Waterproofing Water Leaking Problem v2, Ask me Water leaking, Waterproofing

PaintPals
post Jun 17 2020, 09:28 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(merci @ Jun 16 2020, 09:49 PM)
Hi Daang and sifus,

My masterbedroom bathroom is leaking to the lower floor. already did waterproofing using the solution but only last a few months and now starts to leak again. At the bottom of the stairs, there're water dripping from above.
Already asked quotation from a contractor. He suggested to do the whole bathroom.
What I'm not agree with him is the time taken. His proposal schedule:
1. hacking - 4 days for a 8x5.5' bathroom
2. Water proofing - 4 days( 2 days to cure and 2 days testing)
3. Tiling 4 days.

My question:
Is it really 4 days to do the water proofing?

I need shorter days coz I cannot take longer leave days.

Is it altogether 12 days? That would be too long for a bathroom waterproofing work. But 4 days for the whole work that would be usually the case as hacking and tiling takes time, waterproofing needs time to cure as well. Water ponding test does require days but you do not need to be there to monitor.
PaintPals
post Jun 17 2020, 09:46 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(PaintPals @ Jun 17 2020, 09:28 AM)
Is it altogether 12 days? That would be too long for a bathroom waterproofing work. But 4 days for the whole work that would be usually the case as hacking and tiling takes time, waterproofing needs time to cure as well. Water ponding test does require days but you do not need to be there to monitor.
Do take note that it all depends on toilet size as well, a typical toilet re-waterproofing work that involves hacking would take up at least a week, the time consuming part are hacking and tiling and can get quite messy. I wouldn't recommend those non-hacking waterproofing as it only delays the problem but not solving the root cause of it.
PaintPals
post Jan 21 2021, 01:20 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 19 2021, 03:44 PM)
Dear TS,

I have leaking underneath bathroom slab in my brand new house. The contractor said there is some crack underneath the slab that causes the waterproofing to fail. So he suggested PU injection to solve the problem. I refuse to have PU injection because there is electrical wirings inside the false ceiling and wiring + combustible PU is a fire hazard. He said that even if we redo waterproofing, the problem will persist since the slab is crack.

My question is, is it true that redoing the waterproofing + retiling wouldn't solve the problem? Or he is just trying to trick me to agree with cheaper solution?
Cementitious Waterproofing + retiling should be able to fix the problem. This kind of contractor better avoid, PU injection in this case is a big NO NO.
PaintPals
post Feb 9 2021, 12:47 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(new_territory @ Feb 7 2021, 02:23 AM)
whether some nano material. such as  Surfapore C. can effectively do the waterproof without hacking the tiles?
Has anyone tried company Nano-G water proof method?
Definitely no and is only a temporary solution, it is also only a marketing gimmick. Be it the N brand or other repellent in the market, they are just water repellent and still back to the main question - is the root cause being solved? If no, then you have your answer to your question already.

0.0234sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:13 PM