[Q&A] PS3 Price Thread, discussion on local PS3 pricing, etc

SUSdattebayo
post Oct 31 2007, 10:58 AM

5,366 posts

any news from sony malaysia when they gonna launch PS3 here?
anybody asked sony guys before?
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 1 2007, 02:03 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Oct 31 2007, 11:10 AM)
erm, never seen a ps2 launched officially here too.
i think it wont anytime soon. even the 360 with
its large community havent got M$ to officially
launching here. but its getting there from what
i can see nod.gif
PS2 and PSP alrdy official launched
last week I went SOny Wing KLCC, saw they put a PS3 along side a blu-ray player, but they just put the PS3 on standby doh.gif with tag "coming soon" there

forgot to ask those guys on that, buy my guess is it wont be long for PS3 to officially land on malaysia icon_idea.gif

M$ Xbox is a different case altogether... due to our boleh pirate land sweat.gif
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 8 2007, 11:39 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Azie D Zaq @ Nov 8 2007, 10:19 AM)
There aren't modchips for PS3 and it will never have one. Sony has successfully  secure it. If you ever wanted a modded next generation console, go for X360.
o'rly?

there's is one mod chip for PS3 sometime ago, but it's purpose isn't to run backups

plenty of exploits are available on youtube
SUSdattebayo
post Jan 23 2008, 03:14 PM

5,366 posts

johor region esp JB can get cheaper price than any other regions sweat.gif

SUSdattebayo
post Feb 3 2008, 02:55 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Feb 1 2008, 05:17 PM)
u're so rite..  sweat.gif  it seem that the rm1.2k price is for 40GB, wrong info from the seller last time.. extra rm80 for the ceramic white. so rm1280 for 40GB ceramic white. since it is the last ceramic in the shop ( who knows he gave "wrong info" again  rolleyes.gif ) but im totally poisoned by it..
the games however are overprice.. Burnout Paradise for rm220...  discount from rm259.. doh.gif

poison pics.. brows.gif

wah... rm1.2k... it's really a hit drool.gif

SUSdattebayo
post Feb 19 2008, 08:16 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(just passing thru... @ Feb 19 2008, 05:35 PM)
I was at Buyselltrade ( A Secondhand Items dealer) in Subang Jaya  SS15 yesterday. They have one PS3 for sales. It's 60GB version, NTSC-J, with two Sixaxis controller and Winning eleven 2008 bundled. they selling it for RM1600 negotiable. what u guys think?
it's a good deal. Full PS2 support and slightly more nicer build.
SUSdattebayo
post Feb 28 2008, 12:39 PM

5,366 posts

i think at LYP, there got some booth outside the pc shops, which sell PS3 at rm13xx for 40GB. It's quite a nice price consider it's in LYP.
SUSdattebayo
post Mar 7 2008, 10:31 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Mar 7 2008, 03:46 PM)
i saw PS3 @ Sony Style, The Curve, displaying 1999 price tag.

launch already kah?
u sure kah? Display unit only or for sale?
SUSdattebayo
post Mar 7 2008, 10:42 PM

5,366 posts

strange... look at here, the forthcoming event calendar, they never state PS3 at all. This year maybe still no PS3 in Sony-MY? hmm.gif

http://www.sony.com.my/article/240590/sect...site=hp_en_MY_i
SUSdattebayo
post Mar 7 2008, 10:52 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Mar 7 2008, 10:48 PM)
i bought at lowyat
ps3 40gb,av cable,six axis controller
ds3 controller + ps2 'ori' controller
1 game
rm1670
LYP u mean?

the price is not bad.. I think the bare package is also RM 1350
SUSdattebayo
post Mar 15 2008, 01:21 PM

5,366 posts

PS2 was priced RM1000 back in 2003, 3 years after their initial launch
Well my prediction is PS3 will drop to at most RM 1.1k in KL region by the end of this year.
SUSdattebayo
post Mar 19 2008, 10:21 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(wallance13 @ Mar 18 2008, 04:15 AM)
Sony PS3 officially launch in malaysia liao meh? Why some Sony center got sell PS3 aredi ? -.-
they display it or they really sell it? 
need to know the price if they really sell it now...
SUSdattebayo
post Mar 20 2008, 11:28 AM

5,366 posts

PlayStation products sold officially in here are always being raked up indefinitely, see their current PSP price is at RM 859 shocking.gif doh.gif
SUSdattebayo
post Mar 26 2008, 04:07 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(mysticaldodo @ Mar 24 2008, 09:53 PM)
I was talking to the sales rep in Sony Style just now.

He said there is no warranty for the PS3.

I ask him do we need to sent to Singapore, he said yes  blink.gif

But he could be ignorant. He doesn't even know what the free games is.
I was in a hurry, so I didn't ask the other sales attendant (who was busy with another customer)
I'm admittedly kinda worried about the lens problem and so on (yes, I know can DIY but still...)
edit. Send Sony Style an email to clarify this. Lets just see what they say
I went to Sony Centre, the 40GB Black PS3 is for RM 1999
she said local warranty wor...
one game is included
SUSdattebayo
post Mar 26 2008, 05:04 PM

5,366 posts

I dunno but can Sony center sells parallel import stuff? hmm.gif
she said that is Malaysia set, warranty done here, not sure where they perform the repair unsure.gif
screw them lah... for RM1999, better get the rare 60 GB first gen PS3 doh.gif
SUSdattebayo
post Apr 8 2008, 01:32 PM

5,366 posts

bad competition in SWP resulting many of them have to reduce the price but also 'replace' the items in the package behind the door
SUSdattebayo
post Apr 8 2008, 11:06 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(812799 @ Apr 8 2008, 09:13 PM)
but what i heard fr a seller that 60GB is a problem version ... that's what i heard i DID not made it up ...
60GB is the best/most completed features of PS3.
With hardware PS2 games support, also better chrome/finishing compare to 40GB, that fella selling it at RM1.1k with 4 games is really a great buy
SUSdattebayo
post Apr 19 2008, 05:20 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(cosa_nostra @ Apr 19 2008, 02:16 PM)
hi people

i need some help/advice.i have a standard set of ps3 40g.unfortunately the set has been stung with the yellow light disease (try google it to find out more).in other words my console is dead.the set still under warranty from Sony Singapore(bought in jan 08).the problem is im too lazy to go to Singapore.im considering to sell it.so the buyer can claim himself the console.my question is how much is my console worth?

thank you.
why not u bring it to local shops first?

here LYN got a few reputable shops...
SUSdattebayo
post May 27 2008, 08:13 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(fizyboy @ May 27 2008, 08:17 AM)

kids these days ah sleep.gif
not even hit 18 can get PS3 liao sad.gif