Differences between iPad, Air, Pro, Mini 5

TSwild_card_my
post May 21 2020, 04:13 PM, updated 6y ago

6,562 posts

https://www.lazada.com.my/shop/apple-store/...ges_575448819.2

My work requires that I use an ipad. Currently using iPad Air 2, but I think it is due for an upgrade since I need to leave one iPad to my staff for them to do their work on that iPad. I am thinking of getting one for my own use so I can do said work on my own time

I am open to new things, if the iPad is capable, I wouldn't mind using it as my main work/consumption device (spotify, youtube, netflix, etc). Having a "pencil" may be advantageous too when I need to present things to my clients/prospects. Right now I don't even know which iPads are compatible with the Pencil. Is it only the Pro? Budget should be RM5k and below, it is flexible, but I don't like to spend more than I need to. Currently I am using my android phone for media consumption on the go, never to do any work

tl;dr: What are the differences in functionality of the iPads?

amxpayne67
post May 21 2020, 04:14 PM

The Coon
718 posts

functionality all mostly the same. only hardware specs differ

if you wanna get an ipad, just get the 10.2" iPad. can use apple pencil also
TSwild_card_my
post May 21 2020, 04:16 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ May 21 2020, 04:14 PM)
functionality all mostly the same. only hardware specs differ

if you wanna get an ipad, just get the 10.2" iPad. can use apple pencil also
Thanks mate. What abotu the air, it is just a little bigger than 10.2" iPad, but somewhat more expensive than the iPad. WHat gives? Is it better in any ways?
amxpayne67
post May 21 2020, 04:18 PM

The Coon
718 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 21 2020, 04:16 PM)
Thanks mate. What abotu the air, it is just a little bigger than 10.2" iPad, but somewhat more expensive than the iPad. WHat gives? Is it better in any ways?
well, it has better display and newer cpu. also much thinner. but more expensive.
Ukeke

91 posts

My ex gf use iPad pro
max_cavalera

rebirth
5,614 posts

Macbook air terus
max_cavalera
post May 21 2020, 04:19 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(Ukeke @ May 21 2020, 05:18 PM)
My ex gf use iPad pro
Current gf?
kitzai

172 posts

I have the new iPad Pro 11”
Apple know how to suck by releasing new ipencil (so call gen2) that compatible with it.
But overall very convenient when doing presentations (takes some learning curve tho).
U can set it up with stand, keyboard and mouse to become a pc as well.
One thing was stupid was WhatsApp is not supported, need to use web WhatsApp.
HolyValkyrie

335 posts

iPad standard, Air slim/lightweight, Pro best spec, Mini smaller.

This post has been edited by HolyValkyrie: May 21 2020, 04:41 PM
harriss
post May 21 2020, 04:21 PM

383 posts

unker , get ipad pro 11 inch at 3.5k + pencil RM549
TSwild_card_my
post May 21 2020, 04:21 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ May 21 2020, 04:18 PM)
Macbook air terus

My Prudential apps... they only make it for iOS if I am not mistaken. mac book pro is a little much for me seeing that I have a thinkpad x1

QUOTE(kitzai @ May 21 2020, 04:19 PM)
I have the new iPad Pro 11”
Apple know how to suck by releasing new ipencil (so call gen2) that compatible with it.
But overall very convenient when doing presentations (takes some learning curve tho).
U can set it up with stand, keyboard and mouse to become a pc as well.
One thing was stupid was WhatsApp is not supported, need to use web WhatsApp.

Oh no iOS native whatsapp? that is dumb, I always use whatsap for work communications, including copying and what not

iPad pro 11" and 12.9" got any difference other than size?
Matchy
post May 21 2020, 04:22 PM

1,327 posts

iPad 10.2 < iPad Air (2019) / iPad Mini (2019) < iPad Pro
Matchy
post May 21 2020, 04:23 PM

1,327 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 21 2020, 04:21 PM)
My Prudential apps... they only make it for iOS if I am not mistaken. mac book pro is a little much for me seeing that I have a thinkpad x1

Oh no iOS native whatsapp? that is dumb, I always use whatsap for work communications, including copying and what not

yes, you can't use whatsapp on iPadOS (not iOS ya. that one is iPhone)
amxpayne67
post May 21 2020, 04:24 PM

The Coon
718 posts

no. just literally the size, and price different.
TSwild_card_my
post May 21 2020, 04:26 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ May 21 2020, 04:23 PM)
yes, you can't use whatsapp on iPadOS (not iOS ya. that one is iPhone)

what really? i simply assumed they are the same OS.

The more you know laugh.gif

QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ May 21 2020, 04:24 PM)
no. just literally the size, and price different.

Significant bump... but at RM5k i can get the 12.9" already... plus pencil. but no cellular SIM... a hotspot will do I guess. Perhaps I should upgrade to iPhone as well..

this is nuts man

amxpayne67
post May 21 2020, 04:28 PM

The Coon
718 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 21 2020, 04:26 PM)

Significant bump... but at RM5k i can get the 12.9" already... plus pencil. but no cellular SIM... a hotspot will do I guess. Perhaps I should upgrade to iPhone as well..

this is nuts man
well, that apple for ya, but to be honest, apple makes better tablet than android. if you want android counterpart, get the latest samsung galaxy s tablet.
ah78
post May 21 2020, 04:29 PM

35 posts

go big or go home.. get latest ipad pro 2020 with magic keyabord as well
mengsuan
post May 21 2020, 04:30 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(HolyValkyrie @ May 21 2020, 04:19 PM)
iPad standard, Air slim/lightweight, Pro best spec, Mini worst spec.
Mini 5 has better screen and processor than standard iPad.
max_cavalera
post May 21 2020, 04:31 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Apple product is money pits
Krv23490
post May 21 2020, 04:33 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 21 2020, 04:13 PM)
https://www.lazada.com.my/shop/apple-store/...ges_575448819.2

My work requires that I use an ipad. Currently using iPad Air 2, but I think it is due for an upgrade since I need to leave one iPad to my staff for them to do their work on that iPad. I am thinking of getting one for my own use so I can do said work on my own time

I am open to new things, if the iPad is capable, I wouldn't mind using it as my main work/consumption device (spotify, youtube, netflix, etc). Having a "pencil" may be advantageous too when I need to present things to my clients/prospects. Right now I don't even know which iPads are compatible with the Pencil. Is it only the Pro? Budget should be RM5k and below, it is flexible, but I don't like to spend more than I need to. Currently I am using my android phone for media consumption on the go, never to do any work

tl;dr: What are the differences in functionality of the iPads?
5k, i am super happy with my ipad pro 11" , amazing display. IPad os makes it really good too. Can transfer movies from pc etc . Use it for both work, reading and entertainment
TSwild_card_my
post May 21 2020, 04:36 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ May 21 2020, 04:28 PM)
well, that apple for ya, but to be honest, apple makes better tablet than android. if you want android counterpart, get the latest samsung galaxy s tablet.

No way I can use android tablets. Prudential or any insurance company that I know of refuse to support android tablets - because Apple is probably much cooler anyway, and android tablet development is up to a bunch of manufacturers that act like headless chickens

QUOTE(ah78 @ May 21 2020, 04:29 PM)

I agree with this. but is there mouse or trackpad support for the pro?

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ May 21 2020, 04:33 PM)
5k, i am super happy with my ipad pro 11" , amazing display. IPad os makes it really good too. Can transfer movies from pc etc . Use it for both work, reading and entertainment
do you use excel a lot? The Pro, does it have mouse support? My Ipad Air 2 has no mouse support
Krv23490
post May 21 2020, 04:39 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 21 2020, 04:36 PM)
No way I can use android tablets. Prudential or any insurance company that I know of refuse to support android tablets - because Apple is probably much cooler anyway, and android tablet development is up to a bunch of manufacturers that act like headless chickens

do you use excel a lot? The Pro, does it have mouse support? My Ipad Air 2 has no mouse support
Nah, i don't use excel on it.

Yeap, if you get the magic keyboard, you get trackpad and keyboard together . and yes if not mistaken it supports mouse as well

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNWG9KRAbCc
s@ni
post May 21 2020, 04:41 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

QUOTE(Ukeke @ May 21 2020, 04:18 PM)
My ex gf use iPad pro
QUOTE(max_cavalera @ May 21 2020, 04:19 PM)
Current gf?
TSwild_card_my
post May 21 2020, 04:42 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ May 21 2020, 04:39 PM)
Nah, i don't use excel on it.

Yeap, if you get the magic keyboard, you get trackpad and keyboard together . and yes if not mistaken it supports mouse as well

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNWG9KRAbCc
hurm... if i have this perhaps I can dump my thinkpad X1

its heavy to carry both laptop and ipad air 2 for now... plus looks very cool, iPad Pro 12.9" compared to standard laptops
HolyValkyrie
post May 21 2020, 04:42 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ May 21 2020, 04:30 PM)
Mini 5 has better screen and processor than standard iPad.
Edited.
fabianz03
post May 21 2020, 04:45 PM

4,649 posts

If you have the budget, iPad Pro. I’m currently using the 11” one and I can tell you it is an absolute joy to use. 120Hz screen, ultra fast processor, Face ID, full screen device - it is nothing short of amazing.

If you don’t have much budget, the iPad Air 10.5” is a great buy because of A12 and Apple Pencil support. Mini 5 also has A12 and pencil support.

That’s it, those are the ones I’d recommend. Others either have sub par old mid range processors or weird design. And if you’re using the iPad for business/income I think you should fork more because it’s worth it.
luvjim
post May 21 2020, 04:46 PM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

it is out of stock everywhere.
if you manage to buy it, share the location please!
TSwild_card_my
post May 21 2020, 04:49 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ May 21 2020, 04:45 PM)
If you have the budget, iPad Pro. I’m currently using the 11” one and I can tell you it is an absolute joy to use. 120Hz screen, ultra fast processor, Face ID, full screen device - it is nothing short of amazing.

If you don’t have much budget, the iPad Air 10.5” is a great buy because of A12 and Apple Pencil support. Mini 5 also has A12 and pencil support.

That’s it, those are the ones I’d recommend. Others either have sub par old mid range processors or weird design. And if you’re using the iPad for business/income I think you should fork more because it’s worth it.
Sounds like a good plan. The Pro doesn't have A12 eh? But Pro has the OLED and Air doesnt? Touch choice, I kinda like huge screens

It will primarily be for work, and damn, it looks cool to see people using the HUGE 12.9" screen. This will help with sales by giving off a great vibe too I bet - not to mention better presentation tools (larger screen, clearer images and bigger canvas to draw things on)

RM5k nets me the 128GB 12.9"... pencil is rm500? this is doable but this is a little over budget already laugh.gif
Matchy
post May 21 2020, 04:49 PM

1,327 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 21 2020, 04:42 PM)
hurm... if i have this perhaps I can dump my thinkpad X1

its heavy to carry both laptop and ipad air 2 for now... plus looks very cool, iPad Pro 12.9" compared to standard laptops
The mouse kinda sucks though... it is just emulating your finger touch.

But if you are a multitasker that require multiple windows, I dont think iPad works well.
TSwild_card_my
post May 21 2020, 04:53 PM

6,562 posts

damn. I forgot to budget the US$350 case (with the trackpad) into the package... way over budget already laugh.gif
mickeysew814
post May 21 2020, 04:53 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(harriss @ May 21 2020, 04:21 PM)
unker , get ipad pro 11 inch at 3.5k +  pencil RM549
support this. remaining budget can get a portable keyboard.
fabianz03
post May 21 2020, 05:01 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 21 2020, 04:49 PM)
Sounds like a good plan. The Pro doesn't have A12 eh? But Pro has the OLED and Air doesnt? Touch choice, I kinda like huge screens

It will primarily be for work, and damn, it looks cool to see people using the HUGE 12.9" screen. This will help with sales by giving off a great vibe too I bet - not to mention better presentation tools (larger screen, clearer images and bigger canvas to draw things on)

RM5k nets me the 128GB 12.9"... pencil is rm500? this is doable but this is a little over budget already laugh.gif
iPad screens are all LCD displays. They are not low quality ones though, they’re proper bright and colourful especially on the Pro. Full P3 gamut and True Tone enabled.

Go for the top end one it’ll last you a minimum of 5 years.
azrilyp
post May 21 2020, 05:02 PM

763 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 21 2020, 04:53 PM)
damn. I forgot to budget the US$350 case (with the trackpad) into the package... way over budget already laugh.gif
Better beli iPad Pro 12.9in, it suits your size and it does come with A12Z. Kalau nak pakai whatsapp on iPad, used 3rd Party apps available on Apple Store. Buy Logitech bluetooth mouse as well.

james.6831
post May 21 2020, 05:06 PM

937 posts

budget 4k..ipad pro je la terus....
TSwild_card_my
post May 21 2020, 05:06 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(azrilyp @ May 21 2020, 05:02 PM)
Better beli iPad Pro 12.9in, it suits your size and it does come with A12Z. Kalau nak pakai whatsapp on iPad, used 3rd Party apps available on Apple Store. Buy Logitech bluetooth mouse as well.
I can buy the keyboard later right? Just get the core ipad pro 12.9" and upgrade as needed...
kitzai
post May 21 2020, 05:56 PM

172 posts

Alot of things need to improve on ipad, hopefully soon. The hardware is there so I'm not too worry.

QUOTE(ah78 @ May 21 2020, 04:29 PM)
Just ordered magic keyboard, next month only arrive ler

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 21 2020, 04:36 PM)

Most new iPad (ios13) can support mouse. U just need to buy those bluetooth one then good to go.
MR_alien
post May 21 2020, 06:07 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 21 2020, 04:26 PM)

they maybe the same OS
but since the screen size is different, it doesn't support the app

many app that works on phone do not work on tablet due to this
raoul
post May 21 2020, 06:26 PM

576 posts

Get iPad Pro only if you often do video editing...especially 4k video editing.

If for normal or business use....any of the current iPad range will do.

UserU
post May 21 2020, 06:46 PM

CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
5,093 posts

You can settle for the iPad Pro 2017 model like me. Still blazingly fast, 60Hz screen so like butter and comes in 12.9 inch too.

Plus if you are not a hardcore artist, a cheap generic Pencils would still do the job pretty well, at a fraction of the price biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by UserU: May 21 2020, 06:46 PM
azrilyp
post May 21 2020, 11:30 PM

763 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 21 2020, 05:06 PM)
I can buy the keyboard later right? Just get the core ipad pro 12.9" and upgrade as needed...
Yes. correct. who knows, 3rd Party keyboard manufacturer may later come up with a better keyboard or similar with Magic keyboard but cheaper.
azrilyp
post May 21 2020, 11:40 PM

763 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ May 21 2020, 06:46 PM)
You can settle for the iPad Pro 2017 model like me. Still blazingly fast, 60Hz screen so like butter and comes in 12.9 inch too.

Plus if you are not a hardcore artist, a cheap generic Pencils would still do the job pretty well, at a fraction of the price biggrin.gif

He just bought a brand new sunset orange beemer and I'm sure he won't settled for a previous version iPad Pro. brows.gif biggrin.gif
UserU
post May 22 2020, 12:28 AM

CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
5,093 posts

QUOTE(azrilyp @ May 21 2020, 11:40 PM)
He just bought a brand new sunset orange beemer and I'm sure he won't settled for a previous version iPad Pro.  brows.gif  biggrin.gif
Aiya, guess mine too low keras liao cry.gif

Zaryl
post May 22 2020, 12:35 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

Get ipad pro 11” LTE version bro.

I have the 2018 version. Been using for almost 8 months.
Super satisfied with it.

Can replace my laptop already (got the pencil + keyboard folio).
Get 11” for portability. 12.9” is too big & too heavy to carry around; suitable to put at your office or home.

Important thing to get the LTE version as you can do your work while on the go without having to depend on hotspots/Wifi.

I’m using Unifi Mobile unlimited postpaid together with my Ipad pro.
LTE’s a GOD SEND able to work anywhere (of course if coverage permits).

Or you could use Celcom or Maxis if you want wider 4G coverage.

Looking forward for Ipad Pro 2021 when Apple introduce 5G LTE later on.

This post has been edited by Zaryl: May 22 2020, 12:35 AM

0.0220sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:04 AM