DELL INSPIRON 1520 FANS CLUB V1, Now include 1525 & 1720 Users! Join here

TSalexnvidia
post Mar 7 2008, 08:14 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Mar 7 2008, 06:56 AM)
yo yo... new inspiron 1520 user here... just got it yesterday... heres the spec:
Jet Black colour
Core 2 Duo 2.00Ghz Processor
2GB DDR2 RAM
8600M GT Graphic Card
Wireless N network
9Cell Battery

running on win XP
congrates on your new 1520! just added you to the proud owner list. cheers!
TSalexnvidia
post Mar 9 2008, 08:15 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Mar 8 2008, 05:45 AM)
guys... wats the load temp of ur 8600M GT?... i installed 169.09 driver.. i OCed the GPU to 525mhz core clock , 450mhz memory clock... the highest temp i got during gaming is 60C...
i got my core all the way up to 650MHz, temp stay somewhere around 62C.. quite cool. like i've said, 1520 is build like a tank. has one of the largest laptop GPU heatsink i've ever seen.
TSalexnvidia
post Mar 11 2008, 06:17 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Mar 10 2008, 10:46 AM)
woah...650mhz... lolz... anyway to make it run cooler?

Added on March 10, 2008, 5:49 pmanyway to OC the CPU?... and got any good power management program?... it seems that it lowers the cpu clock to 700+mhz when idle...
well, i opened the laptop, changed the thermal paste for both GPU and CPU to high performance ones. on idle, temp is around 45C, when full load, temp is around 62-65C. pretty cool for a laptop GPU. nothing to worry about. my 3Dmark06 is a whopping 4820. not bad for a 8600M GT eh..
TSalexnvidia
post Mar 24 2008, 04:33 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Mar 11 2008, 02:02 PM)
i don't think software OCing will void it... haha..
mine also idle at around 45C and load temp around 57C... i cant seem to run @ 650mhz core clock get artifacts... what bout ur shader and memory clock?
when you overclock, make sure your shader clock is overclocked too. shader clock's formula is as follows :

shader clock = 2 x Core clock

eg. 650MHz Core Clock, Shader clock would be = 2 x 650 = 1300MHz.

maybe your GPU is not that overclockable, try to step back a little, say 600MHz core.

Tips:
overclocking memory gets more performance out of your 8600MGT.
TSalexnvidia
post Mar 27 2008, 04:52 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Mar 24 2008, 06:21 AM)
add me to the owner's list!

djfoo000 - alpine white

Juz arrived today and very happy wit it! Only prob is finding the old software updates that are compatible wit Vista...
Surprised at how quiet it is! Can barely hear any sound from it apart from the disc drive when reading disc.
You are now listed. congrates on the new purchase. did u notice/hear any "CPU whine" issues?
TSalexnvidia
post Apr 19 2008, 09:00 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(priest @ Apr 19 2008, 10:38 AM)
anyone has done the bios update? A07? is it performing better?

just got my replacement of my hard drive. no diff. the dvd also making super loud noise. the optiarc wan.. applied firmware also no diff
I've updated to A07 the day it released. everything working fine so far. not much difference in terms of usability. A07 is released mainly to support new 45nm Penryn T8000/T9000 series cpus and bluray drives.

Also added 2 more proud 1520 owners to the main page.
TSalexnvidia
post Apr 27 2008, 04:11 AM

351 posts

dell inspiron 1520 and vostro 1500 series with 8600M GT are ALL using DDR2 (400MHz). Depending on your DDR2, you might be lucky to have this RAM chip inside - HY5PS561621AFP. i find it to be very overclockable, over 500MHz (i got it to run at 550MHz rock solid stable).

only the more expensive XPS M1530 uses DDR3.

Congratulations on the new purchase Kev. you have been listed on the first page.

This post has been edited by alexnvidia: Apr 27 2008, 04:22 AM
TSalexnvidia
post Apr 27 2008, 10:23 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Apr 27 2008, 04:37 AM)
tq for adding me alex, haha, i noticed the super price dip in midvalley, so i decided to buy it, is it normal to have such pricing in midvalley nowdays?

stock confriguration, was selling for rm2899 with delivery , i only topped up some money to get windows xp pro and geforce 8600m gt, since they are not too much away
I think Dell must have changed their marketing strategy a little over the recent years. previously, the best priced laptops from Dell can only be found on their website and PC-Fair + a little effort in bargain if you know any sales person inside. another reason is Dell is trying to clear the remaining 1520 stock. i think it's close to the end of 1520's product life cycle since monteviena platform is coming out this June. well, 1520 is truly a reasonably powerful and sturdy laptop and i like it very much.

8600M GT is definately a must if you decide to play games. i noticed you only add a little bit for the display card and winxp, which is a real good bargain. happy gaming!

This post has been edited by alexnvidia: Apr 27 2008, 10:27 PM
TSalexnvidia
post Apr 27 2008, 10:30 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(sucka3 @ Apr 27 2008, 03:25 PM)
cant upgrade mine to 8600gt..no budget...guess im stuck wit 8400gs.. cry.gif
you can always get a 8600M GT spare part from e-bay or (maybe) Dell when you have the cash to spare. i've seen people upgrade their graphics card for 1520 but u have to be real careful when you purchase one because Dell's graphics card are not based on any MXM standard.
TSalexnvidia
post Apr 29 2008, 08:08 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(raymannlucas @ Apr 28 2008, 02:18 PM)
im usign that GC, overclock the GC will void ur warranty if its spoil isnt it? what software do u use to overclock it bro?
OC (with care) does not do much harm to your components. inspiron 1520 has excellent cooling system, way better than many of the laptops i've seen (opened). im not saying OC will not void your warranty, it probably will, but i for one am going to squeeze every single drop of juice out of my laptop before it becomes obselete in 1-2 years time.

u'll need a good set of driver (try v174.74) and OC tool (try rivatuner). my 3DMark06 at 1280x800 default settings is 4800 (+-50) mark. try beat that with the default factory clock. i can push it higher, but i decided a balance of performance and safety is more important
owner list updated. welcome to the club hihihehe.

This post has been edited by alexnvidia: Apr 29 2008, 08:10 AM
TSalexnvidia
post Apr 29 2008, 08:47 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Apr 29 2008, 01:16 AM)
honestly im awaiting my unit to come and see what i could do, i used to clock my ati radeon x1300, close to the x1400 speeds, to compensate for the speed diff, lol

so i wanna see what this 8600gt can o
it really depends on your luck. G84 core can be clocked at very high speed, but that DDR2 memory is the limiting factor. i am lucky to have a good set of DDR2 (refer above posts for memory model) memory which enables me to crank it up a full 150MHz above stock speed. there is just tooo much bandwidth for that poor DDR2 to handle.

This post has been edited by alexnvidia: Apr 29 2008, 08:53 AM
TSalexnvidia
post Apr 29 2008, 08:36 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Apr 29 2008, 02:25 AM)
well when did u buy ur 1520, alex

i guess its probably a batch thing, most likely people around the same batch could do so too

on the side note, check this out, as checked on 930 am today, wonder how long will it reach now
i had 2 inspiron 1520. one i got sometime around sept 07 and another one in feb 08. the sept 07 one has trouble exceeding 500MHz memory clock. 520MHz would crash the system. the old system had a different memory module than the new one. i didnt read the model prints on it when i opened the laptop, but i can remember clearly the shape of the memory module itself is completely different.

the new one i got has the hynix HY5PS561621AFP-25 memory module, which is rated at 400MHz but i am able to crank it all the way up to 550MHz. didnt bother to test the limit because 550MHz is pretty high and i prefer to play things on the safe side. besides, my OC system is able to beat XPS M1530 (DDR3 700MHz) factory clocked system by a respectable margin in 3DMark06 benchmark, which is pretty awesome.

so what's the status of your system kev? i bet you cant get your mind off it for the past few days.

Added on April 29, 2008, 8:46 pm
QUOTE(raymannlucas @ Apr 29 2008, 04:36 AM)
haha..thanks dude bro for the information..will try to OC it and let u know the result...
have patience and start with a slow increase ok? dont go straight to the speed stated in my SIG. not all silicons are the same. test it with several runs of 3Dmark06 to make sure it's artifact free and absolutely stable for each clock increase. i suggest you start off with 20MHz increment and slow down to 10MHz then finally 5MHz the higher you go, especially when you are threading into the realm of 550MHz core. dont expect to squeeze a lot out from your memory. i have seen some people getting only a mere 50MHz increase.

ALSO, another reason i am able to reach such high clock speed is because i had the original thermal pad replaced with Artic Cooling MX2 high performance thermal compound for both CPU and GPU. so i would not recommend going above 600MHz GPU core for those who the faint of heart. constantly monitor the temperature(GPU) and stability of the system.

lastly, as always, OC might or will void your warranty. i am not responsible for any damages caused during your OC attempt. do it with care, patience and at your own risk.

This post has been edited by alexnvidia: Apr 29 2008, 08:51 PM
TSalexnvidia
post Apr 30 2008, 11:04 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Apr 30 2008, 10:12 AM)
lol ask alexnvidia, lol

cos my laptop havent even reach yet, sigh

tommorow public holiday also
hotkey (Fn+F2) for on/off wifi is no longer available in new inspiron or any dew dell laptops (correct me if im wrong). all new dells come with a hard switch for wireless (Wifi+bluetooth+EVDO) switch control which doubles as a wifi detector when laptop is switched off. you can find the switch on the left side of your 1520. settings for that swtich is found in BIOS (press F2 during boot).

Added on April 30, 2008, 11:05 pm
QUOTE(SiAo.NeRd @ Apr 30 2008, 02:00 PM)
hey guys im having a problem with my microphone.. i have to speak loudly right in front of it just for it to detect a slight signal.. any1 having the same problem?

Btw dell's technician came over to replace my grainy screen today and guess what.. it just got worse =\. so i ended up using my old screen again..
Should i just keep on calling them to replace my screen?
what LCD do u have? mine is AUO2077 which i think is quite ok. crisp and clear. not really grainy too. by the way my LCD is 1440x900 res.

Added on April 30, 2008, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 30 2008, 05:52 AM)
ya got remote control for media...n only gif me 1 batt.if tht batt cant use then duno whr can buy another 1
the battery for the media remote control is just a standard coin cell 3V CR2016 battery. you can get it almost anywhere in leading shopping malls.

Added on April 30, 2008, 11:08 pm
QUOTE(KeV @ Apr 30 2008, 10:12 AM)
lol ask alexnvidia, lol

cos my laptop havent even reach yet, sigh

tommorow public holiday also
tough luck kev, i know how that feeling felt like. anxiety, sleepless nights.. haha..

This post has been edited by alexnvidia: May 1 2008, 02:58 AM
TSalexnvidia
post May 1 2008, 05:50 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ May 1 2008, 08:43 AM)
I was wondering is it normal when the cpu-z indicated that my T7250 @ 2.00GHz only has core speed 1197 Mhz and multipler x6.
I had turned off the Intel SpeedStep option in bios A07 & power management in windows (XP & Vista)
how about intel dynamic acceleration option? cpu-z is not able to pick up the pause inserted every second to decrease the speed of the processor in superLFM mode. in other words, your processor might be running at just 6x100=600MHz.
TSalexnvidia
post May 2 2008, 06:54 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ May 1 2008, 12:44 PM)
I've tried turning off the intel dynamic acceleration option but still the same result.
[attachmentid=458592][attachmentid=458593][attachmentid=458596]

Edited: Problem resolved. Turn off intel dynamic acceleration option but turn on SpeedStep will do.

Edited #2: 1st time cpu-z shows 1999Mhz, 2nd time 1197Mhz  rclxub.gif
i wouldnt worry too much about it. everything looks healthy. if you really want to force your CPU to run at full speed, try using RMCPU Clock utility. there are settings in there that can stop speed step and IDA from taking over CPU control

http://cpu.rightmark.org/
TSalexnvidia
post May 2 2008, 08:19 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ May 2 2008, 10:15 AM)
just got the machine not long ago,haha installing all the tidbits, i wonder how do i check my ram, alex, im trying to use sisoft sandra and see if it shows
what do you want to check? RAM size? or memory timings and specs? im not sure about sisandra (havent use it for a long time, but i think it can do the job), you can try free software like CPU-Z, or a more professional approach would be lavalys everest ultimate edition. with everest, u can check everything from CPU specs to hdd,GPU,LCD, etc etc specs.

i would uninstall all the junkwares from dell first before setting up the rest of the softwares you need if i were you.

This post has been edited by alexnvidia: May 2 2008, 08:19 PM
TSalexnvidia
post May 2 2008, 09:16 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ May 2 2008, 01:53 PM)
ahh what i meant was the video ram, to determine if it was hynix or not
haha... that my friend, requires you to open up the laptop. no software out there that im aware of can tell u the RAM model of the GPU.

Added on May 2, 2008, 9:21 pm
QUOTE(KeV @ May 2 2008, 01:53 PM)
ahh what i meant was the video ram, to determine if it was hynix or not

Added on May 2, 2008, 9:15 pmuser posted image

my laptop pics and cpu-z screenie
looks like you've got the older merom core that has 667MHz FSB. but it's perfectly fine.

This post has been edited by alexnvidia: May 2 2008, 09:21 PM
TSalexnvidia
post May 2 2008, 10:16 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ May 2 2008, 02:30 PM)
yeah its the t5550, i didnt wanna put out another rm200 for only 10% of speed difference. im still trying to look for the gpu and mem info
try this. http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/SysInfo/GPU-Z/
TSalexnvidia
post May 2 2008, 11:03 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ May 2 2008, 03:35 PM)

this is all i have how do u find out if its hynix or not
kev, you wont get any memory module info from that software or any other softwares that i know of. i check mine when i opened the laptop to change the thermal compound.

by the way, check out mine

This post has been edited by alexnvidia: May 2 2008, 11:06 PM

TSalexnvidia
post May 2 2008, 11:14 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ May 2 2008, 04:10 PM)
ahh damn, lol, im just too lazy to open it up, lol. ill try googling
let us know if u can find one.

15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top