Scholarships in Malaysia (personal experience), Education bonds are not scholarships.

TSsmolfry P
post Jun 30 2020, 10:25 AM, updated 6y ago

Probation

Inb4 the comments coming after me for being an idiot for not understanding legal contracts before signing it, I'm not faulting the education bond provider, this post is purely to tell my story so someone who may be in my position has some sort of guidance.

I come from a pretty average family. I'm the first generation from my family that attended university. I have a younger sibling that isn't as academically blessed as myself (not that I'm great either) so when one of my parent became jobless, it fell on me to try and get a scholarship of some sort to lighten the burden since we were planning to send my sibling to university too.

I received two offers. Both weren't fantastic but Malaysia doesn't have anything against unfair contract. I took the one that would bond me for four years. In return, they'll pay for my education and some living expense.

Fast forward to today. I've decided to resign and joined a new company. If I terminate my contract at anytime during my bond period, I have to pay in full with a 4% penalty. I tried appealing, but to no avail.

Why did I resign? A multitude of reasons. My peers were out there getting bread in good paying jobs at companies with good benefits. I know giving a speech at a graduation ceremony doesn't amount to much in five years time, but it was really sad to see where I stood in comparison to my peers. I also didnt do enough research into the company I was attached to because they have had a salary policy that hadn't change for FIVE years. Culture wasn't great either. I was unfortunate to be placed in a department that was really new and not really appreciated (I would go as far as say disliked by some).

If you, young student, stand in this position I once was in, think carefully. You should ask the company all the questions in the world:
1. What position and department would I come in as?
2. Do you have a structured talent development program?
3. What's the culture like?
4. Turnover rate?
5. Entry level salary?
6. Employee benefits?
7. Dress code? Parking?

Ask everything you can think of. Ask like you're interviewing for a job at the company, not the education bond. Because one day you'll be working there.

I wish I wasn't so naive and had someone tell me all these things.

Also, scholarships don't require you to pay back or return them anything. The bond I was on was branded as a scholarship. Couldn't be further from the definition of the word.

Yes, OP is the stupid one. But I don't want anyone to make the same mistake I did. Take my experience as a lesson and make better mistakes than I did.
SUSrtk74
post Jun 30 2020, 10:31 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

Lemme guess, Petronas lah tu
or another GLC

If you're on old contract, still lucky man, my classmate kena bond with them 7 years iinm

I'm on the opposite spectrum, no bond while no job
UsopSontorian
post Jun 30 2020, 10:50 AM

195 posts

at least you secured a job for the bond, anyway glc company name ? now what company
Legozz
post Jun 30 2020, 10:54 AM

209 posts

If it is overseas scholarship, then they would have invested upwards of RM1 million for you to study.

If they bonded you for 4 years, that would be equivalent of RM20000 per month that they are basically giving you.

Remember, scholarships are not just some CSR program. Companies are businesses and they need to earn their ROI. Of course, there are some elements of CSR, which is why they will never fully recover the ROI. You think they can earn back the RM1 million from you within 4 years?

Consider yourself lucky you have a job and a degree. Without them, you would just be an SPM-level employee. And very good non-bonded scholarships do exist (Kijang Emas, Biasiswa Nasional etc). They are the true 'scholarships' which are the reward for being top students, hence come with no bond because they are merely rewards.
Genderbender
post Jun 30 2020, 11:00 AM

72 posts

accepting the scholarships = being slave..

They will treat you like foreign worker.. true story..

just need to endure the period..

It happen in big company.. they will squeeze you as much they can.. give low increment & etc.. as they know you dont have the ability to payoff the penalty.

there is always pro and cons..

but again.. base on my experience.. atleast scholarship already guaranted..

1) you doesnt need to worry about financial
2) you doesnt need to worry about employment, which mean guaranteed employment for 4-5 years..

but again, it the process to endure the 4-5 years.. which i think is worthy.. i do not think in 4 year you can save up to 100k (let say the course is 100k).. and after the endurance period of 4 years, your CV is good to go for others to hire due to loyalty staying in the same company.
lamevivi
post Jun 30 2020, 11:16 AM

42 posts

Bro, you ask yourself. Your peers pay for the course, of course they have the flexibility to work anywhere else with a better pay. Think about it, where got free lunch in this world. The company grooms you and yet you think you deserve better? If yes, pay back without complaining. Then you get your flexibility.

Truth to be told, I'm a scholar myself and fortunately I got the technical development that I needed. Since you really need an advice, I will give you an honest reply. If you don't see yourself in that industry, then pay it back bro. Money can always earn back, not time. However, yours is only 4 years. I believe you can do maths and calculate the weightage. If the pay is like Singapore/US/overseas type, then go ahead and soar even higher.

If not, just endure the 4 years bro. It's life bro. Not sims. You started out poor, you will have a slow start compared to others. Comparing till the end of life will only bring you misery.
UsopSontorian
post Jun 30 2020, 11:16 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(Genderbender @ Jun 30 2020, 11:00 AM)
accepting the scholarships = being slave..

They will treat you like foreign worker.. true story..

just need to endure the period..

It happen in big company.. they will squeeze you as much they can.. give low increment & etc.. as they know you dont have the ability to payoff the penalty.

there is always pro and cons..
but again.. base on my experience.. atleast scholarship already guaranted..

1) you doesnt need to worry about financial
2) you doesnt need to worry about employment, which mean guaranteed employment for 4-5 years..

but again, it the process to endure the 4-5 years.. which i think is worthy.. i do not think in 4 year you can save up to 100k (let say the course is 100k).. and after the endurance period of 4 years, your CV is good to go for others to hire due to loyalty staying in the same company.
correct sir
Legozz
post Jun 30 2020, 11:20 AM

209 posts

I agree, if you decide not to remain with the scholarship bond then you can just pay everything back. Then you will be the same as other people who didn't get the scholarship, pay for everything themselves and can choose to work wherever they want.

At least having the scholarship gives you the option. Those without scholarship have no option.
doublecool
post Jun 30 2020, 11:33 AM

67 posts

you need to calculate how much they pay for you, and divide by 4 years.. thats like your bonus for 4 years and i pretty much sure your peers wont be making that much lol
TryingToSurvive
post Jun 30 2020, 12:47 PM

330 posts

Then you should have asked your parents for that 150k worth of expenses and tuition fees.

Even JPA and mara have bonding periods after completion of scholarship. So I'm not too sure what you are complaining about honestly.

Perhaps if you excelled better during your studies you would have opened yourself to more opportunities rather than the one you were given.

Comparingly have you asked your friends how much debt do they have from Ptptn? Perhaps after finding that out and realising your friends are 100k in debt while you just have to tolerate a less than amazing job, you might feel better about your situation
kluseng
post Jun 30 2020, 01:03 PM

473 posts

Believe me, if your parents can't afford your tertiary education and you are not a top scorer you will grab at any scholarship that comes your way instead of interviewing the company offering the scholarship left, right and centre for suitability for your future employment.

Yes, the pay for a bonded ex-scholarship holder isn't great but no surprises here. Yes, there are better companies outside but they did not pay for your tuition fees and expenses. You only have 4 years to serve so stop complaining and start working.

Ginny88
post Jun 30 2020, 01:10 PM

1,032 posts

You mean if you weren't so naive you would have rejected the scholarship and started working after your STPM?

You are able to envy how your peers are doing now only because of your tertiary education. Otherwise your peers will be low level pen pushers earning RM2000 a month with little prospects of advancement.

TSsmolfry P
post Jun 30 2020, 01:23 PM

Probation

QUOTE(smolfry @ Jun 30 2020, 10:25 AM)
Inb4 the comments coming after me for being an idiot for not understanding legal contracts before signing it, I'm not faulting the education bond provider, this post is purely to tell my story so someone who may be in my position has some sort of guidance.

I come from a pretty average family. I'm the first generation from my family that attended university. I have a younger sibling that isn't as academically blessed as myself (not that I'm great either) so when one of my parent became jobless, it fell on me to try and get a scholarship of some sort to lighten the burden since we were planning to send my sibling to university too.

I received two offers. Both weren't fantastic but Malaysia doesn't have anything against unfair contract. I took the one that would bond me for four years. In return, they'll pay for my education and some living expense.

Fast forward to today. I've decided to resign and joined a new company. If I terminate my contract at anytime during my bond period, I have to pay in full with a 4% penalty. I tried appealing, but to no avail.

Why did I resign? A multitude of reasons. My peers were out there getting bread in good paying jobs at companies with good benefits. I know giving a speech at a graduation ceremony doesn't amount to much in five years time, but it was really sad to see where I stood in comparison to my peers. I also didnt do enough research into the company I was attached to because they have had a salary policy that hadn't change for FIVE years. Culture wasn't great either. I was unfortunate to be placed in a department that was really new and not really appreciated (I would go as far as say disliked by some).

If you, young student, stand in this position I once was in, think carefully. You should ask the company all the questions in the world:
1. What position and department would I come in as?
2. Do you have a structured talent development program?
3. What's the culture like?
4. Turnover rate?
5. Entry level salary?
6. Employee benefits?
7. Dress code? Parking?

Ask everything you can think of. Ask like you're interviewing for a job at the company, not the education bond. Because one day you'll be working there.

I wish I wasn't so naive and had someone tell me all these things.

Also, scholarships don't require you to pay back or return them anything. The bond I was on was branded as a scholarship. Couldn't be further from the definition of the word.

Yes, OP is the stupid one. But I don't want anyone to make the same mistake I did. Take my experience as a lesson and make better mistakes than I did.
OP doesn't know how to edit, but would like to also say thank you all for sharing your thoughts on this matter so that those in my position can see things from different perspectives. I know 2 other people who are struggling, but I've shared what you guys have said and we see what you guys are saying.

Actually, we have started working with our designated companies (it's none of the companies mentioned, and I think the edu bond is a bit niche that if I mention the industry it might give it away).

For young students in my position, I have to make it clear that all the replies are valid:

1. I worked for 1.5 years before making this decision. In fact, the department I was assigned to WAS a really fun department and had so much potential if under the right leadership. Unfortunately, before my probation ended, my senior manager was asked to leave and the cracks began showing. They didn't make plans to fill the void so we were thrown somewhere else.

2. The reason I mentioned to ask about culture was because a flat structure doesn't necessarily mean good. Flat can mean more contact with management, but that could also mean micromanaging. Decision making was slow because although it was flat, only one person called the shots. With so many departments vying for one person's time... It was just a waiting game at office every day.

3. Yup, all replies about wages and job security are totally valid. When my sr. mger left, we were "adopted" and my bosses didn't get along, resulting in me playing postman (messenger). I really disliked it because they just sat 20 steps away from each other. Yes, it doesn't warrant a better communication channel in a new company but I waited for 1 year for change.

4. Don't be afraid to tell your bosses what you're struggling with. Tell them and show them. But if you get a senior manager who tells you to solve a interpersonal problem between his own managers... Yeah...

5. I have the luxury of leaving, you might not. Endurance, like the replies above have mentioned, is a highly admirable trait.

Think about everything you read here. There's no right way.

But I really appreciate and thank everyone for being patient with your replies.

Signing off.

notworthy.gif
precept66
post Jun 30 2020, 01:37 PM

1,054 posts

You have to pay back if you terminate the employment prematurely. Or else why do they offer scholarship in the first place ?
Serve out your contract before you go for the next job.
KennyKB
post Jun 30 2020, 02:59 PM

1,765 posts

Office politics ever present in a large company. If you want to run away every time you face some undesirable office politics you may have to keep changing jobs. Best wishes for your next company but it may not be perfect. Welcome to the real world.
Jay Chua CC
post Jun 30 2020, 05:29 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

It depends on situation really. I have two brothers. Both of them got scholarships with bond from TM and TnB.

The tnb scholar enjoying himself right now, good pay, good benefits and very flexible.

As opposed to the TM scholar, he was offered by Intel and Huawei with tons of gooding benefits right before he graduated. But too bad he was bonded with Telekom.

So, yeah. Pro and cons to its own. In fact, especially in this time of uncertainties with Covid and all, bonded is actually not bad. Landing a good job now is hard.

This post has been edited by Jay Chua CC: Jun 30 2020, 05:31 PM
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Jun 30 2020, 05:36 PM

165 posts

Plenty of those around me paid the penalty and stayed overseas

Some don't even bother with the bond at all, obtained PR and stayed overseas

Its just a contract after all, sign it for the scholarship if you're desperate, then bail yourself out if you find that you don't like the company / position. Or in some cases where you don't plan to return to Malaysia, you've basically scored yourself a free degree
MGM
post Jun 30 2020, 05:48 PM

18,455 posts

QUOTE(Subang Nuclear Reactor @ Jun 30 2020, 05:36 PM)

Its just a contract after all, sign it for the scholarship if you're desperate, then bail yourself out if you find that you don't like the company / position. Or in some cases where you don't plan to return to Malaysia, you've basically scored yourself a free degree
What if someday u have to return to Malaysia, can u be criminally charged?
superng888
post Jun 30 2020, 06:09 PM

59 posts

Pay lump sum or by instalment? Education overseas or local?
superng888
post Jun 30 2020, 06:11 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Subang Nuclear Reactor @ Jun 30 2020, 06:36 PM)

those kind of contracts usually require guarantors. If you don't pay, they'll then look for the guarantors, who are typically parents or close relatives.

0.0203sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:21 AM