Should I upgrade my MacOS, On my 2013 MBA?
acbc
May 24 2020, 07:53 PM
MBA need min 8GB RAM to run Mojave or higher. 16GB better. Anything less is not recommended.
My 2010 MB white has 8GB and ok for basic tasks like browsing but no-no for watching 720p movies. Will have some dropped frames.
For my 2012 MacBook Pro and Mac Mini, both upgraded to 16GB RAM and 500GB SSD. Damn smooth for everything. I kept the upgrades till Mojave only. Catalina is still buggy.
acbc
May 24 2020, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(novblaze @ May 24 2020, 08:42 PM) Lagi sponsor 50% by Singapore gomen that time. 🤠Using SSD. Should be okay I regretted last time I upgraded my cpu to i7 but never upgrade my ram. Is still at 4GB If 4GB, better stick with El Capitan or max also Sierra. Don’t upgrade further.
acbc
May 25 2020, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(attw @ May 24 2020, 10:57 PM) Upgraded my 4GB/256GB MacBook Air 2014 to the latest macOS. No issues, still running great so far. Try running 10-11 tabs in Chrome, iTunes to sync to iPod and Google Drive to sync work stuff to cloud. With 4GB RAM regardless of what proc or SSD, it is painfully slow.
acbc
May 25 2020, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(attw @ May 25 2020, 02:37 PM) Oh, hahaha. That's probably why I don't experience the lag - at any one time I only have like 4 or 5 tabs in Safari opened. That said, the new MacBook Air with 8/256GB is tempting  With Catalina, better opt for 16GB RAM. Every 2-3 generations, MacOS will need more RAM to run smoothly. Windows with 16GB RAM already smooth enough for the next 5-6 years.
acbc
Jun 3 2020, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(novblaze @ Jun 3 2020, 12:13 PM) I'm using ssd. Just 128gb due to that time mahal. Haha. How to upgrade old MBA? I thought cannot upgrade. Newer MBP can use cheaper NVME with an adaptor. My 2012 MBP using M.2 SATA with an adaptor. Recently bought some 256GB Intel SSD for RM 100. Will opt for larger capacity if below RM 200.
acbc
Jun 3 2020, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(novblaze @ Jun 3 2020, 12:34 PM) This looks scary. Later cannot turn on balik. Not cheap is another keyword. Lol Can upgrade meh. I thought MBA fixed. I last time really bodo. Upgraded to i7 but no upgrade ram from 4gb to 8gb. Bodo max Everything also upgradable. It all depends if u wanna spend money or not. SSD is simple and cheap to upgrade for MBA. Only RAM will be expensive. Better max out to 16GB if u going to spend more than RM 400. Alternatively, sell the laptop away and look for another used MBA.