Chat Honda City 2017 GEAR BOX FAULTY, How much to fix the gearbox

SUSrtk74
post Jul 15 2020, 06:42 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 15 2020, 06:14 PM)
1. 3 years old car gearbox already kong?????
2. this is what happen when u want to save money by service outside/skip service completely

3. if u want the 5 years warranty, u have to service at honda SC for 5 years...accordingly
QUOTE(Kakwen @ Jul 15 2020, 06:15 PM)
Wow 36k only gearbox spoil?
This.. CVT interval for fluid is every 50k km iirc

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Jul 15 2020, 06:19 PM)
izzit got flush gear oil b4?
Most likely not since always send service centre

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jul 15 2020, 06:28 PM)
sometimes the service advisor tipu one, me also kena, say if use full syn oil can be 6 months/10000km. I needed that because I travel like 4000km a month and I don't have much free time even on weekends to service. When I went to service at authorized service centre nearer to my place, the service advisor say why skipped one service/passed the mileage by a lot, you can have hard time claiming warranty on the engine doh.gif

luckily it is more of bulletproof engine and in other market was to be serviced at 6 months/10000km, no issues at all after 4 years now.

These warranty claim is like claiming from insurance agent, they do their best to avoid giving you the claim.
Its not wrong though, memang 10k the oil last buuuut your service interval based on your engine is 5k

SUSrtk74
post Jul 15 2020, 07:31 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 15 2020, 07:25 PM)
CVT's service interval is every 40k
but every brand's interval is a little different, not sure about honda but definitely not 50k
50k is too long already
this
Proton CVT is 60k
SUSrtk74
post Jul 15 2020, 08:24 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 15 2020, 07:33 PM)
true but u forgot proton CVT got include transmission oil filter
while other japanese brand's CVT do not have a filter...which is why the interval is much lower
Whachu tok kok mang, all car transmission have filter
Toyota
https://shopee.com.my/NCP150(CVT-GEARBOX)-A...8287.1708272598

Nissan
https://shopee.com.my/CVT-FILTER-LANCER-INS...0373.3836443260

Honda have 2
https://shopee.com.my/MTAP-CVT-Transmission...7011.3526107589

https://shopee.com.my/honda-city-2014-gm6-t...8267.2668077840

Mitsu
https://shopee.com.my/Mitsubishi-Lancer-Out...6647.1948707500

All will have one

Honda Malaysia specified fluid change at 40k Km, I would just follow since its much much cheaper than Proton's

https://legacy.honda.com.my/uploads/pdf/mai..._1.5_2014YM.pdf
SUSrtk74
post Jul 15 2020, 08:50 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jul 15 2020, 08:47 PM)
TS, you should have bought honda city hybrid like me.

DCT gearbox oil change is every 160,000km.
My 2 year old city hybrid mileage is at 40,000km now.
No need change gb oil unlike CVT.

Hybrid > all
Honda > all
Later battery kong > all
SUSrtk74
post Jul 15 2020, 08:58 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 15 2020, 08:56 PM)
even scotty say there is no such thing as lifetime fluid
change it as often as possible to maintain it's reliability
that's weird
my CVT is the smaller version of inspira's GB...there are no filter
What car?
SUSrtk74
post Jul 15 2020, 09:06 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 15 2020, 08:58 PM)
mirage/attrage
Here got
https://shopee.com.my/ORIGINAL-MITSUBISHI-M...8252.2387450264
SUSrtk74
post Jul 15 2020, 09:31 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 15 2020, 09:20 PM)
fuh, this thing is what interval need to change?
i've never change this before, nor SC ever charge me for it before
in fact, i've never saw any member change this before

the GB is basically a smaller version of inspira's GB, using the same oil
Inspira oso got filter bro
https://shopee.com.my/Proton-Inspira-Lancer...4645.1640096324
SUSrtk74
post Jul 15 2020, 10:37 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 15 2020, 10:04 PM)
i know but this one seriously doesn't have
even mitsubishi themselves never listed transmission oil filter on the maintenance schedule
and that is mitsubishi global that is MY/US/AU

i think those are fake or for other purposes

even the mirage international forum also pointed out there are no transmission oil filter
if u ask me, i've never seen anyone change the so called transmission filter for this car before
OK, you made me look

Based on wiki, INVECS-III CVT is essentially CVT made by JATCO, no?
More spefically the Jatco JF015E
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Jatco_transmissions

And look at service manuals, there are filters
item 010

https://at-manuals.com/manuals/jf015e-re0f11a-cvt7/

https://www.transmissiondigest.com/the-new-...-cvt-not-a-cvt/

Is it important?
Generally even normal autos people just drain and fill the transmission fluid, they don't even replace the filter
Look at the Bezza for example

https://shopee.com.my/AUTO-TRANSMISSION-FIL...7411.6818165839

Its up to you to replace it.

I rest my case

SUSrtk74
post Jul 15 2020, 11:09 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jul 15 2020, 11:06 PM)
Actually you say GB CVT problem means what?

Jerking? Not move? Loud Grinding sound?

My HRV also GB not so smooth as before, when parking can feel the jerk.
jeng3
those are indication that something will go wrong soon
just go to sc and complain, maybe get recalibration?
SUSrtk74
post Jul 15 2020, 11:24 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 15 2020, 11:13 PM)
dares

His replies are kinda... Very unker like and very unwilling to update or get corrected lol.
me kah? sad.gif
SUSrtk74
post Jul 15 2020, 11:44 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(bananabread @ Jul 15 2020, 11:25 PM)
Nissan serena dono what gearbox recommended 80k for cvt by manufacturer. I change it every 20k interval. Dont care, better safe than sorry.

When the cvt oil contains sands inside, it will start to fail.

Change it more frequently than recommended.
Overkill dah tu bro
But Nissan = Jatco worse than Punch iirc

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 15 2020, 11:39 PM)
Alien la
kasi chan la macha
SUSrtk74
post Jul 16 2020, 10:04 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Jul 16 2020, 09:17 AM)
call me old school from manual era, gearbox shud be designed to last the lifetime of the car.
it basically requires minimum maintenance, top up transmission oil when needed.
i've yet to hear from any1 that i know having gearbox problem with their mazda gearbox, granted gearbox issue is pretty rare in any car as well.

highlighted the important part.
that's y old school standard AT way more reliable than newer fancy CVT & require much less care.
Lol now car "lifetime" is set to 5 years
SUSrtk74
post Jul 16 2020, 07:10 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(steron13 @ Jul 16 2020, 07:01 PM)
i know i violate the service term, i am just asking if anyone can advise how much to fix! hello, you guys are the one who think a lot.

Ya, i no money to pay RM20k to fix the gearbox for a 3 years car of 36k mileage, so what! who will? will you?

As of what issue, you think honda will open up the gearbox and tell which part got problem? Nay, they will change you a NEW one. Good for those who follow the terms of service, you are under covered! good luck to you if your car spoil when reach the 5 years warranty term and your car break down the next day and honda tells you, you are OUT OF WARRANTY. Lets see will you be more emotional than i am.

For you to claim i have no money, yes, i should ride bus 11!

Conclusion is, I DONT EXPECT A 3 YEARS HONDA GEARBOX get FAULTY!
Someone in the thread provided a place, go and give them a call
Next time ask in serious /k for proper answers

SUSrtk74
post Jul 16 2020, 08:42 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jul 16 2020, 08:35 PM)
Wrong!

My sunset orange has been in the work shop for two weeks now!
console.gif
SUSrtk74
post Jul 17 2020, 10:23 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jul 17 2020, 10:06 AM)
All cars have problems... people laughing at Conti cars drive all sorts of cars, including honda and perodua.. both of which are having problems of their own.

I enjoy my 330i, now enjoy the loaned X3. Service matters bro
I thought the problems were the brakes, and that's the reason you replace em?
SUSrtk74
post Jul 17 2020, 03:56 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(steron13 @ Jul 17 2020, 03:51 PM)
I think you lost focus. My concern is 3 years car faultiness happen on gearbox , isnt it not normal? You like to call people stupid, hope your car doesnt breakdown the next day warranty is over.
Dont zoom in my picture, since someone has so much trust with service center. You might not need this supporting
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2020/07/17/7m2RAZ.md.png' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2020/07/17/7m2RAZ.md.png </a>
Just go do it outside, assume no more warranty after that though

0.0300sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:13 PM