Speaker has loud buzzing sound
SUSBlackscreamerz
Apr 8 2020, 12:37 PM, updated 6y ago

The less than 2 year old speaker i bought has a very weird condition.
It will produce very loud buzz on the satellite plugged in, if the right output is plugged in, regardless of which pair of satellite used.
Any sifu has this problem before and can give some solutions on the buzz sound?
THe buzz sound is damn loud, and the buzz volume is not controllable.
This post has been edited by Blackscreamerz: Apr 8 2020, 01:08 PM
Zot
Apr 8 2020, 12:43 PM
Don't understand your description, but the buzzing sound in speaker is usually caused by ground wire opened (not connected)
Speaker is self powered?
SUSBlackscreamerz
Apr 8 2020, 12:53 PM

QUOTE(Zot @ Apr 8 2020, 12:43 PM) Don't understand your description, but the buzzing sound in speaker is usually caused by ground wire opened (not connected) Speaker is self powered? The speaker is externally powered from electric socket as usual. The sub-woofer itself connects to two small speakers, right? The sound came from the small speakers that are connected to the sub-woofer USB output for right. Tested the speaker no problem, isolated the problem to the output port itself.
xenon_aniki
Apr 8 2020, 12:56 PM
the wiring and improper ground wiring
SUSBlackscreamerz
Apr 8 2020, 12:58 PM

QUOTE(xenon_aniki @ Apr 8 2020, 12:56 PM) the wiring and improper ground wiring The improper ground wiring refers to the socket or plug? I got a feel the wireman that did my house job 2 years back is not very good...
ry8128
Apr 8 2020, 12:59 PM
Previously its ok? If no, are they any changes on the wiring and etc before the problem come out? Btw, nice avatar, lone wolf fans also?
SUSBlackscreamerz
Apr 8 2020, 01:06 PM

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Apr 8 2020, 12:59 PM) Previously its ok? If no, are they any changes on the wiring and etc before the problem come out? Btw, nice avatar, lone wolf fans also?  I used the speaker first in my old house a few months first. No problem. Moved to this current house 1.5 years back, no problem for the first one year. Last year the problem starts to occur. In a probably related case, my PS4 sometimes also will on by itself. Both devices are pretty close to each other, and near to the fuse box. this new house, the fuse box is only 6 feet to the ground. Helghast is pretty cool. This post has been edited by Blackscreamerz: Apr 8 2020, 01:13 PM
Zot
Apr 8 2020, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ Apr 8 2020, 12:53 PM) The speaker is externally powered from electric socket as usual. The sub-woofer itself connects to two small speakers, right? The sound came from the small speakers that are connected to the sub-woofer USB output for right. Tested the speaker no problem, isolated the problem to the output port itself. So it is the right satellite speaker buzzing or whichever speaker connected to the right port. Usually the wire to the port is broker or not properly connected. Maybe need to open and see the wire inside. Almost certain it is broken. I bet the sound from it also very low if there is any.
SUSBlackscreamerz
Apr 8 2020, 01:12 PM

QUOTE(Zot @ Apr 8 2020, 01:08 PM) So it is the right satellite speaker buzzing or whichever speaker connected to the right port. Usually the wire to the port is broker or not properly connected. Maybe need to open and see the wire inside. Almost certain it is broken. I bet the sound from it also very low if there is any. The buzzing came from any speaker connected to the output port. "wire to the port" refers to the wire within the "center big speaker" with the output port, right?
Zot
Apr 8 2020, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ Apr 8 2020, 01:12 PM) The buzzing came from any speaker connected to the output port. "wire to the port" refers to the wire within the "center big speaker" with the output port, right? OK. This is related to the power supply grounding. Your speaker has the power supply built inside the unit right? The power plug is using 2 plug pin or 3 plug pin?
failed.hashcheck
Apr 8 2020, 01:19 PM
Ground loop
SUSBlackscreamerz
Apr 8 2020, 01:28 PM

QUOTE(Zot @ Apr 8 2020, 01:15 PM) OK. This is related to the power supply grounding. Your speaker has the power supply built inside the unit right? The power plug is using 2 plug pin or 3 plug pin? it is a 2 pin plug. I dont think it has PSU of its own. The power supply cable is not detachable from the woofer too. It is written at the back of the woofer though, 230v/50hz
SUSBlackscreamerz
Apr 8 2020, 01:32 PM

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Apr 8 2020, 01:19 PM) The machine problem itself, right? I really hope it is not because of the wiring of the house itself.
motion_sickness
Apr 8 2020, 01:40 PM

QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ Apr 8 2020, 01:28 PM) it is a 2 pin plug. I dont think it has PSU of its own. The power supply cable is not detachable from the woofer too. It is written at the back of the woofer though, 230v/50hz 1. try different plug point in your house. probably your current plug point got grounding issue 2. use extension or any 3 pin adapter buzzing is commonly caused by grounding problem, either from your plug point or the machine itself This post has been edited by motion_sickness: Apr 8 2020, 01:41 PM
Zot
Apr 8 2020, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ Apr 8 2020, 01:28 PM) it is a 2 pin plug. I dont think it has PSU of its own. The power supply cable is not detachable from the woofer too. It is written at the back of the woofer though, 230v/50hz It is just the wire from wall socket to your woofer, right? The PSU is built inside the woofer itself. Since it is the 2 prong supply, there is no ground to it. My suspect would be the input source. Have you tried your speaker using another sound source? This will eliminate your speakers fault. Maybe the PS$ output port problem.
pakdamek
Apr 8 2020, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ Apr 8 2020, 12:37 PM) The less than 2 year old speaker i bought has a very weird condition. It will produce very loud buzz on the satellite plugged in, if the right output is plugged in, regardless of which pair of satellite used. Any sifu has this problem before and can give some solutions on the buzz sound? THe buzz sound is damn loud, and the buzz volume is not controllable. tried plug in to different system? can be your sound card as well...
SUSBlackscreamerz
Apr 8 2020, 02:23 PM

QUOTE(Zot @ Apr 8 2020, 01:47 PM) It is just the wire from wall socket to your woofer, right? The PSU is built inside the woofer itself. Since it is the 2 prong supply, there is no ground to it. My suspect would be the input source. Have you tried your speaker using another sound source? This will eliminate your speakers fault. Maybe the PS$ output port problem. I didnt actually connect the PS4 to the speaker. It just happened both are close to each other and behave weirdly. I used the speaker exclusively with bluetooth as input. Or as a radio FM. So, shouldnt be a problem. The buzz happens even if there is no sound input too. e.g. when you leave it idle. This post has been edited by Blackscreamerz: Apr 8 2020, 04:07 PM
SUSBlackscreamerz
Apr 8 2020, 02:24 PM

QUOTE(pakdamek @ Apr 8 2020, 01:49 PM) tried plug in to different system? can be your sound card as well... I didnt use it as a PC speaker. These days just use it as bluetooth speaker or radio FM.
Zot
Apr 8 2020, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ Apr 8 2020, 02:23 PM) I didnt actually connect the PS4 to the speaker. It just happened both are close to each other and behave weirdly. I used the speaker exclusively with bluetooth as input. Or as a radio FM. So, should be a problem. The buzz happens even if there is no sound input too. e.g. when you leave it idle. It is normal for the input to pick up noise. Looks like it is receiving frequency from nearby devices. Your speaker input is sensitive since it is the type connected to PC, not RCA connector, right? You are using wireless as input. So, it is not about ground loop. Maybe you can short the input to the speaker. This is definitely not the problem of house wiring. You probably just need to move the input away from PSU of other devices
SUSBlackscreamerz
Apr 8 2020, 03:00 PM

QUOTE(motion_sickness @ Apr 8 2020, 01:40 PM) 1. try different plug point in your house. probably your current plug point got grounding issue 2. use extension or any 3 pin adapter buzzing is commonly caused by grounding problem, either from your plug point or the machine itself Done both. yet to try other house only. could it be other issue than the plug itself? like fuse box