iLife 08 & iWork 08
TScivic98
Aug 8 2007, 01:05 PM, updated 19y ago
I assume iLife will be bundled with Leopard when it is released, and iWork will still be a separate item. So it's only logical to buy Leopard rather than to get iLife now. As for iWork, anyone interested to get it? Would it be possible for 5 of us to share the family pack? Which would make it much cheaper. I will get it, sooner or later, would save a lot if could get 5 to share.
zio
Aug 8 2007, 03:06 PM
I am interested in both actually. How much is the iWork family pack?
hairol83
Aug 8 2007, 03:11 PM
it will be better if we also share the Leopard OS family pack. how about that civic98?
TScivic98
Aug 8 2007, 03:16 PM
I just checked from Apple's website, both iLife & iWork single $79, Family pack $99 for up to five installations. Not sure the legality of it cause it is stated (just saw this):- * The Family Pack Software License Agreement allows you to install and use one copy of the Apple Software on up to a maximum of five (5) Apple-labeled computers at a time as long as those computers are located in the same household and used by persons who occupy that same household. By "household" we mean a person or persons sharing the same housing unit such as a home, apartment, mobile home or condominium. This license does not extend to students who reside at a separate on-campus location or to business or commercial users. Obviously it seems like we can't do it legally  and obviously there are a lot of loopholes there. Anyone wanna share my apartment?? This post has been edited by civic98: Aug 8 2007, 03:20 PM
zio
Aug 8 2007, 03:18 PM
Hrmm well based on those words, it is definitely not legal.
darkcurse
Aug 8 2007, 03:31 PM

The new iLife won't be bundled into Leopard. They will be on new computers sold starting from now but if you're currently using Tiger, getting Leopard in October won't give you iLife. You'll have to buy iLife too... I am planning to get the Leopard family pack and share it with my friends. It might not be legal but then I feel better doing that than downloading it off the net or buying a pirated version of it.
This post has been edited by darkcurse: Aug 8 2007, 03:32 PM
neekun
Aug 8 2007, 04:26 PM
Hmmm..i thought iLife 08 is a standard software bundled in Leopard
dannytzh
Aug 8 2007, 04:27 PM
Aiyo, just buy a mini zoo lah. U'll get both tiger and leopard, and on top of that ostrich, elephant (woot!), crocodile... any animal u like... lol
Okay, jokes aside, I'm quite impressed with KeyNote's ability to allow timed narration in the presentation slides. 'Voice-over recording'... very cool loh.
zio
Aug 8 2007, 04:35 PM
US$200 eek. Where to find that amount of cash for iLife and iWork...
At the moment, iLife is more important to me so I believe I'll upgrade that first.
xaw5126
Aug 8 2007, 04:58 PM
muahaha Does Microsoft give you free Office if you buy Windows Vista? or does Adobe give you Dreamweaver free if you buy Photoshop? The operating system (Tiger or Leopard) is separate from the iLife suite. Apple bundles whatever the current versions are, when you *BUY A MAC!* not when you buy Leopard or Tiger or Panther. got it?
TScivic98
Aug 8 2007, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Aug 8 2007, 04:58 PM) muahaha Does Microsoft give you free Office if you buy Windows Vista? or does Adobe give you Dreamweaver free if you buy Photoshop? The operating system (Tiger or Leopard) is separate from the iLife suite. Apple bundles whatever the current versions are, when you *BUY A MAC!* not when you buy Leopard or Tiger or Panther. got it?   Just got myself a "good" reason to get a new Mac when Leopard is out  Though I'll still need to get iWork.
kokyun
Aug 8 2007, 05:09 PM
Finally can throw microsoft office 2004 awayyyyyyy
peanuts
Aug 9 2007, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(neekun @ Aug 8 2007, 04:26 PM) Hmmm..i thought iLife 08 is a standard software bundled in Leopard  nope. ilife was never bundled with MacOS unless you bought a new system. anyway ilife is expected to reach our shores by this weekend
zio
Aug 9 2007, 12:43 PM
Hrmm it is? Lol when I called Machines, they said one month later =.=
xaw5126
Aug 9 2007, 01:55 PM
when you call... none of us want to kena tembak. so we estimate 30 days mar. if Apple ships the discs early... good and well.
TScivic98
Aug 9 2007, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Aug 9 2007, 01:55 PM) when you call... none of us want to kena tembak. so we estimate 30 days mar. if Apple ships the discs early... good and well.  xaw5126, how much is iWork converted to RM? Both the single user and the family pack. Any estimate yet?
xaw5126
Aug 9 2007, 03:01 PM
bwahahaha... for now, following the old pricing... till Apple Malaysia says otherwise RM 369 - iLife '08 RM 459 - iLife '08 Family Pack any complaints about pricing, please refer Apple Malaysia 03 27111888
tinkerbel
Aug 10 2007, 03:01 PM
Fanaddict!
with all these iLife/iWork/iWANTMAC talk, i feel as if I'm under utilising my MBP!! *grins* At least I'm using KEYNOTE!! *LoL* @civic98, I'll share your apartment with u - where can I get the keys?! And please, i'm talking about the one in PJ, not the one up on the hill - it's good to have an additional 'home' to snake off to
zio
Aug 10 2007, 03:20 PM
Hrmm the option of sharing is looking more attractive by the minute..
tinkerbel
Aug 10 2007, 04:06 PM
Fanaddict!
And.. at the very least, we're still PAYING for it, and not getting it FREE *grinz*