Samsung Galaxy Z (ALL) Series : Fold5/Flip5, Previous & upcoming new model

waveweaver
post May 19 2024, 10:02 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

After updating One UI 6.1 i feel my Fold 4 battery drained faster. Any Fold 4 user feel the same way? hmm.gif
waveweaver
post May 31 2024, 07:48 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(hirota @ May 31 2024, 06:58 PM)
hi all sifus,
I plan to go one utama Samsung service centre to claim the free protective film for Fold 5, normally how long have to wait? within the same day?

If that service centre ada stock then will take around one hour. If no stock then depend how soon can stock arrive.
waveweaver
post Jun 18 2024, 10:11 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

Fold 4 June security update released.
waveweaver
post Jul 13 2024, 06:30 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Jul 13 2024, 06:06 PM)
Anyone trade in fold5? What is the max value compasia offer?
Around 30% of the price you bought the phone. sweat.gif
Fold5 1TB ~ RM2.8K
Fold5 512GB ~ RM2.5K
Fold5 256GB ~ RM2.4K

Now let us compare to the US samsung trade price.
Fold 6 512GB ~ USD2.0K (new)

Direct trade when PO
Fold5 512GB ~ USD1.2K

Total pay for upgrading Fold5 to Fold6 is only USD800 rclxub.gif

Samsung malaysia very kedekut give us only 30% value compared to samsung US give their customer 60% value of the very same product when doing a trade in.

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Jul 13 2024, 06:54 PM
waveweaver
post Jul 13 2024, 08:29 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Jul 13 2024, 07:58 PM)
how come the trade in value for fold 5 is much much lower than s24ultra, even comparable to the s23 ultra?? :confused:  :confused:
Because samsung know if any problem arise the foldable will be twice as costly to repaired. Hence the lower 2nd hand value than the S series.
waveweaver
post Jul 14 2024, 07:38 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(mihina69 @ Jul 14 2024, 07:22 PM)
Everyone knows that long ago..not just Samsung..in fact all android phones

Im barely telling that guy it is not Samsung that buy back your old phones..it is a 3rd party company that Samsung malaysia liaise with
I'm not going to argue with you. I'm just showing why trade in or 2nd hand samsung phones can still get high value at 60% in the US while here we get only a pasty 30%..? It still the same phone either here or there.

Well maybe different modem but it shouldn't come into equation. If between snapdragon or exynos then i can understand but both foldable here and there come with the same snapdragon processor.

Either way everybody have their own preferance. Just buy whichever satisfied you.. peace
waveweaver
post Jul 14 2024, 08:17 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Jul 14 2024, 08:00 PM)
Well that's true.. so envy listening to those US based reviewers... this time consider "bad" for them as trade in lower than previous years. But still it's only a few hundred top up for them to trade in. They can easily upgrade every year, almost all brands also have high trade in credit in US. Wonder how it works ...takkan make a loss everytime they have new models right??
Samsung never loss when selling their phone.
Production cost on Fold4 is USD670 and they sell at USD1.8K at retail. That's why they can give high 2nd hand value in US. Oddly we get a special treatment here. Maybe samsung malaysia customer here all kaya raya one. LOL. laugh.gif
waveweaver
post Jul 17 2024, 06:35 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Jul 17 2024, 01:28 PM)
I tot screen replace2only one time for care+?
With Care+ you can claim anything up to the value of you phone. Means you can claim up to RM7.5K within one year. Doesn't matter if it a sceen damage or anything else. They will honour your claim. If cannot repaired then they will give you a new or refurbish phone equivalent with the balance of your phone value.

Example screen replacement will cost you roughly RM2K. That's mean you can replace it around 3x within one year.
waveweaver
post Jul 17 2024, 06:40 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(cloud_valentine89 @ Jul 17 2024, 03:39 PM)
Not screen protector, the inner screen really changed 3 times in total, battery 2 times... Zero changes for my screen protector, the three vouchers still inside my app.

No idea why they were faulty. First time suddenly cant switch on at all out of a sudden. Second time was no inner screen display. Third time was no speaker sound, somehow its related to the screen. None of them had any symptom like line on screen or whatsoever.

Thats why i wont risk to use it without samsung care+
Welcome to the club.
My Fold4 replace inner screen once edi. Screen went dark when open the phone due to the faulty flux connector under the hinge. But i claim it under standard warranty.. not Care+. I will claim Care+ only for water damage or accidental drop.
waveweaver
post Jul 17 2024, 08:31 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Jul 17 2024, 06:41 PM)
Anyone having similar problems with the fold 5? The hinge design changed since fold 5 right?
The problem with the flux connector under the hinge is it can happen in a sudden. No warning or gradual wear and tear. Usually happen after one year of usage. So make sure you have a 2 years warranty. Replacing a faulty flux connector means need the change the whole inner screen and the outer body frame. Without warranty it can cost you an eye watering RM2K..!
waveweaver
post Jul 30 2024, 10:06 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Jul 30 2024, 04:21 PM)
Is extending to 2nd year care + worth it? Does it cover manufacturing defect just like a warranty coverage?
Samsung foldable phone better take 2 years Care+ warranty. Yes any manufacturing defects are covered by Care+ but so does your standard warranty which will be extended automatically becoming 2 years also.

Any manufacturing defects such as screen blackout or motherboard kaput, you claim using standard warranty. Use your Care+ warranty for screen pecah or accidently drop your phone or water damage.
waveweaver
post Aug 1 2024, 06:23 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jul 31 2024, 12:12 AM)
Past experiences with Fold4 and Fold5 at least for me were positive. Don't really need extra years. Anyway each to their own.
Depend on luck also. Mine Fold4 already sceen blackout once. Need to change the main screen and outer frame. Hope no more problem as warranty will be out by the end of Sept.
waveweaver
post May 15 2025, 09:21 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

WTF.... one day after updating One UI 7.. my Fold 4 main screen gone blank. Front screen no problem still functioning.

Duhh... my Flip 3 got several green lines and now my Fold 4 pulak problem.

I swear i will never buy Samsung foldable phones again.
waveweaver
post May 17 2025, 11:51 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(AlOnE89 @ May 16 2025, 12:20 AM)
wah this is painful.. Samsung phones are great but their after-sales service can go to B18 floor lol

Was keen to trade in my Fold 6 for S25 Ultra, but hold back cuz my S23+ kena green line and they refused to fix for free
Samsung S25U should be okay since S24U have less complaint. Even if kena green lines replacing the screen is less expensive than foldable screen.

QUOTE(chinti @ May 16 2025, 08:41 AM)
firmware update causes this?
Most probably as my Fold4 problem arise one day after updating official One Ui 7 while both my Note20U and Flip3 the green lines appeared not long after updating firmware.
waveweaver
post May 24 2025, 06:46 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

Huhh.. Flip 3 received One Ui 7. Not dare to update later main screen go kaput like my Fold4 sweat.gif

Btw.. went to Lowyat asking whether can open and change my Fold4 flex ribbon connector. Only one shop can do and quote me RM360. Need to leave the phone for a few days. Hope they can revive the main screen.

waveweaver
post May 31 2025, 01:08 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

Collect my Fold4 after changing flex ribbon connector.

Bad news... need to change outer screen protector.
Good news... inner/main screen protector intact.

Now my main screen can be use again rclxm9.gif
waveweaver
post May 31 2025, 06:57 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ May 31 2025, 05:51 PM)
The price 360 is definitely cheaper than Samsung service center, do they give few months of warranty?
One month warranty only cry.gif

This post has been edited by waveweaver: May 31 2025, 06:57 PM
waveweaver
post May 31 2025, 07:55 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ May 31 2025, 07:31 PM)
Ok laa, 360 only, considered no complain Liao the pricing, Fold series is premium flagship surely the parts will also be pricey too
Actually the flex ribbon connector price not expensive. Cost less than RM100. But to replace the flex ribbon need to open up both screen and also the back cover. Very leceh one. Not many shop want to do it.
Consider cost of labour more expensive because of the difficulty than the price of the ribbon itself. laugh.gif
waveweaver
post May 31 2025, 08:04 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ May 31 2025, 07:57 PM)
Bro which shop is that. Can recommend me?
Lowyat Plaza 1st Floor. Can't remember the shop name.
Later after dinner i'll check the the receipt for the name.
waveweaver
post May 31 2025, 08:46 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ May 31 2025, 08:09 PM)
Lowyat plaza shops are easy to find, if you have the shop name even better
MIIFIX Digital Sdn Bhd.
UG027 Upper Ground Floor
Plaza Lowyat.

23 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 >Top

0.0361sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:02 PM