Insurance Talk V6!, Everything about Insurance

ckdenion
post Jul 22 2020, 05:54 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(salem74 @ Jul 21 2020, 09:09 PM)
Hi, I'm currently 34 y/o, non smoker

My main concern is just hospital admission coverage and outpatient treatment for cancer.

Would like to ask the sifus here about recommendations for investment link policy with minimum coverage for life/total permanent disability(as i had already had another savings type life/TPD insurance)

+waiver in case of having CI/TPD.
+annual limit may be 500k-1m
+lifetime unlimited
-Life/TPD amount as low as possible

Thank you.
hi salem74, it will range from RM250-300 for benefits that you want and policy sustainability will be until 80 years old.
ckdenion
post Jul 24 2020, 03:39 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(nxtpg @ Jul 23 2020, 09:56 AM)
hi nxtpg, you just need to change the rider to the latest medical rider. only buy 2nd policy if you have a new needs - for example a dedicated policy just to protect your family's expenses or kid's future education.

QUOTE(nxtpg @ Jul 23 2020, 10:10 AM)
for your case like that, it depends on looking into a proper insurance planning first, then only after that, the plans come into play to see what is really best for you. cant really give a clear advise to you without knowing your current situation and goals in life.

QUOTE(truecolor @ Jul 23 2020, 10:52 PM)
hi truecolor, that rule of thumb is just in general. basically one shall look into own's financial situation and current commitments, and find out what is needed to be covered. then only after that when the plan is proposed then only we know how much premium is needed for the plan that covers your needs.
ckdenion
post Jul 26 2020, 09:13 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(strategist @ Jul 25 2020, 12:02 AM)
hi strategist, yes we definitely need to do our own additional investment asides from fully relying on ILP plans. ILP plans is not for growing our wealth. it is more to cover for future insurance cost. so long you are not paying super high premium for your ILP, then you can actually keep it since you have a medical card rider in it. Unless the medical card rider's benefits is not enough to cover future medical cost and you are looking to upgrade it.

QUOTE(chichabom @ Jul 25 2020, 10:03 AM)
hi chichabom, if one claim is made, company wont renew the policy at a much higher premium. it is only upon new insurance application with past medical/claim history, then premium loading might be imposed (depending on what condition).

QUOTE(cfc @ Jul 25 2020, 05:15 PM)
hi cfc, how much is the new premium for your mum's plan now? if you are looking for a medical card that covers till 70 years old, likely you can go for standalone medical card. can still buy at her age. premium will be less than 5k yearly at her age now.

QUOTE(zhixie @ Jul 25 2020, 11:14 PM)
hi zhixie, in this case if you have the report showing that everything is normal, then likely you can apply new plan with standard approval. of course still subject to company's underwriter check on the report submitted. meanwhile, just keep whatever you have now. by the way when did the abnormal heartbeat symptom happen?
ckdenion
post Jul 26 2020, 11:38 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(cfc @ Jul 26 2020, 09:40 AM)
for a million annual limit, then the premium will be slightly lesser than 5k/year (standalone). if lower limit, lesser than 4k/year premium. yea, you are right about the GE ILP medical riders, the COI got increased starting 1st June 2020. for standalone, there is no repricing that i know so far.

QUOTE(zhixie @ Jul 26 2020, 10:28 AM)
The abnormal heartbeat is 2-3 years before. Not sure if it will consider as CI.
abnormal heartbeat 2-3 years back, any treatment done at that time? what is the condition now? if got latest test report, just standby to submit upon existing insurance upgrade/new insurance application.
ckdenion
post Jul 26 2020, 12:23 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(nxtpg @ Jul 26 2020, 12:05 PM)
What about supraventricular tachycardia? Will it affect the policy. Echo results all good
need to submit the latest report with disclosure for company to decide. if the upgrade will have exclusion, then will advise you to keep the current one since it is a standard medical card that has no exclusion. btw what's your current GE medical card?
ckdenion
post Jul 27 2020, 01:28 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(Ray2021 @ Jul 26 2020, 11:08 PM)
FYI only.  Pls ignore if not relevant or helpful.

https://kclau.com/insurance/5-things-most-i...inked-policies/
definitely some useful info here bro. thumbup.gif
ckdenion
post Jul 29 2020, 04:15 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(ikey2211 @ Jul 28 2020, 10:32 PM)
hi ikey, hope my reply helps smile.gif

QUOTE(cfc @ Jul 28 2020, 01:47 PM)
hi cfc, you may walk in to any RHB branch for this product. wink.gif

QUOTE(cfc @ Jul 28 2020, 11:04 PM)
where do you get the term "excess" from?
RHB Medisure Supreme brochure

QUOTE(encikbuta @ Jul 28 2020, 06:01 PM)
hi encikbuta, if you see the term "Investment Value", that means this is an ILP plan and yea if you were to surrender it, that is the amount you will get (price based on the day of processing)

Another policy with the term "surrender policy", that will be a non-ILP plan a.k.a traditional plan. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ckdenion: Jul 29 2020, 04:29 PM
ckdenion
post Jul 29 2020, 04:34 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(lovingforyou @ Jul 28 2020, 10:53 PM)
QUOTE(lovingforyou @ Jul 29 2020, 04:09 PM)
hi loveforyou likely there is some misunderstanding here. this plan need to pay for 5 years (total of RM250k with 50k contribution/year). really sad to know that sometimes bancassurance just sell products without going into proper financial planning for the customers (not trained to do so). i think the best you can do now is to reduce the sum to the lowest which is 6k per annum. not to say this plan doesnt suit for retirement, it still depends on how individual wanna plan for their retirement and what available funds a retiree has.
ckdenion
post Jul 30 2020, 02:37 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(lovingforyou @ Jul 29 2020, 09:52 PM)
QUOTE(lovingforyou @ Jul 29 2020, 10:11 PM)
hi lovingforyou, on the bolded statement above, most bank agents (aka bancassurance, BANCA) are not in the position to go through proper financial planning with the customers. the way they approach is more on product selling approach. im not sure whether they can refund you the 50k (2nd payment) or not. the best they can do now is alter the plan to make the following payments to 6000 per annum and refund the extra value in the account (might not be 50k, only the system can determine the amount to be refunded).

btw im curious on what the service advisor drafted on the piece of paper. is there any proof that the advisor is the one do the sketching on that paper?
ckdenion
post Jul 31 2020, 04:26 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(lovingforyou @ Jul 30 2020, 10:03 PM)
yea, thats how certain agents explain plan like this. then it becomes more to promoting the product instead of making sure whether this plan suits your mum or not. but make sure your mum keeps the current medical + life plan. smile.gif

QUOTE(freshgraduate2020 @ Jul 30 2020, 11:22 PM)
At what age do you all bought your first insurance? I am young and fresh out to the job market. When should I start covering myself? Also, any recommendation for me?
hi freshgraduate2020, i personally bought myself one when i was at 20.

QUOTE(cfc @ Jul 31 2020, 03:30 PM)
hi cfc, if for scenario 1, full claim under A, then balance 20k can claim fully from R (because deductible of 5k already claim from AIA). so in this case even if you do scenario 2, its the same thing, you claim from R and pay the deductible 5k, claim 5k deductible from A. Scenario 2 will be better because you only need to bear the deductible of 5000 first.

QUOTE(driftkids @ Jul 31 2020, 04:08 PM)
hi driftkids, with the premium, its a bit difficult to get the all listed benefits. maybe you can get something like that instead:
1. waiver in case of having CI/TPD
2. annual limit 1m
3. lifetime unlimited
4. Cover till min 60
5. Life/ci/tpd payout ~175k
6. Room&Board 150

This post has been edited by ckdenion: Jul 31 2020, 04:26 PM
ckdenion
post Aug 3 2020, 04:38 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(glitz2z @ Aug 3 2020, 10:01 AM)
hi glitz2z, reply as per above. very hard to determine whether that premium is high or not. also since you have other active policies. you might wanna hear from an unbiased advice on what you have and what you need/want then only go for what best suits you. wink.gif
ckdenion
post Aug 6 2020, 08:50 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(tan71500 @ Aug 6 2020, 08:08 PM)
Hi guys, i found that hong leong assurance is offering a medical card with 2.5 million annual limit but the room and board is just rm200. HLA is the only company offering such high annual limit with 200 room and board. Sounds too good to be true, is there anything i should be aware of here?
hi tan, i believe you are referring to HLA MediShield III. basically you will have to buy the medical card rider and the annual limit booster. so yea you are right about the 2.5m annual limit. the brochure didnt show the additional rider COI though.
ckdenion
post Aug 6 2020, 11:31 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(tan71500 @ Aug 6 2020, 08:57 PM)
yes thats what i'm afraid of. will there be hidden charges?
of course when you add that additional RM1.5m annual limit rider, that rider got cost to be added in. are you referring to this charge?

QUOTE(tan71500 @ Aug 6 2020, 10:22 PM)
i think the annual limit is too high also, but their cost of insurance is  about the same with other plan offering lower annual limit
do you have the cost of insurance table for this? also for annual limit booster rider, indeed the cost is lower. you can check out Great Eastern's medical card annual limit booster rider, the charges for this rider itself is quite low also.

QUOTE(tan71500 @ Aug 6 2020, 10:49 PM)
by the way is it advisable to pay minimum premium for the first few years for ILP because allocated premium only around 60%, and only increase the premium when allocated premium reach 95% to maximize the money that goes to the fund?
in this case, you can actually just do a regular top-up (95% allocation) since the first year (or any inception year of the policy). by increasing the premium even after nth year, the newly adjusted premium will be subjected to the premium allocation based on first year.

QUOTE(yuunasue @ Aug 6 2020, 09:31 PM)
Hi, may i know is there any Life Insurance or TPD able to purchase for next age 64 and 62 ?

Currently have stand alone medicard.
hi yuunasue, yes able to purchase so long doesn't exceed 70th year birthday. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ckdenion: Aug 6 2020, 11:55 PM
ckdenion
post Aug 8 2020, 08:38 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Aug 7 2020, 10:14 PM)
hi tachlio, if the plan benefits and term suits you, then you can get it. unless you wanna get something longer. is the plan term extendable upon reaching its maturity?

QUOTE(tan71500 @ Aug 8 2020, 07:56 PM)

it is mentioned in the fund fact sheet that ''this is strictly the performance of the investment fund, and not the returns earned on the actual premiums/contributions paid of the investment-linked product. If this is the fund that i have chosen for my investment linked insurance  how will my actual interest be calculated?
hi tan, the performance in the fund fact sheet is the actual fund performance. the statement means that it is the fund performance, not the return on your plan's account value (aka investment value). in general, i wont stress so much on insurance plan return because thats not the intention of buying insurance plan (even though termed as ILP)
ckdenion
post Aug 9 2020, 09:19 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(tan71500 @ Aug 9 2020, 07:36 PM)
How many % increase in COI for medical card by GE during the latest price revision?
40%-50%
ckdenion
post Aug 9 2020, 09:24 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(tan71500 @ Aug 9 2020, 09:23 PM)
Both rider and standalone medical card also 40%?
the standalone card got no COI change. the medical rider that has COI increase is Smart Medic and Smart Medic Xtra
ckdenion
post Aug 16 2020, 12:29 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(tan71500 @ Aug 15 2020, 02:02 PM)
Hi,  i had asthma when i was small, last attack was around 7-9 years old and it never happened until im 25 now, do i need to declare to insurance company? One agent told me if more than 10 years no need declare
hi tan, just declare. it's so long ago issue, most likely there is no need of check up also. wink.gif
ckdenion
post Aug 18 2020, 07:59 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(doraemontan @ Aug 18 2020, 11:51 AM)
Icic... putting the investment link thingy aside , what are Those better alternatives In term of overall benefit ? Comparing both Allianze n GE , Allianze seems offer better than GE... but again as a layman, I can only judge this way by comparing them side by size
Hi doreamontan, if just by picking between Allianz and GE, i will pick Allianz. smile.gif
ckdenion
post Aug 19 2020, 03:28 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(CSW1990 @ Aug 18 2020, 10:06 PM)
I just received letter from my insurance company GE that my medical card annual premium will be increased (12%) due to the medical rider revised.
It did state that I can choose not to increase my current premium.
But does this happen frequently? Is it wise to choose not to increase and remain same?
I remember few years ago the agent told me the premium will never be increased.. but now only 3 years...

hi CSW, yea most medical riders from GE has increased COI since 1st June 2020. It doesnt happen frequently. maybe 5-6 years once in general? of course there is no fixed period when the COI will increase, it all depends on various factors too. if budget allows, better to increase.

many agents will comfort customers by telling them the premium will never increase. well, it doesnt applies to ILP though. it is clearly stated in the illustration that premium is not guarantee because cost of insurance is not guaranteed as well. so when cost of insurance increase, so your premium.
ckdenion
post Aug 22 2020, 10:59 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(afif737 @ Aug 22 2020, 06:08 PM)
hi afif! yea remember you posting about seeking for standalone and term plan. 1300/month for what benefit exactly? perhaps you can share more in details? also ILP premium is not guaranteed to be the same throughout the whole term, reason being is the cost of insurance benefits (mostly CI and medical) are not guaranteed and subject to be changed (increase) after a period of time.

there is no standard life insurance/ci insurance amount. it all depends on your current commitment and status. perhaps you may wanna go through a simple financial planning then only you know how much actually you wanna be covered for. yes you can also factored in epf or whatever assets you have now, only thing is will that affect other financial goals in life say retirement planning. wink.gif

This post has been edited by ckdenion: Aug 22 2020, 11:00 PM

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1364sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:38 AM