with tube or tubeless?, for my motorbike

TSmyhat
post Jul 24 2007, 09:35 AM, updated 18y ago

804 posts

hello all,

need some views on whether to have tube or just tubeless for my tyre....
my bike is Honda Ex-5......
recently....its quite frequent facing the problems of punctured on my way to and from office....

for sure...those mobile "rescuer" will charge RM20-RM25 per tube if we need their help to fix our tyre....
or else....just walk your way to any nearby workshop.....

yesterday...i went to change my tyre....
one guy at the workshop suggested to me to change to tubeless for my tyre...
it will involve installation of few things....
so that....there is no need of tube anymore....
everytime our tyre hit nails or anything with sharp edges....
hole been made will automatically be pasted by some kind of material reside inside the tyre during the installation....
rougly....that guy quoted me for the price of RM30....
and he said that....the tubeless feature can last until that tyre "botak"....

any comments, please?
anyone have experience installing that tubeless feature...?

Arkaine
post Jul 24 2007, 09:43 AM

Join the Dark Force to embrace true power
1,904 posts

If u are using sport rim.... of course you can opt for tubeless tyre....
CHIP CN
post Jul 24 2007, 09:46 AM

Tuned by CHIP CN
1,262 posts

change to sport rim and tubeless.... kena paku one in 6 month..... quite save...
long3016
post Jul 24 2007, 09:48 AM

568 posts

i use tubeless now. even i didnt drive for 2 month also didnt pancit
TSmyhat
post Jul 24 2007, 09:57 AM

804 posts

errr.....
i guess most of you are referring to your CAR, rite?

i'm not sure how similar would it be with my motorbike....
coz i'm not sure about that sport rim issue...
kakarocht
post Jul 24 2007, 10:10 AM

Hibernate Time.............
3,254 posts

try to asked mat rempit which is better lol... brows.gif
CHIP CN
post Jul 24 2007, 10:16 AM

Tuned by CHIP CN
1,262 posts

me use suzuki rc80 using sport rim biggrin.gif brows.gif
TSmyhat
post Jul 24 2007, 10:19 AM

804 posts

ok...out of topic for a while....

i've heard that this sport rim is not that durable compared to the original rim....
especially if used to ride with partner....

if alone...yeah...most of my friend suggest to convert to sport rim...
gyny
post Jul 24 2007, 10:34 AM

181 posts

the tubeless thing u describe is actually a kind of mixture they pout into the tyre....

not tubeless like a normal tubeless tyre....
go ask ur motor shop to show u the thing....
it got power and liquid, when mix together will create foam like condition and when puncture will plug the hole...

and oh... no need tube since it got its own rim rubber that cover the lidi hole...

tubeless tyre need rm60++

This post has been edited by gyny: Jul 24 2007, 10:34 AM
TSmyhat
post Jul 24 2007, 11:17 AM

804 posts

haaaa....
that is the one i'm talking about....
thanks dude....

btw...what do u think.....?
should i opt for it...or remain with tube style...?
do u have any experience using it?

what is its pro and cons?
Arkaine
post Jul 24 2007, 11:18 AM

1,904 posts

QUOTE(myhat @ Jul 24 2007, 09:57 AM)
errr.....

No... I was refering to bike tyres..... if you want to use tubeless tyre, need to use sport rims, tubeless tube...... as sport rims don't have the lidi holes....
unless u are refering to the chemical sealent that ppl pour into the tyre tube.....
usus
post Jul 24 2007, 11:50 AM

lalala~~
1,144 posts

use tubeless, easier maintenance & less problemo.
but you will need sportrims. durability same issue, depending how you use oni. Mostly sport rims problemo is bearing oni, causing 'gelong' or out of alignment / balance.
theanswer
post Jul 24 2007, 01:27 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(myhat @ Jul 24 2007, 09:57 AM)
errr.....

bike also got sport rim ma. Tubeless concept is the same..regardless on car or motorcycle.
kevin613
post Jul 24 2007, 01:38 PM

2,236 posts

tubeless is my choice.. been riding my bike for more than 9 months, and it didn't show any sign of leakage whenever i check the tyre pressure at petrol station, whereas the tube one would need to be pumped every month or 2..
Arkaine
post Jul 24 2007, 01:44 PM

1,904 posts

But tubeless tyre will cost about RM 60++ and rm 10 for the tube... if I'm not mistaken....
loonz85
post Jul 24 2007, 01:57 PM

~~loonatics~~
1,594 posts

tubelss is better
TSmyhat
post Jul 24 2007, 05:18 PM

804 posts

this tubeless u r referring to is not the one that i mention (with chemical sealent installed in normal tyre), rite?
jssim
post Jul 24 2007, 06:24 PM

he~~~he~~~he~~~
1,745 posts

use tubeless lah...u change a pair of sport rim only cost u RM120~~
but u can safe ur self to push motorbike along the highway or pay xtra to those call & change~~
BTW, u need a pair of tyre like dunlop tt900 which is can use either tube or tubeless~~
mystvearn
post Jul 24 2007, 09:07 PM

6,639 posts

I use tubeless.
1: need sport rims, mine cost RM160
2: need tubless tyres ~RM60

One thing about tubeless, you can use it as long as the tyre does not break or until you are out of thread on tyre. Even if the tyre has a big hole, just bring to the shop and they fix it. It takes 2 mins to tampal a tubless tyre compare to more than 5 mins on a normal tube tyre. Also if you use your motorcycle a lot and I know in KL-PJ area lots of paku on road. Maybe intentionally. This thing a life saver. Worse comes to worse you can substitute air with branches leaves etc.

If you really want kebal tyres, go for tayar mati. Really kebal until run out of thread.
Chyan
post Jul 24 2007, 09:10 PM

4,224 posts

run flat tyres....haha! now adts tayar kebal.......
alieamin
post Jul 24 2007, 09:51 PM

Mobile Phones Authorized Reseller
1,279 posts

yup. definitely tubeless is better. Pick any any tyre with size 17" 80/90.

gyny
post Jul 25 2007, 01:50 AM

181 posts

not all tyre is tubeless ... lah....

80/90 is pretty big....

2.50-2.75 is enough ...

Added on July 25, 2007, 1:53 am
QUOTE(myhat @ Jul 24 2007, 12:47 PM)
haaaa....
that is the one i'm talking about....
thanks dude....

btw...what do u think.....?
should i opt for it...or remain with tube style...?
do u have any experience using it?

what is its pro and cons?
i ask the motor shop to give me waranty for the stuff but he decline....

1 thing to remember ...
if that thing dont work u have to change tyre which will cost u even more.....
cant do anything since the foam will be everywhere...

This post has been edited by gyny: Jul 25 2007, 01:53 AM
TSmyhat
post Jul 25 2007, 10:05 AM

804 posts

thanks for the advice...
really appreciate it...
sanosizo
post Jul 25 2007, 10:34 AM

4,553 posts

tubeless ftw! run into small potholes oso no problems... normal rims sure bengkok 1 but with tubeless u can have a peace of mind... been using 6 months now never puncture whatsoever... riding from federal - kesas - kinrara with lots of uneven roads... tires fine but its me who get tired very quickly tongue.gif
musha01
post Jul 25 2007, 02:31 PM

207 posts

but can rim lidi using tubeless...not have enough money to buy new RIM...RM160++
TSmyhat
post Sep 10 2007, 10:11 AM

804 posts

aiya recently kena lagi sekali......
should reserve this month salary for tubeless i guess....

unitron
post Sep 10 2007, 10:18 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

my bike been running with sports rim for 8 years already. I dun see any problem with using sports rim. I'm on tubeless anyway.
wevilli
post Sep 15 2007, 02:17 AM

noob fella
867 posts

go for tubeless.... less maintainance and very good.... especially going long distance... wont get punchure so easy unless got nail
zombie
post Sep 15 2007, 02:50 AM

Died
685 posts

No need to ask also know that you need to get tubeless if you can afford it lar.
wevilli
post Sep 15 2007, 05:40 AM

noob fella
867 posts

by the way.. it is not that expensive la.... the rim come in one set... RM 150... bearings RM 100 for 4 including the sub (metal thing to be insert between the bearings in the rim hub ) tyres... that will come all near to RM 350.
caviars
post Sep 15 2007, 05:54 AM

1,144 posts

Change to tubeless is a good investment. It may cost you some money but it will save you a lot of hassle in the future. Quite important if you must use your bike everyday to go to work.

Road are dangerous these days. There are people putting nails on the roadside to puncture motocycists tyres. These people usually make money from this. Offering roadside service and charge you extra for it.
coldfusionpower
post Sep 15 2007, 06:42 PM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

go for tube :
when punture, lose air right away . can change tube . then can use again .

go for tubeless :
when punture, air slowly go out can ride more to find tyre shop. but everytime u punture ur tyre, the strengh lessen. it can hold as much air and time period like it used to. do remember tyre pressure changes according to temp.

after a few punture, then hv to change the whole tyre . i change tyre after two times punture.
TSmyhat
post Sep 17 2007, 08:32 AM

804 posts

yesterday i went to a shop nearby my house....
just making some survey on how much should i spend if i want to change to tubeless....
along the discussion....the mechanic there keep mentioning about using better rims for my bike...
just to ensure better quality and durability...
he keep mentioning a brand called as Racing Boy...
is this brand really good?

and this mechanic also calculated the estimated cost....
approx RM350 complete...

then when I started to leave the shop, another guy happen to be there, who has heard my conversation with the mechanic, advised me to go to Sentul, where I can get rims with cheaper price...
but I'm not that familiar with Sentul area....
is it true Sentul got a lot of spare parts shop?

please help....

CHIP CN
post Sep 17 2007, 09:27 AM

Tuned by CHIP CN
1,262 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Sep 15 2007, 06:42 PM)
go for tube :
when punture, lose air right away . can change tube . then can use again .

go for tubeless :
when punture, air slowly go out can ride more to find tyre shop. but everytime u punture ur tyre, the strengh lessen. it can hold as much air and time period like it used to. do remember tyre pressure changes according to temp.

after a few punture, then hv to change the whole tyre . i change tyre after two times punture.
so kaya tukar setiap 2 kali pancit..... mcm tukar oil filter je.... laugh.gif

Added on September 17, 2007, 9:28 am
QUOTE(myhat @ Sep 17 2007, 08:32 AM)
yesterday i went to a shop nearby my house....
just making some survey on how much should i spend if i want to change to tubeless....
along the discussion....the mechanic there keep mentioning about using better rims for my bike...
just to ensure better quality and durability...
he keep mentioning a brand called as Racing Boy...
is this brand really good?

and this mechanic also calculated the estimated cost....
approx RM350 complete...

then when I started to leave the shop, another guy happen to be there, who has heard my conversation with the mechanic, advised me to go to Sentul, where I can get rims with cheaper price...
but I'm not that familiar with Sentul area....
is it true Sentul got a lot of spare parts shop?

please help....

u know hotel dynasty???.... dekat balai polis tu je kedai motor sederet......

This post has been edited by CHIP CN: Sep 17 2007, 09:28 AM
TSmyhat
post Sep 17 2007, 09:55 AM

804 posts

how cheap dude?
any recommended brand or model for tyre and rims?

i just wanna ensure cost for me to go there is significant enough compared buying everything at the shop at my place....
ataris
post Sep 17 2007, 10:11 AM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

trust me, tubeless is better !
mypullman
post Sep 27 2007, 02:05 AM

50 posts

tubeless better
Deja Vu
post Sep 27 2007, 12:30 PM

1,864 posts

Just need your humble opinion.

Went to a bike shop in PG, recently to quote cost of upgrading my Wave 100R's stock tires to tubeless.

Was told RM330 for 2 tubeless (forgot wat brand) and 2 all-white Racing Boy rims. Is it worth it?
fcuk90
post Sep 27 2007, 02:38 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

sport rim around =rm150
tire=150 front and back

sport rim more sporty mah
ex5 look good with sport rim
spray it all black haha

TSmyhat
post Jun 2 2008, 08:56 AM

804 posts

how about the bearing issue?
i mean alignment...

if normal lidi rim...
can adjut the lidi to suite the bengkok at your rim, rite?
so that less goyang2

but if sport rim, can also meh?

This post has been edited by myhat: Jun 2 2008, 08:57 AM
dek_ang
post Jun 3 2008, 05:14 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jul 24 2007, 09:07 PM)
I use tubeless.
1: need sport rims, mine cost RM160
2: need tubless tyres ~RM60

One thing about tubeless, you can use it as long as the tyre does not break or until you are out of thread on tyre. Even if the tyre has a big hole, just bring to the shop and they fix it. It takes 2 mins to tampal a tubless tyre compare to more than 5 mins on a normal tube tyre. Also if you use your motorcycle a lot and I know in KL-PJ area lots of paku on road. Maybe intentionally. This thing a life saver. Worse comes to worse you can substitute air with branches leaves etc.

If you really want kebal tyres, go for tayar mati. Really kebal until run out of thread.
moto also ade taya mati eh??
ingat basikal budak2 je.. whistling.gif
greedy5513
post Jun 5 2008, 12:29 PM

142 posts

since this thread is talking about tyre can i hijack the thread? tongue.gif

Do you guys know what is the psi or kpa for tyre pressure of honda ex5? not tubeless tyre? mind telling me please?

cant find information on that anywhere on the bike nor the tyre

and boon siew shows no layman term in the wheel specification

Boon Siew
U23r
post Jun 5 2008, 12:41 PM

194 posts

RM 30 for a tubeless tyre. Go for it. My installation took me about RM 300 for a Suzuki scooter including sport rims and tyres.

Added on June 5, 2008, 12:42 pm
QUOTE(greedy5513 @ Jun 5 2008, 12:29 PM)
since this thread is talking about tyre can i hijack the thread?  tongue.gif

Do you guys know what is the psi or kpa for tyre pressure of honda ex5? not tubeless tyre? mind telling me please?

cant find information on that anywhere on the bike nor the tyre

and boon siew shows no layman term in the wheel specification

Boon Siew
I think 225kpa at the back and 200kpa for the front wheel.

This post has been edited by U23r: Jun 5 2008, 12:42 PM
klesk85
post Jan 26 2009, 05:47 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(jssim @ Jul 24 2007, 06:24 PM)
use tubeless lah...u change a pair of sport rim only cost u RM120~~
but u can safe ur self to push motorbike along the highway or pay xtra to those call & change~~
BTW, u need a pair of tyre like dunlop tt900 which is can use either tube or tubeless~~
Alo, is it true that dunlop tt900 can be used as tube or tubeless? Because the tyre got "Tube" mark on it.... blink.gif
t_trax
post Jan 26 2009, 05:52 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(klesk85 @ Jan 26 2009, 05:47 PM)
Alo, is it true that dunlop tt900 can be used as tube or tubeless? Because the tyre got "Tube" mark on it.... blink.gif
im using tt900 for my lagenda..
yup its tube type but u can use as tubeless oso
nash9701
post Jan 26 2009, 05:56 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,357 posts

i always used tube tyres before for almost 3 years, and i use sport rim...just last year i switch to tubeless...so far ok, only 1 times punctured on highway and luckily it happen at bukit merah R&R...b4 this, my tube tyres oso couple of time punctured and need to change the tube, but seldomla, depends on how u ride and place u go with ur bike, i think its cheaper using tubeless, u can paste it using "cacing" by urself but the problem is, u need to ensure the tyre is not fully flatten as u can't pump pressure into it using normal at gas station, u need the blower like gun to blow the tubeless 1st, then u can pump using normally, and if u not using sport rim, better use tubeless...

(^____^)
samba18
post Jan 27 2009, 10:38 AM

Tubeless is always better than those with tubes..

Safety wise its gona be much better. Why? Cuz when your tyre hit a nail or anything sharp it wont explode. By using tubeless the air will decrease slowly. So its safer and a better choice.. altho the tyre may be a lil more costly but think of the advantages smile.gif

Im using Bridgestone Battlax 90/80.. biggrin.gif
klesk85
post Jan 28 2009, 12:56 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(t_trax @ Jan 26 2009, 05:52 PM)
im using tt900 for my lagenda..
yup its tube type but u can use as tubeless oso
Thx bro t_trax, needed that info, now i can use it without worrying rclxms.gif

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Jan 26 2009, 05:56 PM)
i always used tube tyres before for almost 3 years, and i use sport rim...just last year i switch to tubeless...so far ok, only 1 times punctured on highway and luckily it happen at bukit merah R&R...b4 this, my tube tyres oso couple of time punctured and need to change the tube, but seldomla, depends on how u ride and place u go with ur bike, i think its cheaper using tubeless, u can paste it using "cacing" by urself but the problem is, u need to ensure the tyre is not fully flatten as u can't pump pressure into it using normal at gas station, u need the blower like gun to blow the tubeless 1st, then u can pump using normally, and if u not using sport rim, better use tubeless...

Errr nash9701....which means even though u can paste the cacing to the puncture hole yourself, but u must do it at motor shop where the gun-like pump is available? rclxub.gif Then which mean we never need to change a tubeless tyre (unless it's worn la..) even though banyak kali pamcat? Jz use the cacing is ok?
blackpc
post Feb 14 2009, 07:03 PM

The Slow & The Curious
2,377 posts

(let's bring this dead thread up.. hehe)

I'm in favor of tubeless tires. During my college days I rode a TXR Kajang-KL to class everyday... I remembered it cost me rm20 to get the tube replaced road side. No choice right? sad.gif

Nowadays I run on tubeless tires and carry a can of self inflater with me all the time. Saves me a lot of time & hassle!
musha01
post Apr 22 2009, 04:23 PM

207 posts

which brand tubeless tyre is a very good choice of u all , i'm also planning buy it.
ubuntu
post Apr 28 2010, 08:54 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(musha01 @ Apr 22 2009, 04:23 PM)
which brand tubeless tyre is a very good choice of u all , i'm also planning buy it.
I would like to know as well. I asked a motor shop, he recommended me Aero Sport tubeless tyres, it cost RM65 after discount. Is it worth?
SUSceo684
post Apr 28 2010, 10:40 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Jan 26 2009, 05:56 PM)

(^____^)
I tot there is a "flat tyre" button u have to press before filling up a flat tyre (on the digital pumps)?
post Apr 28 2010, 11:44 PM

473 posts

if me~me choose tubeless tyre~cause when my 125zr use normal tyre.... 1 month bocor 10 times...god damn it.. RM150 fly~sport rim+ferrari tyre about RM300++ no more than RM350~ after chage tyre ... over than 1 year no changeg tyre until it botak

0.0271sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:16 AM