Using TP-Link Archer C5v router as a WiFi Extender, Wireless bridge successful using WDS

delaciox
post Jul 9 2020, 04:55 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(dijon @ Jul 9 2020, 04:02 PM)
Hi all IT sifus,

Currently I am using a primary Dual Band router (model: AMINIA MA131) provided under Maxis ONEPrime package.

I have an extra TP-Link Archer C5v router ( https://service-provider.tp-link.com/wifi-router/archer-c5v/ ) which I plan to use as an "Wifi Extender / Repeater" to complement my primary router which may need tweaking of some settings; including disabling DHCP & turning router into a wireless bridge etc. 

I managed to access TP-Link router setting under administrator mode (via 192.168.1.254) but unable to change it's Default Gateway setting.

1. Anyone have other solutions or better recommendations?
   2. If unable to change Default Gateway, can TP-Link Archer C5v router use custom firmware from https://www.dd-wrt.com?
Configure WiFi Router as a Repeater - Wirelessly by Torogi Pro:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yvUuV72YITM
Thanks in advance!
this router chipset is not supported by WRT, i have checked before. and can use as AP

wan setting disable VLAN , and change to bridge mode
dhcp server disable

it you login as administrator , you can change default gateway at DHCP server -> Lan settings -> IP address is the default gateway

This post has been edited by delaciox: Jul 9 2020, 05:02 PM
delaciox
post Jul 10 2020, 12:14 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(dijon @ Jul 9 2020, 11:19 PM)
Firstly, thanks for your recommendations but there is no option to disable VLAN or change to Bridge mode.
It looks like the  router settings are hard-coded for Maxis only (refer photo below)

For the Gateway, after I disable DHCP server + change IP address to my custom Gateway IP,  unable to access router after reboot.
Then I need to Reset router back to factory default settings.

If you have the same router model, can please share some screenshots of your settings?
this is my setting

click edit at eInternet

and use choose that click that unchecked box right and choose inspect
when see that "disable' word just double click and delete, than u will can edit ready
got many more thing can edit

For the Gateway, after I disable DHCP server + change IP address to my custom Gateway IP, unable to access router after reboot.
Then I need to Reset router back to factory default settings.

Gateway after you change and disable dhcp server, you need to manual input ip address to access back the router. like your router gateway ip 10.1.1.11, and your pc ip must 10.1.1.12

This post has been edited by delaciox: Jul 10 2020, 12:24 AM
delaciox
post Jul 13 2020, 05:39 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(klchoy @ Jul 12 2020, 10:55 PM)
face the same issue as you. did you manage to sort this out?
follow step

delaciox
post Jun 16 2021, 10:29 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(dwj @ Jun 8 2021, 12:32 AM)
can this router work ask wifi repeater? the discussion above is quite complicated and im not the IT tech guy..ive tried to dig into the router config and i could find the setting for the wifi repeater.. rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
this router no repeater mode,
but can use as AP mode, must connect cable.
delaciox
post Jul 9 2021, 01:39 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(DARKSIDE @ Jul 2 2021, 01:11 AM)
Which means that it's impossible to use this router as wireless bridge?
But I saw TS has mentioned previously that he was able to make it work and his router was placed at a different floor with the main one.
cannot wireless bridge, inside settings din't this function, only can LAN cable set AP

0.0216sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:17 PM