How in the world do you guys count calories?

TSBLKH3
post Jul 29 2020, 11:47 AM, updated 6y ago

471 posts

Background: I used to be 170cm 50kg many many years ago. Then I got sick of it and decided to bulk up. At first, the mass gainer I bought did miraculous wonder. I lifted and gained and gained and gained till at 65kg and I have been stuck here ever since no matter what I do. But still at 65 kg and 170cm, I am at the correct BMI and I look normal. Can't complain.

I am about to shift to somewhere else to start new job and before leaving my hometown, I am back at it again. I bought Mass Depot from DavePharmaceuticals and have been lifting. After stopping for a few years, I thought I can pick up right where I left off and continue lifting the same weight.... wrong! I have to start from little all over again.
Here is my daily meal

1) 2 big rice+1 chicken
2) 2 scoops of mass gainer after that
3) 2 more scoops of mass gainer after that some more
4) afternoon nap (I am jobless now so can afternoon nap)
5) lift
6) 1 big rice with various protein like... 2 orang makan punya chicken/fish
7) before sleep, 2 more scoops of mass gainer

I always gain a bit of mass after makan but early in the morning, I lose those gain.
Here are my 3 questions

1) How to stand properly on bathroom scale to get the correct reading? The way I stand on bathroom scale gives me different reading each time. If I stand with my feet in V shape on the bathroom scale, I get a mere 65kg. But if I stand with my feet like I I (like parallel on the left and right side) shape on the bathroom scale, I get 68kg (which is what I want because I am not looking to be Arnie). So, what is the correct position of my feet?

2) How in the world do you guys count your calories? As far as I know, you need a calorimeter to do that (I am a biologist) but I am pretty sure the average gym goer has no calorimeter. So how do I measure calories of my food with no calorimeter in my house??

3) Why is drinking water important to gain mass? I mean, water is important but not like it contributes calories or anything. Besides, no matter how much you drink, you pee it all back anyway. One lowyat guy here said to drink a lot of water.

Please answer. Thanks.

PS: People, the correct term is mass, not weight.
PSS: Just give me straight answers to my three questions please. I don't want vague, snob-tainted, I know better than you-esque answers.

This post has been edited by BLKH3: Jul 29 2020, 02:26 PM
Armesh
post Jul 29 2020, 12:52 PM

1,493 posts

MyFitnessPal

/thread

This post has been edited by Armesh: Jul 29 2020, 12:52 PM
Amedion
post Jul 29 2020, 01:27 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

That's the problem with people trying to gain weight by consuming mass gainer.
TSBLKH3
post Jul 29 2020, 01:36 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Jul 29 2020, 01:27 PM)
That's the problem with people trying to gain weight by consuming mass gainer.
Well, it worked for me.
TSBLKH3
post Jul 29 2020, 01:38 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Jul 29 2020, 12:52 PM)
MyFitnessPal

/thread
Sorry?
Amedion
post Jul 29 2020, 01:41 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(BLKH3 @ Jul 29 2020, 01:36 PM)
Well, it worked for me.
You consume mass gainer of course can gain weight cause it has tons of calorie. Whenever you stop then you will start losing weight. So are you planning to consume for the rest of your life? Soon will get diabetes.

Based on your diet. You're relying too much on mass gainer which is very bad for your health.

I suggest you start eating real food. Slowly adapt to eating more and more.
TSBLKH3
post Jul 29 2020, 01:43 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Jul 29 2020, 01:41 PM)
You consume mass gainer of course can gain weight cause it has tons of calorie. Whenever you stop then you will start losing weight. So are you planning to consume for the rest of your life? Soon will get diabetes.

Based on your diet. You're relying too much on mass gainer which is very bad for your health.

I suggest you start eating real food. Slowly adapt to eating more and more.
Oh ok... thanks.
Amedion
post Jul 29 2020, 01:52 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(BLKH3 @ Jul 29 2020, 01:43 PM)
Oh ok... thanks.
To answer your questions.

1. Not sure what device you using but try to know the pressure point. Usually a good device have better points over the plate so it doesn't matter how u put your foot.
2. No way you can calculate calorie accurately unless you measure everything and cook yourself at home. Usually just ballpark figure then scale everyday and adjust accordingly.
3. Drinking water gain water weight. Other than that it helps with digestion and converting your carb to glycogen. Of course it doesn't put on your mass directly.
TSBLKH3
post Jul 29 2020, 01:57 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Jul 29 2020, 01:52 PM)
To answer your questions.

1. Not sure what device you using but try to know the pressure point. Usually a good device have better points over the plate so it doesn't matter how u put your foot.
2. No way you can calculate calorie accurately unless you measure everything and cook yourself at home. Usually just ballpark figure then scale everyday and adjust accordingly.
3. Drinking water gain water weight. Other than that it helps with digestion and converting your carb to glycogen. Of course it doesn't put on your mass directly.
Thanks for answering.

Actually, I already have a hint of diabetes. My HbA1C reading is 6.5 back in in Feb 2020. Diabetes borderline is 6.3 onwards. I started this new diet 2 weeks ago. I got so freaked out of me losing mass that I went out to buy mass gainer on a whim in an attempt to reverse the mass loss. But after reading your warning, I will stop. Thanks. Which brings me to the next question

How to eat a lot to gain mass but at the same time don't get diabetes? You see, carb is carb, no matter where you get it from mass gainer or normal food and the insulin will react just the same. So... I am not sure how a person can eat a lot to gain mass but at the same time don't get diabetes. Please enlighten me.
Kaellis
post Jul 29 2020, 02:37 PM

Certified Perodua Alza hater
1,231 posts

Get calories from less processed food like oats, wholemeal pasta

get calories dense foods like nuts, natural peanut butter

eat more variety foods for protein fish, egg, milk
TSBLKH3
post Jul 29 2020, 02:51 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(Kaellis @ Jul 29 2020, 02:37 PM)
Get calories from less processed food like oats, wholemeal pasta

get calories dense foods like nuts, natural peanut butter

eat more variety foods for protein fish, egg, milk
U mean like Lady's Choice kind of thing?
Maknusia
post Jul 29 2020, 03:18 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(BLKH3 @ Jul 29 2020, 02:51 PM)
U mean like Lady's Choice kind of thing?
it means with no added sugar, such as steffi's, yogood, etc

https://shopee.com.my/Yogood-Peanut-Butter-...4924.1508623172

https://shopee.com.my/Steffi%E2%80%99s-Deli...8752.5508958631

This post has been edited by Maknusia: Jul 29 2020, 03:19 PM
Amedion
post Jul 29 2020, 03:31 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(BLKH3 @ Jul 29 2020, 01:57 PM)
Thanks for answering.

Actually, I already have a hint of diabetes. My HbA1C reading is 6.5 back in in Feb 2020. Diabetes borderline is 6.3 onwards. I started this new diet 2 weeks ago. I got so freaked out of me losing mass that I went out to buy mass gainer on a whim in an attempt to reverse the mass loss. But after reading your warning, I will stop. Thanks. Which brings me to the next question
How to eat a lot to gain mass but at the same time don't get diabetes? You see, carb is carb, no matter where you get it from mass gainer or normal food and the insulin will react just the same. So... I am not sure how a person can eat a lot to gain mass but at the same time don't get diabetes. Please enlighten me.
You gain mass by consuming at calorie surplus. Calorie can be carb / protein / fat. Better eat a balanced diet.

Carb is carb yes but processed food, sugar, fast food, etc will spike your blood sugar faster than a slow digesting carb like oat. You can eat more protein & healthy fat to bump up your calorie intake.

I would suggest you to consult doctor, check your blood, dump mass gainer, eat healthier, track your progress and workout consistently. That's the lifestyle you should maintain for the rest of your life.
helven
post Aug 1 2020, 12:36 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

Food choice matters

Consuming mass gainer
Might as well comsume whey + ice cream, it is more enjoyable

Actual food + food scale + myfitnesspal.com / nutritiondata.self.com / www.calorieking.com (compare a few sources) + 3 months = ability to eyeball calories

This post has been edited by helven: Aug 1 2020, 01:11 PM
DeAct
post Aug 4 2020, 03:42 PM

281 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by DeAct: Apr 9 2024, 11:18 PM
Hevrn
post Aug 19 2020, 10:06 AM

4,017 posts

Something I would tell my younger self starting to count calories:
1. Dont be too anal about the measurements, unless you are measuring food with high fat content like peanut butter and oil
2. Live a little. Not wanting to eat that one doughnut or meet your friends for drinks every once in awhile just because you've "over-consumed" for the day is not why we choose this lifestyle.
3. Once you've done it enough, you can easily eyeball and guess-timate and identify good and bad choices from the nutrition label.
4. Drinking enough water is more important than hitting your protein goals for the day. Drink water.

0.0187sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:52 AM