Enquiries/Recommendations [Reference] Notebook Buying Guide, for those who are clueless
Fantasia
Aug 24 2010, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(Holyboy27 @ Aug 4 2010, 03:32 PM) Urmm can i ask this here? How far does an average user makes use of a multi-core/thread processor? Let's say user runs, mandatory windows background programs, a few internet browsers, word, acrobat, chatting programs, music players, torrents. Do these kind of programs make us of the multi-threads/processors available? ur usage might utilise multi-core but definitely not HT @Frosty-Snowman u may want to ask here
lavi han
Sep 10 2010, 08:58 PM
I was so poor, cant afford for a IBM computer,just bought one imported from tvc-mall,China.
erszebeth
Oct 28 2010, 09:55 PM

i want to know the differences of each notebook size from 11", 13" and 14" notebook... so far, i cant find any website that shows the difference btween them... so any of u have any link or pics...? thx in advance... ^^
Added on October 28, 2010, 9:56 pmi want to know the differences of each notebook size from 11", 13" and 14" notebook... so far, i cant find any website that shows the difference btween them... so any of u have any link or pics...? thx in advance... ^^
This post has been edited by erszebeth: Oct 28 2010, 09:56 PM
[PF] T.J.
Oct 28 2010, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(erszebeth @ Oct 28 2010, 09:55 PM) i want to know the differences of each notebook size from 11", 13" and 14" notebook... so far, i cant find any website that shows the difference btween them... so any of u have any link or pics...? thx in advance... ^^ Added on October 28, 2010, 9:56 pmi want to know the differences of each notebook size from 11", 13" and 14" notebook... so far, i cant find any website that shows the difference btween them... so any of u have any link or pics...? thx in advance... ^^ Imho, even if you manage to find photos from the sources indicating size differences between 11-14 inchers... you won't be able to tell since they are just photos... it would be best if you could go and have a look at the real things
ab21cn
Nov 13 2010, 11:14 AM

Any laptop 15' lcd, with eSata, eee1394 or express card slot, intel I3 or i5, price <RM2500
lee_what2004
Nov 13 2010, 12:42 PM
*stare* ji--------
^Vostro 3500, eSata + express card..
erszebeth
Dec 11 2010, 12:39 AM

i have a simple question here...
a lot of sifus here commented that i7 is overkill for games... is it a good thing or not...? >__< in english, it sounds a good thing, but why does sifus here will said that i5 is better to use in terms of gaming...
if im not mistaken, i7 core can boost the speed, n close other core n act as i5... but is it i5 still better..? so, in terms of gaming, is it i7 can become a bottleneck if the gpu is good enough to cope with the cpu...
thanx in advance for the answer... correct me if im wrong... =)
Added on December 11, 2010, 8:34 pmbump, anyone...? uhuh...
This post has been edited by erszebeth: Dec 11 2010, 08:34 PM
dlwl
Dec 26 2010, 01:44 PM
anyone here bought laptops from computer shops at mines before? which shop would you recommend?
fizziscool
Dec 27 2010, 09:31 PM

hye guys i want to ask im buying second hand ibook G4 for rm 700. is it worst it?
blacksunday
Jan 2 2011, 02:12 PM
hi i hope im in the right thread or not pls move my post to the appropriate one. i got a dell laptop and is has this sypnatic pointing device which allows you to scroll on the touch pad a few directions. the thing is how do i enable so that each time when i startup it will also be load. cuz at the moment i have to go into the folder click on the exe and then it will only start...thanks for the feedback
lee_what2004
Jan 2 2011, 02:17 PM
*stare* ji--------
Make a shortcut of that exe and copy it into Startup folder in start menu..
blacksunday
Jan 2 2011, 02:25 PM
see the thing is that the original setting came with auto startup but i think i made some changed that affected it and putting a shortcut could be a possible solution but im hoping to get it back to its original setting
lee_what2004
Jan 2 2011, 02:27 PM
*stare* ji--------
Open up msconfig and go to Startup tab, see if it got disabled... else, just reinstall the touchpad driver and it will install back the startup...
blacksunday
Jan 2 2011, 03:06 PM
thanks dude for the help...i gave up and just reinstall the application...now its working again
Vcys86
Mar 3 2011, 09:12 PM
Hi, i will be going to PC expo this coming weekend.. My target would be a 3k laptop with best for buck as priority.. Any model for recommendation?No gaming, just for studies purpose
samurai888
Apr 13 2011, 01:45 AM
thanks for your guidance pals. really appreciate it..
gamatoilrefinery
Apr 15 2011, 10:16 PM
thanks man ..really helpful
pslucd
Apr 29 2011, 01:19 PM
but unfortunely, most ppl the ppl like other ppl feed them...
firstbread2794
May 20 2011, 12:09 PM

great guide you have here :=)
iLiberty
Jun 24 2011, 10:26 PM

I have a little confusion now... I found in the latest laptop specs stating that it can support up to 16GB RAM, but previously i only found most laptop specs stating that can support up to 8GB.
My question, is it mean that the previous one only can support maximum to 8GB, while the latest one can go until 16GB. I already ask one shop in LYP, the sales person told me that both actually same because we can put highest RAM into the laptop as long as the RAM is compatible (example: DDR3 type, etc).
But i dont think so because if i not mistaken, the maximum of RAM for laptop is limited, plus depends on the motherboard. Maybe somebody here can explain about this.
Million thanks.