Teclast P20HD, Cheapo Android 10 tablet

ViRaViRa
post Oct 2 2020, 10:53 PM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Oct 2 2020, 10:08 PM)
I do notice this problem. I think main possible root causes: HD/Full HD videos on Youtube does not get supported on the Unisoc processor. Thus only able to play the low resolution videos
Surprisingly, it works on the default YouTube app before the update. I am currently using the pre-installed YouTube as a temporary solution to this.
kucingfight
post Oct 5 2020, 02:35 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Oct 2 2020, 10:01 PM)
Anyone using P20HD having problem with YouTube? I don't see the option to change video quality on some videos (usually music videos). When i check other kind of videos e.g. people talking about something e.g. review etc, the option is there but not on music videos.

YouTube version (15.33.34 & 15.39.35). I don't think it is Youtube problem because on my phone, I don't have such problem.
yup, on my cube iplay20. having this issue too. doesn't happen to all videos. some videos doesnt show the option to adjust the quality. not sure why.
azhar75
post Oct 5 2020, 03:27 PM

17,226 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 5 2020, 02:35 PM)
yup, on my cube iplay20. having this issue too. doesn't happen to all videos. some videos doesnt show the option to adjust the quality. not sure why.
Can try YouTube Vanced app.
TSDothan
post Oct 5 2020, 05:15 PM

Dingle Berries
1,054 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Oct 2 2020, 10:53 PM)
Surprisingly, it works on the default YouTube app before the update. I am currently using the pre-installed YouTube as a temporary solution to this.
I followed your advice, uininstall the updates. It works as charm now.

I will keep the default version and will not ask Play Store to auto update the youtube app.
ViRaViRa
post Oct 5 2020, 08:37 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Oct 5 2020, 03:27 PM)
Can try YouTube Vanced app.
Same problem on Vanced App (for P20HD)

This post has been edited by ViRaViRa: Oct 6 2020, 11:12 AM
mun88
post Oct 8 2020, 09:21 AM

850 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Oct 5 2020, 05:15 PM)

I will keep the default version and will not ask Play Store to auto update the youtube app.
i do not have this changing video resolution problem. i can watch youtube 1080p video with latest youtube firmware without problem.
cybersim2
post Oct 14 2020, 09:01 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Oct 5 2020, 05:15 PM)

Having the same problem too.
Some video resolution is too blur while some can change the resolution
How to revert back to default version ?
TSDothan
post Oct 14 2020, 12:40 PM

Dingle Berries
1,054 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Oct 14 2020, 09:01 AM)
In settings, search for app then look for Youtube. Uninstall updates.
mun88
post Oct 14 2020, 12:51 PM

850 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Oct 14 2020, 09:01 AM)
try clear cache , clear data
ViRaViRa
post Oct 14 2020, 10:04 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(mun88 @ Oct 14 2020, 12:51 PM)
try clear cache , clear data
Tried. Doesn't work.
mun88
post Oct 16 2020, 12:14 PM

850 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Oct 14 2020, 10:04 PM)
Tried. Doesn't work.
My device do not have this problem everything work perfect
ViRaViRa
post Oct 16 2020, 03:50 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(mun88 @ Oct 16 2020, 12:14 PM)
My device do not have this problem everything work perfect
Interesting.

Could you please try the link below on your YouTube app and let me know if you could play it on full HD?

https://youtu.be/XqZsoesa55w

It works on the browser and everywhere else except for YouTube and Vanced app.

Also, are you on YouTube 15.40.37?
heavensea
post Oct 22 2020, 12:13 PM

9,616 posts

How's the speaker quality? It's a "single sided" firing speaker only?
ViRaViRa
post Oct 22 2020, 01:29 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Oct 22 2020, 12:13 PM)
How's the speaker quality? It's a "single sided" firing speaker only?
It has 2 speakers, both on the left, and will be facing the bottom (or top) when you hold it horizontally. They are quite loud but can be sharp to the ears.
heavensea
post Oct 22 2020, 01:50 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Oct 22 2020, 01:29 PM)
It has 2 speakers, both on the left, and will be facing the bottom (or top) when you hold it horizontally. They are quite loud but can be sharp to the ears.
Thanks! Alldocube iPlay 20 is like abang adik with this tablet.
ViRaViRa
post Oct 22 2020, 04:32 PM

4,625 posts

After using it for about 1 month plus, I am finally ready to say a few words about the P20HD

Pros :
- Price
- USB type C
- Android 10
- Supports OTG (if you want to use keyboard, pendrive etc)
- Dual SIM (hybrid slot)
- Supports 4G
- Supports micro SD card up to 128 GB (via 2nd sim slot)

Cons :
- My charger plug stopped working after a month. While it was working, it gets extremely hot, to the extend I plug it far away from me (concerned that it will explode).
- Charging takes about 3 hours and 40 minutes from 5% to 100%
- Screen flickers once in a while. To solve this, under developer options, disable HW overlays (not the best thing to do but it solves the flicker problem).
- Screen is too bright at night in very low light conditions. You can't use screen dim apps because under some situation e.g. unlocking the device and when you go to settings, it doesn't work and you will have a shock with the sudden high brightness.
- Screen is still dim at maximum brightness when you are in outdoors (bright sunlight etc)
- The screen is too reflective and it is annoying while you are watching videos etc. It is like a mirror, you see your face.
- Only 6000 mAh battery, which is the same capacity as my Samsung M31 smartphone. Can you imagine how small is that for a 10-inch tab?
- Unable to choose a video quality for YouTube videos (to fix this issue, uninstall the update and use the factory YouTube. Disable YouTube auto-update)
- Audio quality is too sharp to my liking
- Audio quality via 3.5mm earphone is very flat. No bass at all. Better use Bluetooth earphone
- Typing is a little less responsive but still acceptable. You just have to type a tad slow. Disable pop up and sound if possible.

Overall, it is an ok-ok tablet. Not for extensive use. Can use for casual stuff. I will still keep it until its EOL because for that price, it is still a pretty decent tablet. I don't mind about the charger but I wish the display related issues were not there, especially the flicker and low-quality youtube videos.

This post has been edited by ViRaViRa: Oct 22 2020, 04:38 PM
TSDothan
post Oct 22 2020, 10:19 PM

Dingle Berries
1,054 posts

I accidentally let Google Play Store upgraded the YouTube app to version 15.42.36

It seems the low res videos issue is resolved.
ViRaViRa
post Oct 22 2020, 11:22 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Oct 22 2020, 10:19 PM)
I accidentally let Google Play Store upgraded the YouTube app to version 15.42.36

It seems the low res videos issue is resolved.
Just tried. Still the same for me.

And I also realized that the videos that I watch via instagram is also slightly blurry compared to on my phone. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by ViRaViRa: Oct 22 2020, 11:28 PM
TSDothan
post Oct 23 2020, 08:07 AM

Dingle Berries
1,054 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Oct 22 2020, 11:22 PM)
Just tried. Still the same for me.

And I also realized that the videos that I watch via instagram is also slightly blurry compared to on my phone.  rclxub.gif
Unfortunately, after trying many videos without issues, I found 1 low res video again.

*sigh* sweat.gif

lowyat.my
post Oct 25 2020, 01:19 AM

185 posts

Hello, I'm considering getting one as a temporary machine for my studies. As some of my exams can only be taken on a PC, is it still better to get a laptop/desktop or get a teclast and use a virtual machine over cloud?
Thank you in advance.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:25 PM