Aircond Installation, Installation price for aircond???

TSTechLaggard
post May 15 2020, 10:46 AM, updated 6y ago

I've been wanting to install an air conditioner. The price of the unit doesnt bother me that much.

What bothers me is the installation fee as i'm unfamiliar. Most of the seller says that it comes with installation fee included which is a standard RM250 for 10ft copper and pipe.

But how does the installers know that its within the 250 and they don't have to charge extra?

Has anyone encounter anything like the installer suddenly says they need to charge extra on the day of installation?

And it would also be nice to know how much have you guys paid for installation for those that have installed aircond before biggrin.gifD

Your info is much appreciated!!
lamda
post May 15 2020, 10:49 AM

63 posts

yes, you have to prepare money. and you only can place the compressor where you only allow to
kelvinlym
post May 15 2020, 10:50 AM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

Based on reasonably accessible areas. If need sky lift or if the indoor unit is too far to the compressor, then extra charges apply.

etan26
post May 15 2020, 10:50 AM

323 posts

All new aircond comes with FREE installation, yours bought online ke? If more than 10 feet piping then different story la.

This post has been edited by etan26: May 15 2020, 10:51 AM
iwubpreve
post May 15 2020, 10:51 AM

1,829 posts

RM125 only. included 10feets copper pipe.
tahfeikei
post May 15 2020, 10:51 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,247 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ May 15 2020, 10:50 AM)
All new aircond comes with FREE installation, yours bought online ke?
not all. some like TBM they subcontract to others to do the installation.
Boom Mortar
post May 15 2020, 10:52 AM

227 posts

Remember wear to show ur flattening chest n thigh,maybe b gotted foc installation
y500
post May 15 2020, 10:54 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ May 15 2020, 10:51 AM)
quite cheap, wheres your location?
iwubpreve
post May 15 2020, 10:55 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(y500 @ May 15 2020, 10:54 AM)
klang valley
Rusty Nail
post May 15 2020, 10:55 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

yes, it seems to be the 'norm'

MO:
AC installer come, ask where you want the indoor unit, and the outdoor unit
takes measuring tape, measure distance between indoor unit and outdoor unit.

depending on path taken, it could varies greatly.
the thing i can't remember is: 10ft for price of copper pipe (5ft actual distance since need a return pipe), or actual 10ft distance (20ft copper pipe used)

additional cost:
plastic trunking to hide the ugly black insulation: count per piece used (about rm50 for 20ft trunking)
pull new wiring (if the AC place don't have outlet)
TSTechLaggard
post May 15 2020, 11:19 AM

That's pretty cheap. Thanks1
TSTechLaggard
post May 15 2020, 11:22 AM

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ May 15 2020, 10:55 AM)
yes, it seems to be the 'norm'

MO:
AC installer come, ask where you want the indoor unit, and the outdoor unit
takes measuring tape, measure distance between indoor unit and outdoor unit.

depending on path taken, it could varies greatly.
the thing i can't remember is: 10ft for price of copper pipe (5ft actual distance since need a return pipe), or actual 10ft distance (20ft copper pipe used)

additional cost:
plastic trunking to hide the ugly black insulation: count per piece used (about rm50 for 20ft trunking)
pull new wiring (if the AC place don't have outlet)
Yea, because I have a rented unit, so a plastic trunking would be better to make the owners unit installation nicer and neat.
So i recon its safe to say I have to prepare at least 300-400 just for installation at least. What do you think?

And based on your experience, do you think its possible for the installation to go above RM400?
TSTechLaggard
post May 15 2020, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(Boom Mortar @ May 15 2020, 10:52 AM)
Remember wear to show ur flattening chest n thigh,maybe b gotted foc installation
I hope so too I have long thigh and big chest. Sadly I only have pisang.
Lada Putih
post May 15 2020, 11:23 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(TechLaggard @ May 15 2020, 10:46 AM)
I've been wanting to install an air conditioner. The price of the unit doesnt bother me that much.

What bothers me is the installation fee as i'm unfamiliar. Most of the seller says that it comes with installation fee included which is a standard RM250 for 10ft copper and pipe.

But how does the installers know that its within the 250 and they don't have to charge extra?

Has anyone encounter anything like the installer suddenly says they need to charge extra on the day of installation?

And it would also be nice to know how much have you guys paid for installation for those that have installed aircond before biggrin.gifD
My info is that see the technician as an artist and those copper pipe and hunting sini sana pasang sini sana as a work of art
If possible bagi manyak sikit because 250 is extremely little
Since they have to source the material, drive around to sauce that material
Angkat barang berat badan size losmah
Lepas tu if condominium or apartment they kena jadi spiderman Angkat compressor berat badan lembu takut jatuh mampuih

Unless boss you pasang sendiri la

I reread your question
They are undercutting and themselves
And Alot jibai anak derhaka keep cutting them and auntie cheese pie

This post has been edited by Lada Putih: May 15 2020, 11:25 AM
james.6831
post May 15 2020, 11:24 AM

937 posts

rm250 ok la..mine kena charge 1k wtf....
omaigad
post May 15 2020, 11:24 AM

138 posts

i bought from shoppe...1.5 hp inverter RM1380 installation included...2 days ago...

contractor drove from batu cave to Klang yoo...

This post has been edited by omaigad: May 15 2020, 11:25 AM
TSTechLaggard
post May 15 2020, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(Lada Putih @ May 15 2020, 11:23 AM)
My info is that see the technician as an artist and those copper pipe and hunting sini sana pasang sini sana as a work of art
If possible bagi manyak sikit because 250 is extremely little
Since they have to source the material, drive around to sauce that material
Angkat barang berat badan size losmah
Lepas tu if condominium or apartment they kena jadi spiderman Angkat compressor berat badan lembu takut jatuh mampuih

Unless boss you pasang sendiri la
Understood, thanks man. I don't mind paying banyak sikit. I just don't want to be charged a ridiculous price out of the market rate.
TSTechLaggard
post May 15 2020, 11:26 AM

What kind of place are you staying in? Condo, apartment ke, or landed?
Lada Putih
post May 15 2020, 11:27 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(TechLaggard @ May 15 2020, 11:25 AM)
Understood, thanks man. I don't mind paying banyak sikit. I just don't want to be charged a ridiculous price out of the market rate.
Pay more for better servis
Rusty Nail

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(TechLaggard @ May 15 2020, 11:22 AM)
Yea, because I have a rented unit, so a plastic trunking would be better to make the owners unit installation nicer and neat.
So i recon its safe to say I have to prepare at least 300-400 just for installation at least. What do you think?

And based on your experience, do you think its possible for the installation to go above RM400?
mine was an additional RM450 on top of the 'free 10 ft' installation that comes with the AC purchase. way back in 2016
TSTechLaggard

QUOTE(omaigad @ May 15 2020, 11:24 AM)
i bought from shoppe...1.5 hp inverter RM1380 installation included...2 days ago...
That's an okay price for me. rclxms.gif
TSTechLaggard
post May 15 2020, 11:29 AM

QUOTE(james.6831 @ May 15 2020, 11:24 AM)
rm250 ok la..mine kena charge 1k wtf....
1k for installation itself?!
mykazza
post May 15 2020, 11:33 AM

241 posts

basically cheapest u will get installation about RM180, Copper RM15/feet and cable about rm8/feet

so back to back installation will be

Installation RM180
Copper 3feet 54
Cable 3 Feet 40

so normally for 250 for 1hp aircond installation

it also depends on your socket. if ready, if need to plug in to Circuit breaker will be more expensive la ..
omaigad
post May 15 2020, 11:42 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(TechLaggard @ May 15 2020, 11:27 AM)
That's an okay price for me.  rclxms.gif
before i make decision to buy, got offer to do installation RM 560...so aircond 1100 (shoppe) + 560...expensive worrr
Revoz
post May 15 2020, 11:56 AM

679 posts

Some selling aircond shop offer free installation if copper piping use is less than 3ft. More than that then extra charge. Go for back-to-back installation for better n faster cooling.
TSTechLaggard
post May 15 2020, 11:57 AM

QUOTE(mykazza @ May 15 2020, 11:33 AM)
basically cheapest u will get installation about RM180, Copper RM15/feet and cable about rm8/feet

so back to back installation will be

Installation RM180
Copper 3feet 54
Cable 3 Feet 40

so normally for 250 for 1hp aircond installation

it also depends on your socket. if ready, if need to plug in to Circuit breaker will be more expensive la ..
I already have a electric socket. All i need to do is the piping actually.
pobox
post May 15 2020, 11:58 AM

551 posts

Ukur~
mmohdnor
post May 15 2020, 12:05 PM

1,021 posts

And make sure they install the right piping. If not it will cost you further down the road. Need to change the whole pipe again, costly.
RM200-250 for 1st installation sounds about right if the piping isn't so long between indoor and outdoor unit. Total distance can sum up quite fast once you start measuring. blush.gif cry.gif

For example :
- 1hp vs 1.5hp vs 2.0hp pipes
- Non-inverter vs Inverter

Piping must use recommended AC pipes size/dimension stated in the manual for best cooling. Else, you might suffer less cool and coolant leaking.
After 1 to 2 weeks of installation you don't feel cool like before, then something is wrong with the piping. Just my experience.

This post has been edited by mmohdnor: May 15 2020, 12:20 PM
alfiejr
post May 15 2020, 12:09 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

Below rm200 is really cheap but u should be cautios about it. The usual rate is rm200 and above. Depending on the gas u used , wiring, wall hacking , piping length and so on.
blanket84
post May 15 2020, 12:15 PM

1,520 posts

But I think that price only accounts for exposed trunking. For concealed installation, the price could differ.
maxsteel
post May 15 2020, 12:18 PM

371 posts

Prepare around RM400 to be sure.
SUSRO Player
post May 15 2020, 12:19 PM

Now I am a Se7eN Star TigeR!
4,276 posts

Homepro - RM99 only

Others, 180-200, depends how to get the installer
gogocan
post May 15 2020, 12:34 PM

486 posts

That is normal rate for 1hp for back to back. If your indoor unit located far from outdoor unit then of course need to add extra.

1. Aircond hp
2. Inverter or not
3. type of house 1st floor 2nd floor condo
4. Wiring ready or not or need to add power point
5. Wiring want to conceal or not

If your aircond 1hp want to install on 1st floor back to back or condo with reasonable ledge and use available power socket.... then RM250 is the max. Don't worry.

This post has been edited by gogocan: May 15 2020, 12:36 PM
TSTechLaggard
post May 15 2020, 12:35 PM

QUOTE(maxsteel @ May 15 2020, 12:18 PM)
Prepare around RM400 to be sure.
I expect around that price too. Appreciate your info
TSTechLaggard
post May 15 2020, 12:37 PM

QUOTE(gogocan @ May 15 2020, 12:34 PM)
That is normal rate for 1hp for back to back. If your indoor unit located far from outdoor unit then of course need to add extra.

1. Aircond hp
2. Inverter or not
3. type of house 1st floor 2nd floor condo
4. Wiring ready or not or need to add power point
5. Wiring want to conceal or not
1. 1 HP
2. Non-inverter
3. Condo (but with designated compressor area)
4. electrical wiring already have, just water and hose piping
5. Don't need to conceal in wall, just plastic cover

that should be it.
xHj09
post May 15 2020, 12:38 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts

nak tumpang tered.

the installation fee here is for ONE a/c? my house will be ready in 2 years time. i want to install 2-3 a/c.
gogocan
post May 15 2020, 12:39 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(TechLaggard @ May 15 2020, 12:37 PM)
1. 1 HP
2. Non-inverter
3. Condo (but with designated compressor area)
4. electrical wiring already have, just water and hose piping
5. Don't need to conceal in wall, just plastic cover

that should be it.
Then RM 250 is the max. I never need to pay more than 200 for 1hp installation..the max I installed is RM 350 for 2.5hp inverter back to back.
TSTechLaggard
post May 15 2020, 12:40 PM

QUOTE(xHj09 @ May 15 2020, 12:38 PM)
nak tumpang tered.

the installation fee here is for ONE a/c? my house will be ready in 2 years time. i want to install 2-3 a/c.
Yes, my inquiry is for 1 unit only. I'm pretty sure each unit will be charged separately, but maybe the more a/c the cheaper.
destee88
post May 15 2020, 12:41 PM

1,385 posts

is negotiable la .. depends your skills .. anything can be nego
doppatroll
post May 15 2020, 12:56 PM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ May 15 2020, 10:51 AM)
not all. some like TBM they subcontract to others to do the installation.
As long as you buy from shop they installation should be free....if they charge means scam liou laugh.gif
kamfoo
post May 15 2020, 05:50 PM

846 posts

rm250 normal price
deprozer
post May 19 2020, 01:38 PM

QUOTE(omaigad @ May 15 2020, 11:24 AM)
mind sharing the link?
SUSMatgolf
post May 19 2020, 01:45 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(y500 @ May 15 2020, 10:54 AM)
That for non inverter, kalau inverter is expensive as R22 piping is different.

If TS not sure about the cost, ask the contractor what is the charges for extra of piping per foot.
foxpro
post May 19 2020, 01:50 PM

278 posts

Charge is 150 to 200 , some with MBA cert will charge 250 to 300
Depends on the location. Better take experience people normal inexperienced people will ffk yr air cond.
zeese
post May 19 2020, 01:55 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Another hidden charge that customers dont realized.. AC power point. This one is not included in the installation fees. Some customers already have the power point, some don't.
omaigad
post May 19 2020, 02:34 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(deprozer @ May 19 2020, 01:38 PM)
mind sharing the link?
i`m in the office now, were using wife hp to shop the aircond, but here is the shop phone number 017 470 7988. The shop name at shoppee was mmutiaratrading. You can ask Midea 1.5 hp inverter.
MGM
post May 19 2020, 04:15 PM

18,455 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ May 15 2020, 12:19 PM)
Homepro - RM99 only

Others, 180-200, depends how to get the installer
I am thinking of getting Mitsubishi MSY-jp13vf 1.5hp invertor from Home pro with RM99 installation. How is their customer service? They engage 3rd party installer not their own.
SUSRO Player
post May 19 2020, 04:26 PM

Now I am a Se7eN Star TigeR!
4,276 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ May 19 2020, 04:15 PM)
I am thinking of getting Mitsubishi MSY-jp13vf 1.5hp invertor from Home pro with RM99 installation. How is their customer service? They engage 3rd party installer not their own.
Quite ok, get that electrolux, very cold , although using R410a.

Outside contractor, min 250, not including extended pipes

This post has been edited by RO Player: May 19 2020, 04:27 PM
deprozer
post May 20 2020, 01:56 PM

QUOTE(omaigad @ May 19 2020, 02:34 PM)
i`m in the office now, were using wife hp to shop the aircond, but here is the shop phone number 017 470 7988. The shop name at shoppee was mmutiaratrading. You can ask Midea 1.5 hp inverter.
Thanks!
yun2
post Nov 12 2021, 06:28 PM

45 posts

Anyone can help evaluate if this is fair price?

Scope :
1x new Cassette 2hp - brand new position ~25 feet away?
1x existing wall mount 2hp - moved position to behind existing wall + higher position
2x existing wall mount 1hp moved a little bit higher from existing position.

Reason for moving to higher position is because we redid the plaster ceiling, Previous owner installed the wall mount units at 2.1 m from floor height which we thought was too low.. But rough estimation shows moving it up costs ~RM450 from quotation - sounds much higher than what you all have posted up there.. So am considering does the extrinsic value justify the spend.. And whether I was quoted too much?

Here is the quotation breakdown provided (excluding aircon unit cost)
Rm2600 - supply and install copper pipe
Rm1000 - installation for wall mounted (2x 1hp, 1x 2hp)
Rm475 - installation of ceiling cassette
RM500 - Hacking

Total RM4575

Appreciate any sifus can comment?
Softenedheart
post Nov 12 2021, 06:32 PM

QUOTE(etan26 @ May 15 2020, 10:50 AM)
All new aircond comes with FREE installation, yours bought online ke? If more than 10 feet piping then different story la.
Which shop offer free installation?

0.0245sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:57 PM