post Jun 4 2020, 03:33 PM

2,278 posts

TLDW; so 4400MHz better?
HafeesFadil
post Jun 4 2020, 03:34 PM

170 posts

IMHO other 70$ for extra few fps not so worth it ler.
Current Events guy
post Jun 4 2020, 03:36 PM

966 posts

Id get the 4400MHZ if it was available

I can only find 3600MHZ
Currylaksa
post Jun 4 2020, 03:36 PM

1,616 posts

I think if the guy manually tightens the DDR4-3200 punyer timing (down to CL14 type), can match the 4400Mhz.
shirohamada
post Jun 4 2020, 03:37 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(HafeesFadil @ Jun 4 2020, 03:34 PM)
IMHO other 70$ for extra few fps not so worth it ler.
When you have $1000 gpu and $700 cpu, it's nothing.
If you're gpu bound you won't see an improvement anyway.
HafeesFadil
post Jun 4 2020, 03:38 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Jun 4 2020, 03:37 PM)
When you have $1000 gpu and $700 cpu, it's nothing.
If you're gpu bound you won't see an improvement anyway.
i rather just OC the RAM to get better performance.

i mean here safe OC.
shirohamada
post Jun 4 2020, 03:39 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Jun 4 2020, 03:36 PM)
I think if the guy manually tightens the DDR4-3200 punyer timing (down to CL14 type), can match the 4400Mhz.
That is lottery.
The 4400 are binned chips.
k!nex
post Jun 4 2020, 03:41 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

The youtuber dunno what he is doing... It is pointless to compare like this.

The test system used was:
System:
Windows 10 Pro
AMD Ryzen 7 3700 4.3GHz
GIGABYTE X570 AORUS PRO
GeForce RTX 2080 Ti 11GB
RAM 16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16
RAM 16GB DDR4 4400MHz CL19

For all Ryzen 3000 (Matisse) , if you go above 3800Mhz on memory, you will get additional 8ns of latency for memory because FLCK and UCLK is unsync . That is assuming you can run infinity fabric clock at 1900Mhz which is what most people hit at the very best.

The 1 and only way to compare is, 3800Mhz on memory using the tightest timing you can do while running Infinity Fabric clock at 1900Mhz. Something like CL15 3800Mhz .

Running 4400Mhz on a Ryzen 3000 is really pointless.

3800Mhz CL14 -> 65ns memory latency
4400Mhz CL19 -> at least 77ns memory latency

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jun 4 2020, 03:46 PM
shirohamada
post Jun 4 2020, 03:47 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(HafeesFadil @ Jun 4 2020, 03:38 PM)
i rather just OC the RAM to get better performance.

i mean here safe OC.
I oc my ram too.
Samseng oem 2666 to 2933 cl17-18-18 1.25v.
Protip: give it headroom. When i put it to 3000mhz, it seems stable and doesn't crash, but when i start a video in mpc hc, the audio always pops an stutter in the beginning.
It went away when i dropped it to 2933.
Analysing benchmark points will help too.

The ram was rm129 per 8gb stick.
The savings was a lot, 3200 rates was around 200 at the time?
armati
post Jun 4 2020, 03:49 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 4 2020, 03:41 PM)

System:
Windows 10 Pro
AMD Ryzen 7 3700 4.3GHz
GIGABYTE X570 AORUS PRO
GeForce RTX 2080 Ti 11GB

For all Ryzen 3000 (Matisse) , if you go above 3800Mhz on memory, you will get additional 8ns of latency for memory because FLCK and UCLK is unsync . That is assuming you can run infinity fabric clock at 1900Mhz which is what most people hit at the very best.

The 1 and only way to compare is, 3800Mhz on memory using the tightest timing you can do while running Infinity Fabric clock at 1900Mhz. Something like CL15 3800Mhz .

so need to run on ryzen 4000 ?
shirohamada
post Jun 4 2020, 03:49 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 4 2020, 03:41 PM)

System:
Windows 10 Pro
AMD Ryzen 7 3700 4.3GHz
GIGABYTE X570 AORUS PRO
GeForce RTX 2080 Ti 11GB

He's just trying to make a video man.
HafeesFadil
post Jun 4 2020, 03:51 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Jun 4 2020, 03:47 PM)
I oc my ram too.
Samseng oem 2666 to 2933 cl17-18-18 1.25v.
Protip: give it headroom. When i put it to 3000mhz, it seems stable and doesn't crash, but when i start a video in mpc hc, the audio always pops an stutter in the beginning.
It went away when i dropped it to 2933.
Analysing benchmark points will help too.

The ram was rm129 per 8gb stick.
The savings was a lot, 3200 rates was around 200 at the time?
Last time I think drop till so cheap. Now sudah naik balik it is? doh.gif
k!nex
post Jun 4 2020, 03:52 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(armati @ Jun 4 2020, 03:49 PM)
so need to run on ryzen 4000 ?
Nolaa... Run the 4400Mhz CL19 at 3800Mhz but lower the timings.

Ryzen 4000 nobody knows what characteristic it has. It is a brand new architecture.
Currylaksa
post Jun 4 2020, 04:02 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Jun 4 2020, 03:39 PM)
That is lottery.
The 4400 are binned chips.
Well kinda.

Some 4000Mhz+ kits don't even run stable at the XMP when not guaranteed by QVL.

On the other hand, some Samsung B-die 3200Mhz kits can be tuned to great timings.

This post has been edited by Currylaksa: Jun 4 2020, 04:05 PM
craxors
post Jun 4 2020, 04:05 PM

2,539 posts

thats is why intel is better.

come fight....
shirohamada
post Jun 4 2020, 04:24 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(craxors @ Jun 4 2020, 04:05 PM)
thats is why intel is better.

come fight....
14nm+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

** + indicates the number of headstones.

0.0168sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:40 PM