Chat Apple users come in., Apple Pay

TSkhainiz94
post Jul 6 2020, 11:08 PM, updated 6y ago

2,856 posts

It seems Apple Pay may be coming soon to Malaysia.
First, many reported in a FB group that there is a new option in iPadOS 13.5.1 that shows Wallet & Apple Pay in Settings.
But cannot add card so far.
And there is also one person who currently uses an iPhone with iOS 13.6 Beta 3 got that new option in Settings.

By the way, all of this is currently on Malaysia region, not other region.
As shown below:
My iPad

That person's iPhone:

And Maybank is also teasing that something existing but a new tech is coming soon.
So is Apple Pay is really coming this time?

I really hope that Apple Pay is finally coming after so many years of waiting.
aazzam14
post Jul 7 2020, 02:26 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jul 6 2020, 11:08 PM)

I really hope that Apple Pay is finally coming after so many years of waiting.
Hope so, I've been using Apple pay in Malaysia for the past month and its a hit or miss (Overseas card)

1. Most merchants in KL have their terminal placed towards the customer, so its easy to use Apple Pay. But a lot of merchants in Kl and outside KL still put their terminal beside them behind the counter, hence its inconvenient to use apple pay.

2. Some POS system that merchant use are OLD af. I once bought Tealive at an RnR in Perak I think, same problem as above, the cashier had to bring the terminal to me and after I payed using Apple Pay. The next problem was they want to see the card to manually enter the card's info into the POS system. The payment went through already but still old fashion.

If Maybank do bring Apple Pay, then a lot of things need to change at the merchants level. No more terminal behind counter, no more taking customer's card (Even for paywave, such a weird way to pay, I dont like cashiers taking my card inside, my privacy, my card number etc)
amxpayne67
post Jul 7 2020, 02:28 PM

The Coon
718 posts

Unker didnt see apple pay in the setting...
yhtan
post Jul 7 2020, 02:29 PM

8,650 posts

Saw that setting when i key in OTP for some transaction, never ever seen that since i got my iphone
shotgun
post Jul 7 2020, 02:33 PM

35 posts

I see ifag, I laugh ifag

This post has been edited by shotgun: Jul 7 2020, 02:33 PM
asphiroth
post Jul 7 2020, 02:33 PM

200 posts

kesian

aku dah lama dah pakai samsungpay since 2017

my iphone utk bayar tng ewallet je
elm0001
post Jul 7 2020, 02:36 PM

I'm Tyrion Lannister's whore
998 posts

retailers will say yes to this meh? they have to pay certain fee for the system also right?
nakjadiDE
post Jul 7 2020, 02:38 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(elm0001 @ Jul 7 2020, 02:36 PM)
retailers will say yes to this meh? they have to pay certain fee for the system also right?
if they have paywave, they are good to go. no need to upgrade etc. basically apple pay is using paywave. in order to use it now here in malaysia, is to have overseas card to activate and use.
FLYING PANTIES
post Jul 7 2020, 02:39 PM

⁽⁽ଘ( ˊᵕˋ )ଓ⁾⁾
965 posts

cuck reality of apple users
Strike
post Jul 7 2020, 02:46 PM

51 posts

whats the use if next apple iphone might be a dissapointment

if ok might consider la laugh.gif
TSkhainiz94
post Jul 8 2020, 01:08 PM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(aazzam14 @ Jul 7 2020, 02:26 PM)
Hope so, I've been using Apple pay in Malaysia for the past month and its a hit or miss (Overseas card)

1. Most merchants in KL have their terminal placed towards the customer, so its easy to use Apple Pay. But a lot of merchants in Kl and outside KL still put their terminal beside them behind the counter, hence its inconvenient to use apple pay.

2. Some POS system that merchant use are OLD af. I once bought Tealive at an RnR in Perak I think, same problem as above, the cashier had to bring the terminal to me and after I payed using Apple Pay. The next problem was they want to see the card to manually enter the card's info into the POS system. The payment went through already but still old fashion.

If Maybank do bring Apple Pay, then a lot of things need to change at the merchants level. No more terminal behind counter, no more taking customer's card (Even for paywave, such a weird way to pay, I dont like cashiers taking my card inside, my privacy, my card number etc)
I have been using Samsung Pay for many years and it is really convenient.
But as you said the issue is with the merchant.
Luckily many top retailers like McD, KFC, Tesco already integrate it directly into the machine.
So far so good.

But I really hope Apple Pay is coming soon.
The option for Wallet & Apple Pay is still available on my iPad and did not go missing.
TSkhainiz94
post Jul 8 2020, 01:09 PM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ Jul 7 2020, 02:28 PM)
Unker didnt see apple pay in the setting...
QUOTE(yhtan @ Jul 7 2020, 02:29 PM)
Saw that setting when i key in OTP for some transaction, never ever seen that since i got my iphone
You saw it on iPad or iPhone?
fabianz03
post Jul 8 2020, 01:13 PM

4,649 posts

I’ve used Apple Pay in Malaysia before using overseas card. So long as the merchant has NFC terminal it works 100% as expected. If it’s true that Apple Pay is coming to Malaysia then great, I welcome it.
Mr. Najib Razak
post Jul 8 2020, 01:15 PM

321 posts

So we'll have apple pay Samsung pay xiaomi pay oppo pay vivo pay oneplus pay?
yhtan
post Jul 8 2020, 02:09 PM

8,650 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jul 8 2020, 01:09 PM)
You saw it on iPad or iPhone?
iPhone

I key in one OTP for transaction and bigpay and it appear some message relating to apple pay. If this come true i don't have to bring so much credit cards
TSkhainiz94
post Jul 8 2020, 02:12 PM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Jul 8 2020, 02:09 PM)
iPhone

I key in one OTP for transaction and bigpay and it appear some message relating to apple pay. If this come true i don't have to bring so much credit cards
So maybe it is really coming soon.
I can say that HSBC, StanChart and Citi sure will be on board because they are available in Apple Pay SG.
And high possibility Maybank because Maybank hold the license for AMEX, so Apple have to partner with Maybank regarding this.
TSkhainiz94
post Jul 8 2020, 02:13 PM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Jul 8 2020, 01:13 PM)
I’ve used Apple Pay in Malaysia before using overseas card. So long as the merchant has NFC terminal it works 100% as expected. If it’s true that Apple Pay is coming to Malaysia then great, I welcome it.
It works just like Samsung Pay.
So it should be no problem.
Plus most terminals I use in Malaysia already upgrade to PayWave.
No big issue there.
PJng
post Jul 8 2020, 02:16 PM

12,039 posts

Like samsung pay
Already preintalled on phone after software update on 2016
But cannot use
Then beta test begin after a month
fabianz03
post Jul 8 2020, 02:16 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jul 8 2020, 02:12 PM)
I can say that HSBC, StanChart and Citi sure will be on board because they are available in Apple Pay SG.
And high possibility Maybank because Maybank hold the license for AMEX, so Apple have to partner with Maybank regarding this.
If it’s maybank then it’s awesome
yhtan
post Jul 8 2020, 02:20 PM

8,650 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jul 8 2020, 02:12 PM)
Just wanna ask, normally apple pay partner with Visa/Master/Amex?

What is the limit of using NFC?

0.0195sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:24 PM