Q6600 Overclock and Temperature

QiW
post Dec 12 2007, 02:47 PM

354 posts

my q6600 go at stock clock using stock hsf ... idle around 48C ... load kow kow using everest around 68-69C .... ambient is the normal usual malaysian indoor without aircond ... hehehehe

now using scythe ninja plus .. only doing 3.0 for everyday use .. 8x375 .. idling around 50C ... load kow kow using everest is 68-69C oso ... will have to get a new cooler soon .. TR ultra120extreme ???? seems like very good reviews for this cooler ...
btw ... my airflow in casing is super good liauu ... mobo temp is 40C idling 45 max load kow kow ... gfx idling around 51C ... the sounds of a 70CFM fan on the casing exhaust is the one i need to get rid off ...
QiW
post Dec 12 2007, 04:07 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(tadasu @ Dec 12 2007, 03:21 PM)
i have TR ultra 120 extreme, currently doing 363x9, idle is 38-42, full load is 48 max thumbup.gif

edit: i'll double check when i got home, not sure about idle temperature tongue.gif . but max is correct.
what did u use to measure the temp ?? coretemp (software) ???
if coretemp then i assumed u took the highest core readings rite ???

if u used other than coretemp .. everest for example ... there is a CPU as well as 4 other core individual core temps .. these 4 core temps are about the same as the one in coretemp (software) ... my 68-69C is based on the single CPU reading in everest ... if i used coretemp (software) then the highest core reading is about 63-64C ...

Added on December 12, 2007, 4:09 pm
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Dec 12 2007, 03:20 PM)
^if u went to the Hardcooling section, current best review are Thermaltake BigTyphoon 120

it beats all the other(s) expensive HSF out there tongue.gif
yaa ... the reviews are pretty good for this cooler too ... thanks for the heads up .. smile.gif

This post has been edited by QiW: Dec 12 2007, 04:09 PM
QiW
post Dec 13 2007, 08:53 PM

354 posts

i can only run 3.2 8x400 only at vcore 1.4-1.42 .. tried setting vcore 1.5 9x400 .. system wont even boot up .. hahahahaaa
will try vcore 1.6 later tonite when the mood comes ..
anyways ... heres my shot at 3.2 OCCT ...

forgot to add ... my temp flew up to 70C max and sometimes drop back to 67-68 most of the time .. damm !!!

This post has been edited by QiW: Dec 13 2007, 08:54 PM
QiW
post Dec 14 2007, 07:29 AM

354 posts

yaa .. the temp very strange .. extremely high altho no very high vcore oso ... thats why dare not push any further until i get new cooler ...

i have oso written to intel regarding this temperature prob .. of coz cannot tell them i OC laa .. damm bloody intel .. telling me to test this and that .. change mobo laa .. change casing laa .. my airflow no good la .. etc etc .. just look at my GPU and mobo temp .. very good temps on those 2 item what ... only cpu temp fark up .. so cannot be my airflow prob liau maaa ...

have to see how ... save $$$ to get new cooler lorr ... my current ninja previously used on my pentiumD 3.2ghz oso load kow kow forever temp oso never exceeded 61C ...
QiW
post Dec 14 2007, 11:41 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Dec 14 2007, 11:28 AM)
try to use ntune with a cpu plug in, the temperature monitor should be quite accurate, or simply core temp. Ninja is still quite capable

most G0 can run 400x8 at stock voltage, ........

but 1.4 @ 3.6 ghz is really good.......... mine bloody one can boot a ta 1.5 @ 3.6ghz 400*9 but cannot do anything ....... push to 1.55 still the same, in the end up give up....... lazy to buy another processor to try again
i set vcore to 1.6 to try 9x400 last nite ... i read in everest and cpuz vcore reading around 1.55
3600mhz ... can boot ... idling 55C ... load for 10 secs temp shot over 74C .. straightaway OCCT stopped the test coz i set max temp cut off at 73C .. hahahahaa

my ninja not runing the stock scythe fan now ... coz too slow 1100rpm+ only ... i changed to evercool (i think) 120mm fan with speed adjuster one ... running the fan at 2000rpm with 8x400 ... idling 49C load kow kow OCCT test max 70C ... all stable no probs ... i think i will stick with this speed for a while ...
QiW
post Dec 14 2007, 06:10 PM

354 posts

still new to this OC thingy .. so dare not play so much with the other settings .. now just playing around with the bus and multiplier and vcore .. the rest of the stuff i left at auto .. C1E EIST those stuff all disabled of coz .. hehehehe
i did try 1.5vcore to try to get to 3.6 .. wont boot oso .. hahahaaa

thats the main prob ... why temp so high ??? i oso keep asking myself that ... maybe i should just sell off the NINJA and get something better ... hmmmmmmmmmmmmm .. need to spend $$$ again sad.gif
stick with this 3.2 for a while ... in the mean time save more $$$ for more cooling power ....
QiW
post Dec 17 2007, 12:37 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Dec 14 2007, 08:23 AM)
sometimes the temperature reported by software cant be trust, when priming moment try touch ur HSF & see wheter its really hot or just warm & compared with the temperature reported.. smile.gif
HSF is warm ... still can touch la ... about the same or slightly hotter than last time when i use pentiumD ... pentiumD 3.2 no OC kow kow load forever 61C max ...

Added on December 17, 2007, 12:40 pm
QUOTE(LExus65 @ Dec 14 2007, 06:39 PM)
ur temperature is way too high already, ninja should be on par with HR-01.... mine idle temp around 45 (different on each core) load around 55 or some at 3.33ghz. 3.6 reading i could not remember but aound 65 ++

but i mange to keep my eist and thermal management on at 3.33ghz, help reduce the temp quite a lot. Now after changing to 3870, the hot component in my pc turns out to be the processor hehe......
well ... my temp reading based on everest the single CPU reading ,,, if based on individual temps of core (either everest or coretemp) ... then around 46-47 idling on the highest temp core ... running at 3.2ghz la .. load kow kow 65-66C on highest individual core reading (everest or coretemp) ..

This post has been edited by QiW: Dec 17 2007, 12:40 PM
QiW
post Dec 20 2007, 07:43 AM

354 posts

vcore 1.225 ... tak cukup makan leehh .. how to push the proc higher ??
i was told set to auto oso there is a limit the auto vcore will go to .. safety feature i think .. so cannot go any higher liauu the clock .. same thing happened to me ..
can try lowering the multiplier to 8x and set CPU host frequency higher on AUTO vcore if u do not wanna play with vcore 1st to clock higher .. tongue.gif
QiW
post Jan 1 2008, 12:52 PM

354 posts

OCCT running 30mins stress ... full load temp according to CORETEMP 0954 .. around 64C .. test was ran at nite laa .. tongue.gif
QiW
post Jan 1 2008, 10:02 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Jan 1 2008, 02:04 PM)
OiW,is it the speed in 3.0GHz?
yaa ... running 8 x 375 .. 3.0ghz .. vcore 1.25
cooling scythe ninja plus ..
QiW
post Jan 10 2008, 12:27 PM

354 posts

i am running q6600 3.0 at 1.25 vcore (in windows showing 1.25 or lower .. bios i set to 1.275) .. well box says 1.25v is stock anyways ..

This post has been edited by QiW: Jan 10 2008, 12:28 PM
QiW
post Jan 29 2008, 08:43 AM

354 posts

here's mine .. not really happy about it but will have to do for now tongue.gif

Added on January 29, 2008, 8:48 amps .. mobo = p5k deluxe .. psu = acbel 800w .. team elite 1GB667 x 2

This post has been edited by QiW: Jan 29 2008, 08:48 AM
QiW
post Jan 29 2008, 11:27 AM

354 posts

already pushed my q6600 to 3.6 to test test ... but vcore 1.5 needed
i prolly got a bad batch laa ..

edit ... it can run stable at 3.6 ... but the temp is a killer ... 77C !!!!!
my cooler not good enuff maybe ??? using scythe ninja with 2000rpm fan ..

This post has been edited by QiW: Jan 29 2008, 11:29 AM
QiW
post Jan 29 2008, 10:14 PM

354 posts

the temp of the air inside casing is not the same as room temp .. will definitely be higher inside the casing no matter how much ventilation .. normal maa coz inside casing got lots of stuff producing hot air .. hahahaha
QiW
post Jan 29 2008, 10:32 PM

354 posts

i am not the one doing 60C full load with 1.5vcore laa .. look above properly .. hehehehehe .. i doing 77C with 1.5vcore .. wanna cry liauuu tongue.gif

software used to determine cpu temp is everest ultimate and coretemp .. altho both software are quite good .. i prefer to take the highest temp for reference and to play safe .. just in case
if u try everest .. u will notice they have just a CPU temp and 4 other temp for the individual cores .. the 4 other individual temps are about the same as coretemp ones .. so i take the CPU temp and not the individual cores ones as reference coz its almost always at le3ast 4-5C higher than the highest individual core ...
QiW
post Feb 5 2008, 07:04 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Feb 4 2008, 11:56 PM)
i think 3.2ghz should be no problem for stock hsf.  smile.gif

definitely xigmatek since the TR is over your budget.
no way the stock HSF will make it at 3.2ghz .. unless u wanna melt your cpu ..
how i know ?? i tried tongue.gif
QiW
post Feb 5 2008, 08:58 PM

354 posts

1.35 vcore already kill the stock HSF laa .. hahahaahaa
i oso need 1.35 to reach 3.2 ... now running 3.0 daily use at 1.275 vcore
QiW
post Feb 8 2008, 10:46 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Feb 7 2008, 01:38 AM)
Yep, thx for the advice. Lowered my voltage, now @ 1.31v and no changes on the load temp.
I see, thats a relief. I am trying to get 1:1 CPU and RAM ratio next@ 3.2Ghz.  smile.gif
u can always try to lower the vcore down sommo and repeat stability test until it is not stable then increase the vcore back abit ..
i am running 3.0 375x8 on 1.275 vcore .. load temp using coretemp to check is 63C .. using old skool HSF from scythe tongue.gif

plus if i not mistaken gigabyte mobo got those 8 phase power stability thing which requires even lesser vcore compared to other boards rite ?? tongue.gif
QiW
post Feb 9 2008, 03:03 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Feb 8 2008, 10:59 PM)
No, those features only available on highend models.
ooohh .. gua tatau maa ... i tot most giga boards will have it one .. hehehehe
sorry sorry tongue.gif
QiW
post Feb 18 2008, 09:48 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(EricCYL @ Feb 18 2008, 11:48 AM)
Hello to all guru's  tongue.gif

1st attempt to overclock my Q6600 G0 1+ week old  whistling.gif (Hope i post in the right place  doh.gif )

Click For Screen Shot

Currently stuck at 3GHz  sweat.gif Might be the RAM blocking me to go any further  doh.gif
based on your screenshot .. definitely not RAM factor .. hehehe
your vcore only 1.232 in CPU-Z .. at BIOS i think at most oso 1.25-1.26 .. this is the one holding u back
but if u do increase vcore .. then your temp will oso increase la no doubt .. but of coz higher clocks lorr tongue.gif

try running OCCT in your current settings .. see if it passes .. coz i couldnt get mine to pass at that kinda of vcore for 3.0ghz .. smile.gif

Added on February 18, 2008, 9:49 pm
QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Feb 18 2008, 09:31 PM)
[attachmentid=400307]

[attachmentid=400313]
*note, you need to connect the vmod pin to a vss pin

anybody care to try it out?  brows.gif
whats the purpose ?? mobo not enuff juice meh ?? hehehe
whats the cooling for that kinda vmod ???

This post has been edited by QiW: Feb 18 2008, 09:49 PM

0.0248sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:20 PM