike and I liked it...actually, I liked it a lot! It's not super powerful and you might be maxing out every gear but in the city, it's capital FUN! By the way, even my old Panther was much faster. But no, it's not a highway warrior type bike but more of a B road santai ride. And, it will do well in that environment. You're encouraged to look around more, less bothered about the speed instead, enjoy the experience. Brakes felt good but maybe it's because of the lighter weight and also the lower speed. And the tyres did well in the wet too. Anyway, I'm not a proper reviewer, go try it for yourself. But this bike gave me grins the whole test ride. It's the New Royal Enfield Hunter 350.

Here's a video of a test ride done by Bennetts of UK
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqSizY37mQI
TSlowpro
post Mar 13 2023, 08:29 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Mar 13 2023, 01:05 AM)
Have you booked one? Does look like a handsome package.

I’m curious why the price is so far off Indian pricing. Almost triple. If they can lower the price it’s going to fly off the showroom.
Was hoping for it to dip below the magical RM20k number but still, at RM22k, it's a decent package. I guess they didn't go below RM20 is so that they will have enough margin to throw in free accessories like the windscreen, side box and engine guard when there are sales campaigns and promotions etc. I'm probably looking at something towards year end or early next year depending on available finances. But if I had the resources now, it is a given already.
TSlowpro
post Mar 13 2023, 01:06 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Mar 13 2023, 12:19 PM)
Thanks for taking time to post this here, too. I have a couple of questions.

Does RE provide a top rack option or do buyers still have to go third party for that? Also, did you try out the center stand and see if the problem mentioned by some reviewers of it being difficult to use due to the 'pedal' part not being long enough exists? Those are my only two issues with the bike since I can no longer live without top box to store helmet and my illness makes it difficult for me to get heavier bikes on center stand without enough leverage.

I'm a very santai rider as I currently use ADV150 on highway, albeit only twice a week. The lack of power won't bother me. Feels like this bike is worth getting maybe in a year or two when there are used examples/demo units, etc. being sold.
Our RE bikes now come from Thailand instead of straight from India which already lowered the cost compared to before - remember when RE bikes started out at nearly 40k? They have to CKD and team up with Modenas here to lower the price closer to Indian pricing, otherwise the import duties and various taxes will apply.
I found out that our bikes still come from India (not sure how much is true) as I was told that Thai-made bikes are even more costly from a transfer price point of view. Don't think there is a top box option yet tho. Not in the Malaysian website anyway but the UK and India sites carries these same items:

https://www.royalenfield.com/uk/en/gma/hntr-350/

Since you're riding an ADV now, would the clutch be in issue for you? The clutch bite point is a wee bit too high for my liking but I think it can be adjusted. I didn't try the centre stand though as I was not aware of the issue.
TSlowpro
post Mar 29 2023, 11:06 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Mar 29 2023, 09:36 AM)
Sweet. Now RE only needs to lose some weight on the Conti and Inter to provide for better acceleration/top speed and handling. Lower weight will surely help those poor overworked 47 horses. I wonder if these new editions will make it to Malaysia...

This post has been edited by lowpro: Mar 29 2023, 11:07 AM
TSlowpro
post May 2 2023, 10:13 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Apr 30 2023, 09:44 PM)
2023 Interceptor is out, finally featuring tubeless rims. Plus a USB charging port, plus blacked-out engine & exhausts. Prefer the chrome of the current model though.
I like the blacked out look. My personal preference is for it to be retro but have many modern design elements. I have never been a friend to chrome so this blacked out RE sits high on my preference list.
TSlowpro
post Sep 15 2023, 09:02 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 14 2023, 02:16 PM)
im not sure how reliable, hv to read user comment on web.
i know that workshop have done many for triumph bikes, that pomen will noe. tht shop tht do custom steel rack, forgot what name.

now, sudah ada alloy wheels, they swear it handles better, lighter,
so can just buy the new model ... lol
or buy just the alloy rims oso can.

excell rims msia have rims fitted with bartubeless system, plug n play for re. it is not a 'real' tubeless .
https://www.bartubeless.it/how-it-works/?lang=en

can import dismotech plug n play rims frm india.

seen thai re bikes using murelli tubeless rims.. $$$

sure china got rims, but need to find....
The rim which is already tubeless would make a better choice IMHO instead of converting a standard tubed rim. Good thing is, it is 17 inch so the smaller diameter should lead to better handling. Next question is the price.
TSlowpro
post Sep 15 2023, 12:38 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 15 2023, 10:54 AM)
new bike oredi alloy rims, unless buy used bike wana convert.
a set of alloy rims converted frm rupee is only rm930.xx
hire runner to buy, mark up, shipping, kastam tax...
dono how much.

got fler import sell here rm 2.5k ....
Yeah, they just launched the facelifted sport rim version here a short while back. Haven't had the chance to go see it yet. I like the new colour schemes though. Did you manage to get a look at the new 650 bikes?
TSlowpro
post Sep 15 2023, 02:25 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 15 2023, 01:41 PM)
no leh,

tht kl bike show, all brands under gohbros no show...
Yeah, word is that the cost was too high for them to participate. Tak pe, we can meet up at their showroom to see bikes and chit chat in PJ.

This post has been edited by lowpro: Sep 15 2023, 02:26 PM
TSlowpro
post Oct 27 2023, 09:40 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Oct 25 2023, 08:13 PM)
Ada makan kah? biggrin.gif
TSlowpro
post Oct 27 2023, 02:52 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Oct 27 2023, 10:47 AM)
nanti they ask u go to their cafe there ler... biggrin.gif nid topay...
I'll probably be there after mid day. Will you be there too?
TSlowpro
post Oct 27 2023, 04:45 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Oct 27 2023, 03:00 PM)
not this time...

which bike u gona test this time?
I've tested all their bikes already...just go kacau kacau a bit. Really like the new Conti GT. SADLY, they didn't update the meters. I like the new switches and the USB port tho and LED lights PLUS the alloys! Finally!
TSlowpro
post Oct 27 2023, 06:56 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Oct 27 2023, 05:22 PM)
what time the test ride start?
might drop a visit
10am to 7pm but I doubt they'll allow test rides up to so late

This post has been edited by lowpro: Oct 27 2023, 07:00 PM
TSlowpro
post Dec 4 2023, 10:35 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Nov 25 2023, 11:52 AM)
Looks real sweet! Just wondering when they will upgrade the instrumentation of the GT and Inter as per the Super Meteor and Shotgun. Hope they give those 2 slightly more updated instrumentation.
TSlowpro
post Dec 4 2023, 10:44 AM

180 posts

These kits will look pretty good too!

https://autologuedesign.com/products/reck-2...=41938046615745

https://autologuedesign.com/products/buff-i...=41231861088449

TSlowpro
post Jan 31 2024, 08:52 AM

180 posts

Different views on the Continental GT.

1) Simple upgrades and ride as is
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FpM-mTGV25s

2) Full suspension upgrade till it feels like a Thruxton (review by Yammie Noob)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QNiaZlljM-4

How would you do up your Continental GT? Or just leave it as it is as when leaving the showroom?
TSlowpro
post Jan 31 2024, 10:43 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 31 2024, 09:40 AM)
any bike for me... ergonomics, control, suspension and brakes
You perhaps went the 2nd route in upgrades thumbup.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0422sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:40 AM