Derek87's sap ha sap ha 350D gallery!, C & C pls , dun just view & leave =)
snowmei
Sep 5 2007, 05:32 AM
QUOTE(derek87 @ Sep 5 2007, 05:07 AM) "MTF chart?" where can i get it? so compmac.. How do i get the sharpest pic? hmm... focus properly? hehe... so are my pictures sharp enough? hmm.. lotsa confusion here.. MTF chart you can get it from the lens company website...
CompMac
Sep 5 2007, 05:41 AM
QUOTE(derek87 @ Sep 5 2007, 05:07 AM) "MTF chart?" where can i get it? so compmac.. How do i get the sharpest pic? hmm... focus properly? hehe... so are my pictures sharp enough? hmm.. lotsa confusion here.. The best is to look for this information from the lens manufacturer's website. Examples: Olympus ZD 50mm f2 Macro http://www.olympusamerica.com/cpg_section/...0_20M/index.aspSigma 150mm f2.8 Macro http://www.sigma-imaging-uk.com/lenses/macro/150mm.htmNikkor 70-200mm f2.8 VR http://nikonimaging.com/global/products/le...8g_if/index.htm
TSderek87
Sep 5 2007, 07:56 PM
QUOTE(CompMac @ Sep 5 2007, 05:41 AM) oohh.. thank you so much for that info.. but how do i read the MTF chart.. a bit confuse..
CompMac
Sep 5 2007, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(derek87 @ Sep 5 2007, 07:56 PM) oohh.. thank you so much for that info.. but how do i read the MTF chart.. a bit confuse.. Check the Sigma website that I had given you. There is a link on the MTF Chart which shows you how to read it.
TSderek87
Sep 17 2007, 09:23 AM
Have been away for almost 2 weeks.. WHY?! coz i had my exams!! >< wow.. 2 weeks of tireness... >< cant even have the energy to hold my camera now!! lol... GOOD NEWS is, today's my last paper... after 4pm, i'll be as free as a bird! I'll be taking photos at a studio tomolo... will post them once i got them! stay tune!! !!!! =D XD XD XD
This post has been edited by derek87: Sep 20 2007, 04:14 AM
TSderek87
Sep 20 2007, 04:14 AM
Ahh... Here are some photos... Theme is Product shooting.. My first attempt. Product was not my choice, just assigned to shoot... here it is.. #1  #2  #3  C&C pls.. thank you.. This post has been edited by derek87: Sep 20 2007, 07:47 AM
Mavik
Sep 20 2007, 10:32 AM
Patience is a virtue
The products are a little blur and usually when product shoots, the product you are shooting needs to be crystal clear.
soulfly
Sep 20 2007, 11:02 AM
revving towards 10,000 rpm
#1 - focus not sharp enough, probably DOF too shallow
Mavik
Sep 20 2007, 11:10 AM
Patience is a virtue
What was the aperture setting for this shot? I usually use around f13 when shooting products.
TSderek87
Sep 20 2007, 04:28 PM
As for the first pic. i purposely wanted the others to be blur.. and only focus the heart...
The other two... what was in my mind was. focus on the bottle and give the ribbons front and back a little of bokeh... I din know product shooting have to be a whole pic clear shoot. Hmm.. perhaps i should change my style... =)
All are using F/8.
soulfly
Sep 20 2007, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(derek87 @ Sep 20 2007, 04:28 PM) As for the first pic. i purposely wanted the others to be blur.. and only focus the heart... but i feel that the heart is not sharp enough
TSderek87
Sep 21 2007, 05:32 AM
QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 20 2007, 07:09 PM) but i feel that the heart is not sharp enough  back one or front one...  gear was 50mm +4 close up
kelvinyam
Sep 21 2007, 07:46 AM
QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 20 2007, 07:09 PM) but i feel that the heart is not sharp enough  It's indeed not sharp, at least on my monitor. I think this is due to: 1) The close up filter, and 2) Jpeg resizing. You shall have USM the photo before posting this up. I know you want to play with selective focusing, but if more than 80% of the composition is out of focus, it looks bad. Unless it's a uniform bokeh. This post has been edited by kelvinyam: Sep 21 2007, 07:46 AM
TSderek87
Sep 21 2007, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Sep 21 2007, 07:46 AM) It's indeed not sharp, at least on my monitor. I think this is due to: 1) The close up filter, and 2) Jpeg resizing. You shall have USM the photo before posting this up. I know you want to play with selective focusing, but if more than 80% of the composition is out of focus, it looks bad. Unless it's a uniform bokeh. Thanks for the advice... BTW, what does "USM the photo" mean?
snowmei
Sep 21 2007, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(derek87 @ Sep 21 2007, 11:10 AM) Thanks for the advice... BTW, what does "USM the photo" mean? USM... ultrasonic motor ...  no lah.. the USM = UnSharp Mask...
Mavik
Sep 21 2007, 12:32 PM
Patience is a virtue
Its a photoshop/elements/cameraRAW technique to sharpen the photo  Try Googling it and you will get plenty of results
dagg3r
Sep 21 2007, 12:35 PM
+4 closeup... the DOF is very very shallow... have to be quick when you recompose the pic... if not... you will see that your SHARP focused area "move" I played with closeup filters before... They are wonderful.... but, recomposing pics is pain and need to be FAST and precise.  good try...
TSderek87
Sep 21 2007, 12:43 PM
Ok here it is.. USM done with the photo... i see a little bit difference, what do u guys think?
Mavik
Sep 21 2007, 12:45 PM
Patience is a virtue
Well I can see the heart is sharp but in product photography, you shouldnt just concentrate on one part of the entire object. Since one heart is sharp and the other is blur, the background would then be considered very distracting.
soulfly
Sep 21 2007, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(derek87 @ Sep 21 2007, 05:32 AM) back one or front one...  gear was 50mm +4 close up the front one. also probably due to 'distraction' since there's another heart in the back