How Long Did Your Air-Cond Compressor Last, Before It Went Kaput?
DM52
May 12 2020, 11:01 PM
8 years is not early dude. And dont compare ur car with ur neighbourhood. His compressor last 15 years but he doing short distance travel only..
While u always doing long distance trip and do karak trip often. Long distance trip will shorten the compressor lifespan since workload is higher compare to town driving.
DM52
May 12 2020, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ May 12 2020, 10:32 PM) Over here we don’t mention price, otherwise later knea bash  They do have aircond servicing package, but they never pushed/market that to the customer. I guess next time I have to follow their PM interval schedule and ask for it when the times come. No need lor. Send denso outside much cheaper. Just service every 18 months. I just send my car a day b4 mco on 17mac. Total damage is rm375. 3 years b4, change my compressor at denso also. 6 years usage kaput already. Maintain 140kmh all the time and long distance frequently make my car compressor kaput at year 6th. Lol.
DM52
May 12 2020, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ May 12 2020, 11:05 PM) How did you know I did passed karak highway often? You’re a psychic? I guess you and the guy above was right. Should measure in operating hours or km to get a more precise statistic. But my old wira compressor also kong at 7 years of ownership. So u passed karak a lot or not?. I just guessed.lol As I passed karak a lot, my kompressor kong fast on year 6th. Seems like not logical, but a few car aircond shop told me the same. Small cc, long distance, a bit fast cruising speed, all contribute to lifespan of compressor since it put a lot of stress on compressor. This post has been edited by DM52: May 12 2020, 11:09 PM
DM52
May 12 2020, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ May 12 2020, 11:09 PM) Denso still provide servicing? I read last time they stop providing air cond servicing already. Only parts. Or maybe that is only applicable to their Glenmarie branch. I guess doing long distance often is a contributing factor to the short lifespan of some aircond compressors  What car you owned that compressor died on 6th year? Yeah they still operate. What car I owned?. Honda city. Maybe 1500cc not enough to climb fast2 karak without put a lot of stress on car component. Btw, that is only major problem with city. My accord on the other hand 8 years, compressor still running fine, but hydraulic power steering is culprit. Way more expensive than compressor. If got choice, better compressor kaput than power steering kaput.
DM52
May 13 2020, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ May 12 2020, 11:53 PM) Maybe smaller CC car running at higher RPM stressing the compressor more than higher CC car. I thought compressor is one the most expensive component in the car bar the engine and gearbox. Now I’m worried since you mentioned the power steering since my brother in laws car need to change its EPS at 11th year. Another 3 years to go.. You’re lucky. My wira SE kaput on 7th year at around 130k mileage. What about mileage? Since you have so many cars I guess it spreads evenly across those cars? I guess most people only read headlines, draw conclusion, then only check back the content  No wonder so many lasted more than 10 years. Home aircond only rosak capacitor, seldom the compressor itself. Eps is newer types of power steering and very durable one. Hydraulic is old types and many car manufacturer already move to eps. Hydraulic is very problematic. Even preve and suprima got problem because is hydraulic type. Eps can go more than 10years.