Banking BNM announced 5 digital bank licences

TSKadaj
post May 15 2020, 07:47 AM, updated 4y ago

586 posts

KUALA LUMPUR (April 29): Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) has announced the five successful applicants for the digital bank licences as approved by the Minister of Finance (MoF).

The following applicants are to be licensed under the Financial Services Act 2013 (FSA):

• a consortium of Boost Holdings Sdn Bhd. and RHB Bank Bhd;
• a consortium led by GXS Bank Pte Ltd. and Kuok Brothers Sdn Bhd; and
• a consortium led by Sea Ltd and YTL Digital Capital Sdn Bhd.

The following applicants are to be licensed under the Islamic Financial Services Act 2013 (IFSA):

• a consortium of AEON Financial Service Co Ltd, AEON Credit Service (M) Bhd and MoneyLion Inc and
• a consortium led by KAF Investment Bank Sdn Bhd.

Three out of the five consortiums are majority-owned by Malaysians namely Boost Holdings and RHB Bank, Sea and YTL Digital Capital and KAF Investment Bank, said BNM in a statement on Friday.

Sources:
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/flas...sea-aeon-credit
https://fintechnews.my/31002/virtual-bankin...laysia-winners/

This post has been edited by Kadaj: Apr 29 2022, 03:31 PM
James1983
post May 15 2020, 08:40 AM

💦kencing lettew💦
532 posts

I wonder when will we start seeing the digital banks in market, can't wait for it!

Net-net, it is always good for consumers, because when these company first establish, they will throw out crazy promos to gain market share.

e.g. HK digital/virtual banks gave enticing deposit interest rate when they first started
cklimm
post May 15 2020, 08:50 AM

2,337 posts

Grabbank sounds good, how much will be their rate?
James1983
post May 15 2020, 08:54 AM

💦kencing lettew💦
532 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ May 15 2020, 08:50 AM)
Grabbank sounds good, how much will be their rate?
super high, if we use other countries' experience as barometer, up to 3x more in certain cases.
reasons they can do that:
1. Throwing huge initial capital to gain market share
2. Lower operating costs (no physical location/staff)

Hong Kong's first digital bank offers 6% rate for deposits that dwarfs HSBC's
"ZA began a pilot last month for the city's first digital-only bank. It's offering the 6 per cent rate for three-month Hong Kong dollar deposits capped at HK$200,000 (S$34,700)"
As comparison, Standard Chartered, HSBC and BOC Hong Kong Holdings pay 1.9 per cent to 2.3 per cent for the maturity
https://www.straitstimes.com/business/banki...at-dwarfs-hsbcs

cklimm
post May 15 2020, 10:54 AM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(James1983 @ May 15 2020, 08:54 AM)
super high, if we use other countries' experience as barometer, up to 3x more in certain cases.
reasons they can do that:
1. Throwing huge initial capital to gain market share
2. Lower operating costs (no physical location/staff)

Hong Kong's first digital bank offers 6% rate for deposits that dwarfs HSBC's
"ZA began a pilot last month for the city's first digital-only bank. It's offering the 6 per cent rate for three-month Hong Kong dollar deposits capped at HK$200,000 (S$34,700)"
As comparison, Standard Chartered, HSBC and BOC Hong Kong Holdings pay 1.9 per cent to 2.3 per cent for the maturity
https://www.straitstimes.com/business/banki...at-dwarfs-hsbcs
wow, let it be
TSKadaj
post May 29 2020, 06:46 AM

586 posts

RAM Rating Sdn Bhd (RAM Ratings) has noted in a commentary that although digital banks may spur financial innovation and accelerate the digital transformation of the Malaysian banking landscape, their impact will be limited in the next three years. This is due to the restriction on the asset size of the digital banks, which is curbed at less than RM2 billion, which account for only 0.3% of the industry asset.

“Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) also requires digital banks to focus on financial inclusion to address the market gaps in the underserved and unserved segments. This will temper the head-on competition with traditional banks in the mass retail and SME markets,” said RAM Rating’s co-head of Financial Institution Ratings, Sophia Lee, in a statement released in conjunction with the commentary.

The digital banks may also see their impact and profitability constrained during the early years due to the substantial expenses in developing their ecosystem. There is also a need to spend on occasional promotional rates so that they can grow amidst the competitive business environment.

Digital Banks Will Spur Financial Innovation, But Impact Limited In Next Three Years

This post has been edited by Kadaj: Jul 28 2020, 04:11 PM
TSKadaj
post Jul 28 2020, 04:11 PM

586 posts

ManagePay Systems Berhad (MPay) has formed a joint venture company with Singapore-based Passion Venture Capital Pte Ltd (PVC) with the aim of foraying into digital banking in Malaysia.

In a filing with Bursa Malaysia, MPay said that its subsidiary ManagePay Services had entered into the joint venture agreement with PVC to set up a company that will be applying for one of Bank Negara Malaysia’s digital banking licenses. MPay will hold 51% in the joint venture company, with PVC holding the remaining shares.

With this move, MPay will join contenders such as Sunway, Axiata Group, Razer, Grab, AirAsia, and AMTD in the race for one of Bank Negara’s digital banking licenses.

MPay Forms Joint Venture With Singaporean VC Firm, Aims For Digital Banking Licence
Eurobeater
post Jul 28 2020, 07:10 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

Johor state government? What are they planning to do for a digital bank?
tadashi987
post Jul 28 2020, 09:49 PM

2,106 posts

no news dy seems this malaysia digital bank thingy
TSKadaj
post Aug 3 2020, 06:03 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(Louisafrojack @ Jul 30 2020, 03:13 PM)
Any link can share? About this license?
UPDATE: In light of the disruptions caused by COVID-19 outbreak, Bank Negara Malaysia wishes to inform that the consultation period for the Exposure Draft has been extended until 30 June 2020.

Regulatory Framework for Digital Banks

Hope they will issue the license within this year.
MUM
post Aug 3 2020, 10:06 AM

14,888 posts

Two months ago, Bank Negara announced on its website that given the disruptions caused by the Covid-19 outbreak, it was extending the April 30 deadline for the industry to provide feedback on its proposed digital banking licensing framework to June 30. The central bank had initially expected to finalise its policy document by the first half of this year, after which it was to open applications for the licences.

“We understand that, most likely, the [Bank Negara] guidelines will be finalised by the end of this year, after which the central bank will open the application process early next year,” says Kelvin Lee, financial services assurance partner at PwC Malaysia.
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/inte...-licences-picks

after finalised, they will then open the application processes....how long do you think that will takes?

just an added note from the above article...

According to Lee, the companies remain keen on a licence, but the banks are less so. “I haven’t heard of anyone who has dropped out. The interest is still there, I would say.

But, for the banks, we gather that they are not so keen on the licences because they feel that the Bank Negara guidelines didn’t give them regulatory arbitrage.

So, I think, a lot of the banks feel that it may not be worthwhile to apply for a licence.”

googled and found this too,...

Digital Banking: Malaysian banks at a crossroads
https://www.pwc.com/my/en/assets/publicatio...-crossroads.pdf

https://www.pwc.com/my/en/publications/2020...ross-roads.html

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 3 2020, 10:20 AM

exdtan
post Aug 3 2020, 10:32 AM

332 posts

I believe before our BNM roll out digital bank license, they must first solve the pre-requisite. KYC a.k.a know your customer profiling.

MCMC has yet to finalize and approve an official guideline for that so until then, digital banking license and companies application are far from finalizing.
TSKadaj
post Aug 6 2020, 06:06 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 3 2020, 10:06 AM)
Two months ago, Bank Negara announced on its website that given the disruptions caused by the Covid-19 outbreak, it was extending the April 30 deadline for the industry to provide feedback on its proposed digital banking licensing framework to June 30. The central bank had initially expected to finalise its policy document by the first half of this year, after which it was to open applications for the licences.

“We understand that, most likely, the [Bank Negara] guidelines will be finalised by the end of this year, after which the central bank will open the application process early next year,” says Kelvin Lee, financial services assurance partner at PwC Malaysia.
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/inte...-licences-picks

after finalised, they will then open the application processes....how long do you think that will takes?

just an added note from the above article...

According to Lee, the companies remain keen on a licence, but the banks are less so. “I haven’t heard of anyone who has dropped out. The interest is still there, I would say.

But, for the banks, we gather that they are not so keen on the licences because they feel that the Bank Negara guidelines didn’t give them regulatory arbitrage.

So, I think, a lot of the banks feel that it may not be worthwhile to apply for a licence.”
googled and found this too,...

Digital Banking: Malaysian banks at a crossroads
https://www.pwc.com/my/en/assets/publicatio...-crossroads.pdf

https://www.pwc.com/my/en/publications/2020...ross-roads.html
Currently banks already can perform digital banking service like maybank2u for a long time. They don't need the digital banking license.

The new digital banking license is for new players to join in banking service. The number of licenses issue is limited, there will be fierce competition on bidding for sure.
cybpsych
post Aug 6 2020, 08:18 AM

---------------------
65,306 posts

QUOTE(exdtan @ Aug 3 2020, 10:32 AM)
I believe before our BNM roll out digital bank license, they must first solve the pre-requisite. KYC a.k.a know your customer profiling.

MCMC has yet to finalize and approve an official guideline for that so until then, digital banking license and companies application are far from finalizing.
the policy already out https://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=57&pg=144&ac=963&bb=file
GrumpyNooby
post Sep 30 2020, 05:44 PM

12,387 posts

BigPay Considers Options For Malaysian Digital Bank Licence, Expands To Singapore

AirAsia-backed BigPay has revealed that it is considering different options to bid for a digital banking licence in Malaysia, including teaming up with a strategic partner for the effort or making the bid on its own. This comes alongside the announcement of BigPay’s expansion into Singapore, bringing its payments and remittance services to the neighbouring country.

https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/e-wallet/bi...7A0Wdu1dvXtgsOU
cybpsych
post Oct 20 2020, 12:56 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

Banks can expect stiff competition from new digital banks and fintech companies, says Deloitte

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/bank...s-says-deloitte

KUALA LUMPUR (Oct 20): Banking institutions can expect stiffer competition from new digital banks and fintech companies as increasing complexities of customer expectations, interconnectedness of societies and technological innovations have brought disruption to the banking industry.
TSKadaj
post Nov 16 2020, 08:33 AM

586 posts

AirAsia’s BigPay will soon offer loans with instant approval

BigPay, the digital prepaid card from AirAsia, is among 8 companies that have gotten the green light from Malaysia’s Ministry of Housing and Local Government (KPKT) to provide online loans. The approval for BigPay Later Sdn Bhd was announced by Zuraida Kamaruddin on Friday during the online money lending guidelines virtual session.

AirAsia Group CEO, Tony Fernandes had posted on Instagram that BigPay has received provisional license for lending and users will soon be able to apply for fast loans at low interest rates. He told Bernama that the approval was a lifeline to BigPay and he hoped that it would provide people the chance to do business and have a decent life.

He added that the financing will be available to the B40 group and the aim is to try to get loans approved within minutes. Although B40 would be the biggest beneficiary from the approval, the financing will also be made available to other groups as well.

Apart from BigPay, the Ministry has also approved seven other providers namely Axiata Digital Capital Sdn Bhd, Grabfin Operations (M) Sdn Bhd, GHL Payments Sdn Bhd, Presto Credit Sdn Bhd, JCL Credit Leasing Sdn Bhd, Fortune Tree Capital Sdn Bhd and Hoop Fintech Sdn Bhd. With the implementation of online money lending by licensed community credit companies under KPKT, the Ministry hopes to modernise the money lending industry to create a more conducive, secure, controlled and orderly money lending business environment.

Source

--------------------

BP is one step closer to become digital bank.
Looking forward to earn interest for saving in BP.
GrumpyNooby
post Nov 16 2020, 08:35 AM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(Kadaj @ Nov 16 2020, 08:33 AM)
AirAsia’s BigPay will soon offer loans with instant approval

BigPay, the digital prepaid card from AirAsia, is among 8 companies that have gotten the green light from Malaysia’s Ministry of Housing and Local Government (KPKT) to provide online loans. The approval for BigPay Later Sdn Bhd was announced by Zuraida Kamaruddin on Friday during the online money lending guidelines virtual session.

AirAsia Group CEO, Tony Fernandes had posted on Instagram that BigPay has received provisional license for lending and users will soon be able to apply for fast loans at low interest rates. He told Bernama that the approval was a lifeline to BigPay and he hoped that it would provide people the chance to do business and have a decent life.

He added that the financing will be available to the B40 group and the aim is to try to get loans approved within minutes. Although B40 would be the biggest beneficiary from the approval, the financing will also be made available to other groups as well.

Apart from BigPay, the Ministry has also approved seven other providers namely Axiata Digital Capital Sdn Bhd, Grabfin Operations (M) Sdn Bhd, GHL Payments Sdn Bhd, Presto Credit Sdn Bhd, JCL Credit Leasing Sdn Bhd, Fortune Tree Capital Sdn Bhd and Hoop Fintech Sdn Bhd. With the implementation of online money lending by licensed community credit companies under KPKT, the Ministry hopes to modernise the money lending industry to create a more conducive, secure, controlled and orderly money lending business environment.

Source

--------------------

BP is one step closer to become digital bank.
Looking forward to earn interest for saving in BP.
Why approval came from Malaysia’s Ministry of Housing and Local Government (KPKT) and not from BNM or MOF?
MUM
post Nov 16 2020, 08:41 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Nov 16 2020, 08:35 AM)
Why approval came from Malaysia’s Ministry of Housing and Local Government (KPKT) and not from BNM or MOF?
hmm.gif easier to get approval?...just like those licensed money lenders?
thus will Airasia's Bigpay charge the are the same rate as those money lenders?
TSKadaj
post Nov 16 2020, 08:42 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Nov 16 2020, 08:35 AM)
According to Ministry of Housing and Local Government (Malaysia):
The Ministry of Housing and Local Government (Malay: Kementerian Perumahan dan Kerajaan Tempatan), abbreviated KPKT, is a ministry of the Government of Malaysia that is responsible for urban well-being, housing, local government, town planning, country planning, fire and rescue authority, landscape, solid waste management, strata management, moneylenders, pawnbrokers.

GrumpyNooby
post Nov 16 2020, 10:24 AM

12,387 posts

Sarawak eyes digital banking

KUCHING: The Sarawak government is seeking a digital banking licence and has submitted “its expression of interest” to Bank Negara, Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg said.

“We are fully aware that an effective digital banking must be resilient, fair and dynamic. It is among the prerequisites for the Sarawak government to collaborate with reputable technology companies and local retail banks approved by the governing bodies.

“Accordingly, the Sarawak government is in the midst of putting up the necessary infrastructure and facilities throughout Sarawak, in part to support our digital banking and other digital initiatives, ” he added. He was winding up the 2021 State Budget in the state assembly on Friday.

He said a digital banking licence would help to serve the underserved. In April 2017, Bank Negara approved the establishment of the Development Bank Of Sarawak.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...digital-banking
GrumpyNooby
post Nov 18 2020, 06:38 PM

12,387 posts

Cash cards for kids - digital banks race to capture the next generation

LONDON: When John Hibbs' daughter Xanthe received her first bank card in the mail, the six-year-old spent the next week Googling how to buy a horse.

Hibbs and his wife Kate had got Xanthe a newly launched children's debit card from UK digital bank Starling, one of a number of new offerings from fintechs aimed at children and teenagers.

"The earlier we can start the learning process of using a card, the earlier she can learn that you can't just go out and buy a horse," said Hibbs, who runs a charity.

While traditional banks have long offered basic savings accounts to children, fintechs say they have spotted an opportunity to offer better, slicker apps to tech-savvy kids and teenagers, who they say have been under-served.

Starling's Kite card allows parents to transfer money to their children's account, set spending limits and receive notifications of their purchases. It rivals similar products from gohenry and Monzo in Britain while in the U.S. fintechs Greenlight, Step and Copper are trying to capture the youth market.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...next-generation
GrumpyNooby
post Dec 4 2020, 09:03 PM

12,387 posts

Singapore picks Grab, Ant Group, others for four digital banking licences

SINGAPORE (Dec 4): A venture between Singapore Telecommunications and ride-hailing firm Grab and internet platform company Sea Ltd are among four applicants chosen to operate Singapore's first digital banks, in the city-state's biggest banking shakeup in two decades.

An entity wholly-owned by Alibaba Group affiliate Ant Group also won licences, Singapore's banking regulator said on Friday.

The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) said: "The successful applicants must meet all relevant prudential requirements and licensing pre-conditions before MAS grants them their respective banking licences."

It expects the new digital banks to start operations from early 2022."

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/sing...anking-licences

Not sure if Grabfin Operations (M) Sdn Bhd is a subsidiary of Grab Malaysia.
GrumpyNooby
post Dec 21 2020, 12:33 PM

12,387 posts

Angkasa Identifies Strategic Partners In Its Bid For Digital Bank Licence

The National Co-operative Movement of Malaysia (Angkasa) has expressed interest in vying for one of the five digital bank licences offered by Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM). To do so, it has identified more than 10 conglomerates and major cooperatives in the country as its strategic partners.

According to the president of Angkasa, Datuk Abdul Fattah Abdullah, these strategic partners include telecommunications and finance companies. Each of them possesses strengths that can support Angkasa’s application for the licence, thereby giving the cooperative movement a significant edge.

https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/bank-news/a...dT7Q65UJVZKNm_w
GrumpyNooby
post Dec 21 2020, 12:40 PM

12,387 posts

Interest in digital banking scene gains traction

PETALING JAYA: Following the recent award of digital banking licences to companies in closest neighbour Singapore, interest in the local digital banking scene has been gaining traction.

Observers say like Singapore, the ability to bring in technology including proven digital straight through processing or STP in order to drive efficiency in the banking sector will be a crucial determinant in the dishing out of the licences.

“Bank Negara hopes that new players can apply big data and artificial intelligence to better improve risk management and productivity, ” one seasoned industry observer told StarBiz.

However, unlike in Singapore where the licences were given mostly to huge firms with large ready customer bases, he believes the future winners of these digital bank licences in Malaysia may not necessarily be of the same size.

“I don’t think the future winners of digital bank licences in Malaysia will comprise mainly of big boys with large customer bases.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...-gains-traction
TSKadaj
post Dec 21 2020, 06:00 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Dec 21 2020, 12:33 PM)
Meanwhile, BNM will issue Malaysia’s five digital bank licences by the end of the year.

In countdown, 10 days... hope no more delay.
GrumpyNooby
post Dec 31 2020, 06:16 PM

12,387 posts

BNM rolls out policy document on licensing for digital banks, sets June 30 deadline for application submission

KUALA LUMPUR (Dec 31): Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) has issued the policy document on Licensing Framework for Digital Banks following a six-month public consultation, and set June 30 as the deadline for submission of applications to the central bank for those wishing to conduct digital banking business.

Digital banks will be required to comply with the requirements under the Financial Services Act 2013 (FSA) or Islamic Financial Services Act 2013 (IFSA), including standards on prudential, Shariah, business conduct and consumer protection, as well as on anti-money laundering and terrorism financing, BNM said in a statement today.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/bnm-...ine-application
TSKadaj
post Dec 31 2020, 08:38 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Dec 31 2020, 06:16 PM)
BNM rolls out policy document on licensing for digital banks, sets June 30 deadline for application submission

KUALA LUMPUR (Dec 31): Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) has issued the policy document on Licensing Framework for Digital Banks following a six-month public consultation, and set June 30 as the deadline for submission of applications to the central bank for those wishing to conduct digital banking business.

Digital banks will be required to comply with the requirements under the Financial Services Act 2013 (FSA) or Islamic Financial Services Act 2013 (IFSA), including standards on prudential, Shariah, business conduct and consumer protection, as well as on anti-money laundering and terrorism financing, BNM said in a statement today.

Notification on the grant of licence will be made by the first quarter of 2022.

------------------------

Alamak.. one more year doh.gif
Higgsboson8888
post Dec 31 2020, 09:19 PM

362 posts

QUOTE(Kadaj @ Dec 31 2020, 08:38 PM)

------------------------

Alamak.. one more year  doh.gif
That's discouraging indeed. But hey, the next 6 months will be crucial for us! rclxm9.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 1 2021, 01:15 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Dec 31 2020, 06:16 PM)

Seems like Shariah and AMLA compliance it is the key issue now that most of the applicants couldn’t convince BNM based on the framework

And also looks like buying time for the major banks as well to JV with tech players to co apply the license jointly rclxms.gif
jonoave
post Jan 1 2021, 04:42 AM

659 posts

I used to be excited for new digital banks (new shiny things), but now personally I don't see much of an appeal based on my use.

So I'm in Europe, and I got a Transferwise card since I do use transferwise to convert currency, and well the currency is free.
Bonus is it supports Google Pay and my conventional bank debit card doesn't yet, so plus points on that
It also acts as a backup card, so that's cool too.

But as I look deeper into the benefits of other finch banks like Revolut or N26, I don't really see how much they'd benefit me.
1. Google Pay/visa/Mastercard/worldwide acceptance - standard benefits I already have.
2. Creation of sub accounts/jars or track your spending features - sounds cool on paper, but I already track my own spending with my own app that is more full-feature. Also a lot of these track spending is not accurate or they just lump certain transactions as "other"
Creation of sub account sounds fun, but.then I set aside money for different purpose and put them in FD/money market etc. Als

3. Other benefits like travel insurance etc - very minor benefit, and some of them already covered by a regular health insurance.

There are several tiers, starting from free (benefits 1 and some of 2), to monthly fees between around 5 - 15 euros (for benefit 1-3 and more etc). And the monthly fees is the main thing putting me off.

So for now, I'll just keep my conventional bank and Transferwise card for now. But I'll be really curious to see how what new unique features that Malaysian digital banks will bring.

p/s: Oh yeah I also got the Bigpay card which they keep touting with so many features. Main reason for me to use it just to collect Big points, other than that all those track spending features are not useful for me.
cybpsych
post Jan 1 2021, 04:51 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

QUOTE(Kadaj @ Dec 31 2020, 08:38 PM)

------------------------

Alamak.. one more year  doh.gif
QUOTE(Higgsboson8888 @ Dec 31 2020, 09:19 PM)
That's discouraging indeed. But hey, the next 6 months will be crucial for us!  rclxm9.gif
estimation, 6 months to prepare the submission (30 June deadline) + 6 more months for BNM to review & decide the application.

after that, succesful applicant(s) need to launch within 6 months after gotten the license, so the actual public service readiness is likelihood towards the 2H/end of 2022
Higgsboson8888
post Jan 2 2021, 03:45 PM

362 posts

QUOTE(jonoave @ Jan 1 2021, 04:42 AM)
I used to be excited for new digital banks (new shiny things), but now personally I don't see much of an appeal based on my use.

So I'm in Europe, and I got a Transferwise card since I do use transferwise to convert currency, and well the currency is free.
Bonus is it supports Google Pay and my conventional bank debit card doesn't yet, so plus points on that
It also acts as a backup card, so that's cool too.

But as I look deeper into the benefits of other finch banks like Revolut or N26, I don't really see how much they'd benefit me.
1. Google Pay/visa/Mastercard/worldwide acceptance - standard benefits I already have.
2. Creation of sub accounts/jars or track your spending features - sounds cool on paper, but I already track my own spending with my own app that is more full-feature. Also a lot of these track spending is not accurate or they just lump certain transactions as "other"
Creation of sub account sounds fun, but.then I set aside money for different purpose and put them in FD/money market etc. Als

3. Other benefits like travel insurance etc - very minor benefit, and some of them already covered by a regular health insurance.

There are several tiers, starting from free (benefits 1 and some of 2), to monthly fees between around 5 - 15 euros (for benefit 1-3 and more etc). And the monthly fees is the main thing putting me off.

So for now, I'll just keep my conventional bank and Transferwise card for now. But I'll be really curious to see how what new unique features that Malaysian digital banks will bring.

p/s: Oh yeah I also got the Bigpay card which they keep touting with so many features. Main reason for me to use it just to collect Big points, other than that all those track spending features are not useful for me.
Whilst that's true, there is certainly a bigger plan coming from the finance players with the movement. If we look to the east again, one of the things they introduced is profiling. More comprehensive credit and risk scoring and that result in one's loan application. Ultimately, it accelerates the development of one's country if we have all this enhanced infrastructure inplaced.

Eurobeater
post Jan 2 2021, 08:39 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

I hope there will be a digital bank like Monzo in the UK here in Malaysia. Closest contender I see is BigPay but they need more facilities like FD placement then I happy
SUSxnxx
post Jan 15 2021, 11:47 PM

171 posts

So..... Ant Group is banned from their IPO...
cybpsych
post Feb 25 2021, 04:35 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

Axiata to announce partnership for digital banking licence bid soon, says CEO

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/axia...d-soon-says-ceo

KUALA LUMPUR (Feb 25): Axiata Group Bhd has agreed to partner with a company for its bid for a digital banking licence and will be announcing the details soon.

This was revealed by the telco's newly-appointed chief executive officer Datuk Mohd Izzaddin Idris at the group's financial results virtual briefing today.

However, he did not reveal the name of the company.

“We have narrowed down to just one (company) and hopefully we can announce that shortly in the next couple of weeks.

“The deadline of June 30 is not too far away. We hope to announce the partnership, the equity partnership with one partner and at the same time we hope to announce the commercial partnerships with a few other organisations,” he said.

SUSxander83
post Feb 26 2021, 03:59 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Feb 25 2021, 04:35 PM)
Axiata to announce partnership for digital banking licence bid soon, says CEO

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/axia...d-soon-says-ceo

KUALA LUMPUR (Feb 25): Axiata Group Bhd has agreed to partner with a company for its bid for a digital banking licence and will be announcing the details soon.

This was revealed by the telco's newly-appointed chief executive officer Datuk Mohd Izzaddin Idris at the group's financial results virtual briefing today.

However, he did not reveal the name of the company.

“We have narrowed down to just one (company) and hopefully we can announce that shortly in the next couple of weeks.

“The deadline of June 30 is not too far away. We hope to announce the partnership, the equity partnership with one partner and at the same time we hope to announce the commercial partnerships with a few other organisations,” he said. 

No need to tell will be with CIMB for sure
SUSTOS
post May 22 2021, 04:07 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...banking-journey
SUSTOS
post May 31 2021, 04:51 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/banking-fi...al-bank-licence

Potential new player: Axiata + RHB

This post has been edited by TOS: May 31 2021, 05:14 PM
SUSTOS
post Jun 16 2021, 08:28 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.sinchew.com.my/content/content_2495810.html

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/sunw...-banking-permit

Sunway also wants to join the game.

This post has been edited by TOS: Jun 16 2021, 08:29 PM
SUSxander83
post Jun 17 2021, 04:04 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jun 16 2021, 08:28 PM)
Foresee gonna be with either with Alliance Bank or OCBC or UOB as their partner

Seems like most banks are gonna partner instead taking the direct route with 5 licenses for sure 3 is confirmed taken with 2 still up for grabs from over 40 bidders
SUSTOS
post Jun 17 2021, 10:08 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Jun 17 2021, 04:04 AM)
Foresee gonna be with either with Alliance Bank or OCBC or UOB as their partner

Seems like most banks are gonna partner instead taking the direct route with 5 licenses for sure 3 is confirmed taken with 2 still up for grabs from over 40 bidders
Which 3 are "confirmed"? Mind sharing your thoughts?
SUSTOS
post Jun 17 2021, 03:02 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.sinchew.com.my/content/content_2496020.html

https://themalaysianreserve.com/2021/06/17/...l-bank-license/

Not the end yet... We have Petronas, Sea, YTL, and Sararwak government joining.

Nom-el
post Jun 17 2021, 04:21 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Feb 26 2021, 03:59 AM)
No need to tell will be with CIMB for sure
QUOTE(TOS @ Jun 17 2021, 10:08 AM)
He is merely speculating. He was saying that Boost would be partnering with CIMB for sure earlier which is ridiculous considering TNGD (joint venture between TNG (subsidiary of CIMB) and AliPay) is a competitor to Boost. As we all know now, Boost is partnering with RHB.
TSKadaj
post Jun 17 2021, 06:51 PM

586 posts

During a Fintech Fireside Asia chat session organised by Fintech News Malaysia today, Suhaimi Ali, Director of Innovation and Development at Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) tells digital bank applicants to respect the process. He highlighted that they are seeing a number of parties using their political connections to lobby and get a head start in the digital banking license process.

In the session, he made clear that BNM’s main consideration remains on the applicants who are able to deliver value proposition and that the central bank prioritise outcomes. Some groups have also been seen making media statements urging the government to “provide at least one digital bank license to enable establishing a digital waqf bank owned by any national wakaf institutions.”

Earlier this month, Axiata and RHB announced their joint bid for a digital banking license which sparked concerns among other players that the licenses will end up mostly in the hands of bank-led consortiums.

BNM Tells Lobby Groups to Respect the Digital Bank Licensing Process

I hope those parties won't get the license. doh.gif
greyPJ
post Jun 18 2021, 03:08 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

KUALA LUMPUR/SINGAPORE (June 17): Sea Ltd and national oil company Petroliam Nasional Bhd (Petronas) are among companies planning to bid for a digital banking licence in Malaysia, according to people familiar with the matter, as the country prepares to open up its financial industry.

Local conglomerates Genting Bhd and YTL Corp Bhd and the Sarawak government are also considering a bid, the people said, asking not to be identified because the information is private. Some of the firms, such as Sea and YTL Corp, have joined forces and plan to bid as a consortium, they said. They join ride-hailing and payment firm Grab Holdings Inc, Sunway Bhd and others, which have also expressed interest.
SUSxander83
post Jun 18 2021, 05:19 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jun 17 2021, 10:08 AM)
3 major banks as I am sure you will know which ones

The question lies who are their partnership with

The ones with current banking license will be easy to approved due to BNM regulations and risk mitigation factors while those struggling and will have to setup consortium in order to get share of the pie
cybpsych
post Jun 29 2021, 09:04 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

Here Are All The Digital Banking Contenders in Malaysia (So Far)
nicemamak
post Jun 29 2021, 10:18 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 29 2021, 09:04 PM)
Is Grabpay and Touch n Go belong to Maybank?

MUM
post Jun 29 2021, 11:41 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(nicemamak @ Jun 29 2021, 10:18 PM)
maybe the answers can be found here?

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/news...digital-banking
Malayan Banking Bhd (Maybank) has an indirect 30% stake in the company that operates GrabPay

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...raise-rm6045mil
CIMB and its unit Touch ‘n Go Sdn Bhd,

read for details?
SUSxander83
post Jun 30 2021, 04:31 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(nicemamak @ Jun 29 2021, 10:18 PM)
Maybank has a strategically stake their shares with Grab in exchange for a stake in Grab

Touch n Go majority shareholder one of them is CIMB with Ant Financial
cybpsych
post Jun 30 2021, 09:20 AM

---------------------
65,306 posts

Green Packet-led consortium to apply for Islamic digital bank licence | The Star

KUALA LUMPUR (Bernama) -- A consortium led by Green Packet Bhd, ZICO Holdings Inc (ZHI) and M24 Tawreeq Sdn Bhd has been formed to apply for one of five digital banking licences to be issued by Bank Negara.

In a joint statement today, the consortium said the application is aimed to establish an Islamic digital bank with several other strategic collaborators that would further complement the products and value-added services to be offered by the group.

The consortium said the decision to apply for an Islamic digital banking licence was founded on the desire to elevate the livelihoods of the unserved and underserved Malaysians, as espoused in the Shared Prosperity Vision 2030.
SUSTOS
post Jun 30 2021, 05:44 PM

8,667 posts

More details on iFAST's consortium.

They partner with Koperasi Angkatan Tentera and others.

https://links.sgx.com/FileOpen/iFAST_MY%20D...t&FileID=673073
SUSxander83
post Jun 30 2021, 06:36 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jun 30 2021, 05:44 PM)
More details on iFAST's consortium.

They partner with Koperasi Angkatan Tentera and others.

https://links.sgx.com/FileOpen/iFAST_MY%20D...t&FileID=673073
Looks promising on paper but execution is key

Most likely Affin will join as the financial partner later as current banking license doesn’t need to apply the new digital banking license as they can migrate easily from it if they want to with BNM blessings
SUSTOS
post Jun 30 2021, 08:14 PM

8,667 posts

Another contender last minute.

Aeon Credit. https://www.sinchew.com.my/content/content_2503389.html
jorgsacul
post Jun 30 2021, 09:51 PM

1,377 posts

BigEarPay coming to town soon

SUSxander83
post Jul 1 2021, 04:11 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(jorgsacul @ Jun 30 2021, 09:51 PM)
BigEarPay coming to town soon
BigPay should have MMF after that to secure more deposits for their digital bank rclxms.gif
cybpsych
post Jul 2 2021, 05:23 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

Latest update: Touch ‘n Go Group and MyMy confirm that they did not submit for a digital banking bid. The two parties are now no longer part of the bidding war
T231H
post Jul 4 2021, 11:54 AM

5,143 posts

13 Bursa-listed companies in the Digital Bank race
https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/research/ar...-race?src=funds

contestchris
post Jul 4 2021, 11:57 AM

5,551 posts

Banks shouldn’t be allowed to compete as they already have a full banking license. Only non banking entities should be allowed to compete, except for existing banking associates such as TNGD.
MUM
post Jul 4 2021, 12:00 PM

14,888 posts

In a statement today, the central bank said it may be issuing up to five licences, and successful applicants will be notified in the first quarter of 2022.

“A diverse range of parties have submitted applications for the digital bank licence, ranging from banks, industry conglomerates, technology firms, e-commerce operators, FinTech players, cooperatives and state governments,” it said.

BNM receives 29 applications for digital banking licences
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/bnm-...anking-licences
thecurious
post Jul 4 2021, 01:00 PM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 4 2021, 11:57 AM)
Banks shouldn’t be allowed to compete as they already have a full banking license. Only non banking entities should be allowed to compete, except for existing banking associates such as TNGD.
Curious to know your thoughts why banks should not operate a virtual bank?
Are you really that comfortable for some company completely outside of the industry to operate something as important as a banking institution?
contestchris
post Jul 4 2021, 01:41 PM

5,551 posts

QUOTE(thecurious @ Jul 4 2021, 01:00 PM)
Curious to know your thoughts why banks should not operate a virtual bank?
Are you really that comfortable for some company completely outside of the industry to operate something as important as a banking institution?
I mean, banks can in theory ALREADY operate a virtual banking arm. Conventional banking license applies to virtual banking license. Duh. For instance, recently I have applied for a Standard Chartered credit card with ZERO face-to-face interaction as a new to bank customer. Credit card sent to my home.

If they want, they can. Just that the local banks are not innovative, so they wanna tie up with Boost/SEA etc. RHB I mean is pathetic, I have credit facilities and savings account with them, yet they required to go to branch to pick up credit card. Mentality so worse than Standard Chartered.

So they should allow other unique entrants, let non-banking groups bring the fight to the banks, who have been resting on their laurels.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jul 4 2021, 01:45 PM
thecurious
post Jul 4 2021, 02:12 PM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 4 2021, 01:41 PM)
I mean, banks can in theory ALREADY operate a virtual banking arm. Conventional banking license applies to virtual banking license. Duh. For instance, recently I have applied for a Standard Chartered credit card with ZERO face-to-face interaction as a new to bank customer. Credit card sent to my home.

If they want, they can. Just that the local banks are not innovative, so they wanna tie up with Boost/SEA etc. RHB I mean is pathetic, I have credit facilities and savings account with them, yet they required to go to branch to pick up credit card. Mentality so worse than Standard Chartered.

So they should allow other unique entrants, let non-banking groups bring the fight to the banks, who have been resting on their laurels.
Maybe so they can try out new innovative ideas on their new joint venture or project without impacting their current core businesses and only incorporate them into their main business if it works out in the new projects?
Its good to see some banks partner with fintech to bring their expertise together.
Whether it turns out good or not, well who knows.
Tronoh
post Jul 4 2021, 04:07 PM

234 posts

Any banks that can give 2 days early paycheck like chime and moneylion get my vote

This post has been edited by Tronoh: Jul 4 2021, 04:09 PM
SUSxander83
post Jul 5 2021, 05:47 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

Banks join in because they don’t need the license but they want the customer base for them cross sell their current conventional products

They are actually to kill the competitors without putting any major investment rclxms.gif
SUSTOS
post Jul 5 2021, 11:24 AM

8,667 posts

That's my hope too. Banks' participation will distort the much needed competition in Malaysia's financial market.
RigerZ
post Sep 26 2021, 11:50 AM

On the way on the way
1,016 posts

What do you guys think of the applicants? Anyone has views on who may be more likely to get the license?

https://www.fsmone.com.my/stocks/research/a...mber?src=stocks

1. Boost + RHB (Axiata Group Bhd, RHB Bank Bhd)

2. PUC + Sabah + Pahang State Governments (Genting Bhd, Genting Plantations Bhd, PUC Bhd)

3. Sunway + Linklogis + Bangkok Bank (Sunway Bhd)

4. BigPay + MIDF + Ikhlas Capital + SK Group (AirAsia Group Bhd)

5.Hextar Global + Arcadia Acres + Ihsan Equity (Arcadia Acres is a major shareholder of Dagang NeXchange Bhd, Hextar Global Bhd)

6. AEON Credit Service + AEON Financial Service (AEON Credit Service (M) Bhd)

7. Boustead + Angkasa + undisclosed insurance brokerage (Boustead Holdings Bhd)

8. Paramount Corporation + Star Media Group + RCE Capital + Prosper Palm Oil Mill + undisclosed party (Paramount Corporation Bhd, Star Media Group Bhd, RCE Capital Bhd)

9. Revenue Group + Sarawak State Government + Kenanga Investment Bank (Revenue Group Bhd, Kenanga Investment Bank Bhd )

10. Green Packet + Zico Holdings + M24 Tawreeq (Green Packet Bhd)

11. Pertama Digital + Crowdo Holdings + INFOPRO (Pertama Digital Bhd)

12. Managepay Systems + 3 undisclosed parties (Managepay Systems Bhd)

Ramjade
post Sep 26 2021, 03:05 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Sep 26 2021, 11:50 AM)
What do you guys think of the applicants? Anyone has views on who may be more likely to get the license?

2. PUC + Sabah + Pahang State Governments (Genting Bhd, Genting Plantations Bhd, PUC Bhd)

5.Hextar Global + Arcadia Acres + Ihsan Equity (Arcadia Acres is a major shareholder of Dagang NeXchange Bhd, Hextar Global Bhd)

8. Paramount Corporation + Star Media Group + RCE Capital + Prosper Palm Oil Mill + undisclosed party (Paramount Corporation Bhd, Star Media Group Bhd, RCE Capital Bhd)

9. Revenue Group + Sarawak State Government + Kenanga Investment Bank (Revenue Group Bhd, Kenanga Investment Bank Bhd )

I have no need for digital banks as it's redundant as banks already are digital and have their own app. What would be nice is digital banks for countries like US, EU, UK which allow anyone to open an account while being in Malaysia.
cybpsych
post Oct 29 2021, 06:20 AM

---------------------
65,306 posts

SUSTOS
post Feb 11 2022, 07:27 PM

8,667 posts

We will know the winners next month.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/bank...anks-next-month
Tronoh
post Feb 11 2022, 09:37 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Sep 26 2021, 11:50 AM)

In terms of feature offering, except Grab, i don't see any who can offer more than MAE, and i don't even use MAE a lot. Can't just keep offering discounts to attract people. Anyway, whoever can offer top up via credit card + fund withdrawal gets my money
SUSxander83
post Feb 12 2022, 02:07 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Tronoh @ Feb 11 2022, 09:37 PM)
In terms of feature offering, except Grab, i don't see any who can offer more than MAE, and i don't even use MAE a lot. Can't just keep offering discounts to attract people. Anyway, whoever can offer top up via credit card + fund withdrawal gets my money
DEfinitely no no for CC top up doh.gif while fund withdrawal with cash top up is for sure available after seeing their sandbox testing rclxms.gif
MUM
post Feb 14 2022, 12:30 AM

14,888 posts

one of the winner?

KUALA LUMPUR (Feb 13): Al Rajhi Bank Malaysia (ARBM) has announced the appointment of Ikram Khaliq as its head of digital bank.
The move follows the announcement in December last year that the Islamic bank will be launching its digital bank this year.
This, Arsalaan said, is in line with the strategic thrusts of the Financial Sector Blueprint 2022-2026 which focuses on the advancement of digitalisation of the financial sector as well as Islamic finance leadership, on top of the government’s emphasis on digital technology as outlined in the 12th Malaysia Plan.

“We are excited to be here as the new workspace enables ARBM to grow our digital bank in line with our vision of becoming the No 1 Islamic innovation bank in Malaysia,” he added.

https://www.msn.com/en-my/money/topstories/...V?ocid=msedgntp

MilesAndMore
post Feb 14 2022, 11:13 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 14 2022, 12:30 AM)
one of the winner?

KUALA LUMPUR (Feb 13): Al Rajhi Bank Malaysia (ARBM) has announced the appointment of Ikram Khaliq as its head of digital bank.
The move follows the announcement in December last year that the Islamic bank will be launching its digital bank this year.
This, Arsalaan said, is in line with the strategic thrusts of the Financial Sector Blueprint 2022-2026 which focuses on the advancement of digitalisation of the financial sector as well as Islamic finance leadership, on top of the government’s emphasis on digital technology as outlined in the 12th Malaysia Plan.

“We are excited to be here as the new workspace enables ARBM to grow our digital bank in line with our vision of becoming the No 1 Islamic innovation bank in Malaysia,” he added.

Sounds like just a spin-off of the mother company - Al Rajhi Bank, similar to HSBC Direct that was a phone banking bank account.
SUSxander83
post Feb 15 2022, 01:37 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

one of the winner?

Another version OCBC Flex but Islamic Shariah type rclxms.gif
hafizredha
post Feb 15 2022, 12:42 PM

446 posts

one of the winner?

hopefully the deposit rate on par with OCBC Flex.
cybpsych
post Feb 15 2022, 01:09 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

Malaysian digital banks: 5 consortiums with high potential to get the licence

Tronoh
post Feb 15 2022, 02:47 PM

234 posts

one of the winner?

Seems like another digital bank leveraging on parent bank: Maybank/MAE, CIMB/Octo, Affin/A1addin, OCBC/Frank... Soon RHB/Boost
SUSTOS
post Mar 15 2022, 08:18 PM

8,667 posts

It's getting close. 5 license winners to be announced near end of the month.

https://www.sinchew.com.my/20220315/5%e5%be...88%83%e5%8a%8d/

This post has been edited by TOS: Mar 15 2022, 08:18 PM
cybpsych
post Mar 28 2022, 10:45 AM

---------------------
65,306 posts

BNM to notify 5 successful digital bank licence applicants soon
SUSTOS
post Mar 29 2022, 12:52 PM

8,667 posts

wjleong15
post Mar 30 2022, 10:47 PM

3,521 posts

CODE
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/bnm-says-make-digital-banking-licence-announcement-upon-legal-process-completion

BNM to make digital banking licence announcement upon completion of legal process

delay again...
SUSxander83
post Mar 31 2022, 01:18 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Mar 30 2022, 10:47 PM)
CODE
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/bnm-says-make-digital-banking-licence-announcement-upon-legal-process-completion

BNM to make digital banking licence announcement upon completion of legal process

delay again...
You believe nonsense from BNM doh.gif

It is basically to tip the scales towards the cronies instead doh.gif
tehoice
post Mar 31 2022, 10:32 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Mar 31 2022, 01:18 AM)
You believe nonsense from BNM  doh.gif

It is basically to tip the scales towards the cronies instead  doh.gif
LOL, in this case if we can't trust BNM, who can we trust? Xander?
SUSxander83
post Apr 1 2022, 02:23 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 31 2022, 10:32 AM)
LOL, in this case if we can't trust BNM, who can we trust? Xander?
1stly as a central bank legal compliance and process should be even completed before even start a tender process in the 1st place doh.gif

If you think BNM is trustable think again how much money have been swindled easily and no part and thanks BNM for allowing it as well doh.gif
Boneny
post Apr 13 2022, 10:51 PM

54 posts

It has been 2 weeks past due. What's going on?
!@#$%^
post Apr 13 2022, 11:40 PM

Safe Trader
17,500 posts

QUOTE(Boneny @ Apr 13 2022, 10:51 PM)
minum kopi, makan roti, kita semua gembira. if u know, u know.
SUSxander83
post Apr 14 2022, 12:19 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

Waiting for kickbacks from cronies to award the license to doh.gif
cybpsych
post Apr 14 2022, 06:42 AM

---------------------
65,306 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Mar 30 2022, 10:47 PM)
CODE

delay again...
work in progress lor

what's the rush?
SUSTOS
post Apr 28 2022, 11:06 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/bnm-...day-say-sources

Sources told The Edge the result will be announced this Friday.

This post has been edited by TOS: Apr 28 2022, 11:16 PM
tadashi987
post Apr 28 2022, 11:30 PM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 28 2022, 11:06 PM)
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/bnm-...day-say-sources

Sources told The Edge the result will be announced this Friday.
oh well tomorrow it is! drool.gif drool.gif
TSKadaj
post Apr 29 2022, 09:56 AM

586 posts

Front runners were said to include the 60:40 joint venture between RHB Bank Bhd and Axiata Group Bhd (via its fintech arm Boost); a JV between Grab Holdings Inc and Singapore’s telco group Singapore Telecommunications, with a consortium of investors that include the Kuok Group; and a consortium led by Sunway Bhd.

Also tipped as a front runner was YTL Corp Bhd, which has reportedly submitted a bid with Singapore’s Sea Group.

we will know the result soon..

This post has been edited by Kadaj: Apr 29 2022, 03:33 PM
Deathscythe@@
post Apr 29 2022, 10:24 AM

989 posts

Can hoot Bursa for fast gambling?
cybpsych
post Apr 29 2022, 03:19 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

Image Source: Fintechnews.my https://fintechnews.my/31002/virtual-bankin...laysia-winners/

Five successful applicants for the digital bank licences

https://www.bnm.gov.my/-/digital-bank-5-licences

Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) wishes to announce the five successful applicants for the digital bank licences as approved by the Minister of Finance Malaysia.

A. The following applicants are to be licensed under the Financial Services Act 2013 (FSA):

a consortium of Boost Holdings Sdn. Bhd. and RHB Bank Berhad;
a consortium led by GXS Bank Pte. Ltd. and Kuok Brothers Sdn. Bhd; and
a consortium led by Sea Limited and YTL Digital Capital Sdn Bhd.

B. The following applicants are to be licensed under the Islamic Financial Services Act 2013 (IFSA):

a consortium of AEON Financial Service Co., Ltd., AEON Credit Service (M) Berhad and MoneyLion Inc.; and
a consortium led by KAF Investment Bank Sdn. Bhd.

Three out of the five consortiums are majority-owned by Malaysians namely Boost Holdings and RHB Bank Berhad, Sea Limited and YTL Digital Capital Sdn. Bhd. and KAF Investment Bank Sdn. Bhd.

All 29 applications received were thoroughly assessed pursuant to section 10 (1) of FSA, and IFSA[1], which require BNM to consider all the factors in Schedule 5 of the Acts and other relevant policy requirements. The assessment criteria cover the character and integrity of applicants, nature and sufficiency of financial resources, soundness and feasibility of business and technology plans as well as ability to meaningfully address financial inclusion gaps. Applications were assessed on their individual merits, as well as relative to other applications based on consistent evaluations of each assessment criteria. This horizontal review is based on the assessment criteria applied across all applicants to determine the relative strength of each application and identify successful applicants.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Apr 29 2022, 04:33 PM
Tronoh
post Apr 29 2022, 03:42 PM

234 posts

BigPay with Capital L
Deathscythe@@
post Apr 29 2022, 03:46 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(Tronoh @ Apr 29 2022, 03:42 PM)
BigPay with Capital L
Not in the list right/?
l0g0ut
post Apr 29 2022, 03:49 PM

17 posts

no touch n go?
dudester
post Apr 29 2022, 03:52 PM

1,227 posts

who this a consortium led by KAF Investment Bank Sdn. Bhd.?
cybpsych
post Apr 29 2022, 04:11 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

QUOTE(l0g0ut @ Apr 29 2022, 03:49 PM)
no touch n go?
didnt submit the proposal

QUOTE(dudester @ Apr 29 2022, 03:52 PM)
who this a consortium led by KAF Investment Bank Sdn. Bhd.?
probably moneymatch

https://themalaysianreserve.com/2021/07/09/...nvestment-bank/

more info >> https://fintechnews.my/31002/virtual-bankin...laysia-winners/

KAF Investment Bank, MoneyMatch, Carsome and Jirnexu (Islamic)

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Apr 29 2022, 04:15 PM
Icehart
post Apr 29 2022, 04:52 PM

14,899 posts

Lol Moneymatch and Carsome??
SUSTOS
post Apr 29 2022, 05:32 PM

8,667 posts

Good. Now the results are out. Here's what to expect:

1. Promotional FD and saving rates of 3% p.a.or more to grab customers.

2. Ultra low loan rates to encourage you to borrow more.

3. Gain enough market share.

4. One year later, slaughter your customers by pulling the fish net, i.e. reduce saving interest rate. Continue promotions like "spin a wheel to grab 1 TSLA/AAPL share" but this time maybe spin the wheel and see how low your loan rates can be or how high your savings rate can be.

Forget about financial inclusion. (For BNM, it does not matter TnG loan rates can go up to 36% p.a., so why care?). It's profits that matter for shareholders.

Can expect more "virtual cards" issuance, which are good for stocks like Visa and Mastercard too. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOS: Apr 29 2022, 06:36 PM
ClarenceT
post Apr 29 2022, 06:20 PM

14,936 posts

QUOTE(l0g0ut @ Apr 29 2022, 03:49 PM)
no touch n go?
No need to apply. It's parent CIMB already has the banking license to offer digital banking services.
TSKadaj
post Apr 29 2022, 07:52 PM

586 posts

So how long it takes to start the business?
cybpsych
post Apr 29 2022, 08:38 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

QUOTE(Kadaj @ Apr 29 2022, 07:52 PM)
So how long it takes to start the business?
not so soon la

this is just approval on the proposal

need to do a lot of due diligence, setup organization, financial/collateral, governance, operation, policies & procedures, compliance & risk management, etc etc

TSKadaj
post Apr 30 2022, 06:09 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 29 2022, 08:38 PM)
not so soon la

this is just approval on the proposal

need to do a lot of due diligence, setup organization, financial/collateral, governance, operation, policies & procedures, compliance & risk management, etc etc
seems like 1 or 2 years more.
yayayaya
post Aug 17 2022, 01:38 PM

21 posts

What about for SMEs owners?
SUSBlackagar Boltagon
post Aug 21 2022, 05:24 PM

67 posts

Even after the announcement there seems very lukewarm response from the providers.
cybpsych
post Aug 21 2022, 08:01 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

QUOTE(Blackagar Boltagon @ Aug 21 2022, 05:24 PM)
Even after the announcement there seems very lukewarm response from the providers.
announcement means selection only. not ready for service.
Afterburner1.0
post Aug 25 2022, 01:26 PM

771 posts

Selection done in April ....Now alredi August.... wtf r those 5 digital bank doing? waiting for cows to come home? launched lar.... waiting for what???? 4 mths can't prepare all the eco system???

I hope they do offer FD with high rates.... the ZA bank form HK did not offer any FD at all .....
Tronoh
post Sep 26 2022, 07:37 PM

234 posts

Allegedly Grab has shortlisted these names for their digital bank: gbank, Geso bank, GX bank, and bangkit.

(personally I found all of them horrible)
hafizredha
post Sep 26 2022, 07:50 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(Tronoh @ Sep 26 2022, 07:37 PM)
Allegedly Grab has shortlisted these names for their digital bank: gbank, Geso bank, GX bank, and bangkit.

(personally I found all of them horrible)
Where to read?
Tronoh
post Sep 26 2022, 08:47 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(hafizredha @ Sep 26 2022, 07:50 PM)
Where to read?
They're sending questionnaires through the app
tadashi987
post Sep 26 2022, 09:22 PM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Aug 25 2022, 01:26 PM)
Selection done in April ....Now alredi August.... wtf r those 5 digital bank doing? waiting for cows to come home?  launched lar.... waiting for what???? 4 mths can't prepare all the eco system???

I hope they do offer FD with high rates.... the ZA bank form HK did not offer any FD at all .....
u thought launch a new solution is so easy kah hmm.gif
hafizredha
post Sep 26 2022, 10:14 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(Tronoh @ Sep 26 2022, 08:47 PM)
They're sending questionnaires through the app
Okay tq bos
cybpsych
post Oct 20 2022, 03:08 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

AEON's Islamic Digital Bank to Appoint Raja Teh Maimunah as CEO - Fintech News Malaysia

Ambank’s Managing Director of Wholesale Banking, Raja Teh Maimunah will be appointed as the CEO of Islamic digital bank consortium ACS Digital Berhad.

While the announcement has not been made official yet, Fintech News Malaysia has it from a credible source that she will step into her new role effective 1 December onwards.

The digital bank consortium comprises AEON Credit alongside its parent company AEON Financial Service and neobank MoneyLion.

It was one of the five entities that managed to snag a digital bank license from Bank Negara Malaysia in April this year.

ACS Digital is set to launch its operations by 2024 and is subject to its operational readiness following a review by the central bank.

Prior to joining Ambank in 2017, Raja Teh was the Managing Director and CEO of Hong Leong Islamic Bank. She also served as the COO of Digital Innovation and Transaction Banking at Hong Leong Group.

As a veteran banker, Raja Teh has also been attached to Bursa Malaysia, Kuwait Finance House, and CIMB among others.

cybpsych
post Mar 30 2023, 10:36 AM

---------------------
65,306 posts

ACS Digital is among the 5 recipients of Bank Negara Malaysia’s digital banking license — however before they were even able to launch MoneyLion unceremoniously pulled out from the consortium.

Raja Teh Maimunah, CEO, ACS Digital Berhad, remains bullish and explains how the group plans to chart their path forward.

cybpsych
post May 19 2023, 03:59 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

Axiata's Boost to leverage ecosystem as it prepares to launch its digital bank. Here’s how and why. [Q&A]

Malaysia central bank announced in April last year the five successful applicants for the digital bank licenses as approved by the Minister of Finance Malaysia. The country will have three digital banks licensed under the Financial Services Act 2013 (FSA) and two Islamic digital banks licensed under Islamic Financial Services Act 2014 (IFSA), according to reports then.

The consortium of Boost, telco Axiata‘s fintech arm and RHB Bank Bhd appeared as one of the successful applicants and has been awarded a digital banking license under FSA.

After almost one year, TechNode Global talked to Boost Group Chief Executive Officer Sheyantha Abeykoon to learn about the company’s plan and strategy as it prepares to launch one of the digital banks in the country.

SUSTOS
post Sep 5 2023, 05:56 PM

8,667 posts

GXBANK - GRAB-led digital bank - first to receive approval from Bank Negara Malaysia to commence operations

https://links.sgx.com/FileOpen/20230905-GXB...t&FileID=771616

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 5 2023, 05:56 PM
SUSTOS
post Sep 6 2023, 07:03 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 5 2023, 05:56 PM)
GXBANK - GRAB-led digital bank - first to receive approval from Bank Negara Malaysia to commence operations

Expect some promo FDs coming, which will disappear eventually... laugh.gif

https://www.sinchew.com.my/20230906/%e5%88%...ad%98%e6%ac%be/
ronnie
post Sep 7 2023, 05:31 PM

Not enough stars
21,310 posts

Hope Pei Si comes with a good FD deals better than RIZE
xander2k8
post Sep 8 2023, 09:58 AM

4,663 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 5 2023, 05:56 PM)

Not so soon 🤦‍♀️ only beta testing internally

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 7 2023, 05:31 PM)
Hope Pei Si comes with a good FD deals better than RIZE
You should be dreaming 🤦‍♀️ after what GXS Singapore rates are don’t expect anything higher than OPR
ronnie
post Sep 8 2023, 10:09 AM

Not enough stars
21,310 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Sep 8 2023, 09:58 AM)
Not so soon 🤦‍♀️ only beta testing internally
You should be dreaming 🤦‍♀️ after what GXS Singapore rates are don’t expect anything higher than OPR
cheh :-( cry.gif bye.gif
xander2k8
post Sep 8 2023, 03:39 PM

4,663 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 8 2023, 10:09 AM)
cheh :-(  cry.gif  bye.gif
Here’s preview what you will be getting

https://www.gxs.com.sg/save

Expect at least 100 basis points lower than OPR which most likely will give you around 1.88% 🤦‍♀️
cybpsych
post Jan 8 2024, 09:17 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

approved to operate from 15 Jan 2024

https://myboost.co/newsroom/boost-rhb-digit...nd-mof-commence
https://www.rhbgroup.com/files/others/highl...M20240108-1.pdf

L-R: Mohd Rashid Mohamad, Group Managing Director/Group Chief Executive Officer of RHB Banking Group | Fozia Amanulla, CEO of Boost Bank | Sheyantha Abeykoon, Group CEO of Boost | Vivek Sood, Group CEO of Axiata Group Berhad

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Jan 9 2024, 11:11 AM
nexona88
post Jan 8 2024, 09:57 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

AEON Bank - Malaysia's First Digital Islamic Bank gotten Approval from BNM to operate 🙏

Rollout by Qtr 1 2024 for public

Now beta testing for AEON staff first...

https://soyacincau.com/2024/01/08/aeon-bank...phased-rollout/

This post has been edited by nexona88: Jan 8 2024, 09:58 PM
cybpsych
post Jan 19 2024, 10:04 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

https://www.pidm.gov.my/en/how-we-protect-y...em/member-banks

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Jan 19 2024, 10:06 PM
cybpsych
post Feb 17 2024, 07:13 AM

---------------------
65,306 posts

Exciting news! AEON Bank will be launching this 2024! We want to onboard you for the grand reveal!

Secure your spot now for an easy, secure and enjoyable banking experience only with AEON!

Visit www.aeonbank.com.my and register now.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Feb 21 2024, 12:42 PM
ericlaiys
post Feb 17 2024, 08:41 AM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Feb 17 2024, 07:13 AM)
Exciting news! AEON Bank will be launching this 2024! We want to onboard you for the grand reveal!

Secure your spot now for an easy, secure and enjoyable banking experience only with AEON!

Visit www.aeonbank.com.my and register now.
registration already start since jan. yet not arrived. most likely repost to encourage low intake
SUSTOS
post Oct 10 2024, 10:11 AM

8,667 posts

Since this applies to all digital banks, let's post it here. (It applies to eWallets and Rize as well...)

Bloomberg Technology: Explainer
How Safe Is Your Money in a Fintech, Really?

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/202...ks-and-fintechs
SUSTOS
post Oct 30 2024, 01:49 PM

8,667 posts

A cautionary tale for those dreaming big about digital banking business: there is no money to be made...

FT Opinion | US & Canadian companies

The cautionary tale of Goldman and Apple’s credit card
Retail banking is not only harder than it looks but also heavily regulated by watchdogs who take their duties very seriously

by Brooke Masters (48 minutes ago)

https://www.ft.com/content/ede9f1fc-c1f5-4a...df-a182c6f9e922

SUSTOS
post Oct 30 2024, 04:46 PM

8,667 posts

No news from YTL-Sea digital bank yet... Expect to launch at year end... Expect another round of deposit war for the local banking sector...

https://www.pwc.com/my/en/assets/media/pwc-...tal-banking.pdf

KAF I think drop off completely already?
SUSTOS
post Nov 5 2024, 12:05 AM

8,667 posts

GX Bank and BoostBank joined ABM.

https://www.sinchew.com.my/news/20241104/nation/6047876

SUSTOS
post Nov 14 2024, 12:14 PM

8,667 posts

Not all digital banks lose money...

Bloomberg Technology: Nu Profit Soars as Digital Bank Logs Record Return on Equity

The firm added 5.3 million customers during the third quarter
It’s now Latin America’s most valuable financial institution

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/202...beats-estimates

Latin America has a different customer profile from Asia though.

BenChiew
post Nov 14 2024, 03:02 PM

343 posts

Aeon,GX, Boost, Rize. which is the 5th?
nexona88
post Nov 14 2024, 03:10 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

QUOTE(BenChiew @ Nov 14 2024, 03:02 PM)
Aeon,GX, Boost, Rize. which is the 5th?
Rize not officially in the 5 digital bank license given out by BNM...

It's just one of the product / sub of Al Rajhi Bank...

This post has been edited by nexona88: Nov 14 2024, 03:11 PM
Medufsaid
post Nov 14 2024, 03:10 PM

3,491 posts

BenChiew rize is not part of the 5. 2 more banks still haven't gone live yet
  • consortium of Sea Ltd and YTL Digital Capital Sdn Bhd
  • consortium led by KAF Investment Bank that includes Carsome, MoneyMatch and Jirnexu
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...o-digital-banks
BenChiew
post Nov 14 2024, 03:18 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 14 2024, 03:10 PM)
BenChiew rize is not part of the 5. 2 more banks still haven't gone live yet

• consortium of Sea Ltd and YTL Digital Capital Sdn Bhd
  • consortium led by KAF Investment Bank that includes Carsome, MoneyMatch and Jirnexu
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...o-digital-banks
Really pening with so many....and they all have some form of affinity membership.
TOS2
post Jan 13 2025, 11:07 PM

360 posts

KAF digital bank operations approved by BNM and MOF!

https://www.sinchew.com.my/news/20250113/finance/6217572

Ready for alpha stage testing soon!

https://fintechnews.my/47600/digital-bankin...f-digital-bank/

KAF official press release: https://www.kaf.com.my/Portals/0/KIB/Announ...%20Approval.pdf

This post has been edited by TOS2: Jan 13 2025, 11:09 PM
ronnie
post Jan 14 2025, 12:27 AM

Not enough stars
21,310 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Jan 13 2025, 11:07 PM)
Let's start with 5% p.a. For KAF
nexona88
post Jan 14 2025, 08:22 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Jan 13 2025, 11:07 PM)
Please Open up one new Topic for this latest Digital Bank for our discussion ☺️
TOS2
post Jan 14 2025, 10:17 PM

360 posts

Alright, Ryt going online soon, the last of the 5 digital banks.

https://www.lowyat.net/2025/340918/ytl-laun...d-digital-bank/

https://www.linkedin.com/posts/rytbankmy_ry...=member_android

This post has been edited by TOS2: Jan 14 2025, 10:18 PM
nexona88
post Jan 15 2025, 12:32 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Jan 14 2025, 10:17 PM)
Hmm...

AI generated personalized banking using customer behavior...

It's sure gonna be one messy banking platform 😕

First in Malaysia btw
Good try by YTL 👍
wjleong15
post Jan 15 2025, 03:36 PM

3,521 posts

Can see the eligibility and fees for Ryt bank on their website tnc page https://www.rytbank.my/general-terms-and-conditions

and
https://www.rytbank.my/fees-and-limits

Maniee27
post Jan 15 2025, 04:39 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Jan 14 2025, 10:17 PM)
is it really a good idea to allow customers to perform bank transfers via images or chat? Sounds like it'll backfire easily, dunno how BNM can approve this.
TOS2
post Jan 15 2025, 05:05 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(Maniee27 @ Jan 15 2025, 04:39 PM)
is it really a good idea to allow customers to perform bank transfers via images or chat? Sounds like it'll backfire easily, dunno how BNM can approve this.
Yep, with scammers calling you every now and then, and 5-6 digit deposits at stake, surely old uncles and aunties won't touch this.

But if we play round up trick and given the limited promotion period of a couple of months, the risk might be worth taking. (Banks don't give you 5% forever. We know their tactics too well with GX Bank and BoostBank.)

If the long-run rate stays at 2% with 10 saving pockets ala GX Bank, the most scammers can get out of you is 1003.75-1006.50, depending on whether it's calendar year or leap year.

I hope the AI part can be made optional or turned off though, that way we can reduce the chance of scams and/or unauthorized withdrawals.
Maniee27
post Jan 15 2025, 06:13 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Jan 15 2025, 05:05 PM)
Yep, with scammers calling you every now and then, and 5-6 digit deposits at stake, surely old uncles and aunties won't touch this.

But if we play round up trick and given the limited promotion period of a couple of months, the risk might be worth taking. (Banks don't give you 5% forever. We know their tactics too well with GX Bank and BoostBank.)

If the long-run rate stays at 2% with 10 saving pockets ala GX Bank, the most scammers can get out of you is 1003.75-1006.50, depending on whether it's calendar year or leap year.

I hope the AI part can be made optional or turned off though, that way we can reduce the chance of scams and/or unauthorized withdrawals.
yea, it provides scammers more avenues for exploitation and fraudulent activities.. as if malaysians haven't been scammed enough.

It should be opted out by default. I'd rather have them force users to setup more authentications.. MFA and biometrics to enable it, even still i feel its not sufficiently secure.

This post has been edited by Maniee27: Jan 15 2025, 06:14 PM
TOS2
post Feb 14 2025, 11:01 PM

360 posts

Progress:

KAF Digital Bank and Ryt Bank Now Covered Under PIDM’s Deposit Insurance
Depositors are covered up to RM250,000 per depositor per member bank.

https://fintechnews.my/48052/digital-bankin...a/pidm-kaf-ryt/
TOS2
post Mar 10 2025, 09:28 AM

360 posts

Ryt bank will likely start business on the 27th? https://www.rytbank.my/general-terms-and-co...erms-conditions

We know for now saving pockets will be available, all daily interests. The maximum amount of saving pockets, interest rates for main account and saving pockets are not yet known.

This post has been edited by TOS2: Mar 10 2025, 09:29 AM
nexona88
post Mar 10 2025, 09:52 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Mar 10 2025, 09:28 AM)
Ryt bank will likely start business on the 27th? https://www.rytbank.my/general-terms-and-co...erms-conditions

We know for now saving pockets will be available, all daily interests. The maximum amount of saving pockets, interest rates for main account and saving pockets are not yet known.
Keep all of us updated...

If comes live...

Then open back the thread @ topic 😁
TOS2
post Mar 10 2025, 09:56 AM

360 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 10 2025, 09:52 AM)
Keep all of us updated...

If comes live...

Then open back the thread @ topic 😁
There is no thread for Ryt. Last time the one kena complained is the KAF digital bank thread.
nexona88
post Mar 10 2025, 10:01 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Mar 10 2025, 09:56 AM)
There is no thread for Ryt. Last time the one kena complained is the KAF digital bank thread.
Ooh..

Too much digital banks around, keep confusing which is which is open or locked....

Anyway let's see their offering can beat whatever available in market now or not 🙏

😁
ericlaiys
post Mar 10 2025, 06:53 PM

7,566 posts

KAF digital bank is called onzbanking. Who want to become beta tester can go https://www.onzbanking.com/english.
After submit, they will email you to fill up survey
nexona88
post Mar 10 2025, 07:58 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Mar 10 2025, 06:53 PM)
KAF digital bank is called onzbanking. Who want to become beta tester can go https://www.onzbanking.com/english.
After submit, they will email you to fill up survey
TOS2 you might want to change the old name to OnzBanking 🙏
TOS2
post Mar 26 2025, 09:16 PM

360 posts

Ryt about to go online tomorrow...

https://www.rytbank.my/

Already can see how the registration page looks like in the homepage link (scroll to bottom).

Still no idea what rates will they give...

The preparation seems very good, a lot more well-prepared than other digital banks. T&C all up liao. Looking forward to this one.

This post has been edited by TOS2: Mar 26 2025, 09:17 PM
nfivez P
post Mar 26 2025, 09:31 PM

Probation

Ryt does look good, hope they set low limit for AI transfer though, or a toggle to not use it at all
ikanbilis
post Mar 26 2025, 09:34 PM

Trusted member since 2003
2,543 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Mar 26 2025, 09:16 PM)
Ryt about to go online tomorrow...

https://www.rytbank.my/

Already can see how the registration page looks like in the homepage link (scroll to bottom).

Still no idea what rates will they give...

The preparation seems very good, a lot more well-prepared than other digital banks. T&C all up liao. Looking forward to this one.
If 3% i will move my money from Gxbank to Rytbank biggrin.gif

TOS2
post Mar 26 2025, 09:38 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Mar 26 2025, 09:34 PM)

AHA you found it!

3% p.a. it is

Accountant's eye still the sharpest! laugh.gif
ericlaiys
post Mar 26 2025, 11:13 PM

7,566 posts

May be 12 am can register
nexona88
post Mar 26 2025, 11:40 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

Ahhh

Nice 👍

3% p.a paid daily basis
Ramjade
post Mar 27 2025, 12:06 AM

24,354 posts

Don't know how long they can sustain the 3%p.a interest.
koja6049
post Mar 27 2025, 12:17 AM

612 posts

searched playstore, app not up yet
Pat89
post Mar 27 2025, 07:37 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 27 2025, 01:17 AM)
Same, Apple play store is not available either
poooky
post Mar 27 2025, 08:12 AM

840 posts

But why? Boost normal and celebration jars already giving 3%. Raya jar 3.3%
Pat89
post Mar 27 2025, 08:18 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Mar 27 2025, 09:12 AM)
Yes, correct but their app is not stable all the time. Took ages for the CS to response, lousy app to be honest mega_shok.gif
nexona88
post Mar 27 2025, 08:21 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 27 2025, 12:17 AM)
QUOTE(Pat89 @ Mar 27 2025, 07:37 AM)
Same, Apple play store is not available either
Probably later today or tomorrow only?? 🤔🧐
Pat89
post Mar 27 2025, 08:29 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 27 2025, 09:21 AM)
Probably later today or tomorrow only?? 🤔🧐
Yeah, I thought the same as well. They might want to make sure their server don't crash suddenly haha
ericlaiys
post Mar 27 2025, 08:45 AM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Mar 27 2025, 08:12 AM)
ryt smart. no point give higher 3% as all digital bank exhausted marketing money, raya jar going to end soon.
ikanbilis
post Mar 27 2025, 11:08 AM

Trusted member since 2003
2,543 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Mar 27 2025, 08:12 AM)
I like gxbank for its stability even though interest is only 2%. But if ryt can provide the same stability with higher interest rate, why not?
nexona88
post Mar 27 2025, 11:17 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Mar 27 2025, 08:29 AM)
Yeah, I thought the same as well. They might want to make sure their server don't crash suddenly haha
It's also means they're planning very well... Learn from others digital banks mistake
Pat89
post Mar 27 2025, 11:45 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 27 2025, 12:17 PM)
It's also means they're planning very well... Learn from others digital banks mistake
True, they must have been silently watching other digital banks issues and rectify before launch it.
TongCN
post Mar 27 2025, 11:53 AM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,655 posts

still maintain GX RM92 * 11 better rate right ?

Though puny munny XD
koja6049
post Mar 27 2025, 01:36 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Mar 27 2025, 11:53 AM)
still maintain GX RM92 * 11 better rate right ?

Though puny munny XD
never really understood why people like to play these rounding games.

I use these high-interest digital banks as a substitute for 1-mth fd, usually just for my temporary funds before moving them to stocks/property/epf/asm etc. smile.gif
Pat89
post Mar 27 2025, 01:37 PM

2,092 posts

It's about to go live soon guys, Ryt webpage is now with more information.

Pockets comes with 4% rate p.a. paid daily

This post has been edited by Pat89: Mar 27 2025, 02:00 PM
koja6049
post Mar 27 2025, 01:44 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Mar 27 2025, 01:37 PM)
It's about to go live soon guys, Ryt webpage is now with more information.

Pockets comes with 3% rate p.a. paid daily

tried to scan the QR, item not found biggrin.gif
Pat89
post Mar 27 2025, 01:47 PM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 27 2025, 02:44 PM)
tried to scan the QR, item not found  biggrin.gif
Hahah yeah, I think they activating one by one.
TOS2
post Mar 27 2025, 01:59 PM

360 posts

Lai liao lai liao!

Yeaaaa!

Pat89
post Mar 27 2025, 02:00 PM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Mar 27 2025, 02:59 PM)
Lai liao lai liao!

Yeaaaa!

DAMN! Moving all my money immediately after they launch from GX bank! cool2.gif
TOS2
post Mar 27 2025, 02:02 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Mar 27 2025, 02:00 PM)
DAMN! Moving all my money immediately after they launch from GX bank!  cool2.gif
Gonna check for steadiness first, if IT as terrible as BoostBank, yet customer service not as good as Rize, then jialat. laugh.gif
Pat89
post Mar 27 2025, 02:06 PM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Mar 27 2025, 03:02 PM)
Gonna check for steadiness first, if IT as terrible as BoostBank, yet customer service not as good as Rize, then jialat. laugh.gif
Knowing YTL with their IT backbone capability, don't think it's going to be a problem but remain open for argument.

Regardless, they would already checking silently on the comments and issues that other digital banking that is facing to rectify their issue internally before launching.
Pat89
post Mar 27 2025, 02:08 PM

2,092 posts

App is now live!

Update : unable to register just yet

This post has been edited by Pat89: Mar 27 2025, 02:15 PM
nexona88
post Mar 27 2025, 02:09 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Mar 27 2025, 01:59 PM)
Lai liao lai liao!

Yeaaaa!

Wahhhh...

Not bad Not Bad 👍
nexona88
post Mar 27 2025, 02:11 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

I think need to open up specific topic on RytBank to discuss more.....

Correct ahhh boss TOS2 😁
TOS2
post Mar 27 2025, 02:20 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 27 2025, 02:11 PM)
I think need to open up specific topic on RytBank to discuss more.....

Correct ahhh boss TOS2 😁
You open lah.. All info online liao. App interface, rates, charges etc. all available.

Later people report me again...
koja6049
post Mar 27 2025, 02:21 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Mar 27 2025, 02:08 PM)
App is now live!

Update : unable to register just yet
for ios? playstore not yet sad.gif
TOS2
post Mar 27 2025, 02:23 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 27 2025, 02:21 PM)
for ios? playstore not yet  sad.gif
Same observation.
Pat89
post Mar 27 2025, 02:24 PM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 27 2025, 03:21 PM)
for ios? playstore not yet  sad.gif
Yes iOS, I scanned few time but not to avail then suddenly the QR redirect to App Store.

Tried to sign up but join on the wait list first as they are not officially launch yet. Need to provide email address, they will send invitation once they officially launch it seems. sweat.gif
theevilman1909
post Mar 27 2025, 02:41 PM

3,963 posts

Lai liao lai liao!

Yeaaaa!

I'm coming baby rclxm9.gif

moving all my money asap sweat.gif
ericlaiys
post Mar 27 2025, 02:54 PM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Mar 27 2025, 02:41 PM)
I'm coming baby  rclxm9.gif

moving all my money asap  sweat.gif
not yet open. look like waitlist rather than open to all
MrBaba
post Mar 27 2025, 02:55 PM

2,506 posts

Fyi all digital bank this year lose alot money kao kao
Pat89
post Mar 27 2025, 02:57 PM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Mar 27 2025, 03:54 PM)
Yes, wait list first.

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Mar 27 2025, 03:55 PM)
true, enjoy the 4% first while can haha
theevilman1909
post Mar 27 2025, 02:58 PM

3,963 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Mar 27 2025, 02:54 PM)
then when actually open to all hmm.gif
koja6049
post Mar 27 2025, 03:01 PM

612 posts

Lai liao lai liao!

Yeaaaa!

Why so fast amend already???

TOS2
post Mar 27 2025, 03:05 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 27 2025, 03:01 PM)

Either typo, or internal decision not yet finalized...

You know, those startups. Move fast to break things...

More likely typo, since yesterday they say up to 3% p.a.
theevilman1909
post Mar 27 2025, 03:07 PM

3,963 posts

Save Pockets No more 4% now?

up to 3% p.a like Main Account
Pat89
post Mar 27 2025, 03:08 PM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 27 2025, 04:01 PM)

Haiya,so fast change even before officially launched. But ok lah 3% main account and pocket also 3% better than GX bank for NOW
TongCN
post Mar 27 2025, 03:25 PM

6,655 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 27 2025, 01:36 PM)
never really understood why people like to play these rounding games.

I use these high-interest digital banks as a substitute for 1-mth fd, usually just for my temporary funds before moving them to stocks/property/epf/asm etc. smile.gif
My GX bank is like a backup money resting there XD (maintaining RM92x11)

When emergency need money you cant rely on only one bank which suddenly haywire when u need it or withdraw ur FD immediately.
TongCN
post Mar 27 2025, 03:31 PM

6,655 posts

iOS just now 5 minutes ago cannot find

5 minutes later now : found
ericlaiys
post Mar 27 2025, 03:48 PM

7,566 posts

waiting list and download app first. most likely wont open to all as raya coming.
TongCN
post Mar 27 2025, 03:51 PM

6,655 posts

Feels like the most ... plain launch ?

I dun see any promo things being advertised like GX bank open account give RM8 or Grab Unlimited 6 months free
cybpsych
post Mar 27 2025, 04:08 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Mar 27 2025, 02:55 PM)
all will lose and not breakeven in first few years of operation la

not easy to win banking license and have enough capital to last you the tough initial period, then to grow into breakeven/profitable stage
nexona88
post Mar 27 2025, 07:59 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

Lose money their problem...

As long they give benefits to us. Already good enough...

Just need to make sure back end system is stable enough to withstand all the transactions traffic....
sadukarzz
post Mar 27 2025, 08:03 PM

782 posts

And many other banks record profit QoQ YoY

It's common for new businesses to sustain losses to grow market share

Also phase where competition will happen and weaker ones are weeded out
wjleong15
post Mar 28 2025, 01:34 PM

3,521 posts

onz will have apple pay enable? 5% for first 2k? weekly payout interest?

https://www.onzbanking.com/retail-savings-account
ericlaiys
post Mar 28 2025, 02:41 PM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Mar 28 2025, 01:34 PM)

not apple pay. most likely internal beta tester test period, RM0 - 2k -5%, above 2k is 2%. So beta tester only put less than 2k. no point put more.

already submitted as waiting list but not result to join

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Mar 28 2025, 02:41 PM
Pat89
post Mar 28 2025, 02:51 PM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Mar 28 2025, 03:41 PM)
not apple pay. most likely internal beta tester test period, RM0 - 2k -5%, above 2k is 2%. So beta tester only put less than 2k. no point put more.

already submitted as waiting list but not result to join
Got apple pay, stated in their website

ericlaiys
post Mar 28 2025, 03:15 PM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Mar 28 2025, 02:51 PM)
Got apple pay, stated in their website

ooo....let wait and see. may be their plan like other digital bank. even apple pay does not list kaf
koja6049
post Mar 28 2025, 11:24 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Mar 28 2025, 01:34 PM)

this is just a mock-up, i check the qr, leads to a fake figma file
wjleong15
post Mar 29 2025, 01:02 PM

3,521 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 28 2025, 11:24 PM)
this is just a mock-up, i check the qr, leads to a fake figma file
they still working on their website I guess but not sure why their developer did not block the bot to visit
it is visible on google many subpages
unprofessional it doh.gif
koja6049
post Mar 29 2025, 01:29 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Mar 29 2025, 01:02 PM)
they still working on their website I guess but not sure why their developer did not block the bot to visit
it is visible on google many subpages
unprofessional it  doh.gif
yea, I commented on the other onzbanking thread that the whole website seems to be designed by some Gen-Z kid, the way the promo is written and etc. To me is not professional at all, or it could be just a generational thing biggrin.gif
nexona88
post Mar 29 2025, 02:34 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 29 2025, 01:29 PM)
yea, I commented on the other onzbanking thread that the whole website seems to be designed by some Gen-Z kid, the way the promo is written and etc. To me is not professional at all, or it could be just a generational thing  biggrin.gif
Their target market is on Gen Z kids???

Need to give unique offering to survive & capture market shares 🤔🧐
Mr Gray
post Mar 30 2025, 09:15 AM

926 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 29 2025, 01:29 PM)
yea, I commented on the other onzbanking thread that the whole website seems to be designed by some Gen-Z kid, the way the promo is written and etc. To me is not professional at all, or it could be just a generational thing  biggrin.gif
I have the same thought too. The name, all the cartoons, the website seems very childish and unprofessional. And not to mention the color is so ugly.

We'll see if it can attract Gen Z or not. I doubt it though.

This post has been edited by Mr Gray: Mar 30 2025, 09:16 AM
TOS2
post Apr 2 2025, 10:54 AM

360 posts

KAF and Ryt bank Android app now available on Play Store.

Cannot register official account, only waitlist available.

This post has been edited by TOS2: Apr 2 2025, 10:54 AM
Pat89
post Apr 2 2025, 11:35 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Apr 2 2025, 11:54 AM)
KAF and Ryt bank Android app now available on Play Store.

Cannot register official account, only waitlist available.
Yes, only waitlist for now, both iOS and Androi
ericlaiys
post Apr 2 2025, 04:34 PM

7,566 posts

how come ryt no dedicated thread?
nexona88
post Apr 2 2025, 05:31 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Apr 2 2025, 04:34 PM)
how come ryt no dedicated thread?
Some people keep mass report unnecessarily.... Until original TOS profile gotten SUS'ed become TOS2 now....

Don't want to take risk...

I also scared to open any new topic here... Too much kaki report around...
Natsukashii
post Apr 2 2025, 08:13 PM

^^
1,084 posts

Both KAF and Ryt is new, I think freshly built.. but Ryt looks way more polished than KAF
Pat89
post Apr 3 2025, 08:37 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Apr 2 2025, 09:13 PM)
Both KAF and Ryt is new, I think freshly built.. but Ryt looks way more polished than KAF
Agreed, Ryt seems to be shiny but too early to comment
ericlaiys
post Apr 3 2025, 09:49 AM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Apr 3 2025, 08:37 AM)
Agreed, Ryt seems to be shiny but too early to comment
ryt may get some input from maribank. dont forget SEA owned maribank (ryt with YTL). So can expect stability like gxbank

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Apr 3 2025, 10:24 AM
Pat89
post Apr 3 2025, 10:02 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Apr 3 2025, 10:49 AM)
ryt may get some input from maribank. dont forget SEA owned maribank with YTL. So can expect stability like gxbank
Trues, can't wait to experience their new features rclxm9.gif
ericlaiys
post Apr 3 2025, 12:38 PM

7,566 posts

KAF need to submit document. Are we applying saving account or credit card?
Sorry, i will skip this bank

Quote:
It will offer a basic savings account along with a premium savings account, but to get upgraded to the latter, you only need to submit a payslip, an EA form, a monthly commission statement, an EPF statement, or a three-month bank statement.
Pat89
post Apr 3 2025, 12:50 PM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Apr 3 2025, 01:38 PM)

Quote:
It will offer a basic savings account along with a premium savings account, but to get upgraded to the latter, you only need to submit a payslip, an EA form, a monthly commission statement, an EPF statement, or a three-month bank statement.
Wait, the got credit card? shocking.gif
ericlaiys
post Apr 3 2025, 02:15 PM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Apr 3 2025, 12:50 PM)
Wait, the got credit card?  shocking.gif
no cc, that why i dont understand why need so detail req
nexona88
post Apr 3 2025, 02:19 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Apr 3 2025, 12:38 PM)

Quote:
Scared of money laundering???

Mules account??

List goes on...
AlexisStarZ
post Apr 3 2025, 11:37 PM

320 posts

downloaded ryt bank apps

understand that the apps is open waiting list, but when I press get started and key in my number to receive otp, it keep said "this number cannot be registered"

Am I doing anything wrong?

This post has been edited by AlexisStarZ: Apr 3 2025, 11:39 PM
ericlaiys
post Apr 4 2025, 12:13 AM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(AlexisStarZ @ Apr 3 2025, 11:37 PM)
downloaded ryt bank apps

understand that the apps is open waiting list, but when I press get started and key in my number to receive otp, it keep said "this number cannot be registered"

Am I doing anything wrong?
i can , get otp. no problem
AlexisStarZ
post Apr 4 2025, 12:26 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Apr 4 2025, 12:13 AM)
i can , get otp. no problem
weird, I try my sibling and parent phone number also having same issue hmm.gif

*all try on my phone

**edit, found the culprit, disable the dns on my phone then can work sweat.gif

This post has been edited by AlexisStarZ: Apr 4 2025, 12:29 AM
Pat89
post Apr 4 2025, 07:26 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Apr 3 2025, 03:15 PM)
no cc, that why i dont understand why need so detail req
That is so weird! Don't think I'm going to sign up for it.
Natsukashii
post Apr 4 2025, 11:13 AM

^^
1,084 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Apr 3 2025, 09:49 AM)
ryt may get some input from maribank. dont forget SEA owned maribank (ryt with YTL). So can expect stability like gxbank
May get... so this is unconfirmed? Source?
Pat89
post Apr 14 2025, 02:55 PM

2,092 posts

What is happening to Ryt bank, seems very quiet.
ronnie
post Apr 15 2025, 08:24 AM

Not enough stars
21,310 posts

QUOTE(Pat89 @ Apr 14 2025, 02:55 PM)
still choosing the Ryt time
ericlaiys
post Apr 15 2025, 09:43 AM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 15 2025, 08:24 AM)
still choosing the Ryt time
now selected beta user testing & bug fix. mostly likely may/june . same timing like other digital bank public release last time
TongCN
post Apr 15 2025, 02:27 PM

6,655 posts

better stable before release

Dun wan later AI cheat all my money XD
nexona88
post Apr 15 2025, 08:03 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

Beta Testing initial stage...

Slow steady & to lessened any bugs or errors
Jason
post Apr 18 2025, 02:18 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Apr 3 2025, 12:38 PM)

Quote:
i thot digital bank to help underserved market? hahaha. this 1 macam premier wealth client.
wjleong15
post Apr 28 2025, 06:20 AM

3,521 posts

Onz start beta
Ryt no news yet for beta user?
TOS2
post Apr 29 2025, 09:06 PM

360 posts

Maximum 10 saving pockets for Ryt, according to Help & Support page.

Each one 3% p.a., plus main account, that would mean magic number of 0.005*365/0.03 = 60.84 * 11 = 669.24 MYR deposit for Ryt when they are up and running.

https://support.rytbank.my/portal/en/kb/art...ntain-at-a-time

DuitNow QR also appears in the Help & Support page, so likely will roll out at the same time during the app launch.

No mention of cards though... no debit card... no credit card.

This post has been edited by TOS2: Apr 29 2025, 09:11 PM
Pat89
post Apr 30 2025, 07:22 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Apr 29 2025, 10:06 PM)

Each one 3% p.a., plus main account, that would mean magic number of 0.005*365/0.03 = 60.84 * 11 = 669.24 MYR deposit for Ryt when they are up and running.

DuitNow QR also appears in the Help & Support page, so likely will roll out at the same time during the app launch.

Yes, according to their latest app update in iOS
Natsukashii
post Apr 30 2025, 01:57 PM

^^
1,084 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Apr 29 2025, 09:06 PM)

No digital bank has credit card.. and I think if gonna start one, probably GX make it first.

GX Singapore has it..
ericlaiys
post Apr 30 2025, 02:25 PM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Apr 30 2025, 01:57 PM)
No digital bank has credit card.. and I think if gonna start one, probably GX make it first.

GX Singapore has it..
i doubt so. even aeon bank got term deposit already
TOS2
post May 28 2025, 09:52 AM

360 posts

Already end of May and still no sign of Ryt Bank.

Most recent FB post says it will take longer than expected. Probably AI model failed to deliver as expected...
Pat89
post May 28 2025, 11:07 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ May 28 2025, 10:52 AM)
Already end of May and still no sign of Ryt Bank.

Most recent FB post says it will take longer than expected. Probably AI model failed to deliver as expected...
I tired of waiting for them and put my money in FD hahahaha
TongCN
post May 30 2025, 10:46 AM

6,655 posts

Yesterday there's this update on iOS but still .. ?
ericlaiys
post May 30 2025, 03:40 PM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ May 30 2025, 10:46 AM)
Yesterday there's this update on iOS but still .. ?
bug fix for beta tester.
SydneyKL
post Jun 3 2025, 06:55 PM

91 posts

https://www.rytbank.my/savings-account

SydneyKL
post Jun 5 2025, 03:53 PM

91 posts

Islamic digital bank by Bank Muamalat available for IOS. Android coming soon.

This post has been edited by SydneyKL: Jun 8 2025, 04:27 PM
wjleong15
post Jun 7 2025, 11:12 AM

3,521 posts

QUOTE(SydneyKL @ Jun 5 2025, 03:53 PM)

Islamic digital bank by Bank Muamalat
Unable to complete sign up process today
Last stage to submit keep appearing error
ericlaiys
post Jun 7 2025, 01:11 PM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Jun 7 2025, 11:12 AM)
what is the benefit?
terriblyrawtea
post Jun 7 2025, 01:15 PM

100 posts

Islamic digital bank by Bank Muamalat
i thought only got 5 licenses? is this not considered like Rize?
ericlaiys
post Jun 7 2025, 01:26 PM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(terriblyrawtea @ Jun 7 2025, 01:15 PM)
i thought only got 5 licenses? is this not considered like Rize?
all bank can release separate app as got license to do so. It just like
Al Rahji -> Rize
Bank Islam -> BEU
Muamalat -> Atlas
Hlb -> HLB Ewallet (use same app)
MBB -> MAE (use same app)
terriblyrawtea
post Jun 7 2025, 01:33 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jun 7 2025, 01:26 PM)
Al Rahji -> Rize
Bank Islam -> BEU
Muamalat -> Atlas
that means boostbank doesn't count because its a joint venture between RHB & Boost?
ericlaiys
post Jun 7 2025, 02:08 PM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(terriblyrawtea @ Jun 7 2025, 01:33 PM)
that means boostbank doesn't count because its a joint venture between RHB & Boost?
Boost bank is official digital bank. Separate from RHB. Can you go rhb and tell them about Boost bank problem????
Two separate entity. RHB got shares and different management
terriblyrawtea
post Jun 7 2025, 02:27 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jun 7 2025, 02:08 PM)
Boost bank is official digital bank. Separate from RHB. Can you go rhb and tell them about Boost bank problem????
Two separate entity. RHB got shares and different management
can try
nexona88
post Jun 7 2025, 03:42 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jun 7 2025, 01:26 PM)
Al Rahji -> Rize
Bank Islam -> BEU
Muamalat -> Atlas
Malaysia is pushing more towards digital banking... Cashless transaction society...

No surprise existing old banks giant also jumping into apps based banking....
SydneyKL
post Jun 8 2025, 04:25 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Jun 7 2025, 11:12 AM)
Call +60320215888 or email: ask@atlasmuamalat.com.my
koja6049
post Jul 10 2025, 11:22 PM

612 posts

Waited for so long, today an email came that says: wait some more sweat.gif
!@#$%^
post Jul 11 2025, 03:39 AM

Safe Trader
17,500 posts

Islamic digital bank by Bank Muamalat available for IOS. Android coming soon.
any sign up benefit? and what's the banking benefit?
cybpsych
post Jul 11 2025, 07:23 AM

---------------------
65,306 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jul 11 2025, 03:39 AM)
any sign up benefit? and what's the banking benefit?
topic here https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5530476
nexona88
post Jul 11 2025, 08:26 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Jul 10 2025, 11:22 PM)

Waited for so long, today an email came that says: wait some more  sweat.gif
They not ready yet...

Seems good indicator they want to do the best...

Probably same level as GX.... Almost perfect launch 😁
Natsukashii
post Jul 25 2025, 12:24 PM

^^
1,084 posts

I got SMS from Ryt:
RM0.00 Ryt Bank: You’ve missed out on 3 days of earning 3% p.a. interest paid daily! Complete your Ryt Bank sign-up, its as fast as 2 min!

Then when I attempt to register, selfie verification kept failing

Definitely not phone issue, been fine with other apps/banks

Will try again later.
ericlaiys
post Jul 25 2025, 12:25 PM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Jul 25 2025, 12:24 PM)
I got SMS from Ryt:
RM0.00 Ryt Bank: You’ve missed out on 3 days of earning 3% p.a. interest paid daily! Complete your Ryt Bank sign-up, its as fast as 2 min!

Then when I attempt to register, selfie verification kept failing

Definitely not phone issue, been fine with other apps/banks

Will try again later.
u so lucky...so envy
Natsukashii
post Jul 25 2025, 12:30 PM

^^
1,084 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jul 25 2025, 12:25 PM)
u so lucky...so envy
No reason to envy me for this. I am nobody. I no money, no honey. My amanah saham also zero, epf also achieved mininum saving only.
cybpsych
post Aug 13 2025, 09:31 AM

---------------------
65,306 posts

Ryt Bank First Look. Malaysia's first AI-powered Digital Bank

Malaysia’s newest Digital Bank, Ryt Bank, is launching very soon on 26th August but they are now offering early access during the ASEAN AI Malaysia Summit 2025. Although this digital bank is the last among the 5 licensees to roll out to the public, the YTL Group x Sea Limited joint venture is banking on AI as its key differentiator.

BWassup
post Aug 15 2025, 03:30 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 13 2025, 09:31 AM)
Ryt Bank First Look. Malaysia's first AI-powered Digital Bank

Malaysia’s newest Digital Bank, Ryt Bank, is launching very soon on 26th August but they are now offering early access during the ASEAN AI Malaysia Summit 2025. Although this digital bank is the last among the 5 licensees to roll out to the public, the YTL Group x Sea Limited joint venture is banking on AI as its key differentiator.

3% interest rate for main savings account & savings pockets? Not terribly exciting. Hopefully will have some launching promos
xiaomoon
post Aug 15 2025, 08:16 PM

1,444 posts

poooky
post Aug 16 2025, 09:40 AM

840 posts

QUOTE(BWassup @ Aug 15 2025, 03:30 PM)
3% interest rate for main savings account & savings pockets? Not terribly exciting. Hopefully will have some launching promos
Not bad what. Higher than GX and on par with Boost.
xiaomoon
post Aug 18 2025, 02:56 PM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(xiaomoon @ Aug 15 2025, 08:16 PM)
3% + 1% pa (for 20k only)
1.2% unlimited cb for oversea, 0% fx

This post has been edited by xiaomoon: Aug 18 2025, 02:59 PM
Skeuomorphic
post Aug 18 2025, 03:00 PM

671 posts

Ryt just emailed early access invite code but i cant seem to go pass the eKYC, anyone succeed with early access able to signup?
ericlaiys
post Aug 18 2025, 03:06 PM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(Skeuomorphic @ Aug 18 2025, 03:00 PM)
Ryt just emailed early access invite code but i cant seem to go pass the eKYC, anyone succeed with early access able to signup?
done. now pending verification from ryt bank
xiaomoon
post Aug 18 2025, 03:07 PM

1,444 posts

scan ic all failed... bangwall.gif
Skeuomorphic
post Aug 18 2025, 03:10 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(xiaomoon @ Aug 18 2025, 03:07 PM)
scan ic all failed... bangwall.gif
same, tried both on iphone and android. both should be clear enough with good lighting. dont know why it has to auto flash as well.
edit: ryt verifying now after completed ekyc

This post has been edited by Skeuomorphic: Aug 18 2025, 03:26 PM
umunero
post Aug 18 2025, 03:18 PM

yes, succeed and already deposited.
tzxsean
post Aug 18 2025, 03:25 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

just transferred in 30k ....
Skeuomorphic
post Aug 18 2025, 03:27 PM

671 posts

the perks for early access currently

ericlaiys
post Aug 18 2025, 03:29 PM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(umunero @ Aug 18 2025, 03:18 PM)
yes, succeed and already deposited.
how long was the verification. got email notification?
tzxsean
post Aug 18 2025, 03:30 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

cant find when this campaign will end .. not sure where the T&Cs buried ..

any1 found?
ericlaiys
post Aug 18 2025, 03:33 PM

7,566 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Aug 18 2025, 03:30 PM)

any1 found?
https://www.rytbank.my/ryt-promos. click the link inside the url
xiaomoon
post Aug 18 2025, 03:33 PM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Aug 18 2025, 03:30 PM)

any1 found?
30/11
https://www.rytbank.my/bonus-interest-campaign
tzxsean
post Aug 18 2025, 03:38 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

thanks .. seems like there is a campaign cap but no amount was mentioned .. hmm
TOS2
post Aug 18 2025, 04:07 PM

360 posts

Time to create a separate thread for Ryt Bank.

For those having issue with auto flash light while doing e-KYC, use something opque to block your phone camera's flash light while taking the picture of your IC.

New topic created: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5536266

This post has been edited by TOS2: Aug 18 2025, 04:18 PM
TOS2
post Oct 1 2025, 12:30 AM

360 posts

https://www.sinchew.com.my/news/20250930/finance/6909238

English report: https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/772113

https://www.nst.com.my/business/corporate/2...ears-break-even
ornehx
post Oct 1 2025, 06:24 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Oct 1 2025, 12:30 AM)
Will this likely mean they will continue the higher interest rates until year 5 or 6, hopefully.
Pat89
post Oct 1 2025, 09:39 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(ornehx @ Oct 1 2025, 07:24 AM)
Will this likely mean they will continue the higher interest rates until year 5 or 6, hopefully.
Don't think so, they will have to attract customer first then cut down on the interest, similar to GX bank
cybpsych
post Oct 1 2025, 09:48 AM

---------------------
65,306 posts

QUOTE(ornehx @ Oct 1 2025, 06:24 AM)
likely, hopefully smile.gif

problem is economy of scale

they need to build a large pool of user base first, then only can start monetizing from them and reduces/ammortized their initial investment faster
nexona88
post Oct 1 2025, 10:16 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,448 posts

Personally would like to see all them to sustain higher interest rates for longer period of time....

But they're doing businesses, not doing charity....

Won't be long before the rates dropped after they collected our data & monetizing them to the maximum level.... Up sell their products.....

0.1468sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:43 PM