66 posts Joined: Jun 2020 |
RIP TS
Aug 18 2020, 10:18 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
3,669 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Fibre cement board or asbestos ni?
Aug 18 2020, 10:19 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
169 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
Ts lung cancer soon
783 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Dei itu gypsum fibre board la. Name pun plaster ceiling where got asbestos. Kevinwilliam77, alfiejr, and 3 others liked this post
769 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
What year it was made?
Aug 18 2020, 10:22 PM
1,921 posts Joined: Apr 2013 From: Petaling Jaya |
That looks like plaster ceiling.. no asbestos content.. asbestos only in old corrugated roof, that also if its broken or damaged. if still intact it will be no problem... facepalm ts. go gugle first la..
Aug 18 2020, 10:23 PM
241 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Aug 18 2020, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(NaGeNaZ @ Aug 18 2020, 10:19 PM) When I install partition wall, didn't see this which colour strands..so only gypsum board for ceiling have this strand..QUOTE(LamboSama @ Aug 18 2020, 10:19 PM) 13 years ago.QUOTE(bobowyc @ Aug 18 2020, 10:22 PM) That looks like plaster ceiling.. no asbestos content.. asbestos only in old corrugated roof, that also if its broken or damaged. if still intact it will be no problem... facepalm ts. go gugle first la.. It looks just like asbestos fibers..and this house is old.. |
Aug 18 2020, 10:28 PM
4,241 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selangor |
mineral fibre
Aug 18 2020, 10:45 PM
679 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
Thats gypsum board, normally mmg use for ceiling. Every gypsum board like tat inner ceiling side after many years. Very dusty. Usually becos not painted, but nobody bother to paint inner part btw, only outer part. Unless before install ask contractor to paint inner side 1st.
Outer part when the board started to coming out white dust after many years, just need to repaint then ok. |
Aug 18 2020, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 18 2020, 10:28 PM) Are you sure bro?QUOTE(bobowyc @ Aug 18 2020, 10:45 PM) Its soffit is flushed and smooth..maybe the contractor already smoothen with stopping compound.QUOTE(Revoz @ Aug 18 2020, 10:45 PM) Thats gypsum board, normally mmg use for ceiling. Every gypsum board like tat inner ceiling side after many years. Very dusty. Usually becos not painted, but nobody bother to paint inner part btw, only outer part. Unless before install ask contractor to paint inner side 1st. I think u didn't notice the white coloured strands inside the board.Outer part when the board started to coming out white dust after many years, just need to repaint then ok. |
Aug 18 2020, 10:58 PM
Aug 18 2020, 11:08 PM
4,241 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selangor |
A plaster ceiling is made of plasterboards, which is made of gypsum or casting powder mixed in with fibres that hold the mixture together.
Aug 18 2020, 11:17 PM
123 posts Joined: Jan 2019 |
I doubt it is asbestos as it has been phased out long ago. But hey, never take advice from people here. Get it inspected by professionals to get a peace of mind.
https://www.sgs.my/en/environment-health-an...-fibers-testing |
Aug 18 2020, 11:25 PM
77 posts Joined: Oct 2019 |
asbestos ceiling and atap didn't have fibre like strands iinm. visually if you break an asbestos board the texture look like the inside of a hard paper based board. but this one the kampung atap type la.
This post has been edited by ukapaka: Aug 18 2020, 11:26 PM |
Aug 18 2020, 11:29 PM
77 posts Joined: Oct 2019 |
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Aug 18 2020, 10:27 PM) When I install partition wall, didn't see this which colour strands..so only gypsum board for ceiling have this strand.. 13 years most likely safe la. Asbestos mostly phased out in the early 90s or even earlier.13 years ago. It looks just like asbestos fibers..and this house is old.. |
Aug 18 2020, 11:31 PM
5,650 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
i super hated it. super itchy if it gets into your skin pores. cannot wash off.
this thing should be banned. wear n95 mask and glove when working with it. |
Aug 18 2020, 11:33 PM
1,886 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: The Long river ... |
Aug 18 2020, 11:36 PM
1,053 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Asbestos has been banned long ago.
Aug 18 2020, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Aug 18 2020, 10:55 PM) Ohh u mean the fibre?Means that ur ceiling is fibreglass reinforced gypsum board, or contractor usually called it GFRG for ceiling. RootOfJesse liked this post
Aug 18 2020, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 18 2020, 11:08 PM) A plaster ceiling is made of plasterboards, which is made of gypsum or casting powder mixed in with fibres that hold the mixture together. I think it's fiberglass in the gypsum board. Saw it in Google..QUOTE(ericangtzeann @ Aug 18 2020, 11:17 PM) I doubt it is asbestos as it has been phased out long ago. But hey, never take advice from people here. Get it inspected by professionals to get a peace of mind. Sgs price is expensive bro..oil n gas...but their service is top notch.https://www.sgs.my/en/environment-health-an...-fibers-testing QUOTE(ukapaka @ Aug 18 2020, 11:25 PM) asbestos ceiling and atap didn't have fibre like strands iinm. visually if you break an asbestos board the texture look like the inside of a hard paper based board. but this one the kampung atap type la. I see...I suspect it's fiberglass..ya those grey kampung atap or those 2x4 or 4x4 house ceiling use asbestos...the house I grew up in use 2x4 asbestos..and only now I realised it.QUOTE(ukapaka @ Aug 18 2020, 11:29 PM) I know government buildings/projects banned asbestos materials, but for not banned for private housing. There are still asbestos roof manufacturer in Malaysia.QUOTE(fireballs @ Aug 18 2020, 11:31 PM) i super hated it. super itchy if it gets into your skin pores. cannot wash off. Thanks bro for the tips. But n95 mask don't block asbestos iircthis thing should be banned. wear n95 mask and glove when working with it. |
Aug 18 2020, 11:41 PM
2,843 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Seasaw |
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Aug 18 2020, 10:23 PM) Aih.. This led setup. Mine 3 out of 10 gone already. So fast kaput. yamin07 liked this post
Aug 18 2020, 11:42 PM
296 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Kud Wafter |
straight - glass fiber
fizzy > asbestos |
Aug 18 2020, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(danielmckey @ Aug 18 2020, 11:36 PM) Actually asbestos pretty bad for health. High risk lung cancer. RootOfJesse liked this post
Aug 18 2020, 11:49 PM
Asbestos itself contain fibre. People normally still like to use asbestos for ceiling especially office and building simply becos asbestos highly heat resistant n a excellent electrical insulator. But for long term after it starts to worn off and produce dust then its bad for human. This post has been edited by Revoz: Aug 18 2020, 11:49 PM RootOfJesse liked this post
Aug 18 2020, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Aug 18 2020, 11:40 PM) I think it's fiberglass in the gypsum board. Saw it in Google.. its just glass fiber. long strands. if i were to choose, i would rather have bare ceiling than to deal with this glass fiberboardSgs price is expensive bro..oil n gas...but their service is top notch. I see...I suspect it's fiberglass..ya those grey kampung atap or those 2x4 or 4x4 house ceiling use asbestos...the house I grew up in use 2x4 asbestos..and only now I realised it. I know government buildings/projects banned asbestos materials, but for not banned for private housing. There are still asbestos roof manufacturer in Malaysia. Thanks bro for the tips. But n95 mask don't block asbestos iirc sometimes i have to change the lamps and i have to suit up like entering covid ward. asbestos is wooly. now most likely found in industrial pipes. the last thing to remove/change RootOfJesse liked this post
Aug 18 2020, 11:53 PM
Now a day alot people install laminate floor for ceiling. Look quite nice especially lighter color. RootOfJesse liked this post
Aug 18 2020, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(Revoz @ Aug 18 2020, 11:38 PM) Ohh u mean the fibre? Ah I see..you are an architect?...normally there is also a brown paper covering the gypsum layer but it doesn't have glass fibers, and that's is more brittle than the gfrg I guess.Means that ur ceiling is fibreglass reinforced gypsum board, or contractor usually called it GFRG for ceiling. QUOTE(s@ni @ Aug 18 2020, 11:41 PM) Normally is overheating or driver problem...buy branded LED bro..e.g. phlips...don't buy buy elcheapo..QUOTE(rainy~days @ Aug 18 2020, 11:42 PM) Some are straight too.. |
Aug 18 2020, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(s@ni @ Aug 18 2020, 11:41 PM) share my tips how to make it live longer:open up the ballast/driver box, you will see a big capacitor. normally this capacitor is designed to sit on the chip that is hot. the hot chip boils the cap, then your led start flicker and then gone. so, bend the capacitor 180 far far away from the chips. avoid putting the driver on top of the led. this gets hot and cooks the capacitors. ciplak led the weakness is at the driver branded one the weakness is at the led. so my rule of thumb is, if you want bright, go for ciplak. every 3 years change no point buying expensive branded one, as the LED will get dimmer and dimmer although can last many years if the place is hard to get to, eg high ceiling, dont use these build in type. get a screw bulb casing. you can then change the bulb with a extention rod to screw in. This post has been edited by fireballs: Aug 19 2020, 12:02 AM RootOfJesse liked this post
Aug 19 2020, 12:04 AM
847 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Is it safe?
Aug 19 2020, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Aug 18 2020, 11:55 PM) Ah I see..you are an architect?...normally there is also a brown paper covering the gypsum layer but it doesn't have glass fibers, and that's is more brittle than the gfrg I guess. No im not architect. Lastime i got do house maintenance and renovation, so i know a little also la abt this kind of stuff.Both gypsum board wif or without fibreglass reinforced are brittle, just that adding the fibreglass reinforced would make it not easily seperated from it main body when crack or break. Example if got water leaking on some part of the gypsum, after long the part that wet would crack n break and seperate from its main body n fall down, but if with fibreglass reinforced in it, it usually will just hanging and not easily fall down, becos the strands of fibreglass hold it together, but still have risk to fall also la cos wet make it heavier. Yah gypsum is sandwiched in between 2 thick brown paper to avoid it from easily crack i think. But the paper is paintable. RootOfJesse liked this post
Aug 19 2020, 12:25 AM
2,210 posts Joined: Jan 2018 |
Isn't asbestos cancerous? RootOfJesse liked this post
Aug 19 2020, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(s@ni @ Aug 18 2020, 11:41 PM) Now a day lights mmg easily rosak one lulz.Still the old school fluorescent light with starter very tahan. Some part of my house still using the round like ring type fluorescent tube bulb wif starter, serious i dont bluff, last 5 years no mistaken i last change the bulb, never rosak yet, i only change the starter once. Then the energy saving type, not led, i usually buy philips brand, within 1 year mmg rosak 2-3 times some of it. Rarely tahan 1 year. If led depends on luck, one side of my house got using led fluorecent 4ft tube, so far 2 yrs no problem, just that it not as bright as before. Others led round type, bright n dim, got oso tahan 2 yrs oso. RootOfJesse liked this post
Aug 19 2020, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(fireballs @ Aug 18 2020, 11:50 PM) its just glass fiber. long strands. if i were to choose, i would rather have bare ceiling than to deal with this glass fiberboard Hehe..Change light bulb also need full ppe? I have seen ppl using 3m p100 face masks..there are many types of add on filters and some can filter asbestos..sometimes i have to change the lamps and i have to suit up like entering covid ward. asbestos is wooly. now most likely found in industrial pipes. the last thing to remove/change QUOTE(kamfoo @ Aug 19 2020, 12:04 AM) Asbestos = unsafe and cancer causing if inhaledFiberglass = new product to replace asbestos. short term exposure may only cause irritation to throat and lungs and may be cancerous for long term QUOTE(Revoz @ Aug 19 2020, 12:22 AM) No im not architect. Lastime i got do house maintenance and renovation, so i know a little also la abt this kind of stuff. Ah I see . That's good info bro.. so the glass fibers is also waterproof and prevent whole ceiling from falling..maybe glass fibers is used also because it's thin compared to polypropylene fibers and also heat resistant..Both gypsum board wif or without fibreglass reinforced are brittle, just that adding the fibreglass reinforced would make it not easily seperated from it main body when crack or break. Example if got water leaking on some part of the gypsum, after long the part that wet would crack n break and seperate from its main body n fall down, but if with fibreglass reinforced in it, it usually will just hanging and not easily fall down, becos the strands of fibreglass hold it together, but still have risk to fall also la cos wet make it heavier. Yah gypsum is sandwiched in between 2 thick brown paper to avoid it from easily crack i think. But the paper is paintable. QUOTE(Revoz @ Aug 19 2020, 12:38 AM) Now a day lights mmg easily rosak one lulz. Ya the ring type one very tahan..but I still changed to magnet/stick on 15w LED plate to save electricity.. it's comparably bright but hope it'll last..Still the old school fluorescent light with starter very tahan. Some part of my house still using the round like ring type fluorescent tube bulb wif starter, serious i dont bluff, last 5 years no mistaken i last change the bulb, never rosak yet, i only change the starter once. Then the energy saving type, not led, i usually buy philips brand, within 1 year mmg rosak 2-3 times some of it. Rarely tahan 1 year. If led depends on luck, one side of my house got using led fluorecent 4ft tube, so far 2 yrs no problem, just that it not as bright as before. Others led round type, bright n dim, got oso tahan 2 yrs oso. ![]() This post has been edited by RootOfJesse: Aug 19 2020, 12:58 AM |
Aug 19 2020, 12:49 AM
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Aug 19 2020, 12:41 AM) Hehe..Change light bulb also need full ppe? I have seen ppl using 3m p100 face masks..there are many types of add on filters and some can filter asbestos.. Yah fibreglass is waterproof but not the gypsum. If gypsum wet it will be heavier and fibreglass strands not gerenti can hold it longer, risk of falling very high. Asbestos = unsafe and cancer causing if inhaled Fiberglass = new product to replace asbestos. short term exposure may only cause irritation to throat and lungs and may be cancerous for long term Ah I see . That's good info bro.. so the glass fibers is also waterproof and prevent whole ceiling from falling..maybe glass fibers is used also because it's thin compared to polypropylene fibers and also heat resistant.. If gypsum break in dry condition then it will just hang n not easily fall down cos very light weight when dry, the fibreglass can hold it firm. |
Aug 19 2020, 12:49 AM
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Aug 19 2020, 12:41 AM) Hehe..Change light bulb also need full ppe? I have seen ppl using 3m p100 face masks..there are many types of add on filters and some can filter asbestos.. http://www.formglas.com/pdfs/SDS/Formglas-SDS-GFRG.pdfyou would do the same after reading the msds. first time kena my skin itched for days. some spots like you kena wood splinter but the splinter is no where to be found. i also have my vacuum cleaner running to avoid spilling the fiber around the room. my lamps are those recessed into ceiling type. maybe i should change it to lightbulb next. reduce hazard or one fine day i go mad and will tear down the entire plaster ceiling |
Aug 19 2020, 01:09 AM
QUOTE(fireballs @ Aug 19 2020, 12:49 AM) http://www.formglas.com/pdfs/SDS/Formglas-SDS-GFRG.pdf LMAO..luckily i didnt change it to the recessed type..Still maintaining the PLC bulbs with recessed casing..Now just converting those flourescent lamps wiring to LED, and so happen saw the glass fibers.you would do the same after reading the msds. first time kena my skin itched for days. some spots like you kena wood splinter but the splinter is no where to be found. i also have my vacuum cleaner running to avoid spilling the fiber around the room. my lamps are those recessed into ceiling type. maybe i should change it to lightbulb next. reduce hazard or one fine day i go mad and will tear down the entire plaster ceiling Wow..that sucks man, having tiny splinter stuck in there would surely hurt..I would really consider buying 99% filtration mask after this and good goggles too, since there are many light points to rewire.. |
Aug 27 2020, 10:09 AM
919 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(Revoz @ Aug 18 2020, 11:45 PM) QUOTE(Revoz @ Aug 18 2020, 11:49 PM) Asbestos itself contain fibre. Wanna ask does UAC ceiling board contains asbestos?People normally still like to use asbestos for ceiling especially office and building simply becos asbestos highly heat resistant n a excellent electrical insulator. But for long term after it starts to worn off and produce dust then its bad for human. |
Aug 27 2020, 01:47 PM
Aug 27 2020, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(Revoz @ Aug 27 2020, 01:47 PM) So is fiber cement safe? Was suggested to use UAC ceiling board, so I when searched online only found this - UAC Superflex Ceiling Asbestos. Find it kinda weird the name contains asbestos but description said it's asbestos free..https://www.singtexhardware.com/shop/plywoo...tos-2-x-4-.html |
Aug 27 2020, 04:58 PM
1,022 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
I think asbestos no longer available in the market.
Some very old building/structure maybe..... |
Aug 27 2020, 05:14 PM
Aug 27 2020, 05:16 PM
Aug 27 2020, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Aug 27 2020, 05:16 PM) This one very likely to have asbestos..those are the panels, 2 x 4...same as the old house I used to live in. Shit! The ceiling has cracked and got people came to check, they said looks like kertas only cuz it's very light. Does it mean everyone in the whole household has breathed in asbestos? |
Aug 27 2020, 05:44 PM
404 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Newsray @ Aug 27 2020, 04:58 PM) Officially banned but still a lot private housing buy asbestos to replace old ceiling as it's cheapest compared to other alternativeThis post has been edited by bryon: Aug 27 2020, 05:45 PM |
Aug 27 2020, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(starry-starry @ Aug 27 2020, 04:54 PM) So is fiber cement safe? Was suggested to use UAC ceiling board, so I when searched online only found this - UAC Superflex Ceiling Asbestos. Find it kinda weird the name contains asbestos but description said it's asbestos free.. Here i copy past from google,https://www.singtexhardware.com/shop/plywoo...tos-2-x-4-.html "Bossenmayer (President of Institut Bauen und Umwelt e.V.) The UAC Fibre Cement Boards are 100% abestos free in composition. These autoclaved composite materials are made from specially treated high grade cellulose fibre, Portland cement, refined sand and water." "UCO Superflex is an autoclaved cellulose fibre cement flat board, creamy white in colour. It is a multipurpose asbestos-free." |
Aug 27 2020, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(starry-starry @ Aug 27 2020, 05:14 PM) QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Aug 27 2020, 05:16 PM) This one very likely to have asbestos..those are the panels, 2 x 4...same as the old house I used to live in. QUOTE(starry-starry @ Aug 27 2020, 05:27 PM) Shit! The ceiling has cracked and got people came to check, they said looks like kertas only cuz it's very light. Does it mean everyone in the whole household has breathed in asbestos? QUOTE(bryon @ Aug 27 2020, 05:44 PM) Officially banned but still a lot private housing buy asbestos to replace old ceiling as it's cheapest compared to other alternative ![]() Just to share it's brown colour inside, very soft like texture like some kind of sponge soft board? Does it contain asbestos? |
Aug 27 2020, 06:30 PM
1,757 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Even if it's asbestos, the effect of cancer can only be seen in 30 years.
Aug 27 2020, 06:50 PM
1,022 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
Aug 27 2020, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(fadzly @ Aug 27 2020, 06:30 PM) QUOTE(Newsray @ Aug 27 2020, 06:50 PM) As long as tak pecah and you didn't jolok it, then there is no problem. One of the persons who came actually made a hole to the ceiling to check the damage! Only realized dangers of asbestos later so kinda worry now.. Looking at photos I shared earlier, possible to have asbestos? How come few personnels I asked to come for inspection had no fear of asbestos ceiling even part of d ceiling was damaged? I even inquired how they r going to replace the ceiling, they don't seem to worry the risk of removing current ceilings..If renovation and jolok2, better lari jauh or ask expert to verify and dispose. |
Aug 27 2020, 07:39 PM
10 posts Joined: Jun 2017 |
It is glass fibre.
Asbestos is banned since the 1970s. |
Aug 27 2020, 08:25 PM
404 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Henry T @ Aug 27 2020, 07:39 PM) Asbestos board is still available for sale at many placesDon't believe go ask around Google search reveals sentences below the use of asbestos in the construction of public buildings in Malaysia was banned in 2005. Malaysia has partially banned the use of asbestos. The prohibition of asbestos building materials in schools, clinics, and hospitals This post has been edited by bryon: Aug 27 2020, 08:29 PM |
Aug 27 2020, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(Henry T @ Aug 27 2020, 07:39 PM) Where did u get this info?QUOTE(bryon @ Aug 27 2020, 08:25 PM) Asbestos board is still available for sale at many places This is what I read too, banned in public buildings only and it was in 2005!Don't believe go ask around Google search reveals sentences below the use of asbestos in the construction of public buildings in Malaysia was banned in 2005. Malaysia has partially banned the use of asbestos. The prohibition of asbestos building materials in schools, clinics, and hospitals Have u seen the photos I shared? Likely contains asbestos? How likely old houses built decades ago contains asbestos? Like 99%? Can't seem to find much info about this. |
Aug 28 2020, 12:09 AM
456 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Aug 28 2020, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(starry-starry @ Aug 27 2020, 05:27 PM) Shit! The ceiling has cracked and got people came to check, they said looks like kertas only cuz it's very light. Does it mean everyone in the whole household has breathed in asbestos? ![]() You can see from the photo above. https://www.facebook.com/publichealthmalays...23213774635152/ |
Aug 28 2020, 01:16 AM
QUOTE(jimliew @ Aug 28 2020, 12:09 AM) Any idea when did ceiling contains asbestos introduced in Malaysia? How widely was used in the old houses built?QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Aug 28 2020, 12:28 AM) Thanks for sharing, I came across this post as well. The ceiling in post is different from mine, will it be possible it's just fibreglass like other suggested? It feels very light, brown colour inside. |
Mar 1 2022, 01:46 PM
Probation
2 posts Joined: Mar 2022 |
QUOTE(starry-starry @ Aug 28 2020, 01:16 AM) Any idea when did ceiling contains asbestos introduced in Malaysia? How widely was used in the old houses built? Hi there, may I know if you have finally confirmed whether your ceiling contacts asbestos? My 30+ years house has asbestos ceiling too and I am in dilemma whether to change it.Thanks for sharing, I came across this post as well. The ceiling in post is different from mine, will it be possible it's just fibreglass like other suggested? It feels very light, brown colour inside. |
Mar 1 2022, 01:48 PM
fiberglass
Mar 1 2022, 01:49 PM
196 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
Mar 1 2022, 01:50 PM
113 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
that fiber optic for internet lar ,..
Mar 1 2022, 01:51 PM
196 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(starry-starry @ Aug 27 2020, 07:37 PM) One of the persons who came actually made a hole to the ceiling to check the damage! Only realized dangers of asbestos later so kinda worry now.. Looking at photos I shared earlier, possible to have asbestos? How come few personnels I asked to come for inspection had no fear of asbestos ceiling even part of d ceiling was damaged? I even inquired how they r going to replace the ceiling, they don't seem to worry the risk of removing current ceilings.. Most contractors dont give a flying fark about safety. That's why you don't many wearing proper protection equipment like goggles and filtration mask. |
Mar 1 2022, 01:53 PM
1,063 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Wear proper PPE then take some samples of the ceiling or rooftop shingles.
Send to independent labs like sgs. Asbestos is dangerous if broken into pieces. |
Mar 1 2022, 02:30 PM
7,938 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(a_dot_el @ Mar 1 2022, 01:49 PM) Not necessarily. Sometimes there is mix of asbestos too even in gypsum ceiling.I think Malaysia does not totally banned the used of asbestos because asbestos ceiling still sold (that gray colored ceiling). There are no acts or regulations prohibiting the use of asbestos in private buildings in Malaysia. The ban is only applied to schools, clinics, and hospitals built by government started in 1999. Prohibition has also been applied to all government buildings starting from 2005. http://nehapmalaysia.moh.gov.my/wp-content...In-Malaysia.pdf |
Mar 1 2022, 07:12 PM
91 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Asbestos is still legal in Malaysia contrary to belief.
Burn it with lighter and see if it melts, if it melts it is fiberglass, if it don't asbestos. |
Mar 1 2022, 07:19 PM
1,294 posts Joined: Feb 2012 From: Taman Rasa Sayang, Cheras |
QUOTE(fireballs @ Aug 18 2020, 11:31 PM) i super hated it. super itchy if it gets into your skin pores. cannot wash off. this one i concur. Its like tiny needles being poke onto your skin. Really uncomfortable if you did not wear any ppe before doing whatever work on your ceiling.this thing should be banned. wear n95 mask and glove when working with it. |
Mar 1 2022, 07:21 PM
Mar 1 2022, 07:23 PM
368 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Nobody use abestos anymore dude
| Change to: | 0.0327sec