[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

red streak
post Sep 4 2021, 03:47 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(bansai @ Sep 4 2021, 11:11 AM)
you will have to solder a knob on top which you can do to almost all keybs. You'll have to forgo your warranty for it though. And the empty square hole on the bottom is ugly AF.
I mean yeah but it's still doable. Who are you going to show it off to even if it was round, other nerds online? I bet most people don't know anyone irl who uses an ordinary mech that isn't "gaming" branded let alone customs. laugh.gif
red streak
post Sep 4 2021, 04:28 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(bansai @ Sep 4 2021, 04:22 PM)
might be because i'm OCD, but square peg round holes just don't go well together.

I understand. I know that feel bro. console.gif Also in other news, just saw how backlogged one of the less popular keycap makers, Signature Plastics is right now. SA Vilebloom Ultimate's estimated shipping date is Q1 2023. shocking.gif

http://www.mechsupply.co.uk/product/sa-vilebloom
red streak
post Sep 5 2021, 05:44 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

Had some free time today so I decided to swap out my Akko Matcha Greens & gang for the Feker Pandas that arrived last week.

Decided to do every switch this time instead of mixing and matching. So far I'm in love with these. The solid thocky sound and the feedback from typing are just amazing. It feels just right after trying out linears where I had a tendency to make more mistakes due to the smoothness. I was worried 67g was going to be too heavy after reading the reviews on similarly heavy switches but they're perfect for me. Actually thought I was linear gang for sure but these made me wonder if I'm secretly gay tactile-gang after all unsure.gif I don't have Holy Pandas or Glorious Pandas (yet) so I can't compare them. But these are amazingly good. I was satisfied with the Akko Matcha Greens and was considering going down to my endgame Tangerines for the full linear experience. Now that I know that 67g is fine I might try out T1s next.
red streak
post Sep 5 2021, 06:24 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

Did a type test. About 20% faster than with the Matcha Greens with fewer errors.

red streak
post Sep 5 2021, 07:29 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

Heard the new Momoka Flamingos are really good. Smoother than the Frogs. hmm.gif Certainly sounds amazing at least.

https://www.reddit.com/r/MechanicalKeyboard...aturing_momoka/

red streak
post Sep 6 2021, 09:10 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Sep 6 2021, 09:01 AM)
how does the 50g switches (Matcha Green) weight feels after going trying out 67g, vice versa?
I'm having ergo clears (clear stem, gateron housing, 62g gold plated springs from KBDFans), I was fine with 62g but sometimes it felt a tad too light where I get accidental press while resting on fingers on some keys (not that I have super fat fingers). I swapped them out for 67g and they feel like a rock to type on. I swapped back to 67g rightafter and now it feels like cotton to me.
Anyway, I order 70g Aliaz and 67g Zealios (some said the 62g is comparable to browns) to build 2 new boards. Kinda wonder if I need to swap them out for slightly lighter springs, maybe 65g.
The Matcha Greens were nice but they might have been too light for me. I had a tendency to type ahead with it when I wasn't even done pressing the first letters in sequence lol. I type a fuckton every day (my telegram groups read my blog every day whenever I get home from work rclxs0.gif ) and I haven't felt any fatigue from these Feker Pandas yet but I do wonder if 62g might be a sweeter spot hmm.gif . If anything I'm wondering why I ever went with lighter switches laugh.gif The typing experience has been upgraded to the next level for me drool.gif

QUOTE(AdvNetwork @ Sep 6 2021, 04:55 PM)
any suggestion wireless keyboard for range Rm200 - RM450?

for casual game and office usage -Mac/ipad/windows.

Currently looking at Keychron K3 V2. ROYAL KLUDGE RK84
https://shopee.com.my/Akko-9009-3098B-Wired...3643?position=0

1800 layout with that sweeet numpad. Bluetooth/Wired, RGB, Hot-swappable, sexy ass keycaps for under RM400.

There's also this sexy ass beast if you're interested in something smaller without giving up the above features:

https://shopee.com.my/Akko-Year-of-Ox-3068-...9702?position=0

Limited edition. Only 6 left on Shopee and I believe their main store is already sold out on it.
red streak
post Sep 7 2021, 01:11 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(AdvNetwork @ Sep 7 2021, 11:08 AM)
wahh.. akko...  but too bad blue switch...   nod.gif  thanks for the input.
too bad, thats what i heard too about keychron...  shakehead.gif

ahhhhhhhhh.......
They're tactile not clicky. Also their original switch makes no difference since you can swap them out. That's what hot-swappable means.

This post has been edited by red streak: Sep 7 2021, 01:12 PM
red streak
post Sep 7 2021, 02:16 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(AdvNetwork @ Sep 7 2021, 02:11 PM)
alright.. then might thinking purchase additional switch to replace that switch
I dunno what your prior experience is with switches but think of them as Cherry/Gateron Browns but way better. Those are the Akko Ocean Blue switches. But once you go down into the switch rabbit hole...better prepare your wallet whistling.gif
red streak
post Sep 7 2021, 02:22 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(KcX35 @ Sep 7 2021, 01:38 PM)
I'm more interested in the MDA Plastic keycaps. Mojo is moderately priced if you discount the cost of the keycaps themselves (should be $60++ since it partially includes base and the novelties) but the plastic case just makes me go hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif since you get aluminum cases for that price.
red streak
post Sep 10 2021, 09:55 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(battosai @ Sep 9 2021, 05:28 AM)
shit
this is not a cheap keyboard
also can fade
logitech  sweat.gif
Wut. It's cheap for a "mechanical" keyboard. If it wasn't from a gaming brand it'd be even cheaper. Even any standard Ducky outprices it.
red streak
post Sep 11 2021, 10:42 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Sep 11 2021, 10:27 PM)
Bangsawan setup shocking.gif
red streak
post Sep 16 2021, 01:13 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 14 2021, 12:02 AM)
What have you guys ordered lately ?
Bought some random switches to test out along with my PE Foam pads for the switches. Also bought a random aluminum switch opener even though I don't have anything else related to lubing yet - not even the lube. Wanted to save cost by one shotting everything into one order but ended up going a bit wild. laugh.gif Next purchase is probably the lube. I can use my Akko cases to hold the switches while I lube so I can save a bit there. Trying to figure out if I want Alpacas, Tangerines or Banana Splits as my endgame Linears. Supposedly they're very similar to each other according to people who have them.
red streak
post Sep 16 2021, 02:02 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 16 2021, 01:46 PM)
alpaca and banana split should be similar. these two sound differently compared to tangerines.
They're all JWK linear switches. The difference in pitching is very slight due to the different materials used. Otherwise they're nearly indistinguishable in terms of feel. I'm leaning towards Alpacas right now because Theremingoat rates them above tangies in most of the reviews I've read. I'm not sure if the different sound is worth getting waiting for an almost always out of stock switch if the feel is pretty much identical.

This post has been edited by red streak: Sep 16 2021, 02:03 PM
red streak
post Sep 16 2021, 02:45 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

Good news for Tecware Phantom users. You're not limited to your Outemu switches despite what the official page says icon_idea.gif

red streak
post Sep 18 2021, 10:33 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

Applied PE switch foam to my board a few days back and the sound is definitely dampened quite a bit. Less clacky overall so I'm not sure how I feel about it. I actually kinda liked the original sound which was louder but it's much cleaner now.
red streak
post Sep 18 2021, 11:30 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Sep 18 2021, 10:40 PM)
If you tape mod it, it might get louder and thoccier. Worth a shot for such a cheap and reversible mod.
Yeah was considering buying masking tape earlier but decided to hold off on it because I forgot my scissors at work. Now looking at Watashi tape since I heard it's less sticky in case I want to remove it later on. Not sure how much of a difference that'll have on the acoustics compared to the former. Probably not going to do another sound mod for awhile while I get used to the sound of the latest one.
red streak
post Sep 26 2021, 06:23 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 26 2021, 09:10 AM)
Anyone used the keycap from this shopee seller emilyhong.my? how's the quality?
https://shopee.com.my/PBT-Keycaps-Mechanica...2412.6570611822
For that price don't expect good quality keycaps.
red streak
post Nov 14 2021, 07:16 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(clement7621 @ Nov 14 2021, 02:05 PM)
Hey guys, I am rocking my white RK71 and the keycaps are going dirty.... I wonder where can I buy a set of good quality keycaps on any website or shopee? Can anyone recommend me any website ?
Akko has pretty solid keycaps for sale at an affordable price. I'm rocking the Akko Midnight on one of mine.

https://shopee.com.my/shop/474245202/search...ction=121529935

Or you could buy random china clones for cheaper but those are dubious at best.
red streak
post Nov 14 2021, 09:05 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Nov 14 2021, 08:48 PM)
I was watching their price for 11.11, it actually went UP.
Which products and from what price to what? hmm.gif
red streak
post Nov 14 2021, 09:50 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 14 2021, 09:12 PM)
I wonder - when noobs like me use budget boards (RKG68 for me), then those Akko keycaps look so expensive (more than I paid for the board!). Really considered as budget?
Considering they cost anywhere from a quarter to a third of the standard GMK set, yes, they're really budget. If you can't afford those either then there's nothing wrong with using stock keycaps that came with your board. I couldn't tahan the shitty stock Keychron keycaps which were an eyesore to look at so I bought Akko instead. Well worth even sen. They're only slightly more expensive than shitty China keycaps like the milk and honey set which everyone and their dog seems to be using (including me laugh.gif) or the cheapass clones of GMKs.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0983sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:38 PM