Insurance Talk V6!, Everything about Insurance

MUM
post Aug 9 2020, 12:08 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(Macy Insurance Advisor @ Aug 9 2020, 12:00 PM)
Its better to have your own medical card, because if you resign or terminated from the company, then you may not entitle to have coverage in another company. and company provides insurance may low coverage. and medical cost goes up by the time and your age goes up.
on that, i think i read many times in here....
that they mentioned the money spend on buying in the younger age (where the probability of claiming is much lower) can well be channeled into investment
then buy only when older age,...yes, the premium may be higher when older, but the amount of money generated from investment from using the premium to invest instead of buying med insurance at younger age would be more

also when you buy medical insurance at younger age,...will it be fixed premium through out the lifespan?
or the medical insurance premium will continue to go up every few years from XX age? (example from age 45?)

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 9 2020, 12:28 PM
MUM
post Aug 10 2020, 12:24 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Aug 9 2020, 11:38 PM)
Halo friend,

From $$$ point of view. Yes Mr B save his premium for 20 years.
From life planner point of view, Mr B taking risk for 20 years.

According to this theory Mr B can save his premium provided he didn't strike by any serious accident & illness. Also nothing wrong with his health checkup report by the time he signup medical plan 20 years later.

Anyhow you got to compare by actual facts.
My own medical plan RM2xx monthly signup since 2016.
Today, I key in the same benefits and coverage.. I got to pay RM5xx/month if I start a new plan right now.
I was Age3x 2016. now Age4x 2020.

If you are comparing with standalone. The price table quite transparent. Many insurance company website can get.
Is either company accept you, or loading, or loading with condition or reject. No waiver rider can be add.

blush.gif  May be try different scenario as conclusion.
A none smoker tell his smoker friend :"Hey kawan, you can save cigarette money and buy a VIOS now if you stop smoking 20 years ago"
The smoker friend reply :" You are right kawan, where is your extra VIOS now?"

SO ... no right or wrong. Is about you understand the consequence of your own choice.  nod.gif
what risk?
when TS mentioned: "usually do we need to purchase medical insurance when we are already employed in a company?"
Wouldn't that generally meant ts has medical insurance covered to some extend?
hmm.gif

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 10 2020, 12:49 AM
MUM
post Aug 10 2020, 10:49 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Aug 10 2020, 10:38 PM)
I believe anyone that is "good" is someone who would help you and be on your team.
And to get there, maybe it's best if we both know where you stand financially, your cashflow, your affordability, and your objectives.
Only then could we begin to understand what you need to make it happen.

So we worked out what you need, and you want to buy a product that we both know you need. How do you know you can confidently buy from this agent?
Maybe arrange for the sales appointment at their agency office.
This gives you the opportunity to get acquainted with their agency staff, and you can take a look at how things are run there.
If it's messy, maybe look for someone else?
If you like what you see, hey, come often! We also got down periods wan, sometimes you come visit us, we also very happy to see you.

So in short, how to spot a good agent? Go see their office and then maybe if you like what you see, and the approach checks all your boxes, open up to them about your finances, and visit them regularly. It's always a work in progress.

Just my 2 cents.
after having paid them a visit, all the boxes checked out, then what if that agent starts with "buy now as this plan will gives you 20% return of your annual premium and just pay 6 yrs only then no need to pay more"? (as yklooi posted)
MUM
post Aug 10 2020, 10:57 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Aug 10 2020, 10:52 PM)
Unless that also checks one of your boxes lah...
Otherwise, why linger around?

If lidat also you stay and still buy, you better find out what coffee the bugger serve you.
Must be some damn good coffee.
so the questionnaire to check as "no buy" if the agent mentioned "buy now as this plan will gives you 20% return of your annual premium and just pay 6 yrs only then no need to pay more"?

what else?

MUM
post Aug 10 2020, 11:13 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Aug 10 2020, 11:04 PM)
If the person is selling you what you don't need, not aligned with your objectives, then why buy leh?

What else ah, I also not very sure.
But I'd love to discuss the topic with you to better improve on my training to my agents.
Would you be so kind to help me?
maybe post 1283 by yklooi can help provide a stage for training scenario in which the agent will act incapacitated as per yklooi scenario then listen to what or how others do the presentation to filter out "good", so so or not good to have?
MUM
post Aug 10 2020, 11:18 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Aug 10 2020, 11:02 PM)
as a reasonable consumer, if someone throws a paper at you that read as such. Read the fine print, look for guarantees, who is the company providing this.

No such info ? time to run off and have a coffee at Starbucks and chill.

What else ?

Let's see

1# This insurance hor, RM1,000,000 payout upon death, RM1 monthly only*

2# This insurance hor, pay 2 years only, then no need pay for life

3# This insurance hor, give 20% return per annum and pay 5 years only

Actually can't think of anything more ridiculous to say lol, maybe if you come across bizarre news, let me know

30% guaranteed income per year, premium pay for 6 yrs plan......as per image in post 17

Wealth Booster Plan, Investment Scheme
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4977858/all
MUM
post Aug 10 2020, 11:37 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Aug 10 2020, 11:31 PM)

As I've already replied in that topic itself, it is important to understand whether 30% is based on account value or based on the sum assured.

In this case, it's clearly showing 30% of the sum assured 200,000. As the guaranteed yearly payout is RM60,000 consistently.

IRR on the low assuming RM1,332,768 = 0.638%

IRR on the high assuming RM3,032,586 = 5.750%

IRR on the mid assuming RM2,182,677 = 3.680%

if you're buying the plan for the purpose of capital / wealth preservation, yes it seems okay but won't do well against inflation.

if you're looking for higher returns and not lock in for the next 20 years, this is not the plan for you.

if you hold it less than 20 years, you will definitely lose money.
well, that is provided you know how to calculate and what to look for to calcul;ates...
a layman on the street will only be captivated by the 20 or 30% returns....not know what actually happens between the lines....
thus for an agent that start with "buy now as this plan will gives you 20% return of your annual premium and just pay 6 yrs only then no need to pay more" was yklooi's worst encounter

MUM
post Aug 11 2020, 12:02 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Aug 10 2020, 11:46 PM)
Hence my advise is, seek a good agent to do all the necessary reviews before they proceed to take any action or risk losing money / opportunities.

Not every human has next 20 years ahead of them.
thumbup.gif thumbsup.gif
i guess that is why yklooi asked about it earlier so as to try to pass some knowledge to his sons
MUM
post Aug 30 2020, 09:42 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(Cyclopes @ Aug 30 2020, 09:34 AM)
This should be covered under Total & Permanent Disability, which is written together with life coverage. There are few definitions for TPD, would need to pass the test to qualify.
was TPD defined or means a person who is unable to do any work anymore?
thus lost of part of the hand or leg still permits that person to work, right? hmm.gif

something like this?
In general term, TPD may be fulfilled by one of these occurrences:

The person is not able to do any work, business, occupation or profession to earn any wages, compensation or profit.

Total loss of the sight of both eyes.

Loss of use of two limbs above wrist or ankle.

The person is not able to perform at least 3 Activities of Daily Living without the assistance of another person.

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 30 2020, 09:44 AM
MUM
post Aug 30 2020, 09:50 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(objectifyme @ Aug 30 2020, 09:47 AM)
Thanks for the question! Since much of my work is based online, mobility is not the most crucial (though I'd very much like to keep BOTH my feet)! With so much of our work being done on computers these days, I suppose some form of coverage for hands could be vital. This is something I'm willing to look into. I'm wondering if coverage for TPD is offered separately, or whether it must be added on as a rider?  hmm.gif
then what about lost of 1 wrist?
will that be crucial?
TPD may has limitation to qualify...
as posted above.

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 30 2020, 09:52 AM
MUM
post Sep 4 2020, 11:49 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Sep 4 2020, 11:44 AM)
Hi guys, anyone know where can i register 3rd party insurance via online for my 7 years old, debt free car?
while waiting for responses, i googled and found this,

Best Third Party Car Insurance
The best third party car insurance plan covering you against the damage, loss and injury when on the road.
https://ringgitplus.com/en/car-insurance/third-party/

MUM
post Sep 6 2020, 05:10 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Sep 6 2020, 04:58 PM)
Hi

Just found the forum. Can anyone help me with below query:

1. I find that Allianz explicitly states it covers the below for the cancer treatment

targeted therapy,
hormonal therapy
& immunotherapy

Any other insurance company covers the above treatment?
googled and found 2 more,...i am sure there are many others too....

MUM
post Sep 6 2020, 05:12 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Sep 6 2020, 05:08 PM)
Guys, im in my late 30s. Can suggest me the best insurance + saving plan?
while waiting for responses, you can try these sites....for some info while you wait for responses...
https://www.google.com/search?biw=1920&bih=...&sclient=psy-ab
MUM
post Sep 7 2020, 11:27 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(e-Shagger @ Sep 6 2020, 09:32 PM)
Hi sifus. I'm new to this thread and I'm just wondering if anyone can give me an opinion about Great Eastern's Great Flexi Wealth. I understand that there's a guaranteed cash bonus of 17% per annum for the first 10 years and 33% per annum for second 10 years, but how secured is the monthly capital I put in for the first 10 years?
there was an illustration of another product from another company and that product may not be similar to yours...
thus just for illustration....
post 8,
Wealth Booster Plan, Investment Scheme
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4977858/all

on this "how secure is the monthly capital, if you put in for the first 10 years?"
as this is an insurance product,...my uneducated guess is your total capital put in for the 1st 10 years will be lesser than what you will get at 10 yrs, when that 10 yrs is considered as early termination (example in a 20 yrs maturity policy)
MUM
post Sep 11 2020, 05:19 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(halofujima @ Sep 11 2020, 04:49 PM)
Looking for car insurance. Any agent want to do?
I want to rent out my car, hopefully it can cover if 3rd party accident or lost

Any recommendation?
Previously a forummers mentioned that the insurance policy for rental car and car for private uses are different....any idea of the estimated price variance for the same coverage?
MUM
post Sep 18 2020, 10:23 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(Leon84 @ Sep 18 2020, 10:18 PM)
Hi All, i have received notification from GE regarding Revision of Premium which is the 2nd time, reasons as in view of the increasing medical cost and utilisation of medical services. Have you face the same situation as mine?
mind sharing, ..... 2nd time premium revision in the span of how many years?
when was the last time it increased?
the rate of increase is how many % for the last time?
the rate of increase is how many % for this time?
MUM
post Sep 18 2020, 10:29 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(Leon84 @ Sep 18 2020, 10:26 PM)
1st is Nov 2016. 1st is around 13%, and  this time is  around 29% increase
doh.gif mad.gif that is "BAD"
btw, approximately how old are you?
MUM
post Sep 18 2020, 10:32 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(Leon84 @ Sep 18 2020, 10:31 PM)
36, btw, what insurance company you using?
AIA & GE,...
company paid,....got no idea if there is any premium adjustment or not.
MUM
post Sep 29 2020, 11:26 PM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(redtuna @ Sep 29 2020, 09:05 PM)
I come across this I-secure takaful by ETIQA.. since there is no PDS provided by ETIQA I did some research and found out this odd term in Ringgit Plus website..

Does that mean if the TPD occur after 45 I will not eligible for compensation?
googled and found this....

i-secure etiqa brochure and FAQs...
https://etiqa.com.my/v2/life-insurance-fami...-secure-takaful

MUM
post Sep 30 2020, 11:31 AM

14,888 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Sep 30 2020, 11:23 AM)
24, M, non-smoker.

Company covers unlimited outpatient and 50k hospitalization and surgery.

No existing insurance plan.

Is it necessary to get a med card?
hmm.gif depends....my takes are depends on
your affordability,
your income,
your family's health histories,
your lifestyle is healthy or not,
your appetite for risk (of not having it when needed to, what are the chances of claiming one),
your financial ability to pay out (abt RM20k or more ??) in case of medical emergency
your priority in life as this life stage on what you want to use the money you saved from not buying med card now,
etc etc

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1444sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:38 AM