38 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

RegentCid
post Nov 23 2022, 01:24 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(cloud_valentine89 @ Nov 23 2022, 10:08 AM)
Thanks guys, i have applied for Wise and bringing along cash as well.

My trip is arriving Osaka and leaving from Fukuoka. While the days in Kansai area has been more or less figured out, there is a huge distance in between Kansai and Kyushu region.

Travelling period is early January.

Any place worthwhile to visit between Himeiji and Kyushu? I understand there is Hiroshima with Miyajima there.

My current plan is one day in Himeiji, one day in Hiroshima and then straightaway travel to Yanagawa.

Thanks in advance for any advice from sifu here!
Between Himeji & Kyushu got too many places to visit. too wide, you need narrow down. Too wide, I can't help much. If I going to write, it will be more than 10k wording essay. biggrin.gif
RegentCid
post Nov 25 2022, 01:46 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(cannellini @ Nov 25 2022, 11:24 AM)
Because Manila Airport very hectic, not really my thing.

After watching youtube reviews to check out their planes, wasn't that impressed.

tldr, No confidence in the Airlines, i guessed.
Philippine Airlines newest fleet A321 Neo & A350 very good. Very hardly can see any airlines installed IFE system on A320/A321 & Philippines Airlines A321 Neo got IFE system with 14 inch screen. biggrin.gif
RegentCid
post Nov 27 2022, 09:40 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(nicodemus88 @ Nov 27 2022, 04:29 PM)
Quick question which I hope @cannellini or @RegentCid would be able to provide some recommendations...

I'm aware that New Year (shogatsu) in Japan is a big thing with many places closed, but do you have any recommendations on where to visit during that period (approx between Dec 30th - Jan 3rd)? Already spent several shogatsu in Kyushu and last year in TDR, so out of ideas now... Besides USJ, what other places would you recommend with not so many closed shops and some activities to do during that period?
90% shop will be closing, those open will be chain store restaurant. Theme park will be full of people. Onsen will be ridiculous expensive. Basically either you go hiking or sleep in hotel room or shopping in mall.
RegentCid
post Nov 29 2022, 09:35 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 29 2022, 08:28 AM)
my initial plan was to spend the New Years in Japan ..... luckily there is ticket for xmas
if not end up sleep hotel or shopping in mall......

the locals will be back at their kampungs Is it?
Not really. Mostly will be rest & sleep in home. Japan are high stress society. Alot Japananese work until 12am and wake up as early as 5am.
You can go Japan train Station on 5am morning, you will see the crowd already, even 12am midnight, station still got full of people taking last train back home.
RegentCid
post Nov 29 2022, 02:47 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Nov 29 2022, 01:21 PM)
I'm not worried about these small delays (<1 hour) which is pretty common
I'm just worried about those last minute flight cancellation, rescheduling which will throw your whole plan/itinerary off
And the recent overbooked flight issue on AA
AAX to Haneda won't be Cancel or reschedule because Haneda only open 3 slot for AAX to land at Haneda per week only. Plus Haneda also open 3 slot for budget airline & AAX are one of the million lucky airlines.

RegentCid
post Nov 30 2022, 09:30 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Nov 30 2022, 08:24 AM)
what does 3slots means?
3 landing + departure /week
or
3 days/week
3 days per week which is Monday,Wednesday & Friday on specific time zone which is 10:30pm.

RegentCid
post Dec 5 2022, 09:16 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Nuke @ Dec 4 2022, 07:17 PM)
Hi, anyone use EVA Air before? Planning to have a last minute trip to JAPAN this month and looks like EVA Air has the cheapest option with 1 day layover in TPE (I don't mind about the layover). Just curious about the reliability of EVA Air. Anyone?
Eva Air are one of the best airlines on earth.
RegentCid
post Dec 5 2022, 09:34 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Nuke @ Dec 5 2022, 08:28 AM)
Not sure if this is in a good way or just a sarcasm  laugh.gif
One of the best lar. I always flew with them, because Taiwanese people likes to go Japan, so EVA got intensive route to Japan. Almost all major & secondary cities airport which other airlines didn't offer. Plus one day almost got 5-7 flight to Tokyo / Kansai.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 5 2022, 09:35 AM
RegentCid
post Dec 5 2022, 10:03 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Nuke @ Dec 5 2022, 08:40 AM)
Ok ok thanks for the input  thumbsup.gif
This also depends you got any flight loyalty program or not? Like I am Star Alliance regular flyer, So ANA are my main airlines of choice, 2nd option was EVA & my 3rd backup are SIA. SIA are only airlines offer from Singapore (nearest to Malaysia) direct flight to Fukuoka & Nagoya (Centrair)

BTW, had to try search for Philippines Airlines / Vietnam Airlines, usually they are cheaper than EVA. If you can affort EVA price, you can had a look on EVA biggest rival which is Starlux. In Taiwan currently the best of the best are Starlux, 2nd was EVA & 3rd was China Airlines.

Starlux economy class meal = business class meal in 99% airlines. Mama mia!! They got even more option to pre-booked from web. all 5 star hotel level of meal.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 5 2022, 10:06 AM
RegentCid
post Dec 7 2022, 08:44 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Nuke @ Dec 6 2022, 08:20 PM)
Bro, just read in one of your post, EVA Air doesn’t allow to leave terminal during long hours layover?
Now not sure. My last EVA flight was 5 - 6 years ago.

RegentCid
post Dec 7 2022, 09:15 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(sijun @ Dec 7 2022, 02:48 PM)
hey guys, seems like airasia only have 1 available flight for my desired dates. just wanna check if it is easy to get taxi to toyosu or ginza area if i exit the airport around 12am.
Yes. Taxi will be plenty but get ready to pay about Rm1200 from Haneda to Ginza. Midnight got extra 20% charges.

Taxi in Japan are no jokes. If you got 4 pax as group then taxi fare can split.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 7 2022, 09:16 PM
RegentCid
post Dec 7 2022, 10:13 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(sijun @ Dec 7 2022, 08:23 PM)
Holy sheet 1.2k?? I expected about rm3-400 only from what i searched online.…

The trains and busses closed after 12 right. What would be the alternatives?
12.30am will be last limousine bus to Shinjuku Station. From Shinjuku to Ginza by taxi about Rm100-150 (late night charges)
RegentCid
post Dec 8 2022, 09:45 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Hokkaido already start snowing which is very unusual at early of December. From Wakkanai to Asahikawa part already start snowing. Est. by Mid of Jan to Feb will be encounter JR train service suspended notice.

RegentCid
post Dec 8 2022, 11:23 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Dec 8 2022, 10:20 PM)
Hi guys, would like to get some tips and suggestions on my second trip to Japan. The first trip was in 2016 during the month of September which cover mainly Tokyo for about 7 days. For this second trip would start from Kansai>Chubu>Kanto. The following is the itinerary I've planned, as it is a free & easy kind of trip will go for some scenery, shopping & food.

The month of March 2023
18th - Landed Osaka
19th - Nara>Osaka
20th - Kyoto
21st - Kyoto
22nd - Nagoya>Kawaguchi
23rd - Hakone>Tokyo
24th - Tokyo
25th - Tokyo Disney
26th - Tokyo
27th - Tokyo>Malaysia

Based on the above itinerary, any feedback on whether the days spent is doable and whole trip will get the chance to experience the Cherry Blossom? After confirming these then I will update again on which spot to visit.

Thank you  notworthy.gif
April chances are higher for Cherry Blossom.
Why spend a night at Nagoya? It doesn't make any sense. 22 can change to Kyoto > Kawaguchi
RegentCid
post Dec 9 2022, 09:19 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Dec 8 2022, 10:36 PM)
Oh ok, so best to go around the end of March till Early April? Saw website all written March on the cherry blossom that why set the trip on March.

Not staying at Nagoya, will spend half day at Nagoya then travel to Kawaguchi and stay at Kawaguchi.
27 March - 4 April are most ideal period.
RegentCid
post Dec 9 2022, 11:00 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 9 2022, 09:29 AM)
thanks for the heads up

im flying thru sq, hopefully no such issue, check in online earliest also 48 hours only.........

cannellini
was checking on the sagano romantic trail
I would need to redeem the ticket at kyoto station , then from there take train to Kameoka station, from there board the sagano romantic train then alight at saga station, betul ka?
you booked sagano romantic train online thru klook or other travel agency? If you booked thru online, normally redeem ticket location are at Kyoto Station designated spot.

You cannot get Sagano romantic train ticket at Kyoto Station. You can ride Sagano Scenic train from Kameoka or Saga Arashiyama Station. I personally like to take the train from Saga Arashiyama Station towards Kameoka Station. From Kameoka take Hozugawa River Boat Ride back to Arashiyama

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 9 2022, 11:22 AM
RegentCid
post Dec 9 2022, 11:21 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 9 2022, 10:15 AM)
not yet book, but browsing it on Klook, reviews were saying buying it on Klook is 2 times pricier hahah

ok did some homework, I'm staying at Nijo , so from there I think better I go Arashiyama forest 1st, then take the train from saga to Kameoka like what you suggested, is winter time suitable for the river boat ride back?

how long does 1 spend time in Arashiyama forest?
Sagano Scenic train are based on 1st come 1st serve basic and ticket only available at Kameoka Station / Saga Arashiyama Station only.
Klook are expensive but you got secure ticket.

About the boat, during winter, the boat will be heated up. very comfortable, but the price are on higher side. (4100 Yen per pax)
Once a life time, it was worth. Unless you wanted become like me which go Kyoto more than 100 times, then no need. biggrin.gif

NOTE:

IF you take the train from Kyoto Station direct to Kameoka Station, on some route the train line are aligh with Scenic train line, basically already potong stim tongue.gif
So from Kameoka to Arashiyama scenic won't be any more surprise to you. Everything already potong stim.

From Kyoto Station don't take JR Train direct to Arashiyama. If you got alot time to spare, Follow my route.
From Kyoto Station > Karasuma Oike Station via Karasuma Subway Line.
Karasuma Oike Station > Uzumasa Tenjingawa Station via Tozai Subway Line.
Uzumasa Tenjingawa Station > Randen-Saga Station via Randen Arashiyama Line (Very classic tram)
Randen-Saga Station walk to Saga-Arashiyama Station

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 9 2022, 11:29 AM
RegentCid
post Dec 9 2022, 02:33 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 9 2022, 12:57 PM)
thanks, I don mind the extra from Klook, just tat the timing macam fixed, let me look at it again
My bro been there at year 2020. He reach Saga-Arashiyama Station at 9am and he get the slot for 1pm train biggrin.gif
This train seat are selling fast like hot cake. That one of reason Klook dare to sell more expensive.

Sad if you missed the Randen Arashiyama Line, That classic tram really one of the hell must try experience. bruce.gif

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 9 2022, 02:36 PM
RegentCid
post Dec 9 2022, 07:28 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(sam sam @ Dec 9 2022, 03:56 PM)
do you know is there a direct bus from utoro onsen to lake akan directly?
looking for public transport to get to lake akan in winter february next year
99.9% no way you can reach utoro onsen and Lake Akan by public transport during Feb. Those area are dead zone. Public transport confirm suspended. 50% you can reach by self driving which will be extremely difficult to drive. Another 50% was road will be closed temporarily due to thick snow.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 9 2022, 07:36 PM
RegentCid
post Dec 10 2022, 06:19 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(sam sam @ Dec 9 2022, 09:59 PM)

How about the senmo rail line from shiretoko to kushiro
Will that be effected
Thinking of staying in kawayu onsen since can't go lake akan
Sekisho Line from Tomamu Station all the way to Kushiro Station will be suspended from Mid of Feb until early March.

Entire Sekihoku Line from Asahikawa Station until Abashiri Station will be suspended from Mid of Feb until early March.

Entire Semmo Line from Abashiri Station until Kushiro Station will be suspended from Mid of Feb until early March.

Entire Soya Line from Wakkanai Station until Asahikawa Station will be suspended from early Feb until early March.

Basically Feb public transport only limited from Sapporo until Asahikawa, Otaru and Hakodate only. Asahikawa to Furano 40% chances suspended. If you don't drive during Feb, your journey basically just limited to South part of Hokkaido only.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 10 2022, 06:25 PM

38 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

1.0708sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:36 PM