Android Box advice?

voncrane
post May 6 2021, 02:05 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ May 4 2021, 01:51 PM)
Hi,Ive been looking to get an Android box as I ditched Xstro and their repetitive screenings.
My requirements:
R1. I just want to watch movies, dramas and some variety shows eg korean, hong kong, china, singaporean. with English suubs preferably.
R2. Should support 5G wifi as I installed some other devices which run 5G so i turned off 2.4G to reduce interference.
R3. I don regard myself as techy but can do with sufficient instructions =P

TV boxes I'm looking at:
P1. TIVO 4k Stream
P2. EVPad 5S
P3. TX6 4GB RAM + 64GB ROM

Option P1 seems pretty straightforward too in that it has its own app to consolidate all the channels.
Option P2 is the easiest as its plug-n-play, and needs no further subscriptions and stuff - everything pre-installed and setup and best things is auto-update where I don't have to manually update if a source is shut down (or at least that's wad i was told).
Option P3 seems to be the best price point. I havent looked into it in detail.

Please advise me:
1. if 2GB RAM is sufficient to run the boxes smoothly
2. Does android version of the boxes matter significantly?wad r d benefits of using a newer android version?
3. I like Option P2 but the price tag is woah.
4. Im open to suggestions of other boxes to explore.

People have answered you d.. But here goes anyways..

1. yes it can be provided you are using a good box with a solid firmware. i used to use Minix hardware. Till date, Miinix still ships devices with just 2GB RAM.. DDR3 even.. (example the Neo T5) How they get away with it? It's all in their firmware and cooling..Superb. Used 3 different Minix models in the past and never had issues with em with "regular stuff". So yes it's okay. Although it's 2021. I'd do better if i can.
2. Yes it does... Typically you should be good with at least Lollipop and up. However, Android 10 or 20 on a shitty box will always be the worse option than Android 8/9 running on a solid box with a solid firmware... True story. These are not mobile phones.. They are media playback devices. I make my decisions based on what they can do and do very well than just the Android version. The Neo T5 ships with Android 9.0 Pie..
3. The price tag is WHOA for one reason alone.. Profit!!...They take generic hardware, slap their skins la, app la and call it theirs.. Good luck.. tongue.gif
4. You can check out my signature for real world reviews of boxes I've tested.. Find one that meets your budgets and requirements? Just pull the trigger.. On the other hand, it won't hurt like AVFAN suggested to read up a tad more to know what exactly you are getting yourself into..

P.S. Focus on getting a good box..You want to do the exact same thing that hundreds of thousands are already doing. It's not rocket science.. Box, find service (paid or free)... Install.. sit back and enjoy.. brows.gif

QUOTE(numbbell @ May 5 2021, 02:38 AM)
oic voncrane you're in xda. will look into yr threads over there. i was there too during early days of android flashing. long time didnt visit.
Yeah...But same here..although my noise-making days there are over...More fam oriented.. haha.. Playing IRL more now.

QUOTE(StevenL @ May 5 2021, 10:28 AM)
go with evpad then tongue.gif
I see what you did there.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: May 6 2021, 02:09 AM
voncrane
post May 6 2021, 11:06 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

To all interested and particularly ~Curious~ & chickenriceboy, I just uploaded a full review and demo of the Cobra4TV IPTV & VOD service. It would also interest y'all to know that proprietary OS-powered TVs (I just love Sammy & LG TVs...their OSes are superb) are supported. With just a tiny setup...You don't even need to purchase an external box to enjoy such services. Just turn on your TV, load the installed app, and boom, you are in... Can see that around the 22:00 timing in the video below.

P.S. Sharing yeah.. Not blindly promoting... I welcome any questions or concerns regarding the service. However, best to comment over at the dedicated thread la.. So not off-topic here... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: May 6 2021, 11:07 AM
GuyM
post May 6 2021, 12:05 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 6 2021, 11:06 AM)

P.S. Sharing yeah.. Not blindly promoting... I welcome any questions or concerns regarding the service. However, best to comment over at the dedicated thread la.. So not off-topic here... notworthy.gif
$35 for 6 mth subs with 4k channels?

chickenriceboy
post May 6 2021, 01:02 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 6 2021, 11:06 AM)
To all interested and particularly ~Curious~ & chickenriceboy, I just uploaded a full review and demo of the Cobra4TV IPTV & VOD service. It would also interest y'all to know that proprietary OS-powered TVs (I just love Sammy & LG TVs...their OSes are superb) are supported. With just a tiny setup...You don't even need to purchase an external box to enjoy such services. Just turn on your TV, load the installed app, and boom, you are in... Can see that around the 22:00 timing in the video below.

no different than other VOD boxes . interfaces loooks really rudimentary . also hosting illegal feeds as other vod boxes.
voncrane
post May 7 2021, 07:07 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ May 6 2021, 12:05 PM)
$35 for 6 mth subs with 4k channels?
TBH...I'm yet to have seen any actual legit 4K live TV stream on this service and boy I have looked...Plenty 1080p and 720p..Will keep searching and I told em to buck up that part. And yes, 35 for 6 months and 50 for a year. I reckon they be expecting people to sub to the cheaper annual plan..

QUOTE(chickenriceboy @ May 6 2021, 01:02 PM)
no different than other VOD boxes . interfaces loooks really rudimentary . also hosting illegal feeds as other vod boxes.
Ahhh... You begin to get the point. Perhaps now you'll believe people say there's not much special about those eh boxes you strongly promote. There are many more services like this out there. one only knows where to look and how to get em on their device. On the plus side, services like Cobra4TV allow multiple device usage. Not just stuck or bound to single device usage. I can stream on my phone, TV, tablet, laptop, mac, etc.. anytime anywhere. As for hosting illegal feeds. Memang la.. Do you think EVPAD or LongTV, etc all are legal? lol.. Only services like Asterruk, BBC, FuboTV, Hulu, etc all are legal.
GuyM
post May 7 2021, 09:42 PM

1,787 posts

Are there plenty of 1080 channels and true 1080 quality?
voncrane
post May 7 2021, 10:11 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ May 7 2021, 09:42 PM)
Are there plenty of 1080 channels and true 1080 quality?
I would say yes, and stable.. Perhaps you tell which channels you are interested in and I can check if available & their resolution for you.
furynicotine P
post May 17 2021, 06:08 PM

Probation

If you're new to IPTV boxes, I would strongly recommend SuperBox S2 Pro, it's one of the most user-friendly tv box, and the best gift for parents.
https://mysuperboxtv.com/
AVFAN
post May 25 2021, 03:12 PM

24,448 posts

Malaysia’s Intellectual Property High Court declares the sale of illicit streaming devices as illegal
https://www.thestar.com.my/tech/tech-news/2...ices-as-illegal
StevenL
post May 25 2021, 03:43 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 25 2021, 03:12 PM)
Malaysia’s Intellectual Property High Court declares the sale of illicit streaming devices as illegal
https://www.thestar.com.my/tech/tech-news/2...ices-as-illegal
every now and then there'll be this article. Truth is lzd, shoppee, fb, ig filled with this boxes loaded with streaming apps... gvmnt should hold lzd shoppee liable for allowing this to be promoted via their website
AVFAN
post May 25 2021, 04:00 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ May 25 2021, 03:43 PM)
every now and then there'll be this article. Truth is lzd, shoppee, fb, ig filled with this boxes loaded with streaming apps... gvmnt should hold lzd shoppee liable for allowing this to be promoted via their website
slowly but surely... more laws get passed, enacted, gazetted.

then the prosecutors will come down on them with steel claws.
eddydo
post May 27 2021, 07:26 AM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

Found that this thread is more active than the other one that I posted my comments at hence reposting it here:

Bought SVIgo for a week ago and realize that most subs are in chinese, any other platforms which have up to date movies with subs in english?

This post has been edited by eddydo: May 27 2021, 07:27 AM
Scissorshand
post May 27 2021, 02:33 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ May 27 2021, 07:26 AM)
Found that this thread is more active than the other one that I posted my comments at hence reposting it here:

Bought SVIgo for a week ago and realize that most subs are in chinese, any other platforms which have up to date movies with subs in english?
depends on what chinese content u watching... dramacool, duboku, langlangbay all free to install in kodi has both, go google if need to to install
jibpek
post Jan 6 2022, 09:57 AM

706 posts

Guys, can I use Xiaomi TVBOX here in Malaysia? I saw the comment was extremely good, and with built in 5G support as well.

I am buying this for my parent. They are now saying temporary with my brother until May. We have been applying for UNIFI for a year but no port until now.
Philippng
post Jan 6 2022, 04:17 PM

QUOTE(jibpek @ Jan 6 2022, 09:57 AM)
Guys, can I use Xiaomi TVBOX here in Malaysia? I saw the comment was extremely good, and with built in 5G support as well.

I am buying this for my parent. They are now saying temporary with my brother until May. We have been applying for UNIFI for a year but no port until now.
Hi bros, i never like Xiaomi. I have the experience to help setup one Xiaomi china version. First it lag after some app has been installed. Then installing app from the app store
and from other sources (many app missing or not supported)

However, it is cheaper compare to other type of box.

To resolve how you could installed apk, installed x-plore file manager first. Then you can use x-plore to link to your google drive.
This way you can place all your apk on the google drive then installed the app from the drive

Hope this help you.
jibpek
post Jan 6 2022, 04:27 PM

706 posts

QUOTE(Philippng @ Jan 6 2022, 04:17 PM)
Hi bros, i never like Xiaomi. I have the experience to help setup one Xiaomi china version. First it lag after some app has been installed. Then installing app from the app store
and from other sources (many app missing or not supported)

However, it is cheaper compare to other type of box.

To resolve how you could installed apk, installed x-plore file manager first. Then you can use x-plore to link to your google drive.
This way you can place all your apk on the google drive then installed the app from the drive

Hope this help you.
Thanks for the info. I used my friend's Xiaomi box in China and it was excellent, maybe not outside of China.

May I know which one is good for Malaysia market? It will be better if it has built in 4G support.
phoonCK P
post Feb 5 2022, 07:32 AM

Probation

Regarding the earlier discussions here about IPTV services that do not need TV boxes, they were actually available and running in the US, UK and EU for years already.

Asia is still kinda backward in terms of using 'IPTV'. Asians, til now, are still buying the TV Boxes to stream Live TV and VODs.

The fact is, for the western part of the world, IPTV users just have to download APPs on their SmartTVs, AndroidTVs, Android phones & devices, iOS phones & devices, TV sticks, MacOS laptops, tablets & desktops, and Windows OS laptops, tablets & desktops and the next thing to do is to find a reliable IPTV content provider.

For me, gone were the days where I keep buying TV boxes and only to have them unusable after a couple of months or a year, or unresponsive support teams.

I'd recommend PandoraTV which I've been using for 4 years and going!

However, if you're looking for mostly Asian content, then PandoraTV isn't the right fit for you.

But, if you're looking for live sports, news, documentaries, entertainment shows, and VODs from the US, UK, EU and other major paid-streaming giants, then PandoraTV may just be your perfect choice!

PM me for links as I'm unable to post links just yet ^^
rompers
post Dec 28 2022, 03:03 PM

76 posts

Hi Everyone,

Merry Christmas and advanced Happy New Year to all.

It's turning 2023 soon and I'm just wondering if there are any updated/latest TV Box and/or IPTV suggestions from sifus here.

I'm currently running a Xiaomi Mi-TV Stick, but am hoping to 'upgrade' to something better where I can watch Live Sports + Movies/Dramas-on-Demand (mostly US, UK, Korean) + Documentaries.

As with most of us, a one-time investment with free-for-life viewing would be preferred, but I am okay with paying an annual subscription of < RM 200 (if such subscription guarantees uninterrupted viewing).

Any recommendations from sifus here will be greatly appreciated.
Seng89
post Dec 28 2022, 09:33 PM

2,687 posts

QUOTE(rompers @ Dec 28 2022, 03:03 PM)
Hi Everyone,

Merry Christmas and advanced Happy New Year to all.

It's turning 2023 soon and I'm just wondering if there are any updated/latest TV Box and/or IPTV suggestions from sifus here.

I'm currently running a Xiaomi Mi-TV Stick, but am hoping to 'upgrade' to something better where I can watch Live Sports + Movies/Dramas-on-Demand (mostly US, UK, Korean) + Documentaries.

As with most of us, a one-time investment with free-for-life viewing would be preferred, but I am okay with paying an annual subscription of < RM 200 (if such subscription guarantees uninterrupted viewing).

Any recommendations from sifus here will be greatly appreciated.
I'm looking for 1 too..
rompers
post Dec 29 2022, 02:03 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(phoonCK @ Feb 5 2022, 07:32 AM)
Regarding the earlier discussions here about IPTV services that do not need TV boxes, they were actually available and running in the US, UK and EU for years already.

Asia is still kinda backward in terms of using 'IPTV'. Asians, til now, are still buying the TV Boxes to stream Live TV and VODs.

The fact is, for the western part of the world, IPTV users just have to download APPs on their SmartTVs, AndroidTVs, Android phones & devices, iOS phones & devices, TV sticks, MacOS laptops, tablets & desktops, and Windows OS laptops, tablets & desktops and the next thing to do is to find a reliable IPTV content provider.

For me, gone were the days where I keep buying TV boxes and only to have them unusable after a couple of months or a year, or unresponsive support teams.

I'd recommend PandoraTV which I've been using for 4 years and going!

However, if you're looking for mostly Asian content, then PandoraTV isn't the right fit for you.

But, if you're looking for live sports, news, documentaries, entertainment shows, and VODs from the US, UK, EU and other major paid-streaming giants, then PandoraTV may just be your perfect choice!

PM me for links as I'm unable to post links just yet ^^
Hi phoonCK,

I hope you're well.

Quick check with you; how is the "PandoraTV" IPTV serving you now (with 2023 just around the corner)?
Still going good?

What is the subscription structure like?
Monthly or Annual subscription payments?

Any viewing interruptions of note throughout your usage of 5 years (or more)?

Any reduction -OR- additions of new notable channels/contents offered by "PandoraTV" throughout the years of use?

I tried searching for the "PandoraTV" app using Aptoide via my Xiaomi Mi-TV Stick, but was not able to find it.
Perhaps it is not offered/searchable in the Aptoide platform.
Would you have any thoughts/experience on this?

I thank you in advance for your time and effort in answering/replying to my questions.

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0304sec    0.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:41 AM