iLife 08 & iWork 08

dannytzh
post Aug 8 2007, 04:27 PM

Do no evil.
818 posts

Aiyo, just buy a mini zoo lah. U'll get both tiger and leopard, and on top of that ostrich, elephant (woot!), crocodile... any animal u like... lol

Okay, jokes aside, I'm quite impressed with KeyNote's ability to allow timed narration in the presentation slides. 'Voice-over recording'... very cool loh.
dannytzh
post Aug 11 2007, 12:08 AM

Do no evil.
818 posts

Hmm.. i've downloaded the trial version of iWork '08. Very sleek indeed. Though I must say Excel 2007 still gives me the more powerful feeling. The Number'08 seems limiting so far.

Keynote is brilliant, as always.
dannytzh
post Aug 11 2007, 06:00 PM

Do no evil.
818 posts

May I provide a small review on these three programs contained in iWork '08? It's nothing much but since I'm a user of both Office 2007 (for windows), Office 2004 (for mac) and iWork '06 (now '08 trial), I hope what I'm going to write will benefit LYN members here who are still deciding whether to give iwork '08 a go or not.

1. Office document Compatibility:-
SOFTWARE XLS XLSX (07) DOC DOCX PPT PPTX
Office 2004 Y N Y N Y N
iWork 06 N N Y N Y N
iWork 08 Y Y Y Y Y Y

2. Functionality
Office 2004 - very normal. I'd rather boot up my Windows and use Office 2007 instead.
iWork 06 - fairly functionable. Keynote has 3D slide transitions that PPt doesn't include as default (you can buy 3rd party plug-ins for that). No Spreadsheet program

iWork 08
- Keynote's Alpha is wonderful. I absolutely love it. The Auto-built function for automatic generation of slideshow for the pictures you drop in is also something I like. Record function allows you to present without being present, brilliant. Definitely better than PowerPoint.

- Numbers. I like the independent frame concept. Resizing different table without affecting the others is just plain nice. Still haven't tested advance formulaes in spreadsheet tabulations, but basic ones are the same as Excel. There are a few pre-calculated options you can drag and drop onto a cell such as sum, average etc. So far so good, nothing much more than Excel so far besides the individual table resizing.

- Pages. Combination of Word and Publisher. Nothing too fancy.

In short, for the price of US$79, I believe iWork '08 is a good alternative to Microsoft Office 2004 for Mac. If you do not do spreadsheets, and you are using iWork '06, just keep to it. There's not much reason for you to upgrade to.

On the other hand, if you are an Office 2004 user, and if you have the extra cash to spend, this is a recommended change. It's a penalty to Microsoft for being slow on mac software development.

3. Aesthetics
iWork wins entirely. Enough said. It's so pweeety..... lol.

Hope these help.

0.0148sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:11 AM