Should I upgrade my MacOS, On my 2013 MBA?

tcwan
post Jun 3 2020, 12:00 PM

133 posts

If you don't need Catalina specifically, I suggest only upgrading to Mojave. Catalina is very buggy and has lots of issues due to dropping 32-bit app support.

Also, you really need an SSD to have decent performance for recent macOS.
sHawTY
post Jun 3 2020, 12:10 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,628 posts

QUOTE(novblaze @ May 24 2020, 08:42 PM)
Is still at 4GB
Upgrade lor. 4GB is too low nowadays
Even soldered RAM also can upgrade if you know where to look
TSnovblaze
post Jun 3 2020, 12:13 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(tcwan @ Jun 3 2020, 12:00 PM)
If you don't need Catalina specifically, I suggest only upgrading to Mojave. Catalina is very buggy and has lots of issues due to dropping 32-bit app support.

Also, you really need an SSD to have decent performance for recent macOS.
I'm using ssd. Just 128gb due to that time mahal. Haha.

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 3 2020, 12:10 PM)
Upgrade lor. 4GB is too low nowadays
Even soldered RAM also can upgrade if you know where to look
How to upgrade old MBA? I thought cannot upgrade.
sHawTY
post Jun 3 2020, 12:17 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,628 posts

QUOTE(novblaze @ Jun 3 2020, 12:13 PM)
That's why I said "if you know where to look"
The are certain people/shops that offer such services

It involves desoldering the old RAM and soldering the new RAMs

PS: Not gonna be cheap though

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jun 3 2020, 12:19 PM
acbc
post Jun 3 2020, 12:21 PM

8,475 posts

QUOTE(novblaze @ Jun 3 2020, 12:13 PM)
I'm using ssd. Just 128gb due to that time mahal. Haha.
Newer MBP can use cheaper NVME with an adaptor. My 2012 MBP using M.2 SATA with an adaptor. Recently bought some 256GB Intel SSD for RM 100. Will opt for larger capacity if below RM 200.
TSnovblaze
post Jun 3 2020, 12:34 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 3 2020, 12:17 PM)
That's why I said "if you know where to look"
The are certain people/shops that offer such services

It involves desoldering the old RAM and soldering the new RAMs

PS: Not gonna be cheap though

This looks scary. Later cannot turn on balik.
Not cheap is another keyword. Lol

QUOTE(acbc @ Jun 3 2020, 12:21 PM)
Newer MBP can use cheaper NVME with an adaptor. My 2012 MBP using M.2 SATA with an adaptor. Recently bought some 256GB Intel SSD for RM 100. Will opt for larger capacity if below RM 200.
Can upgrade meh. I thought MBA fixed.

I last time really bodo.

Upgraded to i7 but no upgrade ram from 4gb to 8gb.
Bodo max
sHawTY
post Jun 3 2020, 12:39 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,628 posts

QUOTE(novblaze @ Jun 3 2020, 12:34 PM)
Desway have to send to professional lor, kenot do by yourself
The shop is responsible if the laptop kenot turn on balik
acbc
post Jun 3 2020, 12:41 PM

8,475 posts

QUOTE(novblaze @ Jun 3 2020, 12:34 PM)
Not cheap is another keyword. Lol
Can upgrade meh. I thought MBA fixed.
I last time really bodo.

Upgraded to i7 but no upgrade ram from 4gb to 8gb.
Bodo max
Everything also upgradable. It all depends if u wanna spend money or not. SSD is simple and cheap to upgrade for MBA. Only RAM will be expensive. Better max out to 16GB if u going to spend more than RM 400. Alternatively, sell the laptop away and look for another used MBA.
myjunk
post Jun 7 2020, 11:07 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 3 2020, 12:39 PM)
Desway have to send to professional lor, kenot do by yourself
The shop is responsible if the laptop kenot turn on balik
haha.. some shop will upfront tell you - this is the risk. You want or not.
No guarantee. hehe..

TSnovblaze
post Nov 13 2021, 09:35 PM

236 posts

Wtf moved to Mac after one year plus

0.0129sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 10:29 PM