Question on tyre rotation

BelaCHAN
post Jun 17 2020, 10:44 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Jun 17 2020, 10:38 AM)
So i just did my 10k km service..a normal front wheel drive sedan car, and I wish to do tyre rotation, internet says I should do forward cross right?

Also what is the right way to do it? Do i just take off the rim and replace the position(that will change the direction right?) , or i actually have to take off the tyre individually and change it without changing the rim location? The tyres are non directional tyres.

Do i need to rebalance the wheel?
You replied your question:

So i just did my 10k km service..a normal front wheel drive sedan car, and I wish to do tyre rotation, internet says I should do forward cross right?

Also what is the right way to do it? Do i just take off the rim and replace the position(that will change the direction right?) , or i actually have to take off the tyre individually and change it without changing the rim location? The tyres are non directional tyres.

Do i need to rebalance the wheel?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Changing wheel from 1 side to another AND the reversing of the rotation is the point of doing tyre rotation.

If you have budget, then why not re-balance it to REDUCE ROTATIONAL VIBRATION at high speeds?
BelaCHAN
post Jun 17 2020, 12:26 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Jun 17 2020, 11:21 AM)
I still dont quite understand, so basically just take off the rim and change position with out taking off the tyre?
Yup, basically just take off the rim and change position with out taking off the tyre.

Since your tyres are NON-Directional, so rotate fwd or rev does not affect (to a significant degree) tyre performance.

So long as the side marked OUTSIDE must face OUTSIDE then can already.
BelaCHAN
post Jun 17 2020, 12:31 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(TrollNoob @ Jun 17 2020, 11:09 AM)
Sorry. Sampuk a bit.

How to know when is the time to do rotation?

Sent my 1 year old car with 50k mileage to SC to rotate, SC said no need.
Your SC lazy, or he see you dont want to pay, and dun wan argue with you.

Basically rotate, balancing and alignment during EVERY OIL CHANGE for max tyre longevity.

Whether you have the budget for it or not,
or is it worth it or not for your particular car vs your driving style, is a different matter =D

This post has been edited by BelaCHAN: Jun 17 2020, 12:32 PM

0.0150sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:11 AM