Ikea MARKUS help?, Leather vs Fabric
Jul 18 2020, 09:55 PM
966 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
I have 2 chairs.
One for me and wife Both about 1 year old Both fabri Go for that one, leather will not be comfortable for you in a non ac room |
Jul 18 2020, 10:03 PM
2,215 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh/Penang/PJ/Melaka |
QUOTE(XweienX @ Jul 18 2020, 02:29 PM) As most forummers know, there is a very widely recommended chair called the Ikea MARKUS. I have done a fair bit of reading and research and ultimately decide to buy it, so please refrain from suggesting any other make and models. I just wanted hear some feedback to help decide if I should get the leather version or the fabric version from MARKUS owners. I'm using the pu leather version. I had a thin seat cushion on it too. Has been using it for a year.. so far so good no crack yet. Occasionally wipe the seat with a damp cloth to clean the dust.Some info if it helps: - I will usually be on the chair for the entire day (12 hours) on Saturdays and Sundays. - No air-cond as my set up is in the living room, only one small standing fan (the old panasonic kind) pointing towards me. - Will eat food regularly at this seat, have spilt stuff on previous chair. (this would point to leather but I'm not opposed to cleaning the chair regularly if fabric is easy to clean) |
Jul 18 2020, 10:18 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
877 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Kuching |
Jul 18 2020, 10:19 PM
1,450 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
Jul 18 2020, 10:25 PM
21 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
QUOTE(moodswingfella @ Jul 18 2020, 07:31 PM) QUOTE(msacras @ Jul 18 2020, 08:11 PM) It will feel very stiff if you're not used to sitting upright all the time. markus can recline la I will suggest something that can recline instead. its one of the most recline-able chairs out there. can even recline to like 45 degrees and lock it there. damn good for watching movies This post has been edited by Jiao2 Itchy: Jul 18 2020, 10:34 PM andrewkhoo liked this post
Jul 18 2020, 10:28 PM
723 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
I just took a look at the instructions. I would get the fabric one. Then I'll reskin it with real leather before assembly. Should cost less than RM 100.
Jul 18 2020, 11:33 PM
455 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
QUOTE(h4r8_kIlLeR @ Jul 18 2020, 08:15 PM) fabric... leather kalau u duduk berpeluh... lets say pants off... sitting in front pc to masturbate... sweaty butt cheeks not comfortable on leather... fabric all the way QUOTE(Artak @ Jul 18 2020, 08:49 PM) no plis dont |
Jul 18 2020, 11:35 PM
455 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
Seems like both sides have very very strong supporters haha
Jul 18 2020, 11:45 PM
2,567 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
using fabric one over 3 years already
still good |
Jul 18 2020, 11:46 PM
1,526 posts Joined: Jul 2015 |
No ac get fabric
If u have ac get the pu leather If leather crack, replace the chair. If u can afford 500+ chair, getting another one after few years shouldn't be at issue. |
Jul 18 2020, 11:47 PM
1,044 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(Jiao2 Itchy @ Jul 18 2020, 10:25 PM) markus can recline la Lol. U dont have newer office chair than can recline to almost flat configuration? Kesianits one of the most recline-able chairs out there. can even recline to like 45 degrees and lock it there. damn good for watching movies Markus was good maybe 3 years ago but newer made chair by other companies that focus on office chair like Apex went and blow it away already . Pay 300 more than a Markus for my replacement chair and shit,I won't even go back to a Markus after getting a chair can can play with armrest, headrest and lumbar support position This post has been edited by idunnolol: Jul 18 2020, 11:49 PM |
Jul 18 2020, 11:57 PM
4,707 posts Joined: May 2008 |
i am using MARKUS fabric for close to 1 year
ok lor and not hot even not in aircond room but poor lower back support unless you sit straight |
Jul 18 2020, 11:58 PM
450 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: Kuala Terengganu |
If I not mistaken, Markus got 10 year warranty. What it's cover? No one ask when buying it?
Jul 19 2020, 12:25 AM
647 posts Joined: May 2020 |
QUOTE(XweienX @ Jul 18 2020, 02:29 PM) As most forummers know, there is a very widely recommended chair called the Ikea MARKUS. I have done a fair bit of reading and research and ultimately decide to buy it, so please refrain from suggesting any other make and models. I just wanted hear some feedback to help decide if I should get the leather version or the fabric version from MARKUS owners. I been using the Markus for 4 years before it was replaced with a new unit under warranty. Some info if it helps: - I will usually be on the chair for the entire day (12 hours) on Saturdays and Sundays. - No air-cond as my set up is in the living room, only one small standing fan (the old panasonic kind) pointing towards me. - Will eat food regularly at this seat, have spilt stuff on previous chair. (this would point to leather but I'm not opposed to cleaning the chair regularly if fabric is easy to clean) It is a very good and comfortable chair for the money but without a doubt there are better chairs out there that cost significantly more money. Get the leather as it is easier to clean than the fabric ones. I have it steamed clean once every 3 months or thereabouts. |
Jul 19 2020, 12:25 AM
1,471 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
Jul 19 2020, 12:28 AM
Jul 19 2020, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(Jiao2 Itchy @ Jul 18 2020, 04:02 PM) If no air-con, i suggest get fabric. Else you have sweaty butt later.. go wraps ur arm rest la ... should be cheap ...But if fabric,iinm the handle is some rubber grip, not nice to rest your hand there.. But if makan and might spill stuff, leather is better. Very easy to clean up. The armrest also leather wrapped, so its ok to rest your hand there.. Leather quite tahan i think, mine almost 4 years still no koyak2 or peel off yet. But yeah, its fake leather anyway. If it were up to me, i would take fabric seat + leather armrest combo.. leather seat quite keras i wish it was a bit softer.. but good also la, means it wont sag after years of use.. but im not heavy anyway, 60kg only |
Jul 19 2020, 12:47 AM
1,711 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jul 18 2020, 11:46 PM) No ac get fabric The webpage mentioned it is using dyed grain leather from cattle for the leather version.If u have ac get the pu leather If leather crack, replace the chair. If u can afford 500+ chair, getting another one after few years shouldn't be at issue. https://www.ikea.com/my/en/p/markus-office-...black-50137208/ |
Jul 19 2020, 01:10 AM
19 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Am using cheaper ver of ikea chair, used like 4y edi
chair in terrible condition after extreme abuse but still useable so i think markus will tahan similar with my chair. The only annoying condition of my chair now is the roller/wheel. the outer plastic reput liao. Kenot find replacement for now. Do markus wheel oso decay? Plan to buy markus in near future replace my chair |
Jul 19 2020, 01:32 AM
77 posts Joined: Oct 2019 |
QUOTE(bukankhadam @ Jul 19 2020, 01:10 AM) Am using cheaper ver of ikea chair, used like 4y edi It has the sturdiest wheels ever. But still i think load plays a role too. Btw markus is one of the heaviest chair, guess at lieast 5kg.chair in terrible condition after extreme abuse but still useable so i think markus will tahan similar with my chair. The only annoying condition of my chair now is the roller/wheel. the outer plastic reput liao. Kenot find replacement for now. Do markus wheel oso decay? Plan to buy markus in near future replace my chair Edit - actually 20+ kg lol. This post has been edited by ukapaka: Jul 19 2020, 01:37 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0174sec
5 queries
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:40 PM |