PC Audio Choosing btw VS4121 and ATP3
Jul 25 2007, 10:03 AM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
23 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
i'm thinkin of changin my speakers at da pc fair which is comin soon..i'm havin problems choosing btw an altec lansing VS4121 or ATP3
Jul 25 2007, 10:45 AM
1,007 posts Joined: May 2007 |
i also intend to get an ATP 3, from comments it is a pretty decent speaker at tat price range. is a legendary speaker n i heard it has been discontinued last yr december. but not to worry coz the warranty is still cover.
Jul 25 2007, 10:54 AM
236 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i have friends using both altec lansing after heard
the ATP3 has more clear sound but 4121 more booming sound and less clear compare to ATP3 wanna good bass and clear sound ? get a 4221 |
Jul 25 2007, 11:05 AM
6,489 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Serdang |
QUOTE(kokearn @ Jul 25 2007, 10:03 AM) i'm thinkin of changin my speakers at da pc fair which is comin soon..i'm havin problems choosing btw an altec lansing VS4121 or ATP3 for me i vote for ATP3. but it's has heavy nose sound lah.must mod. anyway for gaming, : VS4121 for song : ATp3 for all rounder. maybe edifier. |
Jul 25 2007, 02:52 PM
4,540 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: US > LOS > KL |
Jul 25 2007, 03:39 PM
2,753 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Metropolitan College(KL) or JB Johor Bahru |
QUOTE(Akabane@DrJackel @ Jul 25 2007, 02:52 PM) yeah, but that day i tried 6021, actually it quite impress us(walabies and me), and we can conclude 6021>5021 but again, off topic ald. guys, edifier do perform well, go and have a try |
Jul 25 2007, 03:45 PM
4,540 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: US > LOS > KL |
QUOTE(yuheng @ Jul 25 2007, 03:39 PM) yeah, but that day i tried 6021, actually it quite impress us(walabies and me), and we can conclude 6021>5021 off topicbut again, off topic ald. guys, edifier do perform well, go and have a try i sold mine liao da S4.1 but no regret cause now more stick to my monitoring speaker.. |
Jul 25 2007, 04:24 PM
411 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Miri, Sarawak |
go for VS4121...
Jul 25 2007, 05:22 PM
793 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
I think you try audition Edifier speaker when you at the pc fair...Give a try and maybe some speaker will suits you...
Jul 25 2007, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(yuheng @ Jul 25 2007, 03:39 PM) yeah, but that day i tried 6021, actually it quite impress us(walabies and me), and we can conclude 6021>5021 got terbalik or not?but again, off topic ald. guys, edifier do perform well, go and have a try 6021 is the one with inconcert. slim satelite with 6 microdriver each side while 5021 is the THX certified thingys. i find that mx5021 is better eh.. =P especially on vocal. |
Jul 25 2007, 05:34 PM
265 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Get VS4121. I just got mine 2 months back for RM215. Hooked it up to my PS2 and DVD player in my room and it works well. Bass is super loud, but sound clarity lose out a little I guess.
However, do give Edifier a go. The last time I also auditioned the M3300 and the sound was not bad. Price-wise is slightly cheaper then VS4121 (maybe by RM20~RM30). But I chose VS4121 for the shape and design. Didn't really like the shape of the subwoofer on the M3300. |
Jul 25 2007, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(PcWork @ Jul 25 2007, 05:26 PM) got terbalik or not? yeah. u are right on vocal parts, but we are compare it with the details and seperation of instrument, 6021 do perform better then 5021, and it is so significant u know.i doubt it as well..but i do really hear better instrument sound on 6021 6021 is the one with inconcert. slim satelite with 6 microdriver each side while 5021 is the THX certified thingys. i find that mx5021 is better eh.. =P especially on vocal. |
Jul 25 2007, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(phat_newbie @ Jul 25 2007, 05:34 PM) Get VS4121. I just got mine 2 months back for RM215. Hooked it up to my PS2 and DVD player in my room and it works well. Bass is super loud, but sound clarity lose out a little I guess. See he want clarity or bass...If clarity I think should choose Edifier...M3300 is slim type...However, do give Edifier a go. The last time I also auditioned the M3300 and the sound was not bad. Price-wise is slightly cheaper then VS4121 (maybe by RM20~RM30). But I chose VS4121 for the shape and design. Didn't really like the shape of the subwoofer on the M3300. If sounds good I dun care what it looks like... |
Jul 25 2007, 05:56 PM
4,017 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Georgetown, Penang |
QUOTE(yuheng @ Jul 25 2007, 05:38 PM) yeah. u are right on vocal parts, but we are compare it with the details and seperation of instrument, 6021 do perform better then 5021, and it is so significant u know.i doubt it as well..but i do really hear better instrument sound on 6021 Yeah, I get what you mean regarding the sound seperation b'coz for 6021, you're like surrounded by the sound with crystal clear sound reproduction but it looses out to 5021 in terms of weight but not to say that it doesn't have the bass, just that it's a tad too light but hey, I get a friend, using it with his LCD as a sound output for his XBOX 360 and he's playing it happily. It sounded miles better than those built in LCD speakers.Sadly, 6021 is a little pricey, was hoping for the price to go down but then, it remained at RM620 the lowest I can find. Was interested to get one for my LCD. Hahaha. |
Jul 25 2007, 06:05 PM
hmm..thn wat do u guys think which speaker is worth payin da money??...VS or ATP..anyone noes da latest price 2day for both da speakers??...comparing da both..which is better for both music and gaming usage??...well..dunno y..but i prefer altec lansing speakers thn any other brands..
Jul 25 2007, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(yuheng @ Jul 25 2007, 05:38 PM) yeah. u are right on vocal parts, but we are compare it with the details and seperation of instrument, 6021 do perform better then 5021, and it is so significant u know.i doubt it as well..but i do really hear better instrument sound on 6021 QUOTE(sunauto @ Jul 25 2007, 05:56 PM) Yeah, I get what you mean regarding the sound seperation b'coz for 6021, you're like surrounded by the sound with crystal clear sound reproduction but it looses out to 5021 in terms of weight but not to say that it doesn't have the bass, just that it's a tad too light but hey, I get a friend, using it with his LCD as a sound output for his XBOX 360 and he's playing it happily. It sounded miles better than those built in LCD speakers. yeah i like MX5021 because of the weight of vocal. and especially lower mid.Sadly, 6021 is a little pricey, was hoping for the price to go down but then, it remained at RM620 the lowest I can find. Was interested to get one for my LCD. Hahaha. i found myself addicted to lowermid richness now a day. any things sound less on that will automatically rejected. such as stock koss. and that's why i go mod it. you can hear more detail on 6021 because it's slightly emphasis on the bright side, hence give you impression of better detail. that's true. but i just love more meaty mid. more solid more thick mid range. (don't get me wrong, not muffle type of vocal like 4121) and that's the reason i got HD. =) bass on 6021 and 5021 seems both fine for me. 6021 has more surround feeling as it using sort of inconcert thingy to produce surround sound, and stage like speaker setup. let say we number the driver from top to down, 1-6 driver 3,4 produce mid driver 2,5 producing mid + high while driver 1,6 will produce brighter sound, together with mid+ high so it will show a really obvious feeling of concert. not bad imho. but for use as 2.1 setup which i listen to it not infront of it. MX5021 is better in my opinion. i usually sit quite far from my speaker when i heard it. that's explain why 6021 is rejected. =) and AEGO M ROCKS on this. kokearn in that case, i do suggest u go for VS. ATP3 is a bit lack on gaming. the bass not enough oophmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm This post has been edited by PcWork: Jul 25 2007, 06:33 PM |
Jul 25 2007, 07:07 PM
1,140 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Equine Park |
ATP3 and VS4121? easy.. for basshead & gaming, go for VS4121.. ATP3 performs better than VS4121 in music..
Jul 25 2007, 07:17 PM
Pcwork...in the end 5021 and 6021 which one better? will better than AegoM or nt?
Jul 25 2007, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(PcWork @ Jul 25 2007, 06:31 PM) yeah i like MX5021 because of the weight of vocal. and especially lower mid. ohh..thn any idea how much wil VS be??..actually...will ther b alot of difference when u really actually compare bout da speakers??...i found myself addicted to lowermid richness now a day. any things sound less on that will automatically rejected. such as stock koss. and that's why i go mod it. you can hear more detail on 6021 because it's slightly emphasis on the bright side, hence give you impression of better detail. that's true. but i just love more meaty mid. more solid more thick mid range. (don't get me wrong, not muffle type of vocal like 4121) and that's the reason i got HD. =) bass on 6021 and 5021 seems both fine for me. 6021 has more surround feeling as it using sort of inconcert thingy to produce surround sound, and stage like speaker setup. let say we number the driver from top to down, 1-6 driver 3,4 produce mid driver 2,5 producing mid + high while driver 1,6 will produce brighter sound, together with mid+ high so it will show a really obvious feeling of concert. not bad imho. but for use as 2.1 setup which i listen to it not infront of it. MX5021 is better in my opinion. i usually sit quite far from my speaker when i heard it. that's explain why 6021 is rejected. =) and AEGO M ROCKS on this. kokearn in that case, i do suggest u go for VS. ATP3 is a bit lack on gaming. the bass not enough oophmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm |
Jul 25 2007, 08:44 PM
6,934 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Audiophilia valley... |
Jul 25 2007, 08:50 PM
ahaha, if we got d money to buy all d speakers, then we wouldn't be thinking day and nights want to choose which one...
This post has been edited by initial.craig: Jul 25 2007, 08:51 PM |
Jul 25 2007, 08:52 PM
if it is the comparison between vs4121 and atp3, i will vote it for atp3
Jul 25 2007, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(yuheng @ Jul 25 2007, 08:52 PM) If it's the first gen ATP3, I'll vote for it but since we're talking about the current ATP3, I guess I'll prefer to VS4121 instead. The current ATP3 doesn't sound as good as the one last time, bunch is not that punchier and a little boomy. I happened to have an old ATP3 for comparison purposes. |
Jul 26 2007, 08:02 PM
After a visit to All It Hypermarket today, my fair answer is choosing ATP3 than BT3....I hear the clarity almost the same, AtP3 more booming and Bt3 is also less boomy than ATP3, But I believe when ATP3 turn loudly will lilttle distort or blur...than BT3
That is my comment, correct my meaning if wrong... |
Jul 26 2007, 08:08 PM
2,205 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(PcWork @ Jul 25 2007, 06:31 PM) yeah i like MX5021 because of the weight of vocal. and especially lower mid. I dont find 6021 good lor. I prefer MX5021 and I used to own one cos of that.i found myself addicted to lowermid richness now a day. any things sound less on that will automatically rejected. such as stock koss. and that's why i go mod it. you can hear more detail on 6021 because it's slightly emphasis on the bright side, hence give you impression of better detail. that's true. but i just love more meaty mid. more solid more thick mid range. (don't get me wrong, not muffle type of vocal like 4121) and that's the reason i got HD. =) bass on 6021 and 5021 seems both fine for me. 6021 has more surround feeling as it using sort of inconcert thingy to produce surround sound, and stage like speaker setup. let say we number the driver from top to down, 1-6 driver 3,4 produce mid driver 2,5 producing mid + high while driver 1,6 will produce brighter sound, together with mid+ high so it will show a really obvious feeling of concert. not bad imho. but for use as 2.1 setup which i listen to it not infront of it. MX5021 is better in my opinion. i usually sit quite far from my speaker when i heard it. that's explain why 6021 is rejected. =) and AEGO M ROCKS on this. kokearn in that case, i do suggest u go for VS. ATP3 is a bit lack on gaming. the bass not enough oophmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm Those micro drivers cant sing well lar.. seriously sounds thin. MX5021 sattelite sounds a lot better.. not to mention it actually blend quite well with the sub. The sub sounds a bit loose but really can pack punch and thats why its THX'ed. Added on July 26, 2007, 8:10 pmBTW for the price you paying, just look into Buy/Sell section lar. Someone selling CS21 for RM250 nego I think. I would say a step down on ACS48, but better than ATP3 or 4121. This post has been edited by kapitan: Jul 26 2007, 08:10 PM |
Jul 26 2007, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(kapitan @ Jul 26 2007, 08:08 PM) I dont find 6021 good lor. I prefer MX5021 and I used to own one cos of that. Those micro drivers cant sing well lar.. seriously sounds thin. MX5021 sattelite sounds a lot better.. not to mention it actually blend quite well with the sub. The sub sounds a bit loose but really can pack punch and thats why its THX'ed. Added on July 26, 2007, 8:10 pmBTW for the price you paying, just look into Buy/Sell section lar. Someone selling CS21 for RM250 nego I think. I would say a step down on ACS48, but better than ATP3 or 4121. maybe we are attracted by the separation of the instrument sound. but at the end of the story, this is jz my personal opinion and tastes |
Jul 27 2007, 08:38 PM
yeah, different ppl different ears, d most important is ur own preference...
Jul 27 2007, 09:02 PM
349 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
i also prefer MX5021's sound than FX6021, not because the THX thingy, is because of the mid range from the satellite and the bass from the subwoofer it deliver
for ATP3 versus VS4121, of course ATP3 have much more better sound quality. VS4121 bass however is unacceptable, it is too much inaccurate, bloat and boomy This post has been edited by DotA 5.84C -AR: Jul 27 2007, 09:05 PM |
Jul 28 2007, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(yuheng @ Jul 26 2007, 09:11 PM) maybe we are attracted by the separation of the instrument sound. but at the end of the story, this is jz my personal opinion and tastes My friend played Akon's Konvicted on his FX6021, even though the FX6021 is on the bright side, it manages to push the hip hop song at its full glory with decent warmth. Some people like it sharp to be honest. To be honest, FX6021 still sounded better than Altec Lansing's latest FX4021. |
Jul 28 2007, 11:57 AM
8,930 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
according to most of the comments,the ATP3 bass is less than the VS-4121?
if u got go to Subang Jaya SS15 there is a cyber cafe called 'Global Net' one side using VS-4121 one side using ATP3 weird thin is when playing CS using the ATP3 speaker u can seriously feel the gunshots and stuff coming out from the sub at max bass but the VS-4121 u can hardly feel anything... -.-" but sadly none of my frens own a ATP3 so can't make a proper comparism as the environment in cyber cafe is friggin noisy... i personally own a VS-4121 though |
Jul 28 2007, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 28 2007, 11:57 AM) according to most of the comments,the ATP3 bass is less than the VS-4121? maybe two reasonif u got go to Subang Jaya SS15 there is a cyber cafe called 'Global Net' one side using VS-4121 one side using ATP3 weird thin is when playing CS using the ATP3 speaker u can seriously feel the gunshots and stuff coming out from the sub at max bass but the VS-4121 u can hardly feel anything... -.-" but sadly none of my frens own a ATP3 so can't make a proper comparism as the environment in cyber cafe is friggin noisy... i personally own a VS-4121 though 1: the subwoofer of the ATP3 in the cybercafe is well positioned. 2. The ATP3 is older model, which has very high total power output. |
Aug 1 2007, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 28 2007, 11:57 AM) according to most of the comments,the ATP3 bass is less than the VS-4121? Well, the ATP3's subwoofer is down firing whereas the VS4121 is a long throw subwoofer but in a quiet environment, the VS4121 subwoofer is more boomy whereas ATP3's clarity is better especially in the mids and highs. Of course, I'm comparing this with the second generation ATP3.if u got go to Subang Jaya SS15 there is a cyber cafe called 'Global Net' one side using VS-4121 one side using ATP3 weird thin is when playing CS using the ATP3 speaker u can seriously feel the gunshots and stuff coming out from the sub at max bass but the VS-4121 u can hardly feel anything... -.-" but sadly none of my frens own a ATP3 so can't make a proper comparism as the environment in cyber cafe is friggin noisy... i personally own a VS-4121 though |
Aug 19 2007, 02:55 AM
3,112 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
I think VS4121 subwoofer + ATP3 satellite is a good mod...
MX5021 is good if do little equalizer tuning... |
Aug 20 2007, 12:30 AM
Many ppl say Thx is good but I quite confused...my Z2300 also got that THX but sound like....I dont wan to say it either...
Aug 20 2007, 12:33 AM
THX is a official certification on multimedia base rather than pure music
correct me if i m wrong. |
Aug 20 2007, 01:31 AM
1,602 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
if want strong bass = 4121 , if want clarity sound = atp3.....
for my personal experienced...... 60% 4121 bass = 100% ATP3 bass |
Aug 20 2007, 02:04 PM
2,227 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: cheras |
Aug 20 2007, 02:56 PM
1,051 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Somewhere Out There |
THX before the movie means they're telling you
THX (Thanks) for watching =) lolz, anyways, IMHO, THX is just a marketing gimmick. With the THX certification, the product price can be jacked up way beyond what it is actually worth. I believe most of us here that like the MX5021 is not due to the THX, but the sound of it. As the matter in fact, the mx5021 is the only multimedia speaker with the THX certification that i like, the rest (Logitech Z2300/5400/5500) are just a bunch of over-bassed/RMS speaker. They are loud, wayy too loud. I didnt even get the chance to go for more than half of the volume knob at home, even at 1/3, my phone will start ringing within seconds and someone would yell SHUT UP!!! If you do own a soundproofed room, or that you live miles away from your next neighbor, then u would enjoy the loudness of these speakers =) |
Aug 20 2007, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Aug 20 2007, 02:56 PM) THX before the movie means they're telling you i would not think it is pure marketing gimmick, in order for u to get a THX cert is not as easy as apply/approved.THX (Thanks) for watching =) lolz, anyways, IMHO, THX is just a marketing gimmick. With the THX certification, the product price can be jacked up way beyond what it is actually worth. I believe most of us here that like the MX5021 is not due to the THX, but the sound of it. As the matter in fact, the mx5021 is the only multimedia speaker with the THX certification that i like, the rest (Logitech Z2300/5400/5500) are just a bunch of over-bassed/RMS speaker. They are loud, wayy too loud. I didnt even get the chance to go for more than half of the volume knob at home, even at 1/3, my phone will start ringing within seconds and someone would yell SHUT UP!!! If you do own a soundproofed room, or that you live miles away from your next neighbor, then u would enjoy the loudness of these speakers =) THX qualified speaker should be great in certain fields but not music, it should be movie,gaming....so call multimedia base. |
Aug 20 2007, 06:09 PM
6,934 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Audiophilia valley... |
VS4121 has crazy bass. Bass too overwhelming that will blow the whole house. I mean the music cant even be heard.
Aug 20 2007, 06:18 PM
Correct me if I wrong...The thx in logitech website, u try click it in Z2300 product...I went in n search whick speaker gt Thx, most of it like jbl, klipsch but no logitech...
Aug 20 2007, 06:31 PM
236 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
i always support altec, coz i'm using it now. haha....
VS 4121 really will kill ur house, actually u can lowered the bass to avoid loudness......tat will make ppl sick... i tested once for loud, the performance is good......but normally i cant do it coz my housemates are all around........a bit waste i think....haha |
| Change to: | 0.0298sec
5 queries
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:49 AM |