4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

2020 Apple iPad Pro Discussion Thread | V1

andrewtho
post Jul 31 2020, 05:27 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(clement5949 @ Jul 31 2020, 02:55 PM)
Was wondering why is the iPad Pro like out of stock every place 😅 I was thinking to get an iPad Pro from the switch concept store 😆
Because each outlet only carry limited stocks due to global stock shortage. Machines do carry them, just drop them a PM on FB to confirm.
andrewtho
post Aug 1 2020, 09:12 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Jul 31 2020, 07:58 PM)
I got 512 from machine mv.

What kinda hub that u guys get and where to get it?

I’m thinking of getting the stick type but was told it’s not stable.

And where to get the paper like sp?
Need to buy from Paperlike website. There’s an offer where you buy 3 sets to get free shipping. Their shipping cost almost the same as 1 set 🤦🏻‍♂️
andrewtho
post Aug 1 2020, 11:19 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(J.alexander @ Aug 1 2020, 11:16 PM)
how do you install this? looks nice
iPadOS14 - just move the tiles to the bottom bar and arrange it accordingly.
andrewtho
post Aug 4 2020, 08:09 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Aug 1 2020, 11:17 AM)
Anywhere selling 12.9” glass screen protector? Seems like most are selling Paperlike clone SP.
Seems like only can purchase direct from Paperlike.

This post has been edited by andrewtho: Aug 4 2020, 08:14 PM
andrewtho
post Aug 6 2020, 10:36 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(boonhlaw @ Aug 4 2020, 10:19 PM)
I still think glass better than paperlike, personal preference.
Both has their pros and cons.

Glass:
Pros - Glass has better clarity and smoother surface.
Cons - Thickness, fingerprint magnet, 'writing on glass' feeling, and also screen glare.

'Paperlike' Matte SP:

Pros - Good writing experience with friction, lesser screen glare and finger prints. Also fits with most combos like Magic Keyboard + Coverbuddy.
Cons - Wears out the Pencil's nibs fast, especially rougher surfaces, needs too be replaced if scratched, and also screen clarity might be compromised based on which brand you buy.

This post has been edited by andrewtho: Aug 6 2020, 10:37 AM
andrewtho
post Aug 8 2020, 02:19 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Aug 7 2020, 04:55 PM)
Any solution like Paperlike Glass?  rolleyes.gif

My Apple Pencil still in seal box, no use for it yet  sweat.gif
Unfortunately nope rolleyes.gif

Actually I’ve been using the pencil alot of take down my daily journals - not an artist or creative person, but I do use it for light photo editing and Photoshop, its more precise with the pencil.

QUOTE(clement5949 @ Aug 8 2020, 12:29 PM)
Finally get myself an iPad Pro 😆

Did anyone straight go iOS 14 beta after newly purchased?
[attachmentid=10550270]
Here tongue.gif

All my devices are in Beta. Seems like the current Beta is more stable- especially the widgets.
andrewtho
post Aug 10 2020, 06:26 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Aug 10 2020, 09:52 AM)
I'm tempted to update the Public Beta but afraid of too much bugs, any particular bugs that annoy you?
Defo the widget bug - but that seems to be fixed @ Beta 4. So far on Beta 4, seems quite stable but some apps are still wonky like Maybank2U and Facebook.

I got a feeling that the official release is just around the corner, hopefully with more widget support from 3rd party.
andrewtho
post Aug 11 2020, 03:34 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Aug 11 2020, 11:14 AM)
I think I watched almost all review for Magic Keyboard on Youtube... looks like every youtuber give good comment about it ... but the price... almost can buy a new iphone SE tho, the price of ipad + Magic keyboard almost price of MBP  cry.gif
Everything is good except the material.

Such a pain to care for.
andrewtho
post Aug 15 2020, 09:47 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Aug 14 2020, 10:04 PM)
I watched it before. He’s referring to actual paperlike brand. For me im just looking for decent matte screen protector that excellent in hiding fingerprint, minimum haze/noise. How it behave with pencil doesnt concern me at all.
How i wish there is a version for ipad similar quality as Hoda matte tempered glass low noise/haze version. Thats one hell really excellent matte glass.
If anyone have recommendation, would be helpful.  smile.gif
There’s another brand - Elecom.

Quite well received by many, though shipping takes quite of bit of your time.

QUOTE(Xirality @ Aug 15 2020, 12:31 AM)
Anyone gotten dbrand skin for Magic Keyboard? Will the adhesive eat the original texture after peel off?
Mine just reached KLIA, hopefully can get it by this week. Based on what I’ve read on Reddit, seems like it doesn’t- but there’s a minor glue residue (depending on cases) which can be removed using a hairdryer or heat source to melt it away.

Now I cannot tahan fingerprints on my MK - cumbersome to wipe every time.
andrewtho
post Aug 15 2020, 03:22 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Aug 15 2020, 11:24 AM)
I know right, the finish is matte but not entirely anti-fingerprint. Do you have imbalance/magnet issue with Switcheasy Coverbuddy?
Yeah not sure why Apple went with this finishing.

Initially the unit I bought from a local seller, the magnet at the back doesn’t hold the keyboard well. Then I returned and ordered directly from Switcheasy - this one worked.

Just don’t use it with a tempered glass, film based are recommended.
andrewtho
post Aug 17 2020, 02:13 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Aug 17 2020, 01:58 PM)
But coverbuddy I think can work with MKB tho
That's because it was meant to work with the MK - its the only case that does, for now.
andrewtho
post Aug 18 2020, 11:22 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Aug 18 2020, 12:18 AM)
Ya bro but if you get the Logitech folio touch you will get 360 protection for your iPad then
Unfortunately that's only for the 11 inch, and I have a 12.9.

I still prefer the MK thou, the versatility is just too seamless.
andrewtho
post Aug 20 2020, 04:32 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(clement5949 @ Aug 20 2020, 12:25 PM)
Suppose today plan to buy the magic keyboard but end up realize its not note taking friendly as I always writing note in portrait
You can always remove it from the keyboard. It’s magnetic and easy enough to remove it as and when you need to write.

I write notes on a daily basis - be it portrait or landscape mode. That’s the beauty of the iPad + MK combo.
andrewtho
post Aug 20 2020, 09:41 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(clement5949 @ Aug 20 2020, 06:00 PM)
Did u combine any additional case with MK? Becoz take it out means no case d 😆
Coverbuddy tongue.gif

If you choose not to have a case, can always skin it with DBrand
andrewtho
post Aug 23 2020, 08:57 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 23 2020, 12:10 AM)
Oh ok, sure take your time. smile.gif

Edit: I just found the video post here.

Wow! The keyboard looks pretty awesome and solid, and it looks closed up nicely!

Very solid! I maybe will buy this magic keyboard. It look far nicer than Logitech one as it is very slim design.
Logitech is too bulky. Another brand look very nice, I forgot the brand name but the touch pad is not smooth during scroll.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=96393272

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=96417294
The Magic Keyboard is all you need.

Logitech doesn’t have the 12.9 variant, the Brydge keyboard should be what you are referring to. That keyboard has issues with the touchpad because its connected via Bluetooth instead of the connector like the MK and Logitech keyboard.

The last thing you need on the iPad is additional bulk, hence the MK fits the bill best.
andrewtho
post Aug 24 2020, 09:37 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 23 2020, 05:18 PM)
Ya that the one - Brydge, too bad it did not use the connector but instead bluetooth, the scroll lagging I cannot accept, else it is a solid product.

Ya you are correct, Logitech only do for 11", anyway I don't like Logitech design, the material use don't have premium look.

After see so many video, seems Apple Magic Keyboard did the best.

Will consider. smile.gif as seems quite heavy, Magic Keyboard (710g) + iPad Pro 12.9" (643g) = 1.35kg. hmm...

Also total price will be RM 5,499.00 + RM 1,549.00 = RM 6,958.00.
More expensive than based model of MacBook Pro which only cost RM 5,599.00 (1.29kg).

HaHa!
Depends on what you need actually. Let's not forget to add the Pencil 2 as well tongue.gif

Its easier to operate with an iPad for most tasks versus a laptop / computer. I just wish that the multitasking will be sorted out in the next few updates - Its one of the 2 complains that I have with iPadOS, the other one is defo that multi screen support - damn that aspect ratio.
andrewtho
post Aug 25 2020, 03:56 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(clement5949 @ Aug 25 2020, 03:54 PM)
Ya, but I think US Set doesn’t affect much bro
Just double check if the layout is US layout - some users reported being a Portuguese layout
andrewtho
post Aug 26 2020, 09:31 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Aug 25 2020, 10:24 PM)
Portuguese layout will be crap... who knows Portuguese here
Spanish speaking people tongue.gif

QUOTE(leejy @ Aug 26 2020, 03:09 AM)
Anyone facing issue with the screen getting scratch easily?i dun feel like puting a screen protector. If really need, anyone know where can get paperlike screen protector except online? Thx
Usually physical stores don’t carry that ‘Paperlike-ish’ screen protector because only a handful of brands has them.

I’m currently using Switcheasy’s variant - not the best but it does the job. You can get them from Shopee / Lazada. There’s alot of alternative brands too like Elecom (highly rated) and ESR (lower tier).

If you insist on Paperlike, try searching on Carousell, some sellers are selling in 1 piece since it comes with 2 per set.
andrewtho
post Aug 28 2020, 09:55 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Aug 27 2020, 01:24 PM)
So somebody in the apple community just keeps saying "why don't you get a dock instead of a hub. It's the same picture that I'm showing. At that point despite my anger, I just decided to calm down and decided that asking in certain communities are just plain lost cause.
Any really good hubs with proper audio jacks available for the iPad Pro?
You can consider this brand,HYPER HyperDrive Hub

The built quality from Hyper is second to none - although the price is a little steep. It's worth it.

andrewtho
post Sep 16 2020, 10:30 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

A12Z, A14..

I bet most of the users can’t tell the difference because the iPads are already fast as hell.

And yes, A14 will probably do better on a single-core basis, the A12Z will be a better performer for multi-core. For me, the 2020 Pro this year is just a minor spec bump from the 2018 model - while the Air just got a total new revamp hence why they both are so close to one another.

I’ll be sticking to my 12.9 inch Pro - Air lacks alot of features that I am not willing to sacrifice on.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0792sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:52 PM